DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed April 4, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. The NPL reference titled “Total Containment Vessel” has not been considered because no copy was provided. There appears to be a 2-page document submitted, but it is blank.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 10, line 2: “residual reduce force” should read “residual reduced force”;
At claim 17, line 7: “residual reduce force” should read “residual reduced force”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein an unabsorbed force, from when said pressurized cylinder ruptures, vents out of said one or more cylinder tubes as a residual reduced force” in lines 12-13. It is unclear whether the unabsorbed force must actually be vented, or the cylinder tube be capable of venting. In other words, since “vents” is an active method step, it is unclear whether infringement occurs when the containment fill station is made or used, or after a pressurized cylinder bursts (see MPEP 2173.05(p)(II)). For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the one or more cylinder tubes are configured to vent out an unabsorbed force from when said pressurized cylinder ruptures as a residual reduced force.”
Claim 10 recites “said cylinder installation opening is configured to allow any unabsorbed residual reduce force of said ruptured pressurized cylinder to vent in a controlled manner out of said containment housing” in lines 1-3. Claim 10 depends from claim 1, which already recites “an unabsorbed force, from when said pressurized cylinder ruptures, vents out of said one or more cylinder tubes as a residual reduced force; and wherein said containment housing is configured to substantially absorb and retain said residual reduced force.” It is unclear how the cylinder installation opening could be configured to vent residual reduced force when the containment housing is already configured to substantially absorb and retain the residual reduced force.
Claim 12 recites “wherein an unabsorbed force, from when said pressurized cylinder ruptures, vents out of said one or more cylinder tubes as a residual reduced force” in lines 13-14. It is unclear whether the unabsorbed force must actually be vented, or the cylinder tube be capable of venting. In other words, since “vents” is an active method step, it is unclear whether infringement occurs when the containment fill station is made or used, or after a pressurized cylinder bursts (see MPEP 2173.05(p)(II)). For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the one or more cylinder tubes are configured to vent out an unabsorbed force from when said pressurized cylinder ruptures as a residual reduced force.”
Claim 17 recites “said pressurized cylinder installation opening is configured to allow any unabsorbed residual reduce force of said ruptured pressurized cylinder to vent in a controlled manner out of said containment housing” in lines 6-8. Claim 17 depends from claim 12, which recites “an unabsorbed force, from when said pressurized cylinder ruptures, vents out of said one or more cylinder tubes as a residual reduced force; wherein said containment housing is configured to substantially absorb and retain said residual reduced force.” It is unclear how the cylinder installation opening could be configured to vent residual reduced force when the containment housing is already configured to substantially absorb and retain the residual reduced force.
Claim 18 recites “wherein an unabsorbed force, from when said at least one pressurized cylinder ruptures, vents out of said IAI as a residual reduced force” in lines 9-10. It is unclear whether the unabsorbed force must actually be vented, or the IAI be capable of venting. In other words, since “vents” is an active method step, it is unclear whether infringement occurs when the containment fill station is made or used, or after a pressurized cylinder bursts (see MPEP 2173.05(p)(II)). For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the IAI is configured to vent out an unabsorbed force from when said pressurized cylinder ruptures as a residual reduced force.”
Claims 2-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 are also rejected through their dependence on a rejected parent claim (details above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 10, 12-15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SpaceSaver Fill Stations NPL (hereinafter, “SpaceSaver”) in view of WO2012150137 to Brinner (hereinafter, “Brinner”). Note – a copy of SpaceSaver Fill Stations NPL was attached to the April 4, 2024 IDS. Since this copy does not have a publication date, another copy is attached herewith, dated November 28, 2023. References to the document refer to the attached copy.
