DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In an amendment filed 02/09/2026, claims 1, 9 and 11 have been amended, and claims 13-21 have been cancelled. Currently, claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: there is lack of antecedent basis for the recitation “said object”. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 3 and 11 presents the same issues if/after the outstanding objections for claims 1 and 9 are corrected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (US 20220051585 A1), further in view of Frey et al. (US 20250208619 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Robinson teaches an augmented reality system for a pilot in a cockpit of an aircraft flying in real airspace, said aircraft having a geospatial location, and orientation in said real airspace at a given moment, (Para 49, 140-149.)
a computer content presentation system for generating virtual airspace corresponding to said real airspace and at least one virtual object in said virtual airspace, said object having a geospatial location in said virtual airspace, said object's geospatial location in said virtual airspace being independent of said aircraft's geospatial location in said real airspace; (Para 41, 150-171.)
a screen through which said pilot has a field of view of said real airspace outside of said aircraft; a display configured to cause virtual content comprising an image of a portion of said virtual airspace corresponding to said field of view of said real airspace to overlay said field of view of said real airspace, wherein said object is displayed based on its geospatial location in said virtual airspace independent of said geospatial location of said aircraft in said real airspace such that said view shows said virtual object from a perspective consistent with said aircraft's geospatial location and orientation in said real airspace;. (Para 41, 150-171.)
However Robinson does not teach and wherein said object is based on ADS-B data received from a source external to said augmented reality system.
However Frey teaches wherein said object is based on ADS-B data received from a source external to said augmented reality system. (Para 134)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Robinson with Frey to teach wherein said object is based on ADS-B data received from a source external to said augmented reality system in order to produce the predictable result of training with the augmented reality system by monitoring the movement of other aircrafts using ADS-B.
Regarding claim 2, Robinson and Frey already teach the augmented reality system of claim 1,
And Robinson further teaches wherein said third party data comprises at least one of automatic dependent surveillance-broadcast (ADS-B), airborne warning and control system (AWACS) data, map/terrain data, weather data, taxiing data, jamming signal map/data, electromagnetic map data, or intelligence data. (Para 199)
Regarding claim 3, Robinson and Frey already teach the augmented reality system of claim 1,
And Robinson further teaches wherein said virtual content comprises said speed of said object, and orientation of said object in said geospatial location. (Para 41, 141-171.)
Regarding claim 4, Robinson and Frey already teach the system of claim 1,
And Robinson further teaches wherein said display comprises at least one of a head-mounted display (HMD), eyeglasses, Head-Up Display (HUD), smart contact lenses, a virtual retinal display, an eye tap, a Primary Flight Display (PFD) and a cockpit glass. (Para 163)
Regarding claim 5, Robinson and Frey already teach the augmented reality system of claim 4,
And Robinson further teaches wherein said display is a see-through display. (Para 163)
Regarding claim 6, Robinson and Frey already teach the augmented reality system of claim 5,
And Robinson further teaches wherein said system comprises a helmet worn by said pilot, said helmet comprising said display. (Para 163)
Regarding claim 9, refer to rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, refer to rejection for claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, refer to rejection for claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, refer to rejection for claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (US 20220051585 A1), in view of Frey et al. (US 20250208619 A1), further in view of Landers (US 20220114906 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Robinson and Frey already teach the augmented reality system of claim 6, However Robinson and Frey do not teach further comprising a helmet position sensor system configured to determine a location and orientation of said helmet within said cockpit.
However Landers teach comprising a helmet position sensor system configured to determine a location and orientation of said helmet within said cockpit. (Para 469)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Robinson and Frey with Landers to teach a helmet position sensor system configured to determine a location and orientation of said helmet within said cockpit in order further enhance the function of the head mounted display.
Regarding claim 8, Robinson, Frey and Landers already teach the augmented reality system of claim 7,
And Landers further teaches wherein said representation is displayed on said display relative also to said location and orientation of said helmet in said cockpit. (Para 489-490)
Conclusion
/HANG LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626