Detailed Action
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed on 01/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
4. Applicant’s argument states that the claimed Invention Claims 1, 10, and 15 each recite a specific architectural arrangement involving at least two distinct elements: (1) a centralized discovery controller (CDC) with a listener service; and (2) a networking information handling system with a sender service that is handling a data flow. Note that the claims identify that the CDC and the networking information handling system are distinct entities. The networking information handling system is the entity that handles the data flow and experiences or detects a congestion event. The sender service on that networking information handling system prepares data related to the data flow and the congestion event. The CDC, which is a different system from the networking information handling system, has a listener service that receives this data sent by the sender service.
In response,
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument. Claim 1 does not recite that the CDC, the networking information handling system, the listener service and the sender service are distinct entities. Nor does the claim require communications between different physical devices. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation function component may reside on the same device unless the claim expressly require otherwise see MPEP 2111. Functional language does not ordinarily impose physical separation requirements absent clear claim language requiring separation. In networking architectures, a single device can perform multiple roles – e.g., a switch can act as both data forwarding element (handling flows) and a centralized controlled for a portion of the fabric. Catalano network device 230 handles data flow (as a switch) and also performs discovery and congestion detection function that are centralized relative to its attached links and endpoints (see Fig 2 para. [0030], [0033]-[0035] ). Accordingly Applicant’s contention that the CDC and networking information handling system must be distinct entities is unsupported by the claim language.
In addition, the rejection does not rely solely on Catalano for this aspect of the architecture. Smith expressly teaches a centralized storage fabric service (StFs) controller that maintains zoning information, receives information from hosts and storage subsystem and manages fabric-wide information see Smith’s para. [0135] and [0148].
5. Applicant’s argument states that Catalano does not disclose a centralized discovery controller (CDC)
In response,
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument. The claims do not provide any special definition of “centralized discovery controller,” nor do they require a controller that manages an entire SAN fabric. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a controller is an entity that collects information, analyzes information, and coordinates actions within a managed environment. Catalano’s network device 230” monitors network conditions, detects congestion events; determines affected SAN portions; identifies impacted zones and endpoints and distributes congestion notifications see para. [0033]-[0035] and [0039]-[0040]. Catalano’s Figure 2 and paragraph [0017] describe network device that collects data from associate segments and transmits data to attached endpoint devices a clear controller function. Furthermore, network device 230 serves a as centralized point of analysis relative to the links, zones and endpoint devices under its management. Therefore, the network device reasonably satisfies the claimed CDC limitations.
Alternatively, Smith discloses a centralized storage Fabric Service (StFS) controller that receives information from host and storage subsystems. Maintains zoning information extracts identifiers form communication and correlates hosts an storage devices with zone membership, see par [0135] and [0148]. The hosts and storage subsystems of Smith are separate from the centralized controlled and communicate information thereto. Thus Smith expressly teaches the very architectural separation that applicant contends is required. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to integrate Catalano’s congestion detection and notification techniques into Smith’s centralized fabric management architecture to provide centralized congestion analysis, zoning correlation and endpoint notification. The resulting system would have predicably improved visibility into congestion events affection SAN resources and would have enabled more accurate identification of impacted zones, hosts and storage arrays. Accordingly, even under applicant’s narrow interpretation, the combined teachings of Catalano and Smith render the claimed subject matter obvious.
6. Applicant’s argument states that Catalano does not disclose a CDC with the listener service
In response,
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument. Catalano discloses, see para, [0034] software applications 404 of network device 230 are configured to determine which segments/parts of the network…that congestion has been detected. The software application 404 listen for congestion events (e.g., queue depth threshold link utilization the), meaning it is configured to monitor network conditions, receive congestion-related information, detect congestion events, and determine affected portions of the SAN. A software component configured to receive, monitor, detect, evaluate, and process congestion information constitutes a listener under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Catalano’s software applications perform precisely that function when evaluating congestion information collected from SAN traffic and network conditions. Accordingly Catalano teaches or at least suggest the claimed listener service.
