DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 3, 4A, 4B, 5, 6A and 6B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, 17-21, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiangyang et al. (WO2021042812; rejection based on English translation), in view of Lin et al. (US 2014/0285163), hereinafter Lin.
Regarding claim 1, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) a controller (figure 5, part controller generated by 201-203) for a power converter (figure 5, part flyback converter) (page 8; line 5; flyback converter of the present invention), the controller (figure 5, part controller generated by 201-203) comprising: an output-voltage detector (figure 5, part output-voltage detector [see figure 1, part 102] that generates VFB from output voltage detection) configured to detect a value of an output voltage of the power converter (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) and generate a detection signal (figure 5, part VFB) that represents the detected value of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) (page 8; lines 4-10; The two input terminals of the main switch control signal generating circuit respectively receive the error voltage signal VFB and the voltage signal VCS sampled by the magnetizing inductor current. The error voltage signal VFB is simultaneously connected to one input terminal of the state detection circuit [203] and the other of the state detection circuit); a current-value determination unit (figure 5, part current-value determination unit inside of 203) (figure 9, part current-value determination unit generated by current source IC/IN) configured to receive the detection signal (figures 5 and 9, part VFB) and determine a value (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM), a magnetization current for the power converter (figure 5, part magnetization current that pass through Lm) in a discontinuous conduction mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; non-complementary mode [DCM]) (pages 6 [last paragraph] and 7 [first paragraph]; Complementary mode: the transformer leakage inductance current of the converter is CCM mode (continuous current mode, inductance current continuous mode) working mode… Non-complementary mode: the transformer leakage inductance current of the converter is the DCM mode (discontinuous current mode, inductor current discontinuous mode), wherein the current-value determination unit (figure 9, part current-value determination unit generated by current source IC/IN) is further configured to: determine the value (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM) in the discontinuous conduction mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; non-complementary mode [DCM]) based on at least information (figure 5, part VFB) associated with the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]); and generate a signal (figure 9, part IC/IN) that represents the determined value (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM); wherein, for the power converter (figure 5, part flyback converter), each period of the discontinuous conduction mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; non-complementary mode [DCM]) includes N consecutive cycles of critical conduction mode and an additional time duration, N being a positive integer (figure 9, part through CTRL; non-complementary mode [DCM]) (pages 9 [paragraphs 3-9] and 10 [paragraphs 1-11]; CTRL is the output of the state detection circuit. The state detection circuit compares the error voltage signal VFB with the set complementary mode switching threshold CTH and non-complementary mode switching threshold NTH to determine the working state of the active clamp flyback converter, and output Control signal CTRL. When the active clamp flyback converter works in complementary mode, CTRL outputs high level "1"; when the active clamp flyback converter works in non-complementary mode, CTRL outputs low level "0". The principle diagram of the first state detection circuit of the present invention is shown in FIG. 9. Including).
Xiangyang does not expressly disclose a peak-current-value determination unit configured to receive the detection signal and determine a peak value of a magnetization current for the power converter in a discontinuous conduction mode; wherein the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to: determine the peak value of the magnetization current for the power converter in the discontinuous conduction mode based on at least information associated with the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter; and generate a peak signal that represents the determined peak value of the magnetization current.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) a peak-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part peak-current-value determination unit generated by 38 and 366) configured to receive the detection signal (figure 3, part Vfb) and determine a peak value of a magnetization current for the power converter (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref) in a discontinuous conduction mode (figure 12, part DCM); wherein the peak-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part peak-current-value determination unit generated by 38 and 366) is further configured to: determine the peak value of the magnetization current for the power converter (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref) in the discontinuous conduction mode (figure 12, part DCM) based on at least information associated with the detected value (figure 3, part Vfb) of the output voltage of the power converter (figure 3, part Vout); and generate a peak signal (figure 3, part Iref signal) that represents the determined peak value of the magnetization current (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref); wherein, for the power converter (figure 3, part 300), each period of the discontinuous conduction mode (figure 12, part DCM) includes N consecutive cycles of critical conduction mode and an additional time duration, N being a positive integer (figure 14, part DCM) (paragraph [0035]-[0047]; Control circuit 30 receives input voltage detection signal Vi which is indicative of input voltage Vin, input current detection signal Ii which is indicative of input current Ii and output voltage feedback signal Vfb which is indicative of output voltage, and provides switching control signal Vg coupled to power switch M to control the switching action of power switch M and to control that the waveform shape of input current Iin follows that of input voltage Vin. Control circuit 30 selectively works under CCM or DCM based on different load status… Mode selection circuit 353 has two inputs and two enabling outputs… Subtracting circuit 366 is coupled to peak current generator 364 and reference signal generator 38, subtracts peak current detection signal Ipk from double current reference signal Id and puts out reference current signal Iref).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin and obtain a controller for a power converter, the controller comprising: an output-voltage detector configured to detect a value of an output voltage of the power converter and generate a detection signal that represents the detected value of the output voltage; and a peak-current-value determination unit configured to receive the detection signal and determine a peak value of a magnetization current for the power converter in a discontinuous conduction mode; wherein the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to: determine the peak value of the magnetization current for the power converter in the discontinuous conduction mode based on at least information associated with the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter; and generate a peak signal that represents the determined peak value of the magnetization current; wherein, for the power converter, each period of the discontinuous conduction mode includes N consecutive cycles of critical conduction mode and an additional time duration, N being a positive integer, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose N is equal to 1.