DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after June 17, 2026, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ claimed invention filed on 06/17/2026 in the matter of Application N° 18/623,530. Said documents are entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Thus, claims 1-20 are pending and claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11-12, 16, and 18 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
One Information Disclosure Statement, filed on 04/01/2024 is acknowledged and have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kornhuber et al. PLoS One. 2011 Aug 31;6(8): e23852. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0023852
Identification of Novel Functional Inhibitors of Acid Sphingomyelinase in view of Liu et al. Keratinocyte-derived microvesicle particles mediate ultraviolet B radiation-induced systemic immunosuppression, and Schirle et al. (US20200384055A1), and A photodynamic therapy combined with topical 5-aminolevulinic acid and systemic hematoporphyrin derivative is more efficient but less phototoxic for cancer Yu Wang et al.
In view of Applicant’s amendments and argument, the prior art has been reconsidered, and the grounds of rejection have been modified as set forth below. Accordingly, the present Office Action is made NON-FINAL.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 15, Kornhuber et al. disclose wherein in a clinical pilot study, treatment with amitriptyline resulted in improved respiratory function in affected patients. Further examples include the treatment of e.g. major depression, Alzheimer’s disease, inflammatory bowel disease, liver cell death and acute lung injury (See page 7, paragraphs 81-82). Desipramine, which is a weak base strongly accumulates in acidic intracellular compartments like lysosomes. This accumulation of desipramine results in detachment of the ASM from the inner lysosomal membrane and its subsequent inactivation, probably by proteolytic degradation (See page 2, paragraph 3). Previously, the functional inhibition of ASM is related to high pKa-and high logP-values and have several new FIASMAs, including the antidepressant drugs doxepine and (See page 2, paragraph 6).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 16, Schirle et al. disclose a topical skin care composition comprising black willow bark extract, and cat’s claw extract, (See claim 1). Schirle et al. further teach that the composition may contain about 0.5 wt% to about 10 wt% of black willow bark extract, about 0.2 wt% to about 7 wt% of cat’s claw extract, and about 0.2 wt% to about 8 wt% of dragon’s blood extract (See claim 2), thereby teaching topical botanical compositions intended for skin care and protective dermatological benefits. Schirle et al., however, do not explicitly disclose that the composition further comprises a functional inhibitor of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASM) present at a concentration ranging from about 0.1 wt% to about 5 wt% based on the total weight of the skin protection composition, as recited in the claim. It is known in the art that functional inhibitors of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASMAs) are small drug-like molecules that inhibit acid sphingomyelinase activity and are useful in treating conditions associated with increased ASM activity, including inflammatory and cellular stress conditions. The art therefore recognizes that such compounds can provide protective or therapeutic biological effects in tissues, including dermatological applications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a FIASM compound into the topical skin care composition of Schirle et al. in order to provide additional protective or therapeutic benefits associated with modulation of acid sphingomyelinase activity, since the use of biologically active compounds in topical compositions to improve skin condition was well known in the art. Furthermore, the claimed concentration of the FIASM compound of about 0.1 wt% to about 5 wt% represents a routine optimization of ingredient concentration within a topical formulation which would have been readily determined by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to achieve the desired dermatological effect.
Therefore, the claimed skin protective composition would have been obvious over Schirle et al. in view of the knowledge in the art relating to functional inhibitors of acid sphingomyelinase. The selection of a concentration within the claimed range constitutes optimization of a result-effective variable, which is ordinarily within the skill of the art.