Further, Smith’s controller functionality for receiving communications form the hosts and storage subsystems reasonably corresponds to the claimed listener service.
7. Applicant’s argument states that Catalano does not disclose a sender service. Catalano also does not disclose a sender service on a networking information handling system that is different system than the CDC.
In response,
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument. Catalano’s, network device 230 handles the data flow as a switch handling system and also executes the sender service (preparing congestion data) and the listener service (detecting congestion). Nowhere does the claim states that the sender service on a networking information handling system that is different system than the CDC.
As recognized in the networking arts, a single device commonly executes multiple logical services. A switch may simultaneously perform forwarding function, management functions, monitoring functions, discovery function and reporting functions. Accordingly, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a single network device may include both the claimed sender service and CDC on a network information handling system. Catalano’s software application 404 collects generate information process congestion information, and generate congestion related communications (see para [0039]-[0040]). Such functionality reasonable corresponds to the claimed sender service on a networking information handling system.
Further, Smith expressly teaches separate host and storge subsystems communicating with a CDC. The hosts and storage subsystem are distinct systems from CDC and transmit information to the controller see Smith para [0148].
To sum up, the applicant’s architectural distinction are based on limitation not present in the claims. Catalano’s network device 230 perform all recited function: it is a networking information handling system (handling data flows), it includes a sender service (preparing congestion data via software applicants 404), and it includes a listener service on a CDC (monitoring for congestion identifiers). The fact that the same device hosts both service does not remove it from the scope of the claims. Alternatively, Smith expressly teaches the CDC architecture alleged to be missing form Catalano. Therefore, the cited combination teaches or at least renders obvious the disputed limitations Thus, the examiner rejection stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 5-6,10-9, 12-13,15,and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catalano (US 20220174021 A1) hereinafter Catalano in view of Smith (US 20210289029 A1) hereinafter referred as Smith.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 15 , Catalano discloses a processor-implemented method for handling congestion in a storage area network connected via a fabric (see figs 2 and 3), the method comprising:
responsive to a listener service of a centralized discovery controller (CDC) determining that a congestion identifier exists in data sent by a sender service of a networking information handling system in the fabric, in which the data is related to a data flow being handled by the networking information handling system and the data flow is related to a congestion event (para. [0032]-[0034] each of the network devices 230 (i.e. CDC) are configured to monitor their connected links 225 in SAN 200… software applications 404 of network device 230 are configured to detect a congestion event in SAN 200… At block 308, software applications 404 of network device 230 are configured to determine which segments/parts (i.e. zone) of the network (i.e., SAN 200) that congestion has been detected in and/or that will be impacted by the congestion event. There are various ways for data collection to detect segments/parts of SAN 200 that are impacted, and congestion could be based on and/or identified by a network identifier such as by Domain ID (DID) and/or, Fabric ID (FID), by physical link address(es) such as Port IDs, by logical link address(es) such as Channel IDs, etc. [0017] A network device detects a congestion event. Network devices can collect data from associated segments of the network impacted by the network event. Network devices transmit data to attached endpoint devices that are registered to receive associated data regarding network event characteristics. Network congestion in data networking and queueing refers to the reduced quality of service that occurs when a network node and/or link is carrying more data than it can handle. (see also Figs 2-3) see also response to argument above)
marking the identified zones as being congested (para. [0034] At block 308, software applications 404 of network device 230 are configured to determine which segments/parts of the network (i.e., SAN 200) that congestion has been detected in and/or that will be impacted by the congestion event…The congested segments can also be identified by specific server blades, zones, switches (e.g., network devices 230), etc.); and
sending a congestion event notification to at least one of the host and the storage array involved in the data flow that is related to the congestion event (para. [0035] At block 310, software applications 404 of network device 230 are configured to determine if there are any endpoint devices 210, 220 registered to receive notification for associated network identifiers and/or port identifiers identified which are affected by the congestion event, including specific server blades, zones, switches (e.g., network devices 230)…If yes there are endpoint devices 210, 220 registered to receive notification for the associated network identifiers and/or port identifiers (specific server blades, zones, switches (e.g., network devices 230), at block 312, software applications 404 of network device 230 are configured to package data and send congestion event notifications 450 to the endpoint devices 210, 220 which are registered (in advance) to receive congestion event notifications 450 (see also Fig 2. Endpoint devices 210 and 220 (i.e. host and storage devices) see also response to argument above).