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) N is equal to 1 (figure 12, part DCM).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Xiangyang with the control features as taught by Lin, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 4, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the current-value determination unit (figure 9, part current-value determination unit generated by current source IC/IN) is further configured to change the determined value (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM), the magnetization current (figure 5, part magnetization current that pass through Lm) if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) of the power converter changes (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM; through VFB). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose the peak-current-value determination unit.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) the peak-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part peak-current-value determination unit generated by 38 and 366) is further configured to change the determined peak value of the magnetization current (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref) if the detected value (figure 3, part Vfb) of the output voltage of the power converter changes (figure 3, part Vout).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin and obtain the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to change the determined peak value of the magnetization current if the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter changes, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 5, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the current-value determination unit (figure 9, part current-value determination unit generated by current source IC/IN) is further configured to: increase the determined value (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM), the magnetization current (figure 5, part magnetization current that pass through Lm) if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage of the power converter increases (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]); and decrease the determined value (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM), the magnetization current if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage of the power converter decreases (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to: increase the determined peak value of the magnetization current if the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter increases; and decrease the determined peak value of the magnetization current if the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter decreases.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) the peak-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part peak-current-value determination unit generated by 38 and 366) is further configured to: increase the determined peak value of the magnetization current (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref) if the detected value (figure 3, part Vfb) of the output voltage of the power converter increases (figure 3, part Vout); and decrease the determined peak value of the magnetization current (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref) if the detected value (figure 3, part Vfb) of the output voltage of the power converter decreases (figure 3, part Vout).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin and obtain the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to: increase the determined peak value of the magnetization current if the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter increases; and decrease the determined peak value of the magnetization current if the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter decreases, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 11, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) a controller (figure 5, part controller generated by 201-203) for a power converter (figure 5, part flyback converter) (page 8; line 5; flyback converter of the present invention), the controller (figure 5, part controller generated by 201-203) comprising: an output-voltage detector (figure 5, part output-voltage detector [see figure 1, part 102] that generates VFB from output voltage detection) configured to detect a value of an output voltage of the power converter (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) and generate a first detection signal (figure 5, part VFB) that represents the detected value of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) (page 8; lines 4-10; The two input terminals of the main switch control signal generating circuit respectively receive the error voltage signal VFB and the voltage signal VCS sampled by the magnetizing inductor current. The error voltage signal VFB is simultaneously connected to one input terminal of the state detection circuit [203] and the other of the state detection circuit); a current-value determination unit (figure 5, part current-value determination unit inside of 203) (figure 9, part current-value determination unit generated by current source IC/IN) configured to receive the first detection signal (figures 5 and 9, part VFB) and, based on at least information associated with the detected value of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]), determine a value (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM), a magnetization current for the power converter (figure 5, part magnetization current that pass through Lm), the current-value determination unit (figure 5, part current-value determination unit inside of 203) being further configured to generate a signal that represents the determined value (figure 9, part IC/IN); a threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 9, part threshold-current-value determination unit generated by RC/RN and M1/M2) configured to receive the signal (figure 9, part IC/IN), determine a threshold value (figure 9, part threshold value enter to lower input of CMP1) for an output current of the power converter (figure 5, part output current) based at least in part on the signal (figure 9, part IC/IN), and generate a threshold signal that represents the determined threshold value (figure 9, part threshold signal enter to lower input of CMP1); and a mode determination unit (figure 9, part mode determination unit generated by CMP1, NOT1 and NOT3) configured to receive the threshold signal (figure 9, part threshold value enter to lower input of CMP1) and determine a mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; complementary mode [CCM] or non-complementary mode [DCM]) of operation for the power converter (figure 5, part flyback converter) (pages 6 [last paragraph] and 7 [first paragraph]; Complementary mode: the transformer leakage inductance current of the converter is CCM mode (continuous current mode, inductance current continuous mode) working mode… Non-complementary mode: the transformer leakage inductance current of the converter is the DCM mode (discontinuous current mode, inductor current discontinuous mode) working mode) based on at least information associated with the determined threshold value (figure 9, part threshold value enter to lower input of CMP1) (pages 9 [paragraphs 3-9] and 10 [paragraphs 1-11]; CTRL is the output of the state detection circuit. The state detection circuit compares the error voltage signal VFB with the set complementary mode switching threshold CTH and non-complementary mode switching threshold NTH to determine the working state of the active clamp flyback converter, and output Control signal CTRL. When the active clamp flyback converter works in complementary mode, CTRL outputs high level "1"; when the active clamp flyback converter works in non-complementary mode, CTRL outputs low level "0". The principle diagram of the first state detection circuit of the present invention is shown in FIG. 9. Including).
