DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 11-15, 20, 37, 43, 47, and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0060611 A1 to Radmand.
As to claim 1, Radmand discloses a dental appliance comprising:
a body forming one or more tooth-receiving cavities configured to be worn on a subject's teeth (see Fig 2, element 25 and [0041]);
a sealed pressure sensor module coupled to the body, the sealed pressure sensor module including:
an airtight encapsulated cavity, wherein the airtight encapsulated cavity is encapsulated by one or more fluid-resistant materials, wherein at least a portion of the one or more fluid-resistant materials forms a deformable surface (see [0044] – “The one or more pressure sensors 32 may be electrically sealed and/or impervious to liquids, saliva and/or oral tissue.”);
a pressure sensor encapsulated within the airtight encapsulated cavity and configured to measure pressure within the airtight encapsulated cavity (see [0044]),
wherein the sealed pressure sensor module is held within a subject's mouth when the one or more tooth-receiving cavities are worn on the subject's teeth ([0044] -- “According to an aspect, the one or more pressure sensors 32 are configured to detect signs of clenching and/or grinding by the user that occur, for example, while the user is asleep.”.
As to claim 2, Radmand further discloses a processor configured to receive pressure data from the pressure sensor and configured to modify, store and/or transmit the pressure data (see Fig 2, element 50 and [0059]).
As to claim 5, Radmand further discloses a palatal region extending between a first tooth-receiving cavity and a second tooth-receiving cavity of the one or more tooth-receiving cavities (see Fig 7, element 122 and [0066]).
As to claim 11, Radmand further discloses one or more additional sensors within the sealed pressure sensor module (see [0044] – (“According to an aspect, the number of pressure sensors 32 provided is 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or more.”).
As to claim 12, Radmand further discloses one or more of: a temperature sensor, a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor, a force sensor, and/or an accelerometer (see [0043]).
As to claim 13, Radmand further discloses wherein the airtight encapsulated cavity has a volume of between about 0.1 cm3 and 100 cm3 in an uncompressed configuration (see Fig 2, element 32).
As to claim 14, Radmand further discloses wherein the deformable surface comprises a polymeric material having a durometer of between about 20 and about 90 Shore 00 (see [0038]).
As to claim 15, Radmand further discloses wherein the deformable surface has a surface area of between about 1 mm2 and 1.5 cm2 (see Fig 2, element 32).
As to claim 20, Radmand further discloses wherein the sealed pressure sensor module is laminated to a body forming the one or more tooth-receiving cavities (see [0044]).
Claim 37 is rejected for the reasons laid out in the treatment of claim 1.
As to claim 43, Radmand further discloses determining, from the intraoral pressure, if the subject is experiencing bruxism [0044]).
As to claim 47, Radmand further discloses generating the signal by deforming a deformable outer surface of the pressure sensor module while the dental appliance is worn by the subject to change the internal pressure within the airtight encapsulated cavity (see [0044]).
As to claim 49, Radmand further discloses applying the dental appliance to the subject's mouth so that a pair of tooth-receiving portions fit onto the subject's teeth and the pressure sensor module is positioned adjacent to the subject's palate (see Fig 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 79-80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radmand in view of US 2023/0277078 A1 to Danno et al. (“Danno”).
As to claim 10, it is not clear that Radmand discloses wherein the sealed pressure sensor module is positioned on a buccal or lingual side of the body. Radmand does, however, state that several pressure sensors may be placed in the device ([0044]). Sensor placement on a buccal or lingual side of the body was known as shown by Danno (see [0084]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Radmand in order to achieve the predictable result disclosed by Danno of measuring perioral muscle pressures.
As to claim 79, Radmand discloses a dental appliance comprising:
a body forming one or more tooth-receiving cavities configured to be worn on a subject's teeth (see Fig 2, element 25 and [0041]);
a sealed pressure sensor module coupled to the body, the sealed pressure sensor module including an airtight encapsulated cavity that is encapsulated by one or more fluid-resistant materials, wherein at least a portion of the one or more fluid resistant materials forms a deformable surface (see [0044] – “The one or more pressure sensors 32 may be electrically sealed and/or impervious to liquids, saliva and/or oral tissue.”), and
a pressure sensor encapsulated within the airtight encapsulated cavity and configured to measure pressure within the airtight encapsulated cavity (see [0044]);
a power source (Fig 4, element 70);
a processor configured to receive pressure data from the pressure sensor and configured to process and store the pressure data (see Fig 7, element 50 and [0059]); and
a circuitry configured to transmit information associated with the pressure data to an external device (see [0069]);
wherein the power source and circuitry are arranged along a curve of a lingual side the body that is configured to be positioned along a lingual portion of the subject's dental arch when the one or more tooth-receiving cavities are worn on the subject's teeth (see Fig 4, elements 50 and 70).
Radmand fails to teach wherein the sealed pressure sensor module is further included along a curve of a lingual side of the body. Radmand does, however, state that several pressure sensors may be placed in the device ([0044]). Sensor placement on a buccal or lingual side of the body was known as shown by Danno (see [0084]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Radmand in order to achieve the predictable result disclosed by Danno of measuring perioral muscle pressures.
As to claim 80, Radmand fails to disclose wherein the sealed pressure sensor module, power source, and circuitry are within a pocket formed on the lingual side of the body. Radmand does, however, state that several pressure sensors may be placed in the device ([0044]). Sensor placement on a buccal or lingual side of the body was known as shown by Danno (see [0084]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Radmand in order to achieve the predictable result disclosed by Danno of measuring perioral muscle pressures.
Claim(s) 38-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radmand in view of US 2023/0277135 A1 to Kibler et al. (“Kibler”).
As to claims 38-42, Radmand discloses a method of determining intraoral pressure using an intraoral pressure sensor, but fails to disclose
wherein determining intraoral pressure further comprises determining a respiration pattern;
wherein determining intraoral pressure further comprises determining one or more of: mouth breathing, nasal breathing, snorting, and/or apnea;
wherein determining the respiration pattern comprises determining physical activity;
monitoring a patient for a respiratory disorder based on the intraoral pressure; or
determining if the intraoral pressure indicates if the subject is snoring or experiencing apnea.
However, in a very similar invention, Kibler discloses
wherein determining intraoral pressure further comprises determining a respiration pattern (see [0096] – using airflow analysis in determining sleep apnea detection inherently involves the determination of a respiratory pattern);
wherein determining intraoral pressure further comprises determining one or more of: mouth breathing, nasal breathing, snorting, and/or apnea (see [0096]);
wherein determining the respiration pattern comprises determining physical activity (see [0096] and Fig 4, element 404);
monitoring a patient for a respiratory disorder based on the intraoral pressure (see [0096] – apnea is a respiratory disorder); or
determining if the intraoral pressure indicates if the subject is snoring or experiencing apnea (determining whether intraoral pressure is indicative of apnea).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the intraoral pressure sensing method of Kibler in order to achieve the predictable result of improving patient health by determining the existence and/or extent of sleep apnea.
As to claim 81, Radmand fails to disclose a temperature sensor that is located at an anterior position of the body. However, Kibler shows this (see Fig 2, element 120e and [0049]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mouthpiece and sensors of Radmand with the temperature sensor of Kibler in order to achieve the predictable result of informing the user of fever.
Claim(s) 82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radmand in view of Danno and further in view of US 2023/0030704 A1 to Weinstein et al. (“Weinstein”).
As to claim 82, neither Radmand nor Danno discloses a substrate including a serpentine and/or zig-zag pattern configured to flex. However, such a substrate is shown by Weinstein (see Figs. 11a-c and [0293]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mouthpiece of Radmand/Danno with the substrate having a serpentine and/or zig-zag pattern shown by Weinstein in order to achieve the predictable result of allowing considerable flex and/or stretching capabilities when connecting the various electronics of the device.
Conclusion
/ERIC J MESSERSMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791