Catalano may not explicitly disclose extracting, from the data, one or more identifiers for a host and a storage array that are involved in the data flow; for the host, the storage array, or both, performing at least one of: correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to any zones of which the host is a member; correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to any zones of which the storage array is a member; and correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to any zones of which both the host and the storage array are members.
However, Smith discloses extracting, from the data, one or more identifiers for a host and a storage array that are involved in the data flow (para. [0148] when the host connects to the StFS, the StFS controller can create a record for that host by extracting data from the Connect command and the fabric connection used to transmit that command to the StFS. The extracted data may include information such as IP address, TCP port, entity type, host name, NQN, etc. and extracting information from the Connect command and associated fabric connection for the host or subsystem);
for the host, the storage array, or both, performing at least one of: correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to any zones of which the host is a member; correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to any zones of which the storage array is a member; and correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to any zones of which both the host and the storage array are members (para. [0135] the StFS receives the list and updates (1330) the zoning data store. As illustrated in FIG. 10D, the StFS has added Host 3 as a member 1050 to the appropriate zone in the zone data store 1030D; thus, the data store 1030D now includes identifiers indicating that Storage 1, Host 1, Host 2, and Host 3 are members of zone s1. The identifier may include, for each NVMe entity, its NQN, its IP address, or both—although a different identifier or identifiers may additional or alternatively be used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Catalano and include for the host, the storage array, or both, performing at least one of: correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to any zones of which the host is a member; correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to any zones of which the storage array is a member; and correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to any zones of which both the host and the storage array are members using the teaching of Smith. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide solutions that resolve end-node device configuration problems, including access control of NVMe-oF-over-Ethernet transports.
Regarding claim 5 and 17. claim 1 is incorporated. Catalano may not explicitly disclose extracting, from the data, one or more of: an Internet Protocol (IP) address, Media Access Control (MAC) address, Virtual Local Area Network (VLAN) identifier, or port for the host and the storage array. However, Smith discloses extracting, from the data, one or more of: an Internet Protocol (IP) address, Media Access Control (MAC) address, Virtual Local Area Network (VLAN) identifier, or port for the host and the storage array (para. [0148] the extracted data may include information such as IP address, TCP port, entity type, host name, NQN)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Catalano and include extracting, from the data, one or more of: an Internet Protocol (IP) address, Media Access Control (MAC) address, Virtual Local Area Network (VLAN) identifier, or port for the host and the storage array using the teaching of Smith. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide solutions that resolve end-node device configuration problems, including access control of NVMe-oF-over-Ethernet transports.
Regarding claim 6, 12 and 18, claim 1 is incorporated. Catalano further discloses sending a congestion event notification to one or more members of the identified zones (para. [0035] send congestion event notifications 450 to the endpoint devices 210, 220 which are registered (in advance) to receive congestion event notifications 450).
Regarding claim 7, 13 and 19, claim 1 is incorporated wherein the congestion event notification or a subsequent message related to the congestion event notification includes one or more identifiers that identifies a source of the congestion event (para. [0034] At block 308, software applications 404 of network device 230 are configured to determine which segments/parts of the network (i.e., SAN 200) that congestion has been detected in and/or that will be impacted by the congestion event. There are various ways for data collection to detect segments/parts of SAN 200 that are impacted, and congestion could be based on and/or identified by a network identifier such as by Domain ID (DID) and/or, Fabric ID (FID), by physical link address(es) such as Port IDs, by logical link address(es) such as Channel IDs, etc.).
