DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The amendment/remarks submitted 12/30/2025 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-12, 15, and 17-20 are pending. Claims 2, 7, 13-14, and 16 are cancelled. Claims 1 and 9 are amended. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-12, 15, and 17-20 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 9-10, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0250355 A1 (“Huang ‘355”) in view of CN 217788587 U (“Wu” – machine translation dated 05/20/2025 cited herein) and US 2024/0304960 A1 (“Huang ‘960”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang ‘355 discloses a cylindrical battery comprising a jellyroll 2 (“electrode assembly”) inherently comprising a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator interposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate.
The battery further comprises a case 1 accommodating the jellyroll 2 (Figs. 1, 2, 10, 11).
The battery further comprises a positive current collecting plate 3 (“first electrode current collector plate”) is electrically connected to the first electrode plate (Figs. 2, 11; [0026]).
The battery further comprises a terminal portion comprising a positive pole 4 (“rivet terminal”) riveted to one side of the case 1 in a longitudinal direction and electrically connected to the first electrode plate (in this case, the positive electrode) ([0026]) and an insulator 51, 52 between the case 1 and the positive pole 4 capable of insulating the case 1 from the positive pole 4 (Figs. 2, 5-8, 11; [0027]-[0031], [0041]-[0042]). The insulator comprises a terminal contact portion contacting an inner end of the positive pole 4 and a current collector plate contact portion contacting the positive current collecting plate 3. The insulator comprises a stepped structure in an area contacting the rivet terminal. See, for example, annotated Fig. 2.
While Huang ‘355 does not expressly disclose the battery is a secondary battery, as is well understood in the art, batteries may be either primary (non-rechargeable) or secondary (rechargeable). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the battery as a secondary battery because it is one of two well-known types of batteries and would allow the battery to be used in rechargeable applications such as consumer electronics and electric vehicles.
Huang ‘355 does not expressly disclose that there is a gap between the insulator and the first electrode current collector plate.
Wu discloses a cap cover assembly comprising a plastic pad 1142 disposed between a housing 12 and a busbar 112 (Figs. 4, 5; [0053]-[0057]). The plastic pad 1142 includes a plurality of first annular grooves 11421 disposed on the top surface of the plastic pad 1142 and a second plurality of grooves 11422 (“plurality of grooves”) disposed on the bottom surface of the plastic pad 1142 (Fig. 5; [0055]). The second plurality of grooves 11422 forms a gap between the plastic pad 1142 (analogous to the insulator of Huang ‘355) and the busbar 112 (analogous to the positive current collecting plate of Huang ‘355). The second plurality of grooves 11422 are arranged alternately with areas that come into contact with busbar 112 (Fig. 5). The grooves can absorb the stress generated by the plastic pad 1142 during swelling in the electrolyte, thereby reducing the pressure of the stress on the battery cell 13 and the shell 12. In addition, when the battery cell 13 expands due to charging, the pressure of the expansion of the battery cell 13 can also be absorbed by the grooves ([0055]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the grooves taught by Wu to reduce pressure of the stress on the battery and shell and absorb pressure of battery cell expansion during charging.
Huang ‘355 does not expressly disclose a step between a lower surface of the terminal contact portion and a lower surface of the current collector plate contact portion is less than a protrusion height of the rivet terminal from the lower surface of the terminal contact portion to a lowermost part of the rivet terminal.
Huang ‘960 discloses an internal connection structure of a battery terminal and a battery (Abstract). Battery terminal 4 is provided with a snapping portion 3 (including riveting protrusion portion 31) on its bottom surface (Figs. 1-8, 10; [0006]-[0012]). First current collector 2 is provided with a hole through the snapping portion passes and is snapped with the hole ([0006]). This does not need to use laser welding or resistance welding to achieve electrical connection inside the battery terminal, so as to avoid internal short circuit or excessive self-discharge of the battery caused by spatter and metals when welded inside the battery. The connection is convenient and reliable, and the safety of the battery is improved when used in the battery ([0026]-[0027]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connection structure of the terminal and current collector plate as taught by Huang ‘960 to provide a convenient and reliable connection and improve the safety of the battery.