Regarding claims 4, and 17, Schirle et al. disclose a topical skin care composition comprising botanical extracts including black willow bark extract, and cat’s claw extract, (See claim 1), Schirle et al. further teach that the botanical components may be prepared using alcoholic or oil-based extraction techniques (See paragraph 0058), or combinations thereof, and that the resulting compositions may be formulated as topical skin care compositions, including aqueous or hydroalcoholic solutions (See paragraph 0059. Schirle et al. additionally disclose that structuring agents may function as emulsifiers or surfactants in the formulation (See paragraph 0073). Although Schirle et al. do not explicitly describe the carrier as comprising at least one dermal penetrating enhancer selected from alcohols, surfactants, and terpenes, Schirle et al. nevertheless teach the use of alcohol-containing and surfactant-containing formulations for topical delivery of the botanical extracts. Alcohols and surfactants are well known in the art to function as dermal penetration enhancers in topical pharmaceutical and cosmetic compositions because they facilitate improved solubilization of active ingredients and increased permeability through the stratum corneum.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to employ alcohols or surfactants as part of the carrier system in the topical composition of Schirle et al. in order to enhance delivery and penetration of the active botanical ingredients into the skin, since the use of such materials as penetration enhancers in topical formulations was well known and routinely employed in the art. The limitation that the carrier comprises at least one dermal penetrating enhancer selected from alcohols, surfactants, and terpenes would have been obvious over Schirle et al. The selection of alcohols or surfactants as penetration enhancers in topical compositions represents the use of known formulation components for their known function, which would have been within the ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, Schirle et al. disclose a topical skin care composition comprising botanical extracts including black willow bark extract, and cat’s claw extract, (See claim 1). Schirle et al. further teach that the composition may include emulsifiers and specifically disclose esters of propylene glycol as non-limiting examples of suitable emulsifiers used in the formulation. Thus, Schirle et al. teach topical compositions comprising propylene glycol derived ingredients within a dermatologically acceptable carrier system. However, Schirle et al. do not explicitly disclose that the composition comprises a functional inhibitor of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASMA) wherein the FIASM comprises imipramine present in a range from about 2 wt% to about 5wt% based on the weight of the skin protective composition, as recited in the claim.
It is known in the art that imipramine, a tricyclic antidepressant, functions as a functional inhibitor of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASMA) FIASMAs have been reported to modulate sphingomyelin metabolism and provide protective biological effects associated with inhibition of ASM activity. Accordingly, compounds such as imipramine were recognized as biologically active agents capable of influencing cellular and tissue responses. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate imipramine as a FIASM compound into the topical skin care composition of Schirle et al. in order to provide additional protective or therapeutic effects associated with inhibition of acid sphingomyelinase activity.
Furthermore, propylene glycol is well known in the art as a dermatologically acceptable carrier, solvent, and moisturizing agent used in topical skin formulations. Given Schirle et al.’s teaching of propylene glycol-derived emulsifiers and moisturizing agents within overlapping concentration ranges, it would have been obvious to employ propylene glycol within the claimed range of about 1 wt% to about 25wt% as part of the dermatologically acceptable carrier to facilitate solubilization and delivery of active ingredients in the topical composition. Accordingly, selecting imipramine at about 2 wt% to about 5 wt% and propylene glycols at about 1 wt% to about 25 wt% represents routine optimization of formulation ingredients and their concentrations, which would have been within the ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, the claimed skin protective composition would have been obvious over Schirle et al. in view of the knowledge in the art relating to FIASM compounds and conventional dermatological carriers such as propylene glycol.
Regarding claim 6, Schirle et al. disclose a topical skin care composition comprising botanical extracts including black willow bark extract, and cat’s claw extract (See claim 1). Schirle et al. further teaches that, in some embodiments, the composition may also include cosmetic ingredients such as vitamins (e.g., vitamins A, B, C, D, E, and K), fragrances, dyes, and preservatives. Schirle et al. additionally disclose that the resin obtained from the trunk contains medically active constituents including about 30-90% essential oils, thereby teaching the presence of essential oils in the composition. Schirle et al. further teach that the composition may include a moisturizing agent such as salts (See paragraphs 0076 and 0049). Thus, Schirle et al. disclose topical skin care compositions comprising additives including vitamins, fragrances, dyes, preservatives, essential oils, and salts, which correspond to several of the additives recited in claim 6. Although Schirle et al. do not explicitly list neutralizing or pH adjusting agents, the use of such agents in cosmetic and dermatological compositions is well known in the art for the purpose of adjusting formulation stability and maintaining a suitable skin-compatible pH.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include one or more of the recited additives, including vitamins, fragrances, dyes, preservatives, oils, essential oils, salts, or pH adjusting agents, in the topical skin care composition of Schirle et al. since such ingredients are conventional cosmetic additives commonly incorporated into skin care formulations to provide aesthetic, preservative, or stability benefits.
