DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 4.2.24. In view of this communication, claims 1-9 are now pending in this application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Actuator suitable for reciprocating vibration or similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6,8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ando et al(US20210336521A1), hereinafter Ando, in view of Ando and Song (KR101067740B1 English translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Ando discloses (Figs 1-3) an actuator (1) comprising:
a support body (2) comprising a case (20) in a tube shape;
a movable body (3) comprising a support shaft (30) disposed at a center (L) of the case;
a connection member (10) which connects the support body with the movable body; and
a magnetic drive mechanism (6) which comprises a magnet (61) and a coil (62) and is structured to relatively move the movable body in an axial line direction (L1-L2) of the support shaft with respect to the support body;
wherein the connection member (10) comprises:
an inner frame part (36,37) in a ring shape (Fig 2) which comprises a through-hole to which the support shaft (30) is fitted [0054,0055];
an outer frame part (51,52) in a ring shape (fig 2) which is held on an inner side (22) of the case and is disposed on an outer peripheral side (Fig 3) with respect to the inner frame part; and
a connection body (11,12) which is connected with the outer frame part (51,52) and the inner frame part (36,37) and is provided with at least one of elasticity and viscoelasticity [0036 discloses gel] but does not explicitly disclose the inner frame part is made of brass; and
arithmetic surface roughness of an outer peripheral face of the inner frame part is not less than 1.0μm (micrometre).
Ando further discloses arithmetic surface roughness of an outer peripheral face of the inner frame part is not less than 1.0μm (micrometre) (Para 0054 discloses shaft 30 and frame member 36,37 are made of metal and surface roughness is a Result Effective Variable [MPEP 2144.05.II.B] of metallic components which are being pressfit. For e.g, if surface roughness is too high, then pressfit forces are high and more varying and if surface roughness is very low, cost if high. Further the claimed roughness range is broad with a small lower limit which does not clarify any special effect in claimed range i.e., 1 um to infinity)
Song discloses (Fig 3) inner frame part (52) is made of brass [Para 0025](52 and rod 21 are pressfitted together and are moving components) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed actuator of Ando with brass inner frame as taught by Song in order to required design choice for material of moving components for e.g., which are non-magnetic.
Regarding Claim 2, Ando discloses (Figs 1-3) an actuator (1) comprising:
a support body (2) comprising a case (20) in a tube shape;
a movable body (3) comprising a support shaft (30) disposed at a center (L) of the case;
a connection member (10) which connects the support body with the movable body; and
a magnetic drive mechanism (6) which comprises a magnet (61) and a coil (62) and is structured to relatively move the movable body in an axial line direction (L1-L2) of the support shaft with respect to the support body;
wherein the connection member (10) comprises:
an inner frame part (36,37) in a ring shape (Fig 2) which comprises a through-hole to which the support shaft (30) is fitted [0054,0055];
an outer frame part (51,52) in a ring shape (fig 2) which is held on an inner side (22) of the case and is disposed on an outer peripheral side (Fig 3) with respect to the inner frame part; and
a connection body (11,12) which is connected with the outer frame part (51,52) and the inner frame part (36,37) and is provided with at least one of elasticity and viscoelasticity [0036 discloses gel] but does not explicitly disclose the inner frame part is made of stainless steel; and
arithmetic surface roughness of an outer peripheral face of the inner frame part is not less than 1.0μm (micrometre).
Ando further discloses arithmetic surface roughness of an outer peripheral face of the inner frame part is not less than 1.0μm (micrometre) (Para 0054 discloses shaft 30 and frame member 36,37 are made of metal and surface roughness is a Result Effective Variable [MPEP 2144.05.II.B] of metallic components which are being pressfit. For e.g, if surface roughness is too high, then pressfit forces are high and more varying and if surface roughness is very low, cost if high. Further the claimed roughness range is broad with a small lower limit which does not clarify any special effect in claimed range i.e., 1 um to infinity)
Song discloses (Fig 3) inner frame part (40) is made of stainless steel [Para 0031](40 and rod 21 are pressfitted together and are moving components) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed actuator of Ando with stainless steel inner frame as taught by Song in order to required design choice for material of moving components for e.g., which are non magnetic.
