DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 29 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is indefinite because the term “firmly” (l. 2) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “firmly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification merely describes that “foot position sensor 35 and hydraulic pressure sensor 33 together determine when the foot 13 is firmly engaged with the soil surface” (¶ [0060]) but does not describe what position or amount of pressure Applicant considers meeting the standard of “firmly.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christy et al. (US 9,285,501 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Christy et al. discloses a soil profile sensing device (12; fig. 1), comprising: a soil probe (13) equipped with a plurality of sensors for sensing a plurality of soil properties selected from the group consisting of soil EC (17; fig. 7), soil optical reflectance (16; fig. 1), soil capacitance, and soil compactness (sensor probe 13 is equipped with a plurality of sensors including reflectance module 16, soil electrical conductivity sensor 17, and insertion force sensor 18; fig. 3 and c. 3, l. 66 – c. 4, l. 6); and an automated controller (electronics including processing hardware, sensor controls, sensor monitors, and hardware; c. 4, ll. 8-15) that automatically inserts the soil probe (13) into the soil upon detecting that a predetermined sampling distance interval has been met and the soil probe has stopped horizontal movement (electronics including processing hardware, sensor controls, sensor monitors, and hardware automatically inserts sensor probe 13 into the soil upon detection by a GPS receiver that a sampling transect width of a field chosen by an operator has been met and at predetermined optimal sampling locations when shank implement 10 has stopped horizontal movement; c. 4, l. 67 – c. 5, l. 4 and c. 8, ll. 16-19).
Regarding claim 2, Christy et al. discloses wherein said plurality of sensors (16, 17, 18) comprises a soil EC sensor (17) for determining soil texture (c. 1, ll. 60-62 and c. 4, ll. 2-4).
Regarding claim 3, Christy et al. discloses wherein said plurality of sensors (16, 17, 18) comprises a soil optical reflectance sensor (16; c. 3, l. 66 – c. 4, l. 2) for sensing soil reflectance at two wavelengths to determine soil organic carbon or soil organic matter (reflectance module 16 collects spectral data in the 350 to 2200 nm range with an 8 nm resolution which is at least two wavelengths and reflectance in the visible and near infrared wavelengths allow for quantification of carbon in the soil; c. 1, ll. 52-60 and c. 4, ll. 16-19).
Regarding claim 5, Christy et al. discloses wherein said plurality of sensors (16, 17, 18) comprises a soil probe insertion force sensor (18) for determining soil compactness (insertion force sensor 18 measures soil compactness; c. 1, ll. 62-64 and c. 4, ll. 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christy et al. (US 9,285,501 B2) in view of Koshnick et al. (US 10,393,722 B2).
Regarding claim 4, Christy et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Christy et al. is silent on including a soil capacitance sensor.
Koshnick et al. teaches a soil profile sensing device (700; fig. 7) with a soil probe (702) equipped with a plurality of sensors (728), wherein said plurality of sensors (728) comprises a soil capacitance sensor for determining soil moisture (soil characteristic sensor 728 may include a capacitive probe for measuring soil moisture; c. 21, ll. 38-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Christy et al. with the capacitance sensor of Koshnick et al. to provide an additional means of determining soil moisture to determine accurate soil bulk density (Christy et al., c. 1, ll. 64-67).
Regarding claim 6, Christy et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claims 1 and 5, and further discloses said plurality of sensors (16, 17, 18) comprises a soil EC sensor (17) for determining soil texture (c. 1, ll. 60-62 and c. 4, ll. 2-4); soil optical reflectance (16; fig. 1), soil capacitance, and soil compactness (sensor probe 13 is equipped with a plurality of sensors including reflectance module 16, soil electrical conductivity sensor 17, and insertion force sensor 18; fig. 3 and c. 3, l. 66 – c. 4, l. 6); a soil optical reflectance sensor (16; c. 3, l. 66 – c. 4, l. 2) for sensing soil reflectance at two wavelengths to determine soil organic carbon or soil organic matter (reflectance module 16 collects spectral data in the 350 to 2200 nm range with an 8 nm resolution which is at least two wavelengths and reflectance in the visible and near infrared wavelengths allow for quantification of carbon in the soil; c. 1, ll. 52-60 and c. 4, ll. 16-19); and a soil probe insertion force sensor (18) for determining soil compactness (insertion force sensor 18 measures soil compactness; c. 1, ll. 62-64 and c. 4, ll. 2-4).
Regarding claim 7, Christy et al. discloses further comprising a means for determining soil bulk density using soil data collected by said plurality of sensors (system electronics determines soil bulk density from reflectance data from reflectance module 16, electrical conductivity data from soil electroconductivity sensor 17, and insertion force data from insertion force sensor 18; c. 6, ll. 58-61).