Regarding claims 7, and 19, Schirle et al. disclose a topical skin care composition comprising botanical extracts including black willow bark extract, cat’s claw extract, and dragon’s blood extract (See claim 1). Schirle et al. further teaches that, in some embodiments, the composition may include a UV absorption agent, including titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, which are commonly used inorganic UV filters in topical skin care formulations. Schirle et al. additionally disclose dibenzoylmethane derivatives and benzophenone as UV-absorbing agents suitable for use in the composition. Schirle et al. further discloses that keratolytic agents such as salicylic acid and derivatives thereof may be included in the composition, which correspond to salicylic compounds recited in the claim (See paragraphs 0075 and 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include at least one UV filter selected from titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, dibenzoylmethane compounds, salicylic compounds, or benzophenone compounds in the topical skin care composition of Schirle et al. since such UV filters are conventional ingredients widely used in skin protective compositions to provide protection against UV radiation.
Regarding claim 8, Schirle et al. further teaches that, in various embodiments, the topical composition may be formulated in a variety of topical dosage forms, including a gel, cream, ointment, an emulsion (e.g., oil-in-water, water-in-oil or spray and may be anhydrous (See paragraph 0059, and 0006).
Regarding claim 13, Schirle et al. disclose wherein methods of treating a skin condition by topically applying to skin in need thereof a composition of the present invention, wherein the topical application of the composition to skin in need thereof treats or ameliorates the skin condition. The composition can be applied to the skin condition and can be caused by exposure to UV light, and sun exposure (See paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 20, However, Schirle et al. do not explicitly disclose that the active ingredient comprises a photosensitizer selected from aminolevulinic acid, porphyrin, purlytin, etc.
Wang et al. disclose that the objective is to explore a more convenient and efficient photodynamic therapy (PDT) for skin cancers. Thus, they analyzed the efficacy of the PDT, combined with a topical photosensitizer 5-aminolevulinic acid (ALA) and an intravenously injected light-sensitive agent hematoporphyrin derivative (HPD) (See page 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 17, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the rejection fails to provide an articulated reasoning with rational underpinning for modifying the teachings of Kornhuber et al. in view of Schirle et al. and Liu et al. provide the articulated reasoning and rational underpinning for incorporating a functional inhibitor of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASM) into a dermatologically acceptable topical cream. Specifically, Liu et al. teach that ultraviolet B (UVB) exposure increases acid sphingomyelinase activity in keratinocytes and that inhibition of this enzyme suppresses UVB-induced microvesicle particle release. Liu et al. provide a reason for one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a FIASM into a topical skin care composition to inhibit acid sphingomyelinase activity and reduced UVB- induced microvesicle particle release in skin tissue. And further argues that the cited references fail to teach or suggest all of the limitations of amended independent claims 1,9, and 14.
With respect to independent claim 1, the Examiner acknowledges that Kornhuber et al. do not expressly disclose a skin protective composition comprising a FIASM in a dermatologically acceptable carrier for topical application to keratinous tissue. Kornhuber et al., however, teach functional inhibitors of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASMs) and their ability to inhibit acid sphingomyelinase activity. Schirle et al. teach topical skin care compositions formulated as, for example, emulsions, gels, creams, lotions, solutions, or serums and further teach that such topical compositions may contain pharmaceutically active agents in dermatologically acceptable vehicles.
Thus, the rejection is not based merely on the proposition that dermatologically acceptable carriers were generally known. Rather, Schirle et al. establish that pharmaceutically active agents may be formulated in conventional dermatologically acceptable topical vehicles for delivery to the skin. In view of this teaching, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to formulate a pharmaceutically active agent such as the FIASM taught by Kornhuber et al. in the dermatologically acceptable topical vehicles taught by Schirle et al. when seeking to provide localized delivery of the active agent to skin tissue. Such a modification would have involved the use of a known topical delivery vehicle for delivery of a known pharmaceutically active agent and would have been expected to permit contact of the active agent with the targeted skin tissue.
