DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gostylla et al. (2020/0346277). Gostylla discloses a body (3, Figs. 1 and 12) having a height (direction v; Fig. 12) extending between a base side surface (bottom of body 3; Fig. 1) and a top side surface (upper working end, 9; [0429], line 16), a width (direction p; Fig. 12) extending between a first end surface comprising a cavity (open space in body 3; Fig. 1) where riveting tools (nose 4 and die 6) are located and a second end surface which is an opposite surface from the cavity in the direction (p), and a thickness (direction h; Fig. 12) extending between a first lateral side surface (front side of body 3; Fig. 12) and a second lateral side surface (rear side of body 3, into the page; Fig. 12). Gostylla discloses an anvil segment comprising a tool connection segment (end of top side surface 9; Fig. 47) which mounts a rivet nose actuator (7), the anvil segment having an anvil segment top surface (facing toward actuator 7; Fig. 46) and an anvil segment base surface (facing toward die 6; Fig. 46). The cavity (open space in body 3; Fig. 1) where riveting tools (nose 4 and die 6) are located is defined by a cavity base surface (where 6 is mounted; Fig. 3), a cavity inner surface (vertical wall in extending in direction v; Fig. 3) and a gusset surface (angled wall between the vertical wall and the anvil segment base surface), wherein the gusset surface (angled wall between the vertical wall and the anvil segment base surface) extends from the cavity inner surface (vertical wall in extending in direction v; Fig. 3) to the anvil segment base surface, and the cavity base surface (where 6 is mounted; Fig. 3) is opposite the anvil segment base surface wherein nose (4) projects downwardly in direction v from the anvil segment base surface (Fig. 3) and a distance (vertical cavity dimension in direction v; Fig. 3) between the cavity base surface and the anvil segment base surface defines an opening of the cavity. Regarding claim 2, the anvil segment (end of upper working end; Fig. 47) has a width (in direction p; Fig. 12) that is less than a width of the body (3) so as to form a tool connection. Regarding claim 3, Fig. 47 shows that the anvil segment (end of top side surface 9; Fig. 47) has lateral surfaces which extend (vertically, direction v) between the anvil segment top surface and anvil segment bottom surface which are coplanar with the lateral sides of the body (same thickness as the body). Regarding claims 6 and 7, Gostylla discloses an aperture in the anvil segment (Figs. 46 and 47) to support the nose actuator (4,7) and an aperture in the base surface to support the die (6) and motorized die actuator (136, [0531]; Fig. 48). Regarding claims 8 and 9, Gostylla discloses that a first lateral side (FLS) of the body (3) has at least one stepped thickness (where 3 is pointing, Fig. 12) that extends vertically along direction v, wherein the stepped thickness is configured to mount tool magazine connections (10, Fig. 14) and Fig. 12 shows that the first lateral side has planar thicknesses between a plurality of stepped thicknesses.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gostylla et al. (2020/0346277). Gostylla discloses a body (3, Figs. 1 and 12) having a height (direction v; Fig. 12) extending between a base side surface (bottom of body 3; Fig. 1) and a top side surface (upper working end, 9; [0429], line 16), a width (direction p; Fig. 12) extending between a first end surface comprising a cavity (open space in body 3; Fig. 1) where riveting tools (nose 4 and die 6) are located and a second end surface which is an opposite surface from the cavity in the direction (p), and a thickness (direction h; Fig. 12) extending between a first lateral side surface (front side of body 3; Fig. 12) and a second lateral side surface (rear side of body 3, into the page; Fig. 12). Gostylla discloses an anvil segment (a segment of the working end, 9) comprising a tool connection segment (end of upper working end 9; Fig. 47) which mounts a rivet nose actuator (7), the anvil segment having an anvil segment top surface (facing toward actuator 7; Fig. 46) and an anvil segment base surface (facing toward die 6; Fig. 46). The cavity (open space in body 3; Fig. 1) where riveting tools (nose 4 and die 6) are located is defined by a cavity base surface (where 6 is mounted; Fig. 3), a cavity inner surface (vertical wall in extending in direction v; Fig. 3) and a gusset surface (angled wall between the vertical wall and the anvil segment base surface), wherein the gusset surface (angled wall between the vertical wall and the anvil segment base surface) extends from the cavity inner surface (vertical wall in extending in direction v; Fig. 3) to the anvil segment base surface, and the cavity base surface (where 6 is mounted; Fig. 3) is opposite the anvil segment base surface wherein nose (4) projects downwardly in direction v from the anvil segment base surface (Fig. 3) and a distance (vertical cavity dimension in direction v; Fig. 3) between the cavity base surface and the anvil segment base surface defines an opening of the cavity. The anvil segment (end of upper working end; Fig. 47) has a width (in direction p; Fig. 12) that is less than a width of the body (3) so as to form a tool connection. Regarding claim 16, Fig. 47 shows that the anvil segment (end of top side surface 9; Fig. 47) has lateral surfaces which extend (vertically, direction v) between the anvil segment top surface and anvil segment bottom surface which are coplanar with the lateral sides of the body (same thickness as the body).