The battery as modified meets the limitation regarding the step and protrusion height as the riveting protrusion portion 31 of snapping portion 3 protrude downward from the lower surface of the terminal. See e.g. Figs. 4 and 10 of Huang ‘960.
Regarding claim 3, modified Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claim 1. Huang ‘355 discloses the case 1 comprises an upper surface portion (Fig. 9) defining a second through hole 62 (“terminal hole”), and a side portion extending downwardly from the upper surface portion, wherein the positive pole 4 is in the second through hole 62 (Figs. 2, 11), and wherein the insulator insulates the positive pole 4 from the upper surface portion (Figs. 2, 11; [0026], [0042]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claim 3. Huang ‘355 further discloses a negative current collecting plate 8 (“second electrode current collector plate”) facing the positive current collecting plate 3, and electrically connected to the second electrode plate and the side portion (Fig. 13; [0043]-[0046]). The positive current collecting plate 3 is disposed between the positive pole 4 and the jellyroll 2 (Figs. 2, 11).
Regarding claim 9, Huang ‘355 discloses a cylindrical battery comprising a jellyroll 2 (“electrode assembly”) inherently comprising a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator interposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate.
The battery further comprises a case 1 accommodating the jellyroll 2 (Figs. 1, 2, 10, 11).
The battery further comprises a positive current collecting plate 3 (“first electrode current collector plate”) is electrically connected to the first electrode plate (Figs. 2, 11; [0026]).
The battery further comprises a terminal portion comprising a positive pole 4 (“rivet terminal”) riveted to one side of the case 1 in a longitudinal direction and electrically connected to the first electrode plate (in this case, the positive electrode) ([0026]) and insulators 51, 52 between the case 1 and the positive pole 4 capable of insulating the case 1 from the positive pole 4 (Figs. 2, 5-8, 11; [0027]-[0031], [0041]-[0042]). Lower insulation sealing member 52 is inside the case 1 and has a surface facing the jelly roll and another surface contacting the positive pole 4. See, for example, annotated Fig. 2.
Fig. 2
The highlighted portion corresponds to annular groove 521 in lower insulation sealing member 52. See [0032]-[0033] and Fig. 7.
While Huang ‘355 does not expressly disclose the battery is a secondary battery, as is well understood in the art, batteries may be either primary (non-rechargeable) or secondary (rechargeable). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the battery as a secondary battery because it is one of two well-known types of batteries and would allow the battery to be used in rechargeable applications such as consumer electronics and electric vehicles.
Huang ‘355 does not expressly disclose that the surface facing the electrode assembly is spaced from the first electrode current collector plate or that there is a gap between the insulator and the first electrode current collector plate.
Wu discloses a cap cover assembly comprising a plastic pad 1142 disposed between a housing 12 and a busbar 112 (Figs. 4, 5; [0053]-[0057]). The plastic pad 1142 includes a plurality of first annular grooves 11421 disposed on the top surface of the plastic pad 1142 and a second plurality of grooves 11422 disposed on the bottom surface of the plastic pad 1142 (Fig. 5; [0055]). The second plurality of grooves 11422 forms a gap between the plastic pad 1142 (analogous to the insulator of Huang ‘355) and the busbar 112 (analogous to the positive current collecting plate of Huang ‘355). The second plurality of grooves 11422 are arranged alternately with areas that come into contact with busbar 112 (Fig. 5). The grooves can absorb the stress generated by the plastic pad 1142 during swelling in the electrolyte, thereby reducing the pressure of the stress on the battery cell 13 and the shell 12. In addition, when the battery cell 13 expands due to charging, the pressure of the expansion of the battery cell 13 can also be absorbed by the grooves ([0055]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the grooves taught by Wu to reduce pressure of the stress on the battery and shell and absorb pressure of battery cell expansion during charging.
Huang ‘355 does not expressly disclose a step between a lower surface of the terminal contact portion and a lower surface of the current collector plate contact portion is less than a protrusion height of the rivet terminal from the lower surface of the terminal contact portion to a lowermost part of the rivet terminal.
Huang ‘960 discloses an internal connection structure of a battery terminal and a battery (Abstract). Battery terminal 4 is provided with a snapping portion 3 (including riveting protrusion portion 31) on its bottom surface (Figs. 1-8, 10; [0006]-[0012]). First current collector 2 is provided with a hole through the snapping portion passes and is snapped with the hole ([0006]). This does not need to use laser welding or resistance welding to achieve electrical connection inside the battery terminal, so as to avoid internal short circuit or excessive self-discharge of the battery caused by spatter and metals when welded inside the battery. The connection is convenient and reliable, and the safety of the battery is improved when used in the battery ([0026]-[0027]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connection structure of the terminal and current collector plate as taught by Huang ‘960 to provide a convenient and reliable connection and improve the safety of the battery.
The battery as modified meets the limitation regarding the step and protrusion height as the riveting protrusion portion 31 of snapping portion 3 protrude downward from the lower surface of the terminal. See e.g. Figs. 4 and 10 of Huang ‘960.
Regarding claim 10, modified Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claim 9. Huang ‘355 further discloses a negative current collecting plate 8 (“second electrode current collector plate”) facing the positive current collecting plate 3, and electrically connected to the second electrode plate and the side portion (Fig. 13; [0043]-[0046]). In the modified battery as taught above, at least a portion of the positive current collecting plate 3 is between the positive pole 4 and the jellyroll.
Regarding claim 18, modified Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claim 10. Huang ‘355 discloses the battery further comprises a cap assembly that is coupled to the side portion and insulated from the case 1 (Fig. 13; [0046]). The side portion comprises a beading part and a crimping part, wherein the negative cap 9 is between the beading part and the crimping part. See annotated Fig. 13 below.
Regarding claim 19, modified Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claim 18. Huang ‘355 further discloses the cap assembly comprises negative cap 9 (“cap plate”) sealing the side portion, and an insulation layer between the negative cap 9 and the side portion (Fig. 13; [0046]).
Claims 5-6, 11-12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0250355 A1 (“Huang ‘355”) in view of CN 217788587 U (“Wu” – machine translation dated 05/20/2025 cited herein) and US 2024/0304960 A1 (“Huang ‘960”) as applied to claims 4 and 10 above, and further in view of CN 218817495 U (“Qi” – EP 4 386 950 A1 cited herein as an English language equivalent).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claims 4 and 10. While Huang ‘355 discloses portions of the insulator disposed so as to insulate as in the instant claim (i.e. “insulating the upper surface portion from an outer end of the rivet terminal that is exposed to outside the upper surface portion,” “insulating the terminal hole from the rivet terminal,” and “insulating the first electrode current collector plate from an inner end of the rivet terminal inside the can”) (see Figs. 2, 11), Huang ‘355 does not expressly disclose the separate insulators as claimed (i.e. a first insulator, a second insulator, and a third insulator).
Qi discloses a battery pack having a pole with a riveted portion 221, and an insulating member 23 provided between the pole 22 and battery housing 21 (Figs. 2-3). Qi teaches the insulating member 23 can be of an integral structure or the insulating member 23 can be a plurality of split structures. For example, the insulating member 23 can comprise an upper plastic member, a sealing member and a lower plastic member, the sealing member achieves the insulation sealing between the pole 22 and the battery housing 21, and the riveted portion 221 and the limiting portion 222 press against the lower plastic member and the upper plastic member, respectively ([0049]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first insulator, second insulator, and third insulator as claimed because Qi shows it is a known alternative which would yield predictable results. See also In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) and MPEP 2144.04(V)(C).
Regarding claim 6, modified Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claim 5. As shown in the Fig. 2 of Huang ‘355 as modified above, the third insulator comprises the terminal contact portion contacting the inner end of the rivet terminal, and the current collector plate contact portion contacting the first electrode current collector plate.
Regarding claim 12, modified Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claim 11. As shown in the Fig. 2 of Huang ‘355 as modified above, the third insulator comprises the terminal contact portion contacting the inner end of the rivet terminal, and the current collector plate contact portion contacting the first electrode current collector plate. As modified by Wu (Fig. 5), the third insulator comprises a portion connecting the terminal contact portion and the current collector plate contact portion.
