DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1,4-14 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7, and 19-20 of copending Application No. 19355567 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the issued patent are narrower in scope than that of the instant application and therefore anticipates the claims if the instant application. Please see the Claim Mapping in the table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Each of the claims of the instant application map to the co-pending application, where Claim (I) maps to Claim (C).
Claim 1 (I): Claim 1 (C); Claim 4 (I): Claim 1 (C); Claim 5 (I): Claim 2 (C); Claim 7 (I): Claim 3 (C); Claim 8 (I): Claim 4 (C); Claim 9 (I): Claim 4 (C); Claim 10 (I): Claim 5 (C); Claim 11 (I): Claim 6 (C); Claim 12 (I): Claim 7 (C); Claim 13 (I): Claim 19 (C); Claim 14 (I): Claim 20 (C);
Instant Application: 17/222736
co-pending: 19355567
Claim 1: A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored contents that cause one or more devices to perform automated operations, the automated operations including:
at least one device of the one or more devices generating an audio recording using a microphone;
creating a real-time transcript of the audio recording;
causing the transcript to be displayed as text on a client device.
Claim 1: A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored contents that cause one or more devices to perform automated operations, the automated operations including:
a speaker device configured to receive a communication input, generating a communication output;
creating a real-time transcript of the communication output;
causing the transcript to be displayed as text on a client device and
wherein said client device is configured to transmit information to the speaker’s computing device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 13, and 14, Further claim 1 recites A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored contents that cause one or more devices to perform automated operations, the automated operations including: at least one device of the one or more devices generating an audio recording using a microphone;
creating a real-time transcript of the audio recording;
causing the transcript to be displayed as text on a client device.
Further claim 13 states A real-time voice-to-text transcription system comprising: A cloud-based server accessible by one or more mobile devices wherein said server is operable to cause the real-time voice-to-text transcription system to:
transmit in real-time to the speaker's mobile device, information input into the client mobile device; and
The limitation of “creating…”, “causing…”, and “transmit…”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person speaking and transcribing what he said.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are computer components “device” (paragraph 43), and “server ” (paragraph 61) recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Additionally, the claim recites “microphone ” which is pre-solution activity of data gathering. Also, the claim recites “client device ” which is post- solution activity of presenting the data. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the computer components amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2 additionally recite the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the device generating the audio recording is a speaker's mobile computing device. However, this limitation is an additional element of pre-solution activity of gathering data. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 3 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the client device is a mobile computing device. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are computer components “device” (paragraph 43) recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 4 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the client device transmits information to the speaker's mobile computing device. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are computer components communicating with each other which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. (TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016)) Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 5 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4 wherein the client device displays a plurality of buttons that permit a client user to select a particular type of information to be transmitted to the speaker's mobile computing device. However, these limitations encompass a person receiving options to pick from and selecting one. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are computer components “device” (paragraph 43) recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 6 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 5 wherein the plurality of buttons can be any one or more of a like button, a question button, a smile button or a photo button for taking photographs with the client device. However, these limitations encompass a person receiving options to pick from and selecting one. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Similar to above, no additional limitations are provided that provide a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 7 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include generating a customizable survey displayed on the client device and transmