DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
2. Claims 5, 6, 9, and 12 are pending and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 5, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (product of nature) without significantly more.
The claims are drawn to a DNA molecule having a sufficient length of contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 10 to function as a DNA probe specific for SEQ ID NO: 10 in a sample; including, wherein the DNA probe comprises SEQ ID NO: 13.
A polynucleotide comprising the full-length SEQ ID NO: 13 is present in a number of naturally occurring organisms. For example, GenBank Accession Number OZ038523 (submitted on May 13, 2024) discloses a sequence from Tenacibaculum sp., a bacterium, that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 13. The sequence alignment is set forth below.
Tenacibaculum sp. 190524A05c isolate ena-SAMPLE-TAB-13-05-2024-13:56:06:370-140299 genome assembly, chromosome: T190524A05C
Sequence ID: OZ038523.1 Length: 4130482Number of Matches: 1
Range 1: 3831061 to 3831076
Query 1 ATCCATGTAGATTTCC 16
||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 3831076 ATCCATGTAGATTTCC 3831061
The claims thus encompass a product of nature. Moreover, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example, claim 12, although it is drawn to a “kit,” does not recite any structural elements other than the probe of claim 5, which includes the probe of SEQ ID NO: 13.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims are merely directed to a DNA molecule or a kit whose sole recited element is said DNA molecule, and do not encompass any method steps or any other limitations that could be reasonably interpreted as requiring the integration of said naturally occurring DNA molecule into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 5, 6, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brinker et al (US Patent 8,501,407, issued on August 6, 2013).
Brinker et al disclose, at SEQ ID NO: 6, the nucleic acid sequence of soybean transgenic event MON 87708 that has 83.6% sequence identity to nucleotides 1098-3895 of the instant SEQ ID NO: 10. The sequence of Brinker et al encompasses large portions of contiguous nucleotides with 100% identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 10. This includes positions 3869 to 3881 of SEQ ID NO: 10, which represent the instant SEQ ID NO: 13 (see the Specification, Brief Description of the Sequences on page 6 and paragraph 33 on page 7). The sequence alignment is set forth below.
Brinker et al disclose a DNA probe comprising a nucleotide sequence of sufficient length of contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 6, wherein said probe is diagnostic for the presence of event MON 87708. Brinker et al disclose a method for detecting the presence of a DNA molecule from soybean event MON 87708 in a sample, comprising contacting said sample with said probe, subjecting said sample and said probe to stringent hybridization conditions, and detecting hybridization of said DNA probe to a DNA molecule in said sample, wherein the hybridization of said DNA probe to said DNA molecule indicates the presence of a DNA molecule form said soybean event MON 87708. Brinker et al disclose a DNA detecting kit comprising said probe (claims 15, 17, and 22).
Because the sequence of Brinker et al comprises large portions of contiguous nucleotides having 100% identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 10, which portions can be used as a probe, the DNA molecule and the kit of Brinker et al read on the DNA molecule and the kit of the instant claims 5, 6, and 12. The steps of the method of Brinker et al will read on those of the instant claim 9. It is noted that the limitation, in the instant claim 9, “wherein the hybridization of the DNA probe to the DNA molecule indicates the presence of Brassica Event MON94100” is reasonably interpreted as an intended result of the method. It is noted that a "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005). See MPEP 2111.04. Moreover, a sample of DNA “derived” from a Brassica plant may include other DNA sources and thus the sample of Brinker et al will read on the sample of the instant method.
Similarly, in claim 5, the recitation “to function as a DNA probe specific for SEQ ID NO: 10 in a sample derived from a Brassica plant” is an intended use for the claimed DNA molecule, which does not preclude the functionally recited DNA probe from also recognizing the presence of DNA derived from other transgenic events.
For these reasons, the disclosure of Brinker et al anticipates the invention of the instant claims.
The alignment between the instant SEQ ID NO: 10 and SEQ ID NO: 6 of Brinker et al.
Sequence 6, US/12868989
Patent No. 8501407
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Monsanto Technology LLC
APPLICANT: Brinker, Ronald J
APPLICANT: Burns, Wen C.
APPLICANT: Feng, Paul C.C.