Regarding claim 1, SpaceSaver discloses a lightweight high pressure cylinder containment fill station (pp. 1-2) comprising: a containment housing (annotated Fig. 1 below); and one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1); wherein said containment housing (annotated Fig. 1) is configured to substantially enclose said one or more cylinder tubes (see annotated Fig. 1); wherein each of said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to retain a pressurized cylinder (annotated Fig. 1; p. 1); wherein each of said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to substantially absorb a force from said pressurized cylinder when said pressurized cylinder ruptures (cylinder tubes are capable of absorbing a force from a ruptured cylinder, see p. 1); wherein an unabsorbed force, from when said pressurized cylinder ruptures, vents out of said one or more cylinder tubes as a residual reduced force (unabsorbed force is capable of venting out of the cylinder tube, see pp. 1-2); and wherein said containment housing is configured to substantially absorb and retain said residual reduced force (the containment housing is capable of absorbing and retaining residual reduced force, see pp. 1-2).
SpaceSaver Annotated Figure 1
SpaceSaver does not expressly disclose said one or more cylinder tubes comprise composite materials.
Brinner teaches a protective device for a pressure vessel. Brinner teaches a cylinder tube (protective cover 124 and layer 126, Figs. 1, 4) that is configured to retain a pressurized cylinder (pressure vessel 102, Figs. 1, 4). Brinner teaches the cylinder tube is capable of absorbing a force from the pressurized cylinder when the pressurized cylinder ruptures (see e.g., para. [0062]). Brinner teaches that the cylinder tube comprises composite materials (paras. [0059]-[0062]). The cylinder tube of Brinner is capable of structurally breaking down while absorbing the force from said pressurized cylinder when said pressurized cylinder ruptures. Brinner teaches filament fibers are wound around the composite materials of the cylinder tube (paras. [0013]-[0014], [0062]). Brinner teaches the filament fibers are glass, carbon, or aramid (paras. [0013]-[0014], [0062]). Brinner further teaches that the composite material with filament fibers provides effective additional protection (paras. [0014], [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the high pressure cylinder containment fill station of SpaceSaver to form the cylinder tubes from composite materials including filament fibers formed from glass, carbon, or aramid, as taught by Brinner for the purpose of providing additional protection to the pressurized cylinders, as recognized by Brinner (see paras. [0014], [0062]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 3, SpaceSaver as modified by Brinner already includes said containment housing (SpaceSaver, annotated Fig. 1) and said one or more cylinder tubes (SpaceSaver, annotated Fig. 1 modified with a composite material in view of Brinner) are made from materials selected from the group of materials consisting of one or more of: composite materials; plastics; polyethylene; polycarbonate; acrylonitrile butadiene styrene polyphenylsulfone; ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene; thin and lightweight metal materials; heavy metal materials; fiber composites; fiberglass; aramid fibers; para-aramid fibers; polyurethane-foamed aluminum; plywood, composite laminates; and synthetic viscoelastic urethane polymer (the containment housing is metal, see SpaceSaver at pp. 1, 3; the cylinder tubes are composite, see Brinner at para. [0014]).
Regarding claim 4, SpaceSaver further discloses a pivot point (annotated Fig. 1); wherein said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to rotate about said pivot point (see pp. 1-2), such that said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) have an enclosed position (rotated to be facing upward) and a loading position (position shown in annotated Fig. 1); and wherein said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to accept installation of said pressurized cylinders (annotated Fig. 1), when said one or more cylinder tubes are in said loading position (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, SpaceSaver further discloses said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to structurally breakdown while absorbing said force from said pressurized cylinder when said pressurized cylinder ruptures (the cylinder tubes are capable of structurally breaking down).
Regarding claim 6, SpaceSaver as modified by Brinner already includes each of said one or more cylinder tubes (SpaceSaver, annotated Fig. 1) further comprises: one or more filament fibers (Brinner, para. [0062]); wherein said one or more filament fibers are wound around said composite materials of each of said one or more cylinder tubes (Brinner, para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 7, SpaceSaver as modified by Brinner already includes said one or more filament fibers (Brinner, para. [0062]) are selected from the group of filament fibers consisting of: glass; carbon; aramid; and combinations thereof (Brinner, para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 9, SpaceSaver further discloses said containment housing (annotated Fig. 1) further comprises: a pressurized cylinder installation opening (annotated Fig. 1); wherein when said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are in said loading position (position shown in annotated Fig. 1), said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to be accessible through said pressurized cylinder installation opening (annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, SpaceSaver further discloses said pressurized cylinder installation opening (annotated Fig. 1) is configured to allow any unabsorbed residual reduce force of said ruptured pressurized cylinder to vent in a controlled manner out of said containment housing (installation opening is capable of allowing any unabsorbed force to vent, see p. 1).
