DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 7/15/2025 havingclaims 1-20 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 04/01/2024 is a has PRO 63/472,890 06/14/2023are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 04/01/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/15/2025 09/25/2013 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 04/01/2024is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20120165063 A1 Scalia et al. (Hereinafter “Scalia").
As pe claim 1, Scalia teaches a method, comprising: determining a load associated with an antenna of a cell site of a cellular network (para 0014, 0052-0053], controller associated with wireless communication system determines the load associated with network system);; comparing the load to a predetermined threshold (para 0014, 0052-0053], comparing the load to preset threshold to control load ); determining whether the load is below the predetermined threshold (para 0052-0053], determining whether the load is below the predetermined threshold ); in response to the load being determined to be below the predetermined threshold, reducing electrical power for the antenna (para 0052-0053], in response to the determining that load below the predetermined threshold, reducing electrical power for the antenna); and in response to the load being determined to be above the predetermined threshold, maintaining electrical power for the antenna (para 0052-0053], based on the determination that, maintaining electrical power for the antenna).
As pe claim 2, Scalia teaches the method of claim 1, wherein reducing the electrical power for the antenna comprises: turning off a power amplifier for the antenna (para 0052], the power control unit 130 may switch off).
As pe claim 3, Scalia teaches the method of claim 1, wherein reducing the electrical power for the antenna comprises: turning off an antenna port of a radio unit that communicates with the antenna (para 0052], turn off the switch and that communicates with the antenna ).
As pe claim 5, Scalia teaches the method of claim 1, wherein reducing the electrical power for the antenna comprises: instructing a radio unit that communicates with the antenna to power down (para 0052], the power control unit 130 may switch off thereby power down).
As pe claim 6, Scalia teaches the method of claim 1, where determining the load associated with the antenna comprises: determining a current traffic load on the antenna (para 0048], traffic load determiner 110 may measure a traffic load 112 currently present in the wireless communication system ).
As pe claim 9, Scalia teaches the method of claim 1, where determining the load associated with the antenna comprises: determining a utilization of resource blocks allocated to user devices communicating via the antenna (para 0150], determining a utilization of resource blocks allocated to user devices communicating via the antenna ).
As pe claim 10, Scalia teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining to restore electrical power for the antenna after electrical power for the antenna was reduced (para 0052-0053],restoring electrical power based on the threshold changes based on the network load ); and restoring electrical power for the antenna ((para 0052-0053], changing the electrical power for the antenna based on the threshold.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalia further view of US PG Pub US 20220352938 A1 to LIU et al (hereinafter LIU).
As pe claim 4, Scalia teaches the method of claim 1, LIU teaches wherein reducing the electrical power for the antenna comprises: turning off a transmitting antenna port of a 4T4R antenna port of a radio unit that communicates with the antenna (para 0009], switch group corresponding to a current scene, configured to turn on or off the plurality of 4T4R antennas;). 20220352938
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Scalia by turning off a transmitting antenna port of a 4T4R antenna port of a radio unit that communicates with the antenna as suggested by LIU, this modification would benefit Scalia for enabling an efficient data cotrol mechanism in a high speed network such as 5G network.
5. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalia further view of US PG Pub US 20230125174 A1 to Sevindik et al (hereinafter Sevindik).
As pe claim 7, Scalia teaches the method of claim 1, Sevindik teaches where determining the load associated with the antenna comprises: determining a predicted traffic load on the antenna ((para 0052], predicted traffic is associated with upper and lower threshold for load calculation. ). 20230125174
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Scalia by determining the load associated with the antenna comprises: determining a predicted traffic load on the antenna as suggested by Sevindik, this modification would benefit Scalia for enabling a to deliver superior downlink speeds to respective mobile users in a mobile communication network.
As pe claim 8, Scalia teaches the method of claim 1, Sevindik teaches where determining the load associated with the antenna comprises: determining a current number of user devices communicating via the antenna (para [0023], The determines how many UEs are connected to each of the different instances of antenna hardware).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 7.
5. Claim(s) 11-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub US 20230134430 A1 to Taylor et al (hereinafter Taylor) in view of Scalia
As per claim 11, Taylor teaches a system for controlling power consumption by a cellular network, comprising: an antenna of a cell site of a cellular network (para 0020], an antenna of a cell site of a cellular network); a central unit that resides on a public cloud of the cellular network (para 0059], fig. 6,); comprising a central unit that resides on a public cloud of the cellular network ); a distributed unit that resides on a private cloud of the cellular network such that the distributed unit is in communication with the central unit on the public cloud of the cellular network ((para 0059], fig. 6, distributed unit which is located in private network or public network e distributed unit is in communication with the central unit on the public cloud of the cellular network); a radio unit connected to an antenna and under control of the distributed unit (para 0020], a radio unit connected to an antenna and under control of the distributed unit ); and a processor configured to execute computer instructions to:
Scalia teaches determine a load associated with an antenna of a cell site of a cellular network(para 0014, 0052-0053], controller associated with wireless communication system determines the load associated with network system);;; compare the load to a predetermined threshold(para 0014, 0052-0053], comparing the load to preset threshold to control load );; in response to the load being below the predetermined threshold, reduce electrical power for the antenna(para 0052-0053], in response to the determining that load below the predetermined threshold, reducing electrical power for the antenna);.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Taylor by determine a load associated with an antenna of a cell site of a cellular network; compare the load to a predetermined threshold; in response to the load being below the predetermined threshold, reduce electrical power for the antenna as suggested by Scalia, this modification would benefit Taylor for providing energy efficiency of the proposed algorithms and the tradeoff between energy saving and coverage guarantee..
As per claim 12, Taylor, Scalia teaches system of claim 11, wherein the processor is within the distributed unit (para 0061, processor is associated with distributed unit).
As per claim 13, Taylor, Scalia teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the processor is within the central unit (para 0061, processor is associated with central unit)..
As per claim 14, Taylor, Scalia teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the processor is within the radio unit (para 0061, processor is associated with central unit radio)...
As per claim 15, Taylor, Scalia teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the processor reduces the electrical power for the antenna by being configured to execute further computer instructions to: turn off a power amplifier for the antenna ((para 0014, 0052, turn off a power amplifier for the antenna).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 7.
As per claim 16, Taylor, Scalia teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the processor reduces the electrical power for the antenna by being configured to execute further computer instructions to: turn off an antenna port of the radio unit that communicates with the antenna ((para 0014, 0052-0053], turn off an antenna port of the radio unit that communicates with the antenna ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 7.
As per claim 18, Taylor, Scalia teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the processor reduces the electrical power for the antenna by being configured to execute further computer instructions to: instruct the radio unit that communicates with the antenna to power down ((para 0014, 0052, instruct the radio unit that communicates with the antenna to power down )
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 11.
As per claim 19, Taylor teaches the cellular network comprising: radio access network (RAN) nodes ((para 0020], fig 6, comprising: radio access network (RAN) nodes), wherein each RAN node includes: a central unit (CU) that resides on a public cloud of the cellular network (para 0059], fig. 6,); comprising a central unit that resides on a public cloud of the cellular network );; a distributed unit (DU) that resides on a private cloud of the cellular network such that the DU is in communication with the CU on the public cloud of the cellular network(para 0059], fig. 6, distributed unit which is located in private network or public network e distributed unit is in communication with the central unit on the public cloud of the cellular network);; at least one radio unit (RU) under control of the DU (para 0020], fig. 6, at least one radio unit (RU) under control of the DU ); and a plurality of antennas, with each antenna connected to one or more of the at least one RU (para 0020], fig. 6, a radio unit connected to an antenna and under control of the distributed unit );; and at least one processor configured to execute computer-executable instructions to(para 0020], fig. 6, least one processor configured to execute computer-executable instructions to );
Scalia teaches assess a characteristic of at least a portion of the cellular network that is utilizing at least one antenna of the plurality of antennas (para 0014, 0052-0053], controller associated with wireless communication system determines the load associated with network system);and in response to the characteristic being assessed below a predetermined threshold, reduce power for the at least one antenna ((para 0014, 0052-0053], reducing the power of the antenna when characteristic being assessed below a predetermined threshold,).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 11.
As per claim 20, Taylor, Scalia teaches the cellular network of claim 19, Scalia teaches wherein the at least one processor reduces power for the at least one antenna by being configured to further execute the computer-executable instructions to: turn off an antenna port of an RU connected to the at least one antenna (0052-0053], turn off an antenna port of an RU connected to the at least one antenna).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 7.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor, Scalia further view of US PG Pub US 20220352938 A1 to LIU et al (hereinafter LIU).
As per claim 17, Taylor, Scalia teaches the system of claim 11, LIU teaches wherein the processor reduces the electrical power for the antenna by being configured to execute further computer instructions to: turn off a transmitting antenna port of a 4T4R antenna port of the radio unit that communicates with the antenna(para 0009], switch group corresponding to a current scene, configured to turn on or off the plurality of 4T4R antennas;).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Taylor, Scalia by turn off a transmitting antenna port of a 4T4R antenna port of the radio unit that communicates with the antenna as suggested by LIU, this modification would benefit Taylor, Scalia for enabling an efficient data cotrol mechanism in a high speed network such as 5G network.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20210359411 A1; US Patent Publication US 20200028745 A1, US Patent Publication US 20210068123 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467