APPLICANT: Gupta, Anju
APPLICANT: Hoi, Soi-Wai
APPLICANT: Malven, Marianne
APPLICANT: Wu, Kunsheng
TITLE OF INVENTION: Soybean Transgenic Event MON 87708 and Methods of Use Thereof
FILE REFERENCE: 38-21(55544)0000
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/12/868,989
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2010-08-26
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 61/243,227
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2009-09-17
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 16
SEQ ID NO 6
LENGTH: 5946
TYPE: DNA
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Chimeric DNA molecule of soybean genomic DNA and transgene DNA
Query Match 41.9%; Score 2058.2; Length 5946;
Best Local Similarity 83.6%;
Matches 2450; Conservative 0; Mismatches 348; Indels 133; Gaps 5;
Qy 1098 CGGCCGCAGATCTTGAGCCAATCAAAGAGGAGTGATGTAGACCTAAAGCAATAATGGAGC 1157
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1208 CGGCCGCAGATCTTGAGCCAATCAAAGAGGAGTGATGTAGACCTAAAGCAATAATGGAGC 1267
Qy 1158 CATGACGTAAGGGCTTACGCCCATACGAAATAATTAAAGGCTGATGTGACCTGTCGGTCT 1217
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1268 CATGACGTAAGGGCTTACGCCCATACGAAATAATTAAAGGCTGATGTGACCTGTCGGTCT 1327
Qy 1218 CTCAGAACCTTTACTTTTTATGTTTGGCGTGTATTTTTAAATTTCCACGGCAATGACGAT 1277
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1328 CTCAGAACCTTTACTTTTTATGTTTGGCGTGTATTTTTAAATTTCCACGGCAATGACGAT 1387
Qy 1278 GTGACCCAACGAGATCTTGAGCCAATCAAAGAGGAGTGATGTAGACCTAAAGCAATAATG 1337
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1388 GTGACCCAACGAGATCTTGAGCCAATCAAAGAGGAGTGATGTAGACCTAAAGCAATAATG 1447
Qy 1338 GAGCCATGACGTAAGGGCTTACGCCCATACGAAATAATTAAAGGCTGATGTGACCTGTCG 1397
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1448 GAGCCATGACGTAAGGGCTTACGCCCATACGAAATAATTAAAGGCTGATGTGACCTGTCG 1507
Qy 1398 GTCTCTCAGAACCTTTACTTTTTATATTTGGCGTGTATTTTTAAATTTCCACGGCAATGA 1457
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1508 GTCTCTCAGAACCTTTACTTTTTATATTTGGCGTGTATTTTTAAATTTCCACGGCAATGA 1567
Qy 1458 CGATGTGACCTGTGCATCCGCTTTGCCTATAAATAAGTTTTAGTTTGTATTGATCGACAC 1517
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1568 CGATGTGACCTGTGCATCCGCTTTGCCTATAAATAAGTTTTAGTTTGTATTGATCGACAC 1627
Qy 1518 GGTCGAGAAGACACGGCCATAAGCTTGGATCCTCGAGAATTCTCAACACAACATATACAA 1577
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1628 GGTCGAGAAGACACGGCCATAAGCTTGGATCCTCGAGAATTCTCAACACAACATATACAA 1687
Qy 1578 AACAAACGAATCTCAAGCAATCAAGCATTCTACTTCTATTGCAGCAATTTAAATCATTTC 1637
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1688 AACAAACGAATCTCAAGCAATCAAGCATTCTACTTCTATTGCAGCAATTTAAATCATTTC 1747
