DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 9, the claim shows the formulas FX1a and FX1e below, which are the same formula. Thus, one of the formulas should be deleted as a duplicate.
With regard to claim 14, the claim shows formula FX5b and FX5c below, which are the same formula. Thus, one of the formulas should be deleted as a duplicate.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US 2014/0364631) in view of Harvey (US 2015/0011809).
With regard to claims 1-3, 6, 7, and 10, Davis teaches a method for catalyzed Diels-Alder cycloaddition (instant claim 2) between a diene and a dienophile to produce a substituted cyclohexene (cyclic olefin) (paragraph [0030]), where the diene and dienophile are derived from biomass (paragraph [0042]).
Davis further teaches the diene has the formula (A) (paragraph [0030]).
In this formula, when Ra is an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom and Rb-, Rc, Ra’, Rb’, and Rc’ are each hydrogen (paragraph [0031]), the formula A is butadiene, as claimed in instant claims 1 and 7.
Davis also teaches the dienophile has the formula (C) (paragraph [0030]).
In this formula, when Re is an alkyl group having two carbon atoms and Rf is hydrogen (paragraph [0031]), the formula C is butene, which is a dienophile comprising an olefin of formula FX2a of instant claims 1 and 10.
Davis does not teach further use of the cyclic olefin by hydrogenation of the substituted cyclohexene (cyclic olefin) to produce a cyclic alkane.
Harvey teaches a process for forming high density fuels from biomass (paragraph [0003]). Harvey teaches producing compounds from biomass, Diels-Alder cycloaddition of the compounds to produce a cyclic olefin, and then catalytically hydrogenating (instant claim 3) the cyclic olefin to produce saturated cyclic hydrocarbons (paragraph [0013]). Harvey further teaches that fuels comprising cyclic alkanes with linear hydrocarbon side chains from renewable sources have a higher density and high enough cetane number to be used in a diesel engine, thus being applicable as turbine and diesel fuels while reducing net greenhouse gas emissions (sustainable aviation fuel instant claim 6) (paragraph [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the step of hydrogenating from Harvey in the process of Davis, because each of Davis and Harvey teaches producing cyclic olefins comprising linear alkyl side chains from cycloaddition of products from biomass, Davis is silent regarding further use of the cyclohexene (cyclic olefin), and Harvey teaches the hydrogenation of cyclic olefins comprising linear hydrocarbon side chains provides a high density fuel which is applicable for turbine and diesel fuels while reducing net greenhouse gas emissions (paragraph [0009]).
With regard to claim 8, Davis teaches formula (A) above. When Rc is an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom and Ra-, Rb, Ra’, Rb’, and Rc’ are each hydrogen (paragraph [0031]), the formula A is isoprene as claimed.
With regard to claim 9, Davis teaches that formula (A) can be more preferably Formula (1) (paragraph [0038]).
When R1 and R2 are each an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom (paragraph [0039]), the formula (1) is equivalent to formula FX1f of instant claim 9.
With regard to claim 11, the dienophile has formula (C) above. When Re is an alkyl group having three carbon atoms and Rf is a hydroxycarbonyl group (paragraph [0031]), the formula (C) is equivalent to formula FX3a of instant claim 11.
With regard to claim 12, the dienophile has formula (C) above. When Re is an alkyl group having one carbon atoms and Rf is an alkoxycarbonyl group having one carbon atom in the alkyl group (paragraph [0031]), the formula (C) is equivalent to formula FX3d of instant claim 12.
With regard to claim 13, Davis teaches that the cyclohexene has formula (D) below (paragraph [0030]).
When hydrogenated by the process of Davis in view of Harvey, and when, as in claim 1 above, Ra is selected to be an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, Rb-, Rc, Ra’, Rb’, Rc’, and Rf are each selected to be hydrogen, and Re is selected to be an alkyl group having two carbon atoms (paragraph [0031]), this is equivalent to a cyclic alkane of formula FX4a of instant claim 13 where R3 is a C1 alkane, R2 is a C2 alkane, and R1 is a H atom.
With regard to claim 14, Davis teaches that the cyclohexene as formula (D) above (paragraph [0030]). When hydrogenated by the process of Davis in view of Harvey and when Ra, Rb-, Rc, Ra’, Rb’, Rc’, and Re are each selected to be hydrogen and Rf is selected to be an alkyl group having two carbon atoms (paragraph [0031]), this is equivalent to a compound of formula FX5a of instant claim 14.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US 2014/0364631) in view of Harvey (US 2015/0011809) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yan et al. (Mechanistic Insights into One-Step Catalytic Conversion of Ethanol to Butadiene over Bifunctional Zn-Y/Beta Zeolite) and Zhang et al. (Isolated Metal Sites in Cu-Zn-Y/Beta for Direct and Selective Butene-Rich C3+ Olefin Formation from Ethanol).
With regard to claim 4, Davis teaches the process above, where Formula (A) (diene) can be butadiene from biomass (paragraph [0042]).
Davis fails to specifically teach how the diene is produced from biomass.
Yan teaches a process for forming butadiene from bio-ethanol by reacting the bioethanol over a Zn-Y/Beta catalysts (Zn-Y catalyst as claimed) (Abstract and page 2760, Introduction, first paragraph). Yan further teaches that it is desired to provide an alternative route to butadiene from ethanol and that the Zn-Y/Beta catalyst provides the benefits of increased butadiene selectivity (page 2760, Introduction, first paragraph and page 2761, second full paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the process of Yan to produce the butadiene of Davis, because Davis teaches producing butadiene from biomass, Davis is silent regarding the specific reaction, and Yan teaches that conversion of bioethanol to butadiene over Zn-Y/Beta catalysts provides a desired alternative butadiene synthesis route and increased butadiene selectivity (page 2760, Introduction, first paragraph and page 2761, second full paragraph).
Yan does not specifically teach the bioethanol is from conversion of biomass. However, Zhang teaches that it is known to convert lignocellulosic biomass to bioethanol (page 9885, Introduction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use biomass as taught by Davis to produce the bioethanol of Yan, which is then reacted to form the butadiene, because Yan is silent regarding the source of bioethanol, and Zhang teaches it is known to produce bioethanol from biomass (page 9885, Introduction).
With regard to claim 5, Davis teaches the process above, where Formula (B) (dienophile) can be butene from biomass (paragraph [0042]).
Davis fails to specifically teach how the dienophile is produced from biomass.
Zhang teaches a process for forming butenes from bioethanol by reacting the bioethanol over a Cu-Zn-Y/Beta catalysts (Zn-Y catalyst as claimed) (Abstract), where the bioethanol is produced from lignocellulosic biomass (page 9885, Introduction). Zhang further teaches that it is desired to provide a direct synthesis of C3+ olefins from bioethanol for production of renewable transportation fuels such as aviation biofuels and that the Cu-Zn-Y/Beta catalyst provides selective conversion to the desired olefins (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the process of Zhang to produce the dienophile which is butene of Davis, because each of Davis and Zhang teaches producing butenes from biomass, Davis is silent regarding the specific reaction, and Zhang teaches that conversion of bioethanol from biomass to butenes over Cu-Zn-Y/Beta catalysts provides a desired direct synthesis of C3+ olefins from bioethanol for production of renewable transportation fuels such as aviation biofuels and that the Cu-Zn-Y/Beta catalyst provides selective conversion to the desired olefins (Abstract).
Conclusion
/Alyssa L Cepluch/Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772