Regarding claim 9 and 20, claim 1 is incorporated. Catalano may not explicitly disclose wherein the step of correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to any zones comprises: correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to a non-volatile memory express (NVMe) qualified name (NQN) of a member of a zone. However, Smith discloses correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to a non-volatile memory express (NVMe) qualified name (NQN) of a member of a zone (para. [0135] the StFS receives the list and updates (1330) the zoning data store. As illustrated in FIG. 10D, the StFS has added Host 3 as a member 1050 to the appropriate zone in the zone data store 1030D; thus, the data store 1030D now includes identifiers indicating that Storage 1, Host 1, Host 2, and Host 3 are members of zone s1. The identifier may include, for each NVMe entity, its NQN, its IP address, or both).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Catalano and include correlating at least one of the one or more identifiers to a non-volatile memory express (NVMe) qualified name (NQN) of a member of a zone using the teaching of Smith. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide solutions that resolve end-node device configuration problems, including access control of NVMe-oF-over-Ethernet transports.
11. Claims 2,11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catalano (US 20220174021 A1) hereinafter Catalano in view of Smith (US 20210289029 A1) hereinafter referred as Smith and further in view of Borikar et al. (US 20200021532 A1) hereinafter Borikar.
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 16, claim 1 is incorporated. Catalano in view of Smith discloses responsive to the listener service of the CDC, sending a congestion event notification to at least one of the host and the storage array as recited in claim 1 above. Catalano further discloses [0038] FIG. 5 is a block diagram of an example message structure for an example congestion event notification 450. In FIG. 5, congestion event notification 450 includes notification type 510, network identifier 520, and physical/logical identifier 530. The notification type 510 can be one of two types, which are congestion detection and network healthy. When network device 230 does not detect a congestion (i.e., congestion event) for a predetermined period of time, software applications 404 of network device 230 are configured send congestion event notification 450 to its registered endpoint devices 210, 220 indicating that the network is healthy. Catalano in view of Smith may not explicitly disclose responsive to not receiving from the sender service of the networking information handling system a congestion indicator for the data flow within a threshold time period. However, Borikar discloses responsive to not receiving from the sender service of the networking information handling system a congestion indicator for the data flow within a threshold time period (para.[0074] marking the flow with a congestion notification when the difference is greater than the threshold; and unmarking the flow with the congestion notification when the difference is less than the threshold to thereby remove the congestion notification bits from packets for the flow to be sent to the peer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Catalano in view of Smith and include responsive to not receiving from the sender service of the networking information handling system a congestion indicator for the data flow within a threshold time period using the teaching of Borikar. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide flexibility to the network adapter device to support the ECN.
12. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catalano (US 20220174021 A1) hereinafter Catalano in view of Smith (US 20210289029 A1) hereinafter referred as Smith and further in view of Osuga et al. (US20170366374A1) hereinafter Osuga.
Regarding claim 3, is incorporated. Catalano in view of Smith may not explicitly disclose wherein the congestion identifier is an Explicit Congestion Notifications (ECN) indicator in a packet header in the data prepared by the sender service of the networking information handling system. However, Osuga discloses wherein the congestion identifier is an Explicit Congestion Notifications (ECN) indicator in a packet header in the data prepared by the sender service of the networking information handling system (para. [0037] [0070] [0192] wherein, when the packet accumulation amount in the buffer in the relay apparatus satisfies a predetermined condition(s), the setting means sets a value of an ECN (Explicit Congestion Notification)-Echo (ECE) bit included in a header of the TCP packet(s) to 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Catalano in view of Smith and include wherein the congestion identifier is an Explicit Congestion Notifications (ECN) indicator in a packet header in the data prepared by the sender service of the networking information handling system using the teaching of Osuga. One would have been motivated to do so in order to automatically notify congestion state information at an early stage before excessive amount of data flows into a network.