Xiangyang does not expressly disclose a peak-current-value determination unit configured to receive the first detection signal and, based on at least information associated with the detected value of the output voltage, determine a peak value of a magnetization current for the power converter, the peak-current- value determination unit being further configured to generate a peak signal that represents the determined peak value of the magnetization current.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) a peak-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part peak-current-value determination unit generated by 38 and 366) configured to receive the first detection signal (figure 3, part Vfb) and, based on at least information associated with the detected value of the output voltage (figure 3, part Vout), determine a peak value of a magnetization current for the power converter (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref), the peak-current- value determination unit (figure 3, part peak-current-value determination unit generated by 38 and 366) being further configured to generate a peak signal (figure 3, part Iref signal) that represents the determined peak value of the magnetization current (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref) (paragraph [0035]-[0047]; Control circuit 30 receives input voltage detection signal Vi which is indicative of input voltage Vin, input current detection signal Ii which is indicative of input current Ii and output voltage feedback signal Vfb which is indicative of output voltage, and provides switching control signal Vg coupled to power switch M to control the switching action of power switch M and to control that the waveform shape of input current Iin follows that of input voltage Vin. Control circuit 30 selectively works under CCM or DCM based on different load status… Mode selection circuit 353 has two inputs and two enabling outputs… Subtracting circuit 366 is coupled to peak current generator 364 and reference signal generator 38, subtracts peak current detection signal Ipk from double current reference signal Id and puts out reference current signal Iref).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin and obtain a controller for a power converter, the controller comprising: an output-voltage detector configured to detect a value of an output voltage of the power converter and generate a first detection signal that represents the detected value of the output voltage; a peak-current-value determination unit configured to receive the first detection signal and, based on at least information associated with the detected value of the output voltage, determine a peak value of a magnetization current for the power converter, the peak-current- value determination unit being further configured to generate a peak signal that represents the determined peak value of the magnetization current; a threshold-current-value determination unit configured to receive the peak signal, determine a threshold value for an output current of the power converter based at least in part on the peak signal, and generate a threshold signal that represents the determined threshold value; and a mode determination unit configured to receive the threshold signal and determine a mode of operation for the power converter based on at least information associated with the determined threshold value, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 17, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 9, part threshold-current-value determination unit generated by RC/RN and M1/M2) is further configured to change the determined threshold value for the output current (figure 9, part threshold value enter to lower input of CMP1) if the determined value changes (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM), the magnetization current (figure 5, part magnetization current that pass through Lm). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose the determined peak value of the magnetization current changes.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part threshold-current-value determination unit that generates Id) is further configured to change the determined threshold value for the output current (figure 3, part threshold value Id) if the determined peak value of the magnetization current changes (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin and obtain the threshold-current-value determination unit is further configured to change the determined threshold value for the output current if the determined peak value of the magnetization current changes, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 18, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 9, part threshold-current-value determination unit generated by RC/RN and M1/M2) is further configured to: increase the determined threshold value for the output current (figure 9, part threshold value enter to lower input of CMP1) if the determined value increases (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM), the magnetization current (figure 5, part magnetization current that pass through Lm); and decrease the determined threshold value for the output current (figure 9, part threshold value enter to lower input of CMP1) if the determined value decrease (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM), the magnetization current (figure 5, part magnetization current that pass through Lm). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose if the determined peak value of the magnetization current increases; and the determined peak value of the magnetization current decreases
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part threshold-current-value determination unit that generates Id) is further configured to: increase the determined threshold value for the output current (figure 3, part threshold value Id) if the determined peak value of the magnetization current increases (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref); and decrease the determined threshold value for the output current (figure 3, part threshold value Id) if the determined peak value of the magnetization current decreases (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin and obtain the threshold-current-value determination unit is further configured to: increase the determined threshold value for the output current if the determined peak value of the magnetization current increases; and decrease the determined threshold value for the output current if the determined peak value of the magnetization current decreases, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 19, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 9, part threshold-current-value determination unit generated by RC/RN and M1/M2) is further configured to, change the determined threshold value for the output current linearly (figure 9, part threshold value enter to lower input of CMP1) with the changing determined value (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM), the magnetization current (figure 5, part magnetization current that pass through Lm). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose determined peak value of the magnetization current.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part threshold-current-value determination unit that generates Id) is further configured to, change the determined threshold value for the output current linearly (figure 3, part threshold value Id) with the changing determined peak value of the magnetization current (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin and obtain the threshold-current-value determination unit is further configured to, change the determined threshold value for the output current linearly with the changing determined peak value of the magnetization current, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 20, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 9, part threshold-current-value determination unit generated by RC/RN and M1/M2) is further configured to change the determined threshold value for the output current (figure 9, part threshold value enter to lower input of CMP1) if the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter changes (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]; through VFB at IC/IN).
Regarding claim 21, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 9, part threshold-current-value determination unit generated by RC/RN and M1/M2) is further configured to: increase the determined threshold value for the output current (figure 9, part threshold value enter to lower input of CMP1) if the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter increases (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]; through VFB at IC/IN); and decrease the determined threshold value for the output current (figure 9, part threshold value enter to lower input of CMP1) if the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter decreases (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]; through VFB at IC/IN).
Regarding claim 26, claim 1 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 27, claim 11 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiangyang et al. (WO2021042812; rejection based on English translation), in view of Lin et al. (US 2014/0285163), hereinafter Lin, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2022/0271675), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 3, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose N is equal to 2.
Yang teaches (see figures 1-13) N is equal to 2 (figure 9, part N is equal to 2 between before td- before t2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Xiangyang with the DCM features as taught by Yang, because it improves the power efficiency for both the middle load and the light load operations (paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 6, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the current-value determination unit (figure 9, part current-value determination unit generated by current source IC/IN) is further configured to change the determined value (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM), the magnetization current (figure 5, part magnetization current that pass through Lm) if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) of the power converter changes (figure 9, part IC=VFB*GM1/IN=VFB*GM; through VFB). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to change the determined peak value of the magnetization current if the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter changes so that a demagnetization period of the power converter satisfies a predetermined condition regardless of a change in the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) the peak-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part peak-current-value determination unit generated by 38 and 366) is further configured to change the determined peak value of the magnetization current (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref) if the detected value (figure 3, part Vfb) of the output voltage of the power converter changes (figure 3, part Vout).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin and obtain the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to change the determined peak value of the magnetization current if the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter changes, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Yang teaches (see figures 1-13) a demagnetization period of the power converter (figure 4, part TDS) satisfies a predetermined condition (paragraph [0096]-[0103]; the demagnetized time TDS) regardless of a change in the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter (figure 3, part VO).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Xiangyang with the DCM features as taught by Yang and obtain the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to change the determined peak value of the magnetization current if the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter changes so that a demagnetization period of the power converter satisfies a predetermined condition regardless of a change in the detected value of the output voltage of the power converter, because it improves the power efficiency for both the middle load and the light load operations (paragraph [0010]).
Claims 7-10 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiangyang et al. (WO2021042812; rejection based on English translation), in view of Lin et al. (US 2014/0285163), hereinafter Lin, and further in view of Takashi (US 2005/0078492).
Regarding claim 7, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the current-value determination unit (figure 9, part current-value determination unit generated by current source IC/IN) is further configured to, if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is larger than or equal to a first voltage value (figure 6, part NTH1) and is smaller than or equal to a second voltage value (figure 6, part CTH2). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to, if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than or equal to a first voltage value and is smaller than or equal to a second voltage value, change the determined peak value of the magnetization current linearly with the changing detected value of the output voltage.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) the peak-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part peak-current-value determination unit generated by 38 and 366) is further configured to receive the first detection signal (figure 3, part Vfb) and, based on at least information associated with the detected value of the output voltage (figure 3, part Vout), determine the peak value of a magnetization current for the power converter (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref) (paragraph [0035]-[0047]; Control circuit 30 receives input voltage detection signal Vi which is indicative of input voltage Vin, input current detection signal Ii which is indicative of input current Ii and output voltage feedback signal Vfb which is indicative of output voltage, and provides switching control signal Vg coupled to power switch M to control the switching action of power switch M and to control that the waveform shape of input current Iin follows that of input voltage Vin. Control circuit 30 selectively works under CCM or DCM based on different load status… Mode selection circuit 353 has two inputs and two enabling outputs… Subtracting circuit 366 is coupled to peak current generator 364 and reference signal generator 38, subtracts peak current detection signal Ipk from double current reference signal Id and puts out reference current signal Iref).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Takashi teaches (see figures 1-16) if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is larger than or equal to a first voltage value (figure 7, part first voltage value of VO at start oscillation) and is smaller than or equal to a second voltage value (figure 7, part second voltage value of VO at soft start), change the determined peak value of the magnetization current linearly (figure 7, part peak value of the magnetization at IDS between start oscillation and soft start) with the changing detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Xiangyang and Lin with the control features as taught by Takashi and obtain the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to, if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than or equal to a first voltage value and is smaller than or equal to a second voltage value, change the determined peak value of the magnetization current linearly with the changing detected value of the output voltage, because it provides more efficient control with power consumption reduction at no load and a light load (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Xiangyang, Lin and Takashi teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the current-value determination unit (figure 9, part current-value determination unit generated by current source IC/IN) is further configured to, if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is larger than or equal to the first voltage value (figure 6, part NTH1) and is smaller than or equal to the second voltage value (figure 6, part CTH2). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to, if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than or equal to the first voltage value and is smaller than or equal to the second voltage value, increase the determined peak value of the magnetization current linearly with the increasing detected value of the output voltage; and decrease the determined peak value of the magnetization current linearly with the decreasing detected value of the output voltage.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) the peak-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part peak-current-value determination unit generated by 38 and 366) is further configured to receive the first detection signal (figure 3, part Vfb) and, based on at least information associated with the detected value of the output voltage (figure 3, part Vout), determine the peak value of a magnetization current for the power converter (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref) (paragraph [0035]-[0047]; Control circuit 30 receives input voltage detection signal Vi which is indicative of input voltage Vin, input current detection signal Ii which is indicative of input current Ii and output voltage feedback signal Vfb which is indicative of output voltage, and provides switching control signal Vg coupled to power switch M to control the switching action of power switch M and to control that the waveform shape of input current Iin follows that of input voltage Vin. Control circuit 30 selectively works under CCM or DCM based on different load status… Mode selection circuit 353 has two inputs and two enabling outputs… Subtracting circuit 366 is coupled to peak current generator 364 and reference signal generator 38, subtracts peak current detection signal Ipk from double current reference signal Id and puts out reference current signal Iref).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Takashi teaches (see figures 1-16) if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is larger than or equal to the first voltage value (figure 7, part first voltage value of VO at start oscillation) and is smaller than or equal to the second voltage value (figure 7, part second voltage value of VO at soft start), increase the determined peak value of the magnetization current linearly (figure 7, part peak value of the magnetization at IDS between start oscillation and soft start) with the increasing detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO); and decrease the determined peak value of the magnetization current linearly (figure 7, part peak value of the magnetization at IDS between soft start to start oscillation) with the decreasing detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Xiangyang and Lin with the control features as taught by Takashi and obtain the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to, if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than or equal to the first voltage value and is smaller than or equal to the second voltage value, increase the determined peak value of the magnetization current linearly with the increasing detected value of the output voltage; and decrease the determined peak value of the magnetization current linearly with the decreasing detected value of the output voltage, because it provides more efficient control with power consumption reduction at no load and a light load (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Xiangyang, Lin and Takashi teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the current-value determination unit (figure 9, part current-value determination unit generated by current source IC/IN) is further configured to, if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is equal to the first voltage value (figure 6, part NTH1) and if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is equal to the second voltage value (figure 6, part CTH2). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to: if the detected value of the output voltage is equal to the first voltage value, determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to a first current value; and if the detected value of the output voltage is equal to the second voltage value, determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to a second current value.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) the peak-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part peak-current-value determination unit generated by 38 and 366) is further configured to receive the first detection signal (figure 3, part Vfb) and, based on at least information associated with the detected value of the output voltage (figure 3, part Vout), determine the peak value of a magnetization current for the power converter (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref) (paragraph [0035]-[0047]; Control circuit 30 receives input voltage detection signal Vi which is indicative of input voltage Vin, input current detection signal Ii which is indicative of input current Ii and output voltage feedback signal Vfb which is indicative of output voltage, and provides switching control signal Vg coupled to power switch M to control the switching action of power switch M and to control that the waveform shape of input current Iin follows that of input voltage Vin. Control circuit 30 selectively works under CCM or DCM based on different load status… Mode selection circuit 353 has two inputs and two enabling outputs… Subtracting circuit 366 is coupled to peak current generator 364 and reference signal generator 38, subtracts peak current detection signal Ipk from double current reference signal Id and puts out reference current signal Iref).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Takashi teaches (see figures 1-16) if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is equal to the first voltage value (figure 7, part first voltage value of VO at start oscillation), determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to a first current value (figure 7, part peak value of the magnetization at IDS at start oscillation); and if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is equal to the second voltage value (figure 7, part second voltage value of VO at soft start), determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to a second current value (figure 7, part peak value of the magnetization at IDS at soft start).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Xiangyang and Lin with the control features as taught by Takashi and obtain the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to: if the detected value of the output voltage is equal to the first voltage value, determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to a first current value; and if the detected value of the output voltage is equal to the second voltage value, determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to a second current value, because it provides more efficient control with power consumption reduction at no load and a light load (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 10, Xiangyang, Lin and Takashi teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the current-value determination unit (figure 9, part current-value determination unit generated by current source IC/IN) is further configured to, if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is smaller to the first voltage value (figure 6, part NTH1) and if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is larger to the second voltage value (figure 6, part CTH2). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to: if the detected value of the output voltage is smaller than the first voltage value, determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to the first current value; and if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than the second voltage value, determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to the second current value.
Lin teaches (see figures 1-15) the peak-current-value determination unit (figure 3, part peak-current-value determination unit generated by 38 and 366) is further configured to receive the first detection signal (figure 3, part Vfb) and, based on at least information associated with the detected value of the output voltage (figure 3, part Vout), determine the peak value of a magnetization current for the power converter (figure 3, part peak value generated by Iref) (paragraph [0035]-[0047]; Control circuit 30 receives input voltage detection signal Vi which is indicative of input voltage Vin, input current detection signal Ii which is indicative of input current Ii and output voltage feedback signal Vfb which is indicative of output voltage, and provides switching control signal Vg coupled to power switch M to control the switching action of power switch M and to control that the waveform shape of input current Iin follows that of input voltage Vin. Control circuit 30 selectively works under CCM or DCM based on different load status… Mode selection circuit 353 has two inputs and two enabling outputs… Subtracting circuit 366 is coupled to peak current generator 364 and reference signal generator 38, subtracts peak current detection signal Ipk from double current reference signal Id and puts out reference current signal Iref).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the current-value determination unit of Xiangyang with the peak-current-value determination unit features as taught by Lin, because it provides high conversion efficiency at light load, implemented with analog circuits and low lost (paragraph [0009]).