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gostylla et al. (2020/0346277) in view of Wu et al. (CN 207709772). Gostylla does not disclose that the anvil segment is separated from the top surface of the rivet yoke. Wu teaches an anvil segment (31; Fig. 2) which is a tool connection segment that is separated from a top surface of a rivet yoke in a vertical direction wherein a top of the anvil segment (31) is a greater vertical distance from a base (32) than a top surface of the rivet yoke. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the anvil segment of Gostylla to be separated a vertical distance from the top surface of rivet yoke body as taught by Wu in order to provide a greater amount of material to reinforce the tool connection portion for added strength.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gostylla et al. (2020/0346277). Regarding claims 10 and 11, Gostylla discloses that the first lateral side and the opposite second lateral side have a thickness that is equivalent to the thickness of the top side surface of the body (where 3 is pointing; Fig. 1), a section of reduced thickness, another thickness that is equivalent to the thickness of the top side surface of the body and another section of reduced thickness (extending along direction v; Fig. 1). It is an obvious matter of design choice to select how far a vertical distance the section of reduced thickness extends on the lateral side of the body in order to provide mounting areas for additional tooling and to reduce a weight of the robotically connected yoke for ease of movement by the riveting robot since Gostylla discloses that the yoke is movable where required within a working area according to different orientations ([0385], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, Gostylla Fig. 47 shows that the anvil segment (end of top side surface 9; Fig. 47) has lateral surfaces which extend (vertically, direction v) between the anvil segment top surface and anvil segment bottom surface which are coplanar with the lateral sides of the body (same thickness as the body).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gostylla et al. (2020/0346277) in view of Mair et al. (2006/0010671). Gostylla discloses that the yoke body (3) is at least rectangularly shaped in that the top side surface of working end (9) is planar (Fig. 1) and a width opposite of the cavity is planar along direction v but Gostylla does not specifically recite that the body is a rectangle. Mair teaches a rectangularly shaped rivet yoke (42; Fig. 3) wherein a top side surface and bottom side surface are planar (Fig. 3) with an open cavity and a planar width surface opposite the open cavity. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the rectangularly shaped yoke of Gostylla to have planar top and bottom sides and a planar vertical side opposite the cavity as taught by Mair so as to form a rectangular shaped yoke.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gostylla et al. (2020/0346277) in view of Galluzo (2006/0179911). Gostylla does not discloses holes in the yoke body. Galluzo (2006/0179911) discloses a rectangularly shaped yoke (24) with rivet tools (168; Fig. 5) including a ram (134) in a base of the yoke and a rivet anvil cap on an opposite top surface, separated by a cavity. Galluzo discloses holes (56,42; Fig. 1) that extend between lateral sides of the yoke body to connect to a tooling pin (43). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to include bore holes in the yoke body of Gostylla as taught by Galluzo to provide connection points for tooling.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gostylla et al. (2020/0346277) in view of Wu et al. (CN 207709772). Regarding claims 17 and 18, Gostylla does not disclose that the anvil segment is separated from the top surface of the rivet yoke. Wu teaches an anvil segment (31; Fig. 2) which is a tool connection segment that is separated from a top surface of a rivet yoke in a vertical direction wherein a top of the anvil segment (31) is a greater vertical distance from a base (32) than a top surface of the rivet yoke. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the anvil segment of Gostylla to be separated a vertical distance from the top surface of rivet yoke body as taught by Wu in order to provide a greater amount of material to reinforce the tool connection portion for added strength.
Regarding claim 19, Gostylla discloses an aperture in the anvil segment (Figs. 46 and 47) to support the nose actuator (4,7) and an aperture in the base surface to support the die (6) and motorized die actuator (136, [0531]; Fig. 48).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gostylla et al. (2020/0346277). Gostylla discloses that the first lateral side and the opposite second lateral side have a thickness that is equivalent to the thickness of the top side surface of the body (where 3 is pointing; Fig. 1), a section of reduced thickness, another thickness that is equivalent to the thickness of the top side surface of the body and another section of reduced thickness (extending along direction v; Fig. 1). It is an obvious matter of design choice to select how far a vertical distance the section of reduced thickness extends on the lateral side of the body in order to provide mounting areas for additional tooling and to reduce a weight of the robotically connected yoke for ease of movement by the riveting robot since Gostylla discloses that the yoke is movable where required within a working area according to different orientations ([0385], lines 1-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725