Applicant further argues that Kornhuber et al. do not disclose the presently claimed concentration of about 0.1% to about 25% by weight.
However, Schirle et al. disclose a topical skin care composition comprising black willow bark extract, and cat’s claw extract, (See claim 1). Schirle et al. further teach that the composition may contain about 0.5 wt% to about 10 wt% of black willow bark extract, about 0.2 wt% to about 7 wt% of cat’s claw extract, and about 0.2 wt% to about 8 wt% of dragon’s blood extract (See claim 2), thereby teaching topical botanical compositions intended for skin care and protective dermatological benefits. Schirle et al., however, do not explicitly disclose that the composition further comprises a functional inhibitor of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASM) present at a concentration ranging from about 0.1 wt% to about 5 wt% based on the total weight of the skin protection composition, as recited in the claim. It is known in the art that functional inhibitors of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASMAs) are small drug-like molecules that inhibit acid sphingomyelinase activity and are useful in treating conditions associated with increased ASM activity, including inflammatory and cellular stress conditions. The art therefore recognizes that such compounds can provide protective or therapeutic biological effects in tissues, including dermatological applications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a FIASM compound into the topical skin care composition of Schirle et al. in order to provide additional protective or therapeutic benefits associated with modulation of acid sphingomyelinase activity, since the use of biologically active compounds in topical compositions to improve skin condition was well known in the art. Furthermore, the claimed concentration of the FIASM compound of about 0.1 wt% to about 5 wt% represents a routine optimization of ingredient concentration within a topical formulation which would have been readily determined by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to achieve the desired dermatological effect.
Therefore, the claimed skin protective composition would have been obvious over Schirle et al. in view of the knowledge in the art relating to functional inhibitors of acid sphingomyelinase. The selection of a concentration within the claimed range constitutes optimization of a result-effective variable, which is ordinarily within the skill of the art.
Applicant’s arguments regarding independent claim 9 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kornhuber et al. do not disclose, teach, or suggest topically administering a functional inhibitor of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASM) to keratinous tissue for ameliorating photosensitivity. The Examiner acknowledges that Kornhuber et al., when considered alone, do not expressly disclose such topical administration or expressly characterize the administration of a FIASM as ameliorating photosensitivity. However, the rejection is based upon the combined teachings of the cited references and not upon Kornhuber et al. individually.
Kornhuber et al. teach functional inhibitors of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASMs), including compounds such as imipramine, and their ability to functionally inhibit acid sphingomyelinase. Schirle et al. teach dermatologically acceptable topical compositions suitable for delivering pharmaceutically active agents to skin tissue.
Liu et al. provides the reason for applying an acid sphingomyelinase inhibitor to UV-exposed skin tissue. In particular, Liu et al. teach that UVB irradiation increases acid sphingomyelinase activity in keratinocytes and demonstrates that pharmacological inhibition of acid sphingomyelinase with imipramine inhibits UVB-induced microvesicle particle release in keratinocytes and skin tissue (See Abstract and Results, pages 1-2). Thus, Liu et al. establish that acid sphingomyelinase is a pharmacologically targetable pathway involved in the response of skin tissue to UVB radiation and that inhibition of acid sphingomyelinase suppresses the resulting UVB-induced microvesicle particle response.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have had reason to formulate a FIASM, such as imipramine as taught by Kornhuber et al., in a dermatologically acceptable topical carrier as taught by Schirle et al. and administer the composition to skin tissue exposed to ultraviolet radiation in order to inhibit acid sphingomyelinase and thereby reduced the associated UVB-induced microvesicle particle response.
One of ordinary skill in the art would also have had a reasonable expectation of success because Liu et al. experimentally demonstrate that pharmacological inhibition of acid sphingomyelinase with imipramine suppresses UVB-induced microvesicle particle release in keratinocytes and skin tissue.