Regarding claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated. Catalano in view of Smith may not explicitly disclose extracting from the data at least one of: a volume and rate of the data flow which is causing congestion; and a timestamp identifying when the congestion event occurred and for how long the congestion event has been occurring. However, Osuga discloses extracting from the data at least one of: a volume and rate of the data flow which is causing congestion; and a timestamp identifying when the congestion event occurred and for how long the congestion event has been occurring.
(para. [0070] when the packet transmission and reception unit 251 receives an ACK packet that corresponds to the data packet(s) from the wireless terminal 26, the packet transmission and reception unit 251 checks whether information about a congestion state is set in the ACK packet. More specifically, the packet transmission and reception unit 251 checks whether information about a congestion state is set in the IP or TCP header of the ACK packet. If the information is set, the packet transmission and reception unit 251 acquires (or extracts and reads) the information and notifies the transmission rate control unit 252 of the information. Examples of the information about a congestion state include information about the volume (amount) of data packets accumulated in a buffer included in the relay apparatus 24, the Round Trip Time (RTT) of the communication between the server 25 and the wireless terminal 26, the Receive WINdow size (RWIN), the duplicate ACK indicating the degree of congestion in the communication between the server 25 and the wireless terminal 26, information indicating exceeding of a retransmission timeout period, and an Explicit Congestion Notification (ECN) etc.. In addition, the packet transmission and reception unit 251 may set information about control on the simultaneous data packet transmission volume of the transmission rate control unit 252 in a packet and transmit the packet to the gateway apparatus 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Catalano in view of Smith and include extracting from the data at least one of: a volume and rate of the data flow which is causing congestion; and a timestamp identifying when the congestion event occurred and for how long the congestion event has been occurring using the teaching of Osuga. One would have been motivated to do so in order to automatically notify congestion state information at an early stage before excessive amount of data flows into a network.
13. Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catalano (US 20220174021 A1) hereinafter Catalano in view of Smith (US 20210289029 A1) hereinafter referred as Smith and further in view of Calciu et al. (US 20230096190 A1) hereinafter Calciu.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, claim 1 is incorporated. Catalano in view of Smith discloses marking the identified zones as being congested comprises as recited in claim 1 as recited above. Catalano in view of Smith may not explicitly disclose for each identified zone, adding or indicating a congestion flag to the zone in a zoning database that is maintained by the CDC. (para. [0063] a congestion indicator of a data flow entry in the flow table 206 may be a bit and the flow marking module 304 may set the congestion bit for the data flow to indicate congestion. [0064] The flow table 206 may be a table, a database, a list, or any suitable data structure that can be accessed by the compression/deduplication layer 114 and/or the congestion apparatus 202 as well as the TCP layer 110 and/or the table lookup apparatus 204 [0073] The table lookup apparatus 204 includes a packet marking module 410 configured to mark a response data packet for a data flow with a congestion indicator in response to the table lookup module 408 determining that the data flow is marked congested in the data flow entry of the flow table 206. The TCP layer 110 of the storage device 102 then transmits the marked response data packet to the source device, such as the first compute node 104a. The congestion indicator, in some embodiments, is a bit in a header of the response data packet. For example, the congestion indicator bit, in some embodiments, is set to indicate congestion. [0074] the TCP layers 110 the source device and storage device 102 Explicit Congestion Notification (“ECN”) enabled and the packet marking module 410 uses ECN to mark the response data packets
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Catalano in view of Smith and include for each identified zone, adding or indicating a congestion flag to the zone in a zoning database that is maintained by the CDC using the teaching of Calciu. One would have been motivated to do so in order reduce latency of transmission of data packets between computing device and storage device.
Conclusion
14. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
15. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kidest Mendaye whose telephone number is (571)272-2603. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday 7:00 am-5:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
06/08/2026
/KIDEST MENDAYE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457