Regarding claim 12, SpaceSaver discloses a lightweight high pressure cylinder containment fill station (pp. 1-2) comprising: a containment housing (annotated Fig. 1 above); a pivot point (annotated Fig. 1); and one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1); wherein said containment housing (annotated Fig. 1) is configured to substantially enclose said one or more cylinder tubes (see annotated Fig. 1); wherein each of said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to retain a pressurized cylinder (annotated Fig. 1); wherein each of said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to substantially absorb a force from said pressurized cylinder when said pressurized cylinder ruptures (cylinder tubes are capable of absorbing a force from a ruptured cylinder, see p. 1); wherein an unabsorbed force, from when said pressurized cylinder ruptures, vents out of said one or more cylinder tubes as a residual reduced force (unabsorbed force is capable of venting out of the cylinder tube, see pp. 1-2); wherein said containment housing is configured to substantially absorb and retain said residual reduced force (the containment housing is capable of absorbing and retaining residual reduced force, see pp. 1-2); wherein said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to rotate about said pivot point (see pp. 1-2), such that said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) have an enclosed position (rotated to be facing upward) and a loading position (position shown in annotated Fig. 1); and wherein said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to accept installation of said pressurized cylinders (annotated Fig. 1), when said one or more cylinder tubes are in said loading position (see annotated Fig. 1).
SpaceSaver does not expressly disclose said one or more cylinder tubes comprise composite materials.
Brinner teaches a protective device for a pressure vessel. Brinner teaches a cylinder tube (protective cover 124 and layer 126, Figs. 1, 4) that is configured to retain a pressurized cylinder (pressure vessel 102, Figs. 1, 4). Brinner teaches the cylinder tube is capable of absorbing a force from the pressurized cylinder when the pressurized cylinder ruptures (see e.g., para. [0062]). Brinner teaches that the cylinder tube comprises composite materials (paras. [0059]-[0062]). The cylinder tube of Brinner is capable of structurally breaking down while absorbing the force from said pressurized cylinder when said pressurized cylinder ruptures. Brinner teaches filament fibers are wound around the composite materials of the cylinder tube (paras. [0013]-[0014], [0062]). Brinner teaches the filament fibers are glass, carbon, or aramid (paras. [0013]-[0014], [0062]). Brinner further teaches that the composite material with filament fibers provides effective additional protection (paras. [0014], [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the high pressure cylinder containment fill station of SpaceSaver to form the cylinder tubes from composite materials including filament fibers formed from glass, carbon, or aramid, as taught by Brinner for the purpose of providing additional protection to the pressurized cylinders, as recognized by Brinner (see paras. [0014], [0062]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 13, SpaceSaver as modified by Brinner already includes said containment housing (SpaceSaver, annotated Fig. 1) and said one or more cylinder tubes (SpaceSaver, annotated Fig. 1 modified with a composite material in view of Brinner) are made from materials selected from the group of materials consisting of one or more of: composite materials; plastics; polyethylene; polycarbonate; acrylonitrile butadiene styrene polyphenylsulfone; ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene; thin and lightweight metal materials; heavy metal materials; fiber composites; fiberglass; aramid fibers; para-aramid fibers; polyurethane-foamed aluminum; plywood, composite laminates; and synthetic viscoelastic urethane polymer (the containment housing is metal, see SpaceSaver at pp. 1, 3; the cylinder tubes are composite, see Brinner at para. [0014]).
Regarding claim 14, SpaceSaver further discloses said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to structurally breakdown while absorbing said force from said pressurized cylinder when said pressurized cylinder ruptures (the cylinder tubes are capable of structurally breaking down).