Takashi teaches (see figures 1-16) if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is smaller than the first voltage value (figure 7, part peak value of the magnetization at IDS at start oscillation), determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to the first current value (figure 7, part peak value of the magnetization at IDS before start oscillation); and if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is larger than the second voltage value (figure 7, part second voltage value of VO at soft start), determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to the second current value (figure 7, part peak value of the magnetization at IDS after soft start).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Xiangyang and Lin with the control features as taught by Takashi and obtain the peak-current-value determination unit is further configured to: if the detected value of the output voltage is smaller than the first voltage value, determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to the first current value; and if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than the second voltage value, determine the peak value of the magnetization current to be equal to the second current value, because it provides more efficient control with power consumption reduction at no load and a light load (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 22, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 9, part threshold-current-value determination unit generated by RC/RN and M1/M2) is further configured to, if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is larger than or equal to a first voltage value (figure 6, part NTH1) and is smaller than or equal to a second voltage value (figure 6, part CTH2). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than or equal to a first voltage value and is smaller than or equal to a second voltage value, change the determined threshold value for the output current linearly with the changing detected value of the output voltage.
Takashi teaches (see figures 1-16) if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is larger than or equal to a first voltage value (figure 7, part first voltage value of VO at start oscillation) and is smaller than or equal to a second voltage value (figure 7, part second voltage value of VO at soft start), change the determined threshold value for the output current linearly (figure 7, part threshold value of IDS between start oscillation and soft start) with the changing detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Xiangyang and Lin with the control features as taught by Takashi and obtain the threshold-current-value determination unit is further configured to, if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than or equal to a first voltage value and is smaller than or equal to a second voltage value, change the determined threshold value for the output current linearly with the changing detected value of the output voltage, because it provides more efficient control with power consumption reduction at no load and a light load (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 23, Xiangyang, Lin and Takashi teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 9, part threshold-current-value determination unit generated by RC/RN and M1/M2) is further configured to, if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is larger than or equal to the first voltage value (figure 6, part NTH1) and is smaller than or equal to the second voltage value (figure 6, part CTH2). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than or equal to the first voltage value and is smaller than or equal to the second voltage value, increase the determined threshold value for the output current linearly with the increasing detected value of the output voltage; and decrease the determined threshold value for the output current linearly with the decreasing detected value of the output voltage.
Takashi teaches (see figures 1-16) if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is larger than or equal to the first voltage value (figure 7, part first voltage value of VO at start oscillation) and is smaller than or equal to the second voltage value (figure 7, part second voltage value of VO at soft start), increase the determined threshold value for the output current linearly (figure 7, part threshold value of IDS between start oscillation and soft start) with the increasing detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO); and decrease the determined threshold value for the output current linearly (figure 7, part threshold value of IDS between soft start to start oscillation) with the decreasing detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Xiangyang and Lin with the control features as taught by Takashi and obtain the threshold-current-value determination unit is further configured to, if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than or equal to the first voltage value and is smaller than or equal to the second voltage value, increase the determined threshold value for the output current linearly with the increasing detected value of the output voltage; and decrease the determined threshold value for the output current linearly with the decreasing detected value of the output voltage, because it provides more efficient control with power consumption reduction at no load and a light load (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 24, Xiangyang, Lin and Takashi teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 22). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 9, part threshold-current-value determination unit generated by RC/RN and M1/M2) is further configured to, if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is equal to the first voltage value (figure 6, part NTH1) and if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is equal to the second voltage value (figure 6, part CTH2). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose if the detected value of the output voltage is equal to the first voltage value, determine the threshold value for the output current to be equal to a first current value; and if the detected value of the output voltage is equal to the second voltage value, determine the threshold value for the output current to be equal to a second current value.
Takashi teaches (see figures 1-16) if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is equal to the first voltage value (figure 7, part first voltage value of VO at start oscillation), determine the threshold value of the output current to be equal to a first current value (figure 7, part threshold value of IDS at start oscillation); and if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is equal to the second voltage value (figure 7, part second voltage value of VO at soft start), determine the threshold value of the output current to be equal to a second current value (figure 7, part threshold value of IDS at soft start).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Xiangyang and Lin with the control features as taught by Takashi and obtain the threshold-current-value determination unit is further configured to: if the detected value of the output voltage is equal to the first voltage value, determine the threshold value for the output current to be equal to a first current value; and if the detected value of the output voltage is equal to the second voltage value, determine the threshold value for the output current to be equal to a second current value, because it provides more efficient control with power consumption reduction at no load and a light load (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 25, Xiangyang, Lin and Takashi teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 24). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the threshold-current-value determination unit (figure 9, part threshold-current-value determination unit generated by RC/RN and M1/M2) is further configured to, if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is smaller to the first voltage value (figure 6, part NTH1) and if the detected value (figure 5, part VFB) of the output voltage (figure 5, part Vout [see figure 1, part Vout]) is larger to the second voltage value (figure 6, part CTH2). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose if the detected value of the output voltage is smaller than the first voltage value, determine the threshold value for the output current to be equal to the first current value; and if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than the second voltage value, determine the threshold value for the output current to be equal to the second current value.
