DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action on the merits. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (the Office) has received claims 1 -20 in application 18/623568.
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, are 17-19 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
35 USC § 112
Applicant's arguments filed 2/06/2026 have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. The 112b rejection in regards to “control object processor” and “control object driven algorithm” in claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, the 112b rejection in regards to “weblink” in claim 1 is maintained because claim 1 still does not particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention. In particular, the claims remains unclear as to the component that actually performs the recited weblink functions.
35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 2/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For recitation (1), Bishop does not merely disclose generic account data; it expressly contemplates a phone number identifier in the payment request. The reference states the request may include a different account number for third-party billing, such as a “Sprint phone number or Sprint account number, (¶ 0146)” and also teaches that the payment directory determines routing based on request information and user-related criteria. Thus, the amended “registered phone number” limitation is taught. Bishop also teaches the amended bundling/routing limitation as rejected in the 103 rejection in the section below.
Kasisviswanathan expressly teaches a “message packet” sent through a “dynamic routing switch” to a “control processor.” The art teaches “identifying a host from a routing table” and “transmitting the primary transaction request to the identified host (¶ 0006).” The art further explains that the switch receives transactions in XML message format, that a Document Type Definition defines the packet structure, and that the switch can evaluate responses and forward the transaction to another host. Those teachings meet the claimed packetized switch-based routing, and under the broadest reasonable interpretation the switch’s routing table reads on the claim claimed control object processor function.
Applicant’s argument on the weblink/GUI limitations is also not persuasive because Weller teaches substantially more than a mere branded window. Weller states that, if the account is enrolled, “the ACS via the directory server returns its URL Internet address to the merchant plug-in (¶ 0061)” and “the merchant plug-in then invokes the ACS via the cardholder client device and its resident browser (¶ 0061).” Weller further teaches that the ACS displays a branded window that “prompts the cardholder for his authentication password (¶ 0064),” that “the cardholder enters(¶ 0064)” the password, and that “ACS 114 verifies the authentication password (¶ 0064).”
Applicant’s argument that Weller does not teach instantaneous validation is contradicted by Weller’s express real-time authentication flow. Weller explains that the ACS verifies the password, creates the PARes message, and returns it though the browser path, and further describes matching the authenticated transaction to the issuer’s authorization and settlement flow.
Please see the updated rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “weblink” – the claim repeatedly ascribes executable functionality to a “weblink.” A weblink/URL is ordinarily an identifier/locator, not an execution environment. Treating a link as the operative agent is non-standard terminology that leaves one of ordinary skilled of the art uncertain whether the linked resource/page, a server, or the POI device actually performs the prompting/receiving/ validation. See MPEP 2173.05. Claims 8 and 15 are rejected as they recite corresponding limitations to claim 1, while claims 2–7, 9–14, and 16–20 are rejected based on dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop et al. (US20090287565A1) hereinafter Bishop, in view of Kasiviswanathan et al. (US20050209957A1) hereinafter Kasiviswanathan, and in further view of Weller et al. (US20020111919A1) hereinafter Weller.
Regarding Claims 1, 8, and 15. Bishop teaches:
at least one processing device;
Bishop - The system may employ various integrated circuit components, e.g., memory elements, processing elements, logic elements, look-up tables, and the like, which may carry out a variety of functions under the control of one or more microprocessors or other control devices (¶ 0041).
at least one memory device; and
Bishop - The system may employ various integrated circuit components, e.g., memory elements, processing elements, logic elements, look-up tables, and the like, which may carry out a variety of functions under the control of one or more microprocessors or other control devices (¶ 0041).
a module stored in the at least one memory device comprising executable instructions that when executed by the at least one processing device, cause the at least one processing device to:
Bishop - memory 510 associated with the transaction mechanism 502 preferably includes a transactional control module 512, a risk management module 514, and an authentication module 516 (¶ 0080).
identify initiation of a resource interaction at a point of interaction device by a user, wherein initiation of the resource interaction comprises input of a registered phone number into the point of interaction device;
Bishop - In response to the account and transaction information being transferred/entered into the POS device, the POS device may communicate a request for payment authorization (¶ 0143). payment request may also include encrypted information with a different account number associated with a third party for billing the charge (e.g., Sprint phone number or Sprint account number) (¶ 0146). payment system directory 2420 is configured to determine one or more payment systems based upon at least one of: the payment request…a point of sale device…a date a user data input (¶ 0152). purchaser transaction device sends a purchase request to a POS device (¶ 0161).