Regarding claim 15, SpaceSaver as modified by Brinner already includes each of said one or more cylinder tubes (SpaceSaver, annotated Fig. 1) further comprises: one or more filament fibers (Brinner, para. [0062]); wherein said one or more filament fibers (Brinner, para. [0062]) are wound around said composite materials of each of said one or more cylinder tubes (Brinner, para. [0062]); and wherein said one or more filament fibers are selected from the group of filament fibers consisting of: glass; carbon; aramid; and combinations thereof (Brinner, para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 18, SpaceSaver discloses a lightweight high pressure cylinder containment fill station (pp. 2-4) comprising: a containment housing (annotated Fig. 2 below); an impact absorbing insert (“IAI”) (annotated Fig. 2); wherein said containment housing (annotated Fig. 2) is configured to substantially enclose said IAI (see Fig. 2); wherein said IAI (annotated Fig. 2) is configured to retain at least one pressurized cylinder (p. 2); wherein said IAI (annotated Fig. 2) is configured to substantially absorb a force from said at least one pressurized cylinder when said pressurized cylinder ruptures (p. 2); wherein an unabsorbed force, from when said at least one pressurized cylinder ruptures, vents out of said IAI as a residual reduced force (p. 2); and wherein said containment housing is configured to substantially absorb and retain said residual reduced force (see p. 2).
SpaceSaver Annotated Figure 2
SpaceSaver does not expressly disclose wherein said IAI comprises composite materials.
Brinner teaches a protective device for a pressure vessel. Brinner teaches an impact absorbing insert (protective cover 124 and layer 126, Figs. 1, 4) that is configured to retain a pressurized cylinder (pressure vessel 102, Figs. 1, 4). Brinner teaches the impact absorbing insert is capable of absorbing a force from the pressurized cylinder when the pressurized cylinder ruptures (see e.g., para. [0062]). Brinner teaches that the impact absorbing insert comprises composite materials (paras. [0059]-[0062]). The impact absorbing insert of Brinner is capable of structurally breaking down while absorbing the force from said pressurized cylinder when said pressurized cylinder ruptures. Brinner teaches filament fibers are wound around the composite materials of the impact absorbing insert (paras. [0013]-[0014], [0062]). Brinner teaches the filament fibers are glass, carbon, or aramid (paras. [0013]-[0014], [0062]). Brinner further teaches that the composite material with filament fibers provides effective additional protection (paras. [0014], [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the high pressure cylinder containment fill station of SpaceSaver to form the impact absorbing insert from composite materials including filament fibers formed from glass, carbon, or aramid, as taught by Brinner for the purpose of providing additional protection to the pressurized cylinders, as recognized by Brinner (see paras. [0014], [0062]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 19, SpaceSaver further discloses said IAI (annotated Fig. 2) may be at least partially removed from said containment housing (see Fig. 2), such that said IAI (annotated Fig. 2) has an enclosed position (position with IAI upright) and a loading position (position shown in Fig. 2); and wherein said IAI (annotated Fig. 2) is configured to accept installation of said at least one pressurized cylinder (see pp. 2-3), when said IAI is in said loading position (see pp. 2-3; Fig. 2).
Claims 2, 8, 11, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SpaceSaver in view of Brinner as applied to claims 1, 13, and 19 above, and in further view of U.S. Pub. 2024/0255107 to Chun (hereinafter, “Chun”).
Regarding claim 2, SpaceSaver further discloses said containment housing comprises a metal (see p. 3).
However, SpaceSaver as modified by Brinner does not expressly disclose the containment housing comprises a metal material and composite materials.