Applicant’s argument that the references fail to expressly teach “ameliorating photosensitivity” is not persuasive. The specification explains that ameliorating photosensitivity includes decreasing or eliminating photosensitivity as demonstrated by reducing, eliminating, or avoiding one or more of inflammation, microvesicle particle release, and erythema. Thus, reduction of microvesicle particle release is expressly identified by Applicant as an indicator of amelioration of photosensitivity. Liu et al.’s demonstration that pharmacological inhibition of acid sphingomyelinase with imipramine suppresses UVB-induced microvesicle particle release therefore provides evidence supporting the claimed functional result and provides both an articulated reason for the proposed modification and a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to formulate a functional inhibitor of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASM), as taught by Kornhuber et al., in a dermatologically acceptable topical carrier of the type taught by Schirle et al. for administration to keratinous tissue.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in view of Liu et al., which teaches a direct relationship between ultraviolet B (UB) exposure of skin keratinocytes and acid sphingomyelinase activity. In particular, Liu et al. teach that acid sphingomyelinase is necessary for UVB-induced microvesicle particle generation and demonstrate through pharmacological and genetic approaches that inhibition of the acid sphingomyelinase pathway suppresses the UVB-induced microvesicle response in keratinocytes and skin.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, seeking to reduce or modulate the biological effects associated with UV exposure of keratinous tissue, would have had reason to administer an acid sphingomyelinase inhibitor, such as a FIASM taught by Kornhuber et al., to the affected skin tissue using a dermatologically acceptable topical vehicle as taught by Schirle et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would further have had a reasonable expectation of success because Liu et al. experimentally demonstrate the involvement of acid sphingomyelinase in the UVB-induced response of keratinocytes and demonstrate that pharmacological inhibition of this pathway suppresses UVB-induced microvesicle particle generation. Thus, the proposed modification would not have been based merely upon the general availability of topical carriers, but upon the prior art recognition that acid sphingomyelinase represents a pharmacologically targetable pathway involved in the response of skin keratinocytes to ultraviolet radiation.
With respect to independent claim 14, Applicant argues that Kornhuber et al. do not disclose, teach, or suggest a skin care system comprising a FIASM or a system combining a FIASM and a photosensitizer. Applicant further argues that Schirle et al.’s disclosure of photosensitizing actives is merely one selection from a list of pharmaceutical active agents and that Schirle et al. do not disclose a FIASM.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive with respect to the rejection based upon the combined teachings of the references. The rejection does not rely upon Kornhuber et al., Schirle et al., or Wang et al. individually to disclose the claimed invention in its entirety. Rather, Kornhuber et al. teach functional inhibitors of acid sphingomyelinase (FIASMs) and their ability to functionally inhibit acid sphingomyelinase. Schirle et al. teach topical skin care compositions formulated in dermatologically acceptable carriers and further teach that such compositions may comprise pharmaceutically active agents, including photosensitizing actives. Wang et al. further demonstrate that photosensitizing agents were known for topical administration by teaching photodynamic therapy employing topical 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA) as a photosensitizing agent.
Accordingly, Schirle et al. and Wang et al. are relied upon for more than the general proposition that topical carriers were known. Their teachings establish that photosensitizing pharmaceutical agents were known to be formulated and administered topically to tissue as part of photodynamic treatment. Kornhuber et al. are relied upon for the FIASM component and its known acid-sphingomyelinase-inhibiting activity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the FIASM taught by Kornhuber et al. into a dermatologically acceptable topical composition of the type taught by Schirle et al. when providing the active agent to skin tissue, and to employ such a composition in a skin care system including a photosensitizing component as taught by Schirle et al. and exemplified by the topical 5-aminolevulinic acid photodynamic treatment of Wang et al., because the combination would have employed known pharmaceutically active agents and known topical delivery systems according to their established functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the topical carrier to deliver the incorporated active agent to the skin and the photosensitizer to retain its known photosensitizing function upon light activation.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY BARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615