Takashi teaches (see figures 1-16) if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is smaller than the first voltage value (figure 7, part peak value of the magnetization at IDS at start oscillation), determine the threshold value for the output current to be equal to the first current value (figure 7, part threshold value of IDS before start oscillation); and if the detected value of the output voltage (figure 7, part VO) is larger than the second voltage value (figure 7, part second voltage value of VO at soft start), determine the threshold value for the output current to be equal to the second current value (figure 7, part threshold value of IDS after soft start).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Xiangyang and Lin with the control features as taught by Takashi and obtain the threshold-current-value determination unit is further configured to: if the detected value of the output voltage is smaller than the first voltage value, determine the threshold value for the output current to be equal to the first current value; and if the detected value of the output voltage is larger than the second voltage value, determine the threshold value for the output current to be equal to the second current value, because it provides more efficient control with power consumption reduction at no load and a light load (paragraph [0002]).
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiangyang et al. (WO2021042812; rejection based on English translation), in view of Lin et al. (US 2014/0285163), hereinafter Lin, and further in view of Jin et al. (US 2021/0111620), hereinafter Jin.
Regarding claim 12, Xiangyang and Lin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose an output-current detector configured to detect a value of the output current of the power converter and generate a second detection signal that represents the detected value of the output current.
Jin teaches (see figures 1-9) an output-current detector (figure 2, part output-current detector generated by 11) configured to detect a value of the output current of the power converter (figure 2, part Iout) and generate a second detection signal (figure 2, part Io_cal) that represents the detected value of the output current (figure 2, part Iout) (paragraphs [0026]-[0028]; the calculating module 11 can generate the output current calculating value lo_cal based on a product Vcr×Vcal of the voltage Vcr across the capacitor Cr and the correction signal Vcal, e.g. generate the output current calculating value lo_cal according).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Xiangyang and Lin with the output-current detector features as taught by Jin, because it provides more efficient controller that reduce or eliminate noise in order to obtain more accurate mode operation (paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 13, Xiangyang, Lin and Jin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the mode determination unit (figure 9, part mode determination unit generated by CMP1, NOT1 and NOT3) is further configured to determine the mode of operation for the power converter (figure 9, part through CTRL; complementary mode [CCM] or non-complementary mode [DCM]) based on at least information associated with the determined threshold value (figure 9, part threshold value enter to lower input of CMP1) (pages 9 [paragraphs 3-9] and 10 [paragraphs 1-11]; CTRL is the output of the state detection circuit. The state detection circuit compares the error voltage signal VFB with the set complementary mode switching threshold CTH and non-complementary mode switching threshold NTH to determine the working state of the active clamp flyback converter, and output Control signal CTRL. When the active clamp flyback converter works in complementary mode, CTRL outputs high level "1"; when the active clamp flyback converter works in non-complementary mode, CTRL outputs low level "0". The principle diagram of the first state detection circuit of the present invention is shown in FIG. 9. Including). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose receive the second detection signal and the detected value of the output current.
Jin teaches (see figures 1-9) the mode determination unit (figure 2, part mode determination unit generated by 12) is further configured to receive the second detection signal (figure 2, part Io_cal) and determine the mode of operation for the power converter (figure 7, part mode of operation) based on at least information associated with the determined threshold value (figure 7, part Th1) and the detected value of the output current (figure 2, part Io_cal) (paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Xiangyang and Lin with the output-current detector features as taught by Jin and obtain the mode determination unit is further configured to receive the second detection signal and determine the mode of operation for the power converter based on at least information associated with the determined threshold value and the detected value of the output current, because it provides more efficient controller that reduce or eliminate noise in order to obtain more accurate mode operation (paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 14, Xiangyang, Lin and Jin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the mode determination unit (figure 9, part mode determination unit generated by CMP1, NOT1 and NOT3) is further configured to, when the power converter operates in a discontinuous conduction mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; non-complementary mode [DCM]), in response to the detected value (figure 9, part detected value input to upper terminal of CMP1) becoming larger than the determined threshold value (figures 6 and 9, part CTH), change the mode of operation for the power converter from the discontinuous conduction mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; non-complementary mode [DCM]) (pages 6 [last paragraph] and 7 [first paragraph]; Complementary mode: the transformer leakage inductance current of the converter is CCM mode (continuous current mode, inductance current continuous mode) working mode… Non-complementary mode: the transformer leakage inductance current of the converter is the DCM mode (discontinuous current mode, inductor current discontinuous mode) to a critical conduction mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; complementary mode [CCM]) (pages 9 [paragraphs 3-9] and 10 [paragraphs 1-11]; CTRL is the output of the state detection circuit. The state detection circuit compares the error voltage signal VFB with the set complementary mode switching threshold CTH and non-complementary mode switching threshold NTH to determine the working state of the active clamp flyback converter, and output Control signal CTRL. When the active clamp flyback converter works in complementary mode, CTRL outputs high level "1"; when the active clamp flyback converter works in non-complementary mode, CTRL outputs low level "0". The principle diagram of the first state detection circuit of the present invention is shown in FIG. 9. Including). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose the detected value of the output current.