Chun teaches a high pressure cylinder containment arrangement comprising a containment housing (housing formed by layers 132, 133, 140, Fig. 1). Chun teaches the containment housing is configured to substantially enclose a pressurized tank (tank 110, Fig. 1). The containment housing of Chun is capable of absorbing and retaining residual force from when a pressurized tank ruptures (paras. [0081]-[0082]). Chun teaches that the containment housing (housing formed by layers 132, 133, 140) comprises a metal material and composite materials (paras. [0060], [0067]). Chun further teaches that the containment housing comprises a crumple zone structure (material 131, Fig. 1) The crumple zone structure is capable of deforming as it absorbs any portion of the residual reduced force from when a pressurized cylinder ruptures (see paras. [0062], [0081]-[0082]). Chun teaches the crumple zone structure (material 131) comprises a plastic/foam material (para. [0058]). Chun further teaches that forming the housing from multiple materials, and having a crumple zone structure helps to minimize shock waves from the pressurized tank bursting and improves safety (paras. [0081]-[0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the high pressure cylinder containment fill station of SpaceSaver/Brinner to form the containment housing from a metal material and composite materials as taught by Chun for the purpose of improving safety, as recognized by Chun (paras. [0081]-[0082], and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 8, SpaceSaver as modified by Brinner does not expressly disclose said containment housing further comprises: one or more a crumple zone structures; and wherein said one or more crumple zone structures are configured to deform as they absorb any portion of said residual reduced force from said pressurized cylinder when said pressurized cylinder ruptures.
Chun teaches a high pressure cylinder containment arrangement comprising a containment housing (housing formed by layers 132, 133, 140, Fig. 1). Chun teaches the containment housing is configured to substantially enclose a pressurized tank (tank 110, Fig. 1). The containment housing of Chun is capable of absorbing and retaining residual force from when a pressurized tank ruptures (paras. [0081]-[0082]). Chun teaches that the containment housing (housing formed by layers 132, 133, 140) comprises a metal material and composite materials (paras. [0060], [0067]). Chun further teaches that the containment housing comprises a crumple zone structure (material 131, Fig. 1) The crumple zone structure is capable of deforming as it absorbs any portion of the residual reduced force from when a pressurized cylinder ruptures (see paras. [0062], [0081]-[0082]). Chun teaches the crumple zone structure (material 131) comprises a plastic/foam material (para. [0058]). Chun further teaches that forming the housing from multiple materials, and having a crumple zone structure helps to minimize shock waves from the pressurized tank bursting and improves safety (paras. [0081]-[0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the high pressure cylinder containment fill station of SpaceSaver/Brinner to add a crumple zone structure formed from a plastic material that is capable of deforming when the pressurized cylinder ruptures as taught by Chun for the purpose of improving safety, as recognized by Chun (paras. [0081]-[0082].
Regarding claim 11, SpaceSaver as modified by Chun already includes each of said one or more crumple zone structures (Chun, material 131) comprise one or more materials selected from the group of materials consisting of: plastics; plastic composites; carbon fiber; honeycomb or corrugated cardboard; plywood; and energy-absorbing foam (Chun, para. [0058]).
Regarding claim 16, SpaceSaver as modified by Brinner does not expressly disclose said containment housing further comprises: one or more a crumple zone structures; and wherein said one or more crumple zone structures are configured to deform as they absorb any portion of said residual reduced force from said pressurized cylinder when said pressurized cylinder ruptures; and wherein each of said one or more crumple zone structures comprise one or more materials selected from the group of materials consisting of: plastics; plastic composites; carbon fiber; honeycomb or corrugated cardboard; plywood; and energy-absorbing foam.
Chun teaches a high pressure cylinder containment arrangement comprising a containment housing (housing formed by layers 132, 133, 140, Fig. 1). Chun teaches the containment housing is configured to substantially enclose a pressurized tank (tank 110, Fig. 1). The containment housing of Chun is capable of absorbing and retaining residual force from when a pressurized tank ruptures (paras. [0081]-[0082]). Chun teaches that the containment housing (housing formed by layers 132, 133, 140) comprises a metal material and composite materials (paras. [0060], [0067]). Chun further teaches that the containment housing comprises a crumple zone structure (material 131, Fig. 1) The crumple zone structure is capable of deforming as it absorbs any portion of the residual reduced force from when a pressurized cylinder ruptures (see paras. [0062], [0081]-[0082]). Chun teaches the crumple zone structure (material 131) comprises a plastic/foam material (para. [0058]). Chun further teaches that forming the housing from multiple materials, and having a crumple zone structure helps to minimize shock waves from the pressurized tank bursting and improves safety (paras. [0081]-[0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the high pressure cylinder containment fill station of SpaceSaver/Brinner to add a crumple zone structure formed from a plastic material that is capable of deforming when the pressurized cylinder ruptures as taught by Chun for the purpose of improving safety, as recognized by Chun (paras. [0081]-[0082].
