DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “wherein the location circuit is separate from the location circuit and the lower power circuit”. It is not clear what the actual intended claim language is meant to be interpreted as.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12, 14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saha et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2013/0244686 (hereinafter Saha).
Regarding claims 1, 18, and 19, Saha discloses an apparatus for a mobile device [fig. 1: ref. 100], the apparatus comprising: memory [fig. 1: ref. 120]; and processing circuitry [fig. 1: ref. 110] coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry configured to: receive, via a first wireless connection, location support data [paragraph 0045]; store the location support data in the memory [paragraph 0045]; in response to initiation of a location operation, transition, a location circuit of the mobile device from a lower-power state to a higher-power acquiring state [paragraphs 0046, 0053]; and generate, using the location circuit in the higher-power acquiring state, location state data, wherein the location circuit uses signals from a second wireless connection and the location support data [paragraph 0053].
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Saha discloses wherein the location state data is generated further using information from a real-time clock [paragraph 0081].
Regarding claim 3, Saha discloses wherein the location support data is received by a higher-power circuit [paragraph 0088].
Regarding claim 4, Saha discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: communicate the location state data to the higher-power circuit for storage in the memory [paragraph 0088]; and returning the location circuit to a lower-power state [paragraph 0088].
Regarding claim 5, Saha discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transition the higher-power circuit to a lower-power state [paragraph 0007].
Regarding claim 6, Saha discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: before the receive, transition the higher-power circuit to a higher-power state from a lower-power state [paragraph 0007].
Regarding claim 7, Saha discloses wherein a lower power circuit transitions the location circuit of the apparatus from the lower-power state to the higher-power acquiring state [paragraph 0008].
Regarding claim 9, Saha discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the location support data from a client device [paragraph 0039].
Regarding claim 10, Saha discloses wherein the location data is satellite almanac data and wherein the second wireless connection receives signals from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) [paragraph 0024].
Regarding claim 11, Saha discloses wherein the location operation is initiated at the mobile device in response to receipt of an input signal indicating a control of an image capturing device was selected [paragraph 0034 wherein it is inherent in the art to determine meta data (location) when capturing an image].
Regarding claim 12, it is inherent in the art to provide a location fail indication when the location cannot be determined.
Regarding claim 14, Saha discloses wherein the location state data comprises a plurality of location parameters, the plurality of location parameters comprising an indication of a time when the location state data was determined and an indication of a location [paragraph 0077].
Regarding claim 16, Saha discloses wherein the location state data is generated further based on data from an inertial measurement unit [paragraph 0065].
Regarding claim 17, Saha discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send via the first wireless connection, the generated location state data [paragraph 0053].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saha.
Regarding claim 13, Saha does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: in response to a camera sensor of the mobile device capturing one or more images and the location state data indicating the location fail indication, associating the one or more images with previously cached location state data. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is notoriously well known in the art to use a last known location when current location data cannot be found. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Saha to include this feature. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art element according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Saha does not specifically disclose wherein the location operation is further initiated at the mobile device in response to a determination by determining, using a neural network, that the mobile device has been in a worn state during for at least a threshold period of time. However, Saha does teach that the mobile device comprises components to detects its orientation (worn state) as well as its location [paragraph 0038]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include initiating a location operation when the device is in a determined worn state in order to provide location finding. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Saha to include this feature. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art element according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 15, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,582,453. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claims 1, 18, and 19 are taught in patented claim 1. The instant claims are broader as they omit the limitations regarding high-speed circuitry and the real-time clock. Instant dependent claims 2-5 and 20 are taught in patented claim 1. Instant dependent claim 15 is taught in patented claim 11.
Claims 1, 2, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,972,984. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claims 1, 18, and 19 are taught in patented claim 1. The instant claims are broader as they omit the limitations regarding high-speed circuitry and the real-time clock. Instant dependent claims 2 and 20 are taught in patented claim 1.
Claims 1-3, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206,615. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claims 1, 18, and 19 are taught in patented claim 1. The instant claims are broader as they omit the limitations regarding high-speed circuitry and the real-time clock. Instant dependent clams 2 and 20 are taught in patented claim 1. Instant dependent claim 3 is taught in patented claim 3.
Claims 1-6, 10, and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, and 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,606,755. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claims 1, 18, and 19 are taught in patented claim 1. The instant claims are broader as they omit the limitations regarding high-speed circuitry and the real-time clock. Instant dependent clams 2, 3, and 20 are taught in patented claim 1. Instant dependent claims 4-6 are taught in patented claims 4-6, respectively. Instant dependent claim 10 is taught in patented claim 3. Instant dependent claims 12-14 are taught in patented claims 8-10, respectively. Instant dependent claims 15-17 are taught in patented claims 12-14, respectively.
Claims 1-7, and 9-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,105. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claims 1, 18, and 19 are taught in patented claim 1. The instant claims are broader as they omit the limitations regarding the real-time clock. Instant dependent clams 2 and 20 are taught in patented claim 1. Instant dependent claims 3-7 are taught in patented claims 2-6, respectively. Instant dependent claims 9-17 are taught in patented claims 8-16, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jayakumar et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0011196, disclose methods and apparatuses for use in providing location parameters to mobile applications.
Ignaczak et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0321351, disclose a wearable device journey informer.
Schuchman et al., US RE38,808, disclose a cellular positioning system.
Gronemeyer et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0039316, disclose a system and method for operating a GPS device in a micro power mode.
/EAW/
April 21, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644