Regarding Claim 3, Ando discloses (Figs 1-3) an actuator (1) comprising:
a support body (2) comprising a case (20) in a tube shape;
a movable body (3) comprising a support shaft (30) disposed at a center (L) of the case;
a connection member (10) which connects the support body with the movable body; and
a magnetic drive mechanism (6) which comprises a magnet (61) and a coil (62) and is structured to relatively move the movable body in an axial line direction (L1-L2) of the support shaft with respect to the support body;
wherein the connection member (10) comprises:
an inner frame part (36,37) in a ring shape (Fig 2) which comprises a through-hole to which the support shaft (30) is fitted [0054,0055];
an outer frame part (51,52) in a ring shape (fig 2) which is held on an inner side (22) of the case and is disposed on an outer peripheral side (Fig 3) with respect to the inner frame part; and
a connection body (11,12) which is connected with the outer frame part (51,52) and the inner frame part (36,37) and is provided with at least one of elasticity and viscoelasticity [0036 discloses gel] but does not explicitly disclose an outer peripheral portion including at least an outer peripheral face of the inner frame part is made of resin.
Song discloses (Fig 3) an outer peripheral portion (50) including at least an outer peripheral face of the inner frame part (40) is made of resin [Para 0025 discloses 40 and 50 being insert molded and rod 21 pressfitted together with 40, 50 and they are moving components) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed actuator of Ando with insert molded frame as taught by Song in order to required design choice for material of moving components for e.g., which are non magnetic in combination with desired shape at a lower cost that can be achieved by insert molding.
Regarding Claim 6, Ando in view of Ando and Song discloses the actuator according to claim 1. Ando in view of Ando and Song further discloses wherein the support body (Ando, 2) comprises a recessed part (46) to which the outer frame part (52) is fitted, and the recessed part comprises a step part (521) which is abutted with the outer frame part in the axial line direction (L1-L2) of the support shaft (30) when the outer frame part is fitted to the recessed part (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Ando in view of Ando and Song discloses the actuator according to claim 2. Ando in view of Ando and Song further discloses wherein the support body (Ando, 2) comprises a recessed part (46) to which the outer frame part (52) is fitted, and the recessed part comprises a step part (521) which is abutted with the outer frame part in the axial line direction (L1-L2) of the support shaft (30) when the outer frame part is fitted to the recessed part (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Ando in view of Ando and Song discloses the actuator according to claim 3. Ando in view of Ando and Song further discloses wherein the support body (Ando, 2) comprises a recessed part (46) to which the outer frame part (52) is fitted, and the recessed part comprises a step part (521) which is abutted with the outer frame part in the axial line direction (L1-L2) of the support shaft (30) when the outer frame part is fitted to the recessed part (Fig 3).
Double Patenting
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US2024333071A1 (which is now allowed 1.30.26). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are genus and US2024333071A1 is the species and therefore will be the read by the conflicting patent.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US2024333071A1 (which is now allowed 1.30.26). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations and structure recited are essentially the same .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5,7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 recites “ The actuator according to claim 1, wherein the arithmetic surface roughness of the outer peripheral face of the inner frame part is not more than 3.2μm”. Neither Ando nor Song disclose a surface roughness needed. Therefore claim 4 is allowable. Claim 7 is allowable for the same reasons as claim 4.
Claim 5 recites “ The actuator according to claim 3, wherein the inner frame part comprises a first member which is the outer peripheral portion and a second member made of metal which is fitted to an inner side of the first member and comprises the through-hole, and the support shaft is fixed to the first member through the second member by press-fitting the support shaft to the through-hole”. Neither Ando nor Song disclose this structure of insert molded inner frame as claimed. Therefore claim 5 is allowable.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834