DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10-31-25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
The magnet and tie, of claim 13
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 7, as written, the fastener as a whole is a separated structure from both of the handles. It is unclear what structure allows for the fastener to be considered “comprised by” the device if the secondary fastener is not attached to one of the handles. Using Applicant’s Figure 1, when 180 is separated from the shears device, 180 is not comprised by the shears device. The specification supports 182 being attached to 121 or 151 which is the structure that allows for the fastener to be comprised by the device.
With regards to claim 13, the “magnet” and “tie” disclosures are unclear. The specification fails to provide any insight of the structural setup allowing for the magnet or tie option. It is noted that adding a magnet or tie to the Figures or providing any specifics could lead to a new matter rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Balthaser (1,904,399).
With regards to claim 1, Balthaser discloses the same invention including a cutting device capable of cutting cable-tie (Figs. 1 and 2) having a first arm (8) having a first end with a first handle (finger loop on 8) and a second end with a first rounded exterior edge (12) and a first cutting edge (10), a second arm attached to the first arm by a pivot point (7), the second arm (9) having a third end with a second handle (finger loop on 9) and a fourth end with a second rounded exterior edge (12) and a second cutting edge (10).
With regards to claims 2-6, Balthaser discloses the first handle has a first opening (finger loop on 8), the second handle has a second opening (finger loop on 9), the first handle has a first grip area (finger loop on 8), the second handle has a second grip area (finger loop on 9), and the pivot point is a rivet (7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balthaser (1,904,399) in view of Rivera (2002/0004987).
With regards to claims 7-12, Balthaser discloses the invention (see rejections of claims 1-6 above).
However, with regards to claims 7, 13, and 14, Balthaser fails to disclose a loop fastener having a split ring secondary fastener.
Rivera teaches it is old and well known in the art of handles (36) of scissors (32) to incorporate a loop fastener (54, 58) having a split ring secondary fastener (56). Such a modification allows for attachment to another item. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have provided Balthaser with the addition blade portion, as taught by Rivera, because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results and all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Conclusion
12 November 2025
/Jason Daniel Prone/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724