Jin teaches (see figures 1-9) the mode determination unit (figure 2, part mode determination unit generated by 12) is further configured to, when the power converter operates in a discontinuous conduction mode (figure 7, part burst mode), in response to the detected value of the output current (figure 2, part Io_cal) becoming larger than the determined threshold value (figure 7, part Th1), change the mode of operation for the power converter from the discontinuous conduction mode (figure 7, part burst mode) to a critical conduction mode (figure 7, part normal mode) (paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Xiangyang and Lin with the output-current detector features as taught by Jin and obtain the mode determination unit is further configured to, when the power converter operates in a discontinuous conduction mode, in response to the detected value of the output current becoming larger than the determined threshold value, change the mode of operation for the power converter from the discontinuous conduction mode to a critical conduction mode, because it provides more efficient controller that reduce or eliminate noise in order to obtain more accurate mode operation (paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, Xiangyang, Lin and Jin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the mode determination unit (figure 9, part mode determination unit generated by CMP1, NOT1 and NOT3) is further configured to, when the power converter operates in a critical conduction mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; complementary mode [CCM]), in response to the detected value (figure 9, part detected value input to upper terminal of CMP1) becoming smaller than the determined threshold value (figures 6 and 9, part NTH), change the mode of operation for the power converter from the critical conduction mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; complementary mode [CCM]) (pages 6 [last paragraph] and 7 [first paragraph]; Complementary mode: the transformer leakage inductance current of the converter is CCM mode (continuous current mode, inductance current continuous mode) working mode… Non-complementary mode: the transformer leakage inductance current of the converter is the DCM mode (discontinuous current mode, inductor current discontinuous mode) to a discontinuous conduction mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; non-complementary mode [DCM]) to a critical conduction mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; complementary mode [CCM]) (pages 9 [paragraphs 3-9] and 10 [paragraphs 1-11]; CTRL is the output of the state detection circuit. The state detection circuit compares the error voltage signal VFB with the set complementary mode switching threshold CTH and non-complementary mode switching threshold NTH to determine the working state of the active clamp flyback converter, and output Control signal CTRL. When the active clamp flyback converter works in complementary mode, CTRL outputs high level "1"; when the active clamp flyback converter works in non-complementary mode, CTRL outputs low level "0". The principle diagram of the first state detection circuit of the present invention is shown in FIG. 9. Including). However, Xiangyang does not expressly disclose the detected value of the output current.
Jin teaches (see figures 1-9) the mode determination unit (figure 2, part mode determination unit generated by 12) is further configured to, when the power converter operates in a critical conduction mode (figure 7, part normal mode), in response to the detected value of the output current (figure 2, part Io_cal) becoming smaller than the determined threshold value (figure 7, part Th1), change the mode of operation for the power converter from the critical conduction mode (figure 7, part normal mode) to a discontinuous conduction mode (figure 7, part burst mode) (paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Xiangyang and Lin with the output-current detector features as taught by Jin and obtain the mode determination unit is further configured to, when the power converter operates in a critical conduction mode, in response to the detected value of the output current becoming smaller than the determined threshold value, change the mode of operation for the power converter from the critical conduction mode to a discontinuous conduction mode, because it provides more efficient controller that reduce or eliminate noise in order to obtain more accurate mode operation (paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 16, Xiangyang, Lin and Jin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15). Further, Xiangyang discloses (see figures 1-10) the power converter (figure 5, part flyback converter), each period of the discontinuous conduction mode (figure 9, part through CTRL; non-complementary mode [DCM]) includes N consecutive cycles of critical conduction mode and an additional time duration, N being a positive integer (figure 9, part through CTRL; non-complementary mode [DCM]) (pages 9 [paragraphs 3-9] and 10 [paragraphs 1-11]; CTRL is the output of the state detection circuit. The state detection circuit compares the error voltage signal VFB with the set complementary mode switching threshold CTH and non-complementary mode switching threshold NTH to determine the working state of the active clamp flyback converter, and output Control signal CTRL. When the active clamp flyback converter works in complementary mode, CTRL outputs high level "1"; when the active clamp flyback converter works in non-complementary mode, CTRL outputs low level "0". The principle diagram of the first state detection circuit of the present invention is shown in FIG. 9. Including).
Conclusion
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838