Qy 1638 TTTTAAAGCAAAAGCAATTTTCTGAAAATTTTCACCATTTACGAACGATAGCCATGGCTT 1697
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1748 TTTTAAAGCAAAAGCAATTTTCTGAAAATTTTCACCATTTACGAACGATAGCCATGGCTT 1807
Qy 1698 CTATGATATCCTCTTCCGCTGTGACAACAGTCAGCCGTGCCTCTAGGGGGCAATCCGCCG 1757
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1808 CTATGATATCCTCTTCCGCTGTGACAACAGTCAGCCGTGCCTCTAGGGGGCAATCCGCCG 1867
Qy 1758 CAATGGCTCCATTCGGCGGCCTCAAATCCATGACTGGATTCCCAGTGAGGAAGGTCAACA 1817
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1868 CAATGGCTCCATTCGGCGGCCTCAAATCCATGACTGGATTCCCAGTGAGGAAGGTCAACA 1927
Qy 1818 CTGACATTACTTCCATTACAAGCAATGGTGGAAGAGTAAAGTGCATGCAGGTGTGGCCTC 1877
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1928 CTGACATTACTTCCATTACAAGCAATGGTGGAAGAGTAAAGTGCATGCAGGTGTGGCCTC 1987
Qy 1878 CAATTGGAAAGAAGAAGTTTGAGACTCTTTCCTATTTGCCACCATTGACGAGAGATTCCC 1937
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1988 CAATTGGAAAGAAGAAGTTTGAGACTCTTTCCTATTTGCCACCATTGACGAGAGATTCCC 2047
Qy 1938 GGGCCATGGCCACCTTCGTCCGCAATGCCTGGTATGTGGCGGCGCTGCCCGAGGAACTGT 1997
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2048 GGGCCATGGCCACCTTCGTCCGCAATGCCTGGTATGTGGCGGCGCTGCCCGAGGAACTGT 2107
Qy 1998 CCGAAAAGCCGCTCGGCCGGACGATTCTCGACACACCGCTCGCGCTCTACCGCCAGCCCG 2057
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2108 CCGAAAAGCCGCTCGGCCGGACGATTCTCGACACACCGCTCGCGCTCTACCGCCAGCCCG 2167
Qy 2058 ACGGTGTGGTCGCGGCGCTGCTCGACATCTGTCCGCACCGCTTCGCGCCGCTGAGCGACG 2117
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2168 ACGGTGTGGTCGCGGCGCTGCTCGACATCTGTCCGCACCGCTTCGCGCCGCTGAGCGACG 2227
Qy 2118 GCATCCTCGTCAACGGCCATCTCCAATGCCCCTATCACGGGCTGGAATTCGATGGCGGCG 2177
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2228 GCATCCTCGTCAACGGCCATCTCCAATGCCCCTATCACGGGCTGGAATTCGATGGCGGCG 2287
Qy 2178 GGCAGTGCGTCCATAACCCGCACGGCAATGGCGCCCGCCCGGCTTCGCTCAACGTCCGCT 2237
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2288 GGCAGTGCGTCCATAACCCGCACGGCAATGGCGCCCGCCCGGCTTCGCTCAACGTCCGCT 2347
Qy 2238 CCTTCCCGGTGGTGGAGCGCGACGCGCTGATCTGGATCTGTCCCGGCGATCCGGCGCTGG 2297
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2348 CCTTCCCGGTGGTGGAGCGCGACGCGCTGATCTGGATCTGTCCCGGCGATCCGGCGCTGG 2407
Qy 2298 CCGATCCTGGGGCGATCCCCGACTTCGGCTGCCGCGTCGATCCCGCCTATCGGACCGTCG 2357
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2408 CCGATCCTGGGGCGATCCCCGACTTCGGCTGCCGCGTCGATCCCGCCTATCGGACCGTCG 2467
Qy 2358 GCGGCTATGGGCATGTCGACTGCAACTACAAGCTGCTGGTCGACAACCTGATGGACCTCG 2417
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2468 GCGGCTATGGGCATGTCGACTGCAACTACAAGCTGCTGGTCGACAACCTGATGGACCTCG 2527
Qy 2418 GCCACGCCCAATATGTCCATCGCGCCAACGCCCAGACCGACGCCTTCGACCGGCTGGAGC 2477
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2528 GCCACGCCCAATATGTCCATCGCGCCAACGCCCAGACCGACGCCTTCGACCGGCTGGAGC 2587
Qy 2478 GCGAGGTGATCGTCGGCGACGGTGAGATACAGGCGCTGATGAAGATTCCCGGCGGCACGC 2537
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2588 GCGAGGTGATCGTCGGCGACGGTGAGATACAGGCGCTGATGAAGATTCCCGGCGGCACGC 2647
Qy 2538 CGAGCGTGCTGATGGCCAAGTTCCTGCGCGGCGCCAATACCCCCGTCGACGCTTGGAACG 2597
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2648 CGAGCGTGCTGATGGCCAAGTTCCTGCGCGGCGCCAATACCCCCGTCGACGCTTGGAACG 2707
Qy 2598 ACATCCGCTGGAACAAGGTGAGCGCGATGCTCAACTTCATCGCGGTGGCGCCGGAAGGCA 2657
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2708 ACATCCGCTGGAACAAGGTGAGCGCGATGCTCAACTTCATCGCGGTGGCGCCGGAAGGCA 2767
Qy 2658 CCCCGAAGGAGCAGAGCATCCACTCGCGCGGTACCCATATCCTGACCCCCGAGACGGAGG 2717
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2768 CCCCGAAGGAGCAGAGCATCCACTCGCGCGGTACCCATATCCTGACCCCCGAGACGGAGG 2827
Qy 2718 CGAGCTGCCATTATTTCTTCGGCTCCTCGCGCAATTTCGGCATCGACGATCCGGAGATGG 2777
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2828 CGAGCTGCCATTATTTCTTCGGCTCCTCGCGCAATTTCGGCATCGACGATCCGGAGATGG 2887
Qy 2778 ACGGCGTGCTGCGCAGCTGGCAGGCTCAGGCGCTGGTCAAGGAGGACAAGGTCGTCGTCG 2837
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2888 ACGGCGTGCTGCGCAGCTGGCAGGCTCAGGCGCTGGTCAAGGAGGACAAGGTCGTCGTCG 2947
Qy 2838 AGGCGATCGAGCGCCGCCGCGCCTATGTCGAGGCGAATGGCATCCGCCCGGCGATGCTGT 2897
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2948 AGGCGATCGAGCGCCGCCGCGCCTATGTCGAGGCGAATGGCATCCGCCCGGCGATGCTGT 3007
Qy 2898 CGTGCGACGAAGCCGCAGTCCGTGTCAGCCGCGAGATCGAGAAGCTTGAGCAGCTCGAAG 2957
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3008 CGTGCGACGAAGCCGCAGTCCGTGTCAGCCGCGAGATCGAGAAGCTTGAGCAGCTCGAAG 3067
Qy 2958 CCGCCTGAACCGGCTTATGCTGCACGGGCGGGGCGGGGCGGTTTCGATCGGCTCGCCTGT 3017
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3068 CCGCCTGAACCGGCTTATGCTGCACGGGCGGGGCGGGGCGGTTTCGATCGGCTCGCCTGT 3127
Qy 3018 CCCGGCGATATTCTAGCTTAATCATCTGAAAC-----------------TGTTCACCATG 3060
|||||||||||||||| || | | | | | ||| |
Db 3128 CCCGGCGATATTCTAGAGCTTTCGTTCGTATCATCGGTTTCGACAACGTTCGTCAAGTTC 3187
Qy 3061 CATGCAATCTTGTGA------------AATATATGGTTTTAATTAGACTTCAATCTTATG 3108
||||| | | | | | | | || || | || ||
Db 3188 AATGCATCAGTTTCATTGCGCACACACCAGAATCCTACTGAGTTTGAGTATTATGGCATT 3247
Qy 3109 TTGGCTATTGTACTAATAAAAGCATGTCATGTTATTTTCATTTGATTTTATCTGTACTTT 3168
| | ||| | | | ||| | ||| || | |||| | | | | || |
Db 3248 GGGAAAACTGTTTTTCTTGTACCATTTGTTGTGCTTGTAATTTACTGTGTTTTTTATTCG 3307
Qy 3169 GGTTTGTTT------------------GAAGAATAAAGATGAGCTTGCTATGCATGCATG 3210
| ||| | | | || ||| ||| | | ||
Db 3308 GTTTTCGCTATCGAACTGTGAAATGGAAATGGATGGAGAAGAGTTAATGAATGATATGGT 3367
Qy 3211 CATGCCATCGATTATCAGGGTTTCCTTTTTTCTTTTCTGGCTTCCCATCAATTTGGTGTG 3270
| | | ||| ||| | || ||| |||| | ||| | || ||
Db 3368 CCTTTTGTTCATTCTCAAATTAATATTATTTGTTTTTTCTCTTATTTGTTGTGTGTTGAA 3427
Qy 3271 AATTAGTGTGTGTGATATATTATATTATGCTATTTATGAAATAAAT-------------- 3316
| | | | || |||| | || | ||| | ||||
Db 3428 TTTGAAATTATAAGAGATATGCAAACATTTTGTTTTGAGTAAAAATGTGTCAAATCGTGG 3487
Qy 3317 ----TGTTGGTTATATTTGATCTACAATCTACATACATGTGATTTTTATCAACAAAATAT 3372
| || | || || | || | | | || || || | |
Db 3488 CCTCTAATGACCGAAGTTAATATGAGGAGTAAAACACTTGTAGTTGTACCATTATGCTTA 3547
Qy 3373 CTCGGGAAACAATACCTTTTTGGTAGCAAAATTCAAATAATACTATTTTAAATAAATCA- 3431
|| | ||| | | | | | | ||| || ||| || ||
Db 3548 TTCACTAGGCAACAAATATATTTTCAGACCTAGAAAAGCTGCAAATGTTACTGAATACAA 3607
Qy 3432 ------------------------------------------------------------ 3431
Db 3608 GTATGTCCTCTTGTGTTTTAGACATTTATGAACTTTCCTTTATGTAATTTTCCAGAATCC 3667
Qy 3432 -------AAGTTAACCAATACCTTATTCAAGTTGGAGGGGTCTCAAACAAGCAAAAGAAT 3484
| ||| || | | |||| | | || | | | || |
Db 3668 TTGTCAGATTCTAATCATTGCTTTATAATTATAGTTATACTCATGGATTTGTAGTTGAGT 3727
Qy 3485 TCAAGTTGTTAATGAACTTCGGTTAATGATAAAAGAATTCGCATTTAAAAGCGGCCGCAC 3544
| | | | | | || |||| |||| || | | |
Db 3728 ATGAAAATATTTTTTAATGCATTTTATGACTTGCCAATTGATTGACAACATGCATCAATC 3787
Qy 3545 GTCCTGCTTGGCCTACTAGGCCAACGCAGGCGCTGGCCGTGACGGCCACGAGCGAACTAG 3604
| | ||||| | | | | | | | | ||| |
Db 3788 GCGGCCGCTCTAGAACTAGTGGATCCCCCCCTTTAAGGGGGCTGCAGGAATTCGATATCA 3847
Qy 3605 GCCTTGGGCCGCATCGATCGTGAAGTTTCTCATCTAAGCCCCCATTTGGACGTGAATGTA 3664
||| ||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3848 AGCTTTGGCGCGCCAAATCGTGAAGTTTCTCATCTAAGCCCCCATTTGGACGTGAATGTA 3907
Qy 3665 GACACGTCGAAATAAAGATTTCCGAATTAGAATAATTTGTTTATTGCTTTCGCCTATAAA 3724
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3908 GACACGTCGAAATAAAGATTTCCGAATTAGAATAATTTGTTTATTGCTTTCGCCTATAAA 3967
Qy 3725 TACGACGGATCGTAATTTGTCGTTTTATCAAAATGTACTTTCATTTTATAATAACGCTGC 3784
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3968 TACGACGGATCGTAATTTGTCGTTTTATCAAAATGTACTTTCATTTTATAATAACGCTGC 4027
Qy 3785 GGACATCTACATTTTTGAATTGAAAAAAAATTGGTAATTACTCTTTCTTTTTCTCCATAT 3844
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4028 GGACATCTACATTTTTGAATTGAAAAAAAATTGGTAATTACTCTTTCTTTTTCTCCATAT 4087
Qy 3845 TGACCATCATACTCATTGCTGATCCATGTAGATTTCCCGGACATGAAGCCA 3895
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | | ||
Db 4088 TGACCATCATACTCATTGCTGATCCATGTAGATTTCCCGGACTTTAGCTCA 4138
Conclusion
7. No claims are allowed.
/MYKOLA V. KOVALENKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662