While modified Huang ‘355 does not expressly disclose the “incline” of the first inclined portion, the incline represents a change of shape to the step. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first inclined portion as claimed absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the inclined portion was significant.
Regarding claim 15, modified Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claim 12. Huang ‘355 discloses in Fig. 2 the claimed upper contact portion. Wu discloses a second inclined portion (see Fig. 2 of Wu, above). While modified Huang ‘355 does not expressly disclose the “incline” of the second inclined portion, the incline represents a change of shape to the step. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first inclined portion as claimed absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the inclined portion was significant.
Regarding claim 16, modified Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claim 15. As shown in Wu, the current collector plate contact portion defines first annular grooves 11421 and second annular grooves 11422 (Fig. 2; [0055]-[0056]).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0250355 A1 (“Huang ‘355”) in view of CN 217788587 U (“Wu” – machine translation dated 05/20/2025 cited herein), US 2024/0304960 A1 (“Huang ‘960”), and CN 218817495 U (“Qi” – EP 4 386 950 A1 cited herein as an English language equivalent) as applied to claims 5 and 11 above, and further in view of US 2023/0118437 A1 (“Fang”).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, modified Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claims 5 and 10. Huang ‘355 does not expressly disclose a protrusion protruding on one of the first insulator and the rivet terminal, and wherein another of the first insulator and the rivet terminal defines an accommodation groove for accommodating the protrusion.
Fang discloses a battery cell (Abstract). Fang teaches electrode terminal 30 further includes a first protrusion 35 protruding from a surface of the limiting portion 32 that faces the first sealing portion 51 and surrounding the body portion 33 (Fig. 6; [0194]). Fang further teaches the sealing member 50 further includes a second protrusion 53 protruding from a surface of the first sealing portion 51 that faces the limiting portion 32 and surrounding the body portion 33 (Fig. 10; [0259]). One or both of the first and second protrusions may be formed ([0194]). The first and second protrusions improve sealing performance ([0021], [0023], [0198], [0202]-[0203], [0214], [0260], [0262]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the protrusion and accommodation groove as claimed because Fang teaches it improves sealing performance.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0250355 A1 (“Huang ‘355”) in view of CN 217788587 U (“Wu” – machine translation dated 05/20/2025 cited herein) and US 2024/0304960 A1 (“Huang ‘960”) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of US 2022/0231345 A1 (“Hwangbo”).
Regarding claim 20, modified Huang ‘355 discloses the secondary battery of claim 19. Huang ‘355 does not expressly disclose an edge of the second electrode current collector plate is between the beading part and the gasket, and contacts the beading part.
Hwangbo discloses a battery comprising a second current collector 80 electrically coupled to can 20 (Fig. 13). The second current collector 80 comprises a plurality of can coupling portions 83 disposed between a lower surface of beading portion 21 and sealing gasket 90 ([0253], [0258], [0261]-[0263]). This allows for the battery can 20 and the second current collector 80 to be easily welded ([0261]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the second electrode current collector plate as claimed to allow for easy welding as taught by Hwangbo.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not disclose the claimed plurality of grooves. The Office respectfully disagrees. Wu discloses a cap cover assembly comprising a plastic pad 1142 disposed between a housing 12 and a busbar 112 (Figs. 4, 5; [0053]-[0057]). The plastic pad 1142 includes a second plurality of grooves 11422 (“plurality of grooves”) disposed on the bottom surface of the plastic pad 1142 (analogous to the claimed current collector plate contact portion) (Fig. 5; [0055]). The second plurality of grooves 11422 forms a gap between the plastic pad 1142 (analogous to the insulator of Huang ‘355) and the busbar 112 (analogous to the positive current collecting plate of Huang ‘355). The second plurality of grooves 11422 are arranged alternately with areas that come into contact with busbar 112 (Fig. 5). For these reasons, the rejection over the cited prior art is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Robert Scott Carrico
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/Robert S Carrico/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727