cause the point of interaction device to transmit the registered phone number associated with the resource interaction to an acquirer interaction processor;
Bishop - In order to complete the funds transfer from the financial account of the purchaser 204 to the financial account of the seller 206, the transaction mechanism 202 communicates with at least one of a seller's financial institution 208 (acquirer interaction processor), which comprises a suitable financial account associated with the seller 206, and a purchaser's financial institution 210, which comprises a suitable financial account associated with the purchaser 204 (¶ 0067). Payment system directory 2420 (and gateway 2515 as discussed below) may contain algorithms and/or rules to enable payment system directory 2420 to choose a payment system based upon payment information (e.g., transaction amount), information related to the type of transaction (e.g., individual to merchant transactions, merchant to merchant transactions, etc.), the transaction instrument issuer (e.g., American Express) and/or any other criteria (e.g., related to the consumer, merchant, issuer, acquirer, network, POS device, etc) (¶ 0136). the POS device may communicate a request for payment authorization. the POS device communicates with payment systems via a payment directory and/or an SSL gateway (¶ 0143).
upon receipt of the registered phone number, cause the acquirer interaction processor to: bundle the phone number and resource interaction information, via a control object driven algorithm;
Bishop - In order to complete the funds transfer from the financial account of the purchaser 204 to the financial account of the seller 206, the transaction mechanism 202 communicates with at least one of a seller's financial institution 208 (acquirer interaction processor), which comprises a suitable financial account associated with the seller 206, and a purchaser's financial institution 210, which comprises a suitable financial account associated with the purchaser 204 (¶ 0067). the merchant may enter the account information and transaction information (e.g., transaction amount) into a POS device while at the geographically remote location (step 2610) (¶ 0142). Payment system directory 2420 (and gateway 2515 as discussed below) may contain algorithms and/or rules (control object driven algorithm) to enable payment system directory 2420 to choose a payment system based upon payment information (e.g., transaction amount), information related to the type of transaction (e.g., individual to merchant transactions, merchant to merchant transactions, etc.), the transaction instrument issuer (e.g., American Express) and/or any other criteria (e.g., related to the consumer, merchant, issuer, acquirer, network, POS device, etc) e.g., Sprint phone number or Sprint account number) (¶ 0146).
via the control object driven algorithm; and
Bishop - Payment system directory…contain algorithms and/or rules to enable…choose a payment system based upon payment information (e.g., transaction amount), information related to the type of transaction (e.g., individual to merchant transactions, merchant to merchant transactions, etc.), the transaction instrument issuer (e.g., American Express) and/or any other criteria (e.g., related to the consumer, merchant, issuer, acquirer, network, POS device, etc) (¶ 0136).
route the message packet via the control object processor to at least one of an issuer interaction processor and a resource distribution device network, wherein the issuer interaction processor and the resource distribution device network are associated with the user;
Bishop - Payment directory computer determines a payment system for processing at least a portion of the transaction and facilitates an authorization request to the payment system (¶ 0156). The payment directory computer transmits an authorization request to the payment system (¶ 0157). the transaction instrument issuer (e.g., American Express) and/or any other criteria (e.g., related to the consumer, merchant, issuer, acquirer, network, POS device, etc) the transaction instrument issuer (e.g., American Express) and/or any other criteria (e.g., related to the consumer, merchant, issuer, acquirer, network, POS device, etc) (¶ 0136).
Bishop does not teach, however Kasiviswanathan discloses the following:
generate a message packet comprising the bundle,
Kasiviswanathan - The transaction switch according to the present invention receives transactions, preferably in an extensible markup language (XML) message format (¶ 0013).
transmit the message packet via a dynamic routing switch to a control object processor;
Note – (BRI on “control object processor”) – The transaction switch’s routing engine that receives XML packets, uses a routing table to identify a host, transmits the request, and interprets the response to optionally re-route constitutes a “control object processor.”
Kasiviswanathan - A transaction switch routes transaction data…receives transactions…in…(XML)… A Document Type Definition (DTD) is provided to define…an XML packet (¶ 0013 receiving a primary transaction request from an initiator, identifying a host from a routing table for receiving the primary transaction request based on details provided in the primary transaction request, transmitting the primary transaction request to the identified hos (Abstract).
A system for processing resource interactions via a digital code-based dynamic switching and routing mechanism, comprising:
Kasiviswanathan - The present invention relates to a transaction switch (¶ 0002). An acquirer relies on a transaction switch to route transactions (¶ 0005). A transaction switch routes transaction data…The transaction switch…receives transactions…in an extensible markup language (XML) message format (¶ 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the acquirer/directory issuer pipeline of Bishop with the transaction switch of Kasiviswanathan because doing so adds dynamic host selection, failover, load-balancing, and latency reduction.
The combination of Bishop and Kasiviswanathan does not disclose, however Weller discloses:
receive a unique digital code and interaction preferences from at least one of the issuer interaction processor and the resource distribution device network, via the control object processor;
Weller – issuer…associating a designated password (Claim 1). requesting a password from the cardholder, verifying said password, and notifying a merchant of the authenticity of the cardholder if the password entered by said cardholder is authenticated (¶ 0008). access control server 114 can validate the user as an authorized cardholder of the registered account through one or more of the following mechanisms: pass phrase, digital signatures, an online PIN number (¶ 0068).
transmit the unique digital code and the interaction preferences to the dynamic routing switch associated with the acquirer interaction processor, via the control object processor;
Weller - Authentication Response message is also used to deliver the status code when errors and exceptions occur during VSDC Authentication processing. The VSDC Authentication Response message is also used to provide the access control server with the cardholder's password (¶ 0138).
cause the acquirer interaction processor to: generate, via the control object driven algorithm, a weblink comprising a graphical user interface to display on the point of interaction device, wherein the weblink comprises executable instructions to prompt the user to provide a secret digital code, receive the secret digital code, and instantaneously validate the secret digital code against the unique digital code; and
Weller - directory server returns its URL Internet address (¶0061). the access control server ACS displays a bank branded window to the cardholder. The bank branded window contains basic payment transaction information and prompts the cardholder for his PAS password. See FIG. 5 for an exemplary window 500 that prompts the cardholder for his or her PAS password. The cardholder enters his or her password and the ACS verifies the password. As is common today, the cardholder can be given a certain number of attempts to correctly enter the password. If the cardholder is unable to correctly enter the password, then the cardholder can be prompted with the hint question that was established during the cardholder's registration process. Preferably, the cardholder is given one chance to enter the correct answer in response to the hint question (¶ 0064).
transmit the weblink to the point of interaction device; and
Weller - If the ACS indicates that the card is enrolled, the ACS via the directory server returns its URL Internet address to the merchant plug-in. The merchant plug-in then invokes the ACS via the cardholder client device and it resident browser. Once again it is noted that there can be multiple ACS's in PAS (¶ 0061).
cause the point of interaction device to: display the weblink and the graphical user interface associated with the weblink, wherein the graphical user interface prompts the user to enter the secret digital code, wherein the weblink perform instantaneously validation of the secret digital code; and
Weller - CS displays a bank branded window to the cardholder. The bank branded window contains basic payment transaction information and prompts the cardholder for his PAS password. See FIG. 5 for an exemplary window 500 that prompts the cardholder for his or her PAS password. The cardholder enters his or her password and the ACS verifies the password. As is common today, the cardholder can be given a certain number of attempts to correctly enter the password. If the cardholder is unable to correctly enter the password, then the cardholder can be prompted with the hint question that was established during the cardholder's registration process. Preferably, the cardholder is given one chance to enter the correct answer in response to the hint question (¶ 0064).
initiate resource distribution associated with the resource interaction based on instantaneous validation of the secret digital code.
Weller - authentication results to the merchant in real time during the checkout process (¶ 0007). ACS displays a bank branded window to the cardholder. The bank branded window contains basic payment transaction information and prompts the cardholder for his PAS password… The cardholder enters his or her password and the ACS verifies the password (¶ 0064). After the cardholder is authenticated in step 3, step 4 initiates the process for authorizing the specific cardholder's account. Specifically, in step 4, the merchant, through the merchant plug-in software module, sends an authorization message to a payment network such as VisaNet (¶ 0066). SaveReceipt message may also be passed from the receipt file 130 to the issuers authorization and settlement system 138 to allow the issuer to match up the payment authorization request with the payer authenticated transaction in real time (¶ 0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the acquirer/directory issuer pipeline of Bishop and the transaction switch of Kasiviswanathan with the ACS weblink/URL because doing so produces a deterministic authentication result that enables policy-based routing.
Regarding Claims 2, 9, and 16. The combination of Bishop, Kasiviswanathan, and Weller further discloses:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the weblink is active for a predetermined amount of time.
Bishop - receipt by the purchaser of the goods, services, or other value; the lapse of a predetermined period of time within which the purchaser may evaluate the goods, services, or other value and either accept or refuse delivery; and/or any other suitable, predefined event (¶ 0072).
Regarding Claims 3, 10, and 17. The combination of Bishop, Kasiviswanathan, and Weller further discloses:
The system according to claim 1, wherein generating the message packet comprises encrypting the registered phone number and the resource interaction information by an encryption standard that can be comprehended by the acquirer interaction processor, the control object processor, the issuer interaction processor, and the resource distribution device network.
Bishop - the above described transaction entry interface, as well as any or all other aspects of the present invention, may include any suitable form of encryption and/or other security measures either currently known or hereafter devised (¶ 0107). (e.g., Sprint phone number or Sprint account number) (¶ 0146).
Regarding Claims 4, 11, and 18. The combination of Bishop, Kasiviswanathan, and Weller further discloses:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the executable instructions cause the at least one processing device to onboard the user, wherein onboarding the user comprises: prompting the user to provide the secret digital code on a user device of the user; receiving the secret digital code from the user device; linking the secret digital code with the registered phone number of the user; prompting the user to provide the interaction preferences associated with the secret digital code; receiving the interaction preferences from the user device; and linking the interaction preferences with the secret digital code.
Bishop - Payment directory computer determines a payment system for processing at least a portion of the transaction and facilitates an authorization request to the payment system (¶ 0156). The payment directory computer transmits an authorization request to the payment system (¶ 0157). the transaction instrument issuer (e.g., American Express) and/or any other criteria (e.g., related to the consumer, merchant, issuer, acquirer, network, POS device, etc) the transaction instrument issuer (e.g., American Express) and/or any other criteria (e.g., related to the consumer, merchant, issuer, acquirer, network, POS device, etc) (¶ 0136). ). (e.g., Sprint phone number or Sprint account number) (¶ 0146).
Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 19. The combination of Bishop, Kasiviswanathan, and Weller further discloses:
The system according to claim 4, wherein the executable instructions cause the at least one processing device to transmit at least one of the secret digital code linked with the registered phone number and the interaction preferences linked with the secret digital code to the issuer interaction processor and the resource distribution device network.
Bishop - (e.g., Sprint phone number or Sprint account number) (¶ 0146). a primary account may be linked to a supplemental account and the supplemental account may be used to fund a transaction (or a portion thereof) when the primary account drops below a certain predetermined level, exceeds an allowance (e.g. daily transaction limit, limit on purchases for particular type of product, etc.) or when the transaction amount exceeds a certain amount (¶0159).
Regarding Claims 6, 13, and 20. The combination of Bishop, Kasiviswanathan, and Weller further discloses:
The system according to claim 4, wherein the interaction preferences comprise at least one of usage of one or more resource distribution devices for different types of interactions, interaction geofencing preferences, product preferences, service preferences, timing preferences, and merchant preferences.
Bishop - may include any device capable of receiving transaction account or instrument (e.g., a credit card, debit card, charge card, smart card, RFID, etc.) information, transmitting a request for payment authorization (e.g., from a geographically remote location), receiving payment authorization (e.g., at a geographically remote location), storing a payment system directory, and/or storing and executing a logic module. For example, POS device 2310 may be: a computing device comprising a memory, a processor, an input interface and output interface; a kiosk; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a handheld computer (e.g., a Palm Pilot®, a BlackBerry®, etc.); a cellular phone; a mobile device, a magstripe reader; and/or the like. In an exemplary embodiment, POS device 2310 may be a wireless POS device. For example, POS device 2310 may be configured to transmit and/or receive information utilizing radio frequency (RF) signals, Bluetooth® technology, optical signals, microwave signals, satellite signals, and/or any other signal capable of wirelessly transmitting a payment authorization request and/or wirelessly receiving payment authorization (¶ 0130).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14. The combination of Bishop, Kasiviswanathan, and Weller further discloses:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the executable instructions cause the at least one processing device to transmit one or more real-time executable instructions associated with processing of the resource interaction to the acquirer interaction processor, the issuer interaction processor, and the resource distribution device network.
Bishop - Payment directory computer determines a payment system for processing at least a portion of the transaction and facilitates an authorization request to the payment system (¶ 0156). The payment directory computer transmits an authorization request to the payment system (¶ 0157). the transaction instrument issuer (e.g., American Express) and/or any other criteria (e.g., related to the consumer, merchant, issuer, acquirer, network, POS device, etc) the transaction instrument issuer (e.g., American Express) and/or any other criteria (e.g., related to the consumer, merchant, issuer, acquirer, network, POS device, etc) (¶ 0136).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ricci (US20140310075A1) - Systems and methods of determining a presence of a fee area and fees associated therewith. A fee area module can determine if a vehicle is approaching a fee area. The fee area module can determine the fee required to enter or use the fee area and automatically pay the required fee. Alerts can be provided that include information associated with the fee area and alternate routes available. The fee area module can determine if discounts apply to the vehicle based on a status and number of vehicle occupants and a status of the vehicle.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698