Regarding claim 17, SpaceSaver further discloses said containment housing (annotated Fig. 1) further comprises: a pressurized cylinder installation opening (annotated Fig. 1); wherein when said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are in said loading position (position shown in annotated Fig. 1), said one or more cylinder tubes (annotated Fig. 1) are configured to be accessible through said pressurized cylinder installation opening (annotated Fig. 1); and wherein said pressurized cylinder installation opening (annotated Fig. 1) is configured to allow any unabsorbed residual reduce force of said ruptured pressurized cylinder to vent in a controlled manner out of said containment housing (installation opening is capable of allowing any unabsorbed force to vent, see p. 1).
Regarding claim 20, SpaceSaver further discloses said IAI (annotated Fig. 2) is configured to structurally breakdown while absorbing said force from said at least one pressurized cylinder when said at least one pressurized cylinder ruptures (the impact absorbing insert are capable of structurally breaking down).
SpaceSaver as modified by Brinner already includes wherein said IAI (SpaceSaver, annotated Fig. 2) further comprises one or more filament fibers (Brinner, para. [0062]); wherein said one or more filament fibers (Brinner, para. [0062]) are wound around said composite materials of said IAI (Brinner, para. [0062]); wherein said one or more filament fibers (Brinner, para. [0062]) are selected from the group of filament fibers consisting of: glass; carbon; aramid; and combinations thereof (Brinner, para. [0062]).
SpaceSaver as modified by Brinner does not expressly disclose said containment housing further comprises one or more a crumple zone structures; wherein said one or more crumple zone structures are configured to deform as they absorb any portion of said residual reduced force from said at least one pressurized cylinder when said at least one pressurized cylinder ruptures; and wherein each of said one or more crumple zone structures comprise one or more materials selected from the group of materials consisting of: plastics; plastic composites; carbon fiber; honeycomb or corrugated cardboard; plywood; and energy-absorbing foam.
Chun teaches a high pressure cylinder containment arrangement comprising a containment housing (housing formed by layers 132, 133, 140, Fig. 1). Chun teaches the containment housing is configured to substantially enclose a pressurized tank (tank 110, Fig. 1). The containment housing of Chun is capable of absorbing and retaining residual force from when a pressurized tank ruptures (paras. [0081]-[0082]). Chun teaches that the containment housing (housing formed by layers 132, 133, 140) comprises a metal material and composite materials (paras. [0060], [0067]). Chun further teaches that the containment housing comprises a crumple zone structure (material 131, Fig. 1) The crumple zone structure is capable of deforming as it absorbs any portion of the residual reduced force from when a pressurized cylinder ruptures (see paras. [0062], [0081]-[0082]). Chun teaches the crumple zone structure (material 131) comprises a plastic/foam material (para. [0058]). Chun further teaches that forming the housing from multiple materials, and having a crumple zone structure helps to minimize shock waves from the pressurized tank bursting and improves safety (paras. [0081]-[0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the high pressure cylinder containment fill station of SpaceSaver/Brinner to add a crumple zone structure formed from a plastic material that is capable of deforming when the pressurized cylinder ruptures as taught by Chun for the purpose of improving safety, as recognized by Chun (paras. [0081]-[0082].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. 4,856,565 to Schoeffl et al. discloses a high pressure cylinder containment fill station comprising a containment housing and a cylinder tube configured to rotate about a pivot point between an enclosed position and a loading position (see Figs. 1-8).
U.S. Pub. 2007/0029321 to Palley discloses a high pressure cylinder containment system comprising a cylinder tube formed from a composite material and fiber filaments (see e.g., Figs. 1-10).
EP0687587 to Duvall discloses a high pressure cylinder containment system comprising a containment housing formed from a composite material and having a crumple zone structure formed from shock absorbing foam (see Figs. 1-8).
/LAURA E. PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3733