Christy et al. is silent on including a soil capacitance sensor.
Koshnick et al. teaches wherein said plurality of sensors (728) comprises a soil capacitance sensor for determining soil moisture (soil characteristic sensor 728 may include a capacitive probe for measuring soil moisture; c. 21, ll. 38-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Christy et al. with the capacitance sensor of Koshnick et al. to provide an additional means of determining soil moisture to determine accurate soil bulk density (Christy et al., c. 1, ll. 64-67).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christy et al. (US 9,285,501 B2) in view of Koshnick et al. (US 10,393,722 B2), and further, in view of Trobat et al. (Us 9,945,832 B2).
Regarding claim 8, Christy et al. in view of Koshnick et al. disclose the invention as set forth with regard to claims 1 and 5-7 and Christy et al. further discloses a processor (system electronics; c. 4, ll. 7-16) programmed to estimate soil bulk density based on soil data collected by said plurality of sensors (system electronics determines soil bulk density from reflectance data from reflectance module 16, electrical conductivity data from soil electroconductivity sensor 17, and insertion force data from insertion force sensor 18; c. 6, ll. 58-61).
Christy et al. in view of Koshnick et al. are silent on using a pedotransfer function.
Trobat et al. teaches a processor (computer subsystem; c. 7, ll. 26-28) programmed to perform a pedotransfer function to estimate ground properties based on soil data collected by a plurality of sensors (pedotransfer functions are used to estimate ground properties based on data collected from sensors; c. 7, ll. 37-40 and 45-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Christy et al. in view of Koshnick et al. to use a pedotransfer function as taught in Trobat et al. to provide an estimation of ground properties, such as bulk density, to provide efficient soil profiling by estimating soil properties that are difficult to measure directly (Trobat et al., c. 7, ll. 45-49).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christy et al. (US 9,285,501 B2) in view of Peterson et al. (US 5,435,399).
Regarding claim 9, Christy et al. discloses the invention as set forth above, with regard to claim 1, and Christy et al. further discloses a soil engaging foot (46; fig. 3) with a centering hole for guiding said soil probe (13) into the soil (probe 13 is guided into the soil through an opening in foot assembly 46; fig. 3).
Christy et al. is silent on the soil engaging foot being spring-loaded.
Peterson et al. teaches a spring-loaded (with compression springs 119; fig. 7), soil engaging foot (102) with a centering hole for guiding a soil probe (82) into soil (guide assembly 102 is spring-loaded by compression springs 119 and has a centering hole for guiding probe 82 into soil; fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Christy et al. to be spring-loaded as taught in Peterson et al. to prevent excessive movement between upper and lower parts of a probe assembly (Peterson et al., c. 6, ll. 36-43).
Regarding claim 10, Christy et al. discloses the invention as set forth above, with regard to claims 1 and 9.
Although Christy et al. discloses the foot (46) provides stability for the probe (c. 7, ll. 11-12), Christy et al. is silent on determining whether the foot is firmly on the soil surface.
Peterson et al. teaches an automated controller (fig. 11) detects whether the spring-loaded foot (102) is firmly on the soil surface before inserting the soil probe (82) into the soil (if guide assembly 102 is not disposed firmly, to some degree, on the soil surface, then ground resistance will not be high enough to turn on pressure switch PS1, and vibrator assembly 50 will not be activated to insert probe 82 into soil; c. 5, ll. 10-28 and c. 8, ll. 14-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Christy et al. to monitor the ground resistance, and thus whether the foot is disposed firmly on the soil surface, as taught in Peterson et al. to achieve insertion of the soil probe when the foot is in a proper position.
Regarding claim 11, Christy et al. discloses the invention as set forth above, with regard to claim 1.
Although Christy et al. discloses front-to-back shifting of the probe (c. 7, ll. 6-9), Christy et al. is silent on activating a vibration mechanism when needed.
Peterson et al. teaches an automated controller (fig. 11) activates a vibration mechanism (50) when needed to facilitate insertion of a soil probe (82) into soil (when hydraulic pressure used to lower boom assembly 20 automatically turns on pressure switch PS1, vibrator assembly 50 is activated to assist insertion of probe 82 into soil; c. 5, ll. 10-28 and c. 8, ll. 14-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Christy et al. with the vibration mechanism of Peterson et al. to assist insertion of the soil probe even in soil that is hard or compact.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lazarek (US 2026/0173995 A1) is cited for disclosing an automated soil profile sensing device (2) in which an unmanned vehicle inserts a probe into soil at different sites (¶ [0002]).
Hoelen et al. (US 2025/0189507 A1) is cited for disclosing an automated soil testing vehicle (101) that inserts a probe into soil at predetermined locations in a field (fig. 12B).
Contact Information
/ERIKA J. VILLALUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852