DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-33) in the reply filed on 08/17/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 34-51 are withdrawn. Claims 1-33 are examined herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “claims 18” should be “claim 18”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “purified” in claim 1 (line 5) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “purified” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “the purified Pb-212 is between 1-100 mCi”. The meaning of this limitation is unclear. Please clarify the meaning of “1-100 mCi”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “a parent radionuclide and resin” and “Pb-212 and resin”. It’s unclear whether the “resin” recited in line 4 is the same as the resin recited in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11-13 and 23-25 recite “the resin”. It’s unclear whether the resin refers to the resin in the first solid media or the resin in the second solid media. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 13 and 25 recite “TK201 resin”. The definition, composition and structure of TK201 resin is unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 recites “the second columns”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because claim 18 recites “a second column”. Claim 18 does not recite more than one second column. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, 14-15 and 27-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Torgue (US 2021/0050126).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Torgue discloses a device for producing Pb-212 from a parent radionuclide Th-228 or Ra-224, comprising: a first solid media comprising a parent radionuclide and a first resin wherein the parent radionuclide contained in a generator is bound to the first solid medium and the parent radionuclide generates Pb-212 by radioactive decay; and a second solid media comprising Pb-212 and a second resin wherein the daughter radionuclide is bound onto the second solid medium contained in a chromatography column wherein elution of the Pb-212 from the second solid media produces purified Ph-212 having radioactivity of 82 MBq (i.e. 2.22 mCi) (Abstract; [0015] to [0123]; [0212]), which meets the limitations recited in claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 3, Torgue discloses that the first solid media is housed in a first column, and the second solid media is housed in a second column ([0055] to [0076]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Torgue discloses that the device comprises two or more first columns ([0044] to [0048]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Torgue discloses that the first and second columns are connected in series (Figure 2; [0124] to [0127]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Torgue discloses that the two or more first columns are connected in series ([0044] to [0048]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 7.
Regarding claim 9. Torgue discloses that the device comprises one or more first columns and one second column ([0044] to [0120]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Torgue discloses that the first resin is a cation exchange resin ([0055]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Torgue discloses that the purified Pb-212 has a purity greater than about 99.99% ([0094]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Torgue discloses that the device is automated (Abstract), which meets the limitation recited in claim 15.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Torgue discloses a device for producing Ra-224 from a parent radionuclide Th-228, comprising: a first solid media comprising a parent radionuclide and a first resin wherein the parent radionuclide contained in a generator is bound to the first solid medium and the parent radionuclide generates Ra-224 by radioactive decay; and a second solid media comprising Ra-224 wherein elution of the daughter radionuclide from the second solid media produces purified Ra-224 that can be loaded onto a third solid media (Abstract; [0015] to [0123]), which meets the limitations recited in claims 27 and 28.
Regarding claim 29, Torgue discloses that the first solid media is housed in a first column, and the second solid media is housed in a second column ([0055] to [0076]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 29.
Regarding claim 30, Torgue discloses that the device comprises two or more first columns ([0044] to [0048]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 30.
Regarding claim 31, Torgue discloses that the columns are connected in series (Figure 2; [0124] to [0127]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 31.
Regarding claim 32, Torgue discloses that the first resin is a cation exchange resin ([0055]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 32.
Regarding claim 33, Torgue discloses that the device is automated (Abstract), which meets the limitation recited in claim 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, 16-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torgue (US 2021/0050126), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of O’Hara (US 2008/0258076).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Torgue does not disclose that the first and the second columns comprise radiation shielding. O'Hara teaches isotope generators wherein the first and second columns comprise radiation shielding to protect operators/or patients from radiation exposure ([0007]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Torgue to include the radiation shielding as taught by O' Hara for the benefit of protecting operators and patients from radiation exposure as disclosed by O'Hara.
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Torgue does not disclose that there are more than one second columns and the second columns are connected in parallel or in series. O'Hara discloses isotope generators wherein two or more second columns are connected in series or in parallel for the benefit of delivering the eluent to each concentration column, thus being able to provide various concentrations of generated isotope that can be tailored to meet the needs of the patients ([0021] to [0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Torgue to include the two or more second columns as taught by O'Hara for the benefit of delivering the eluent to each concentration column, thus being able to provide various concentrations of generated isotope that can be tailored to meet the needs of the patients.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Torgue fails to explicitly disclose that the device comprises a multi-port head-valve, wherein the multi-port head-valve comprises separate ports which facilitate the movement of liquids through the device.
O'Hara teaches isotope generators comprising a multi-port head-valve wherein the multi-port head-valve comprises separate ports which facilitate the movement of liquids through the device for the benefit of establishing a flow control system comprising a pump and multi-port valves for efficient on-demand production of a target isotope ([0005]; [0007]; [0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Torgue to include the multi-port head-valve as taught by O'Hara for the benefit of establishing a flow control system comprising a pump and multi-port valves for efficient on-demand production of a target isotope. O'Hara discloses that that the device comprises a pump in fluid communication with the multi-port head-valve and the first and the second solid media ([0005]; [0007]; [0030]; Figures 2a-2c), which meets the limitation recited in claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Torgue discloses that the first solid media is housed in a first column and the second solid media is housed in a second column ([0055] to [0076]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, Torgue discloses that the first and second columns are connected in series (Figure 2; [0124] to [0127]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 20.
Regarding claim 23, Torgue discloses that the first resin is a cation exchange resin ([0055]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 23.
Claims 10, 22, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torgue (US 2021/0050126), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McAlister et al. ("Automated two column generator systems for medical radionuclides", 2009, IDS dated 06/22/2026).
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Torgue fails to explicitly disclose that the device further comprises a radiation detector. McAlister teaches producing radionuclides and discloses that the device further comprises a radiation detector (Abstract; page 1987, column I, first paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Torgue to include the radiation detector as taught by McAlister for the benefit of being able to monitor radiation amount and therefore improve safety of the workers (McAlister: page 1986, column 2, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 26, Torgue discloses that the device further comprising a software operated automated module that controls the device for production and purification of Pb-212 (Abstract, [0015], [0102] to [0127]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 26.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torgue (US 2021/0050126), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Triskem (Extraction Chromatography, Technical Document-All Resins, April 2022).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Torgue discloses that ion exchange resins are used in the device ([0055] to [0079]). Torgue fails to explicitly disclose a tertiary amine resin such as TK201 resin is used as the solid media. Triskem teaches resins for extraction chromatography and discloses that TK201 resin (a tertiary amine based resin) contains a small amount of a long-chained alcohol to increase its radiolysis stability (page 29-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Torgue to include the TK201 resin (tertiary amine resin) as taught by Triskem for the benefit of using a resin to impart increased radiolysis stability.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torgue (US 2021/0050126) in view of O’Hara (US 2008/0258076), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Triskem (Extraction Chromatography, Technical Document-All Resins, April 2022).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Torgue discloses that ion exchange resins are used in the device ([0055] to [0079]). Torgue in view of O’Hara fails to explicitly disclose a tertiary amine resin such as TK201 resin is used as the solid media. Triskem teaches resins for extraction chromatography and discloses that TK201 resin (a tertiary amine-based resin) contains a small amount of a long-chained alcohol to increase its radiolysis stability (page 29-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to use TK201 resin (tertiary amine resin) as the solid media as taught by Triskem in the device of Torgue for the benefit of using a resin to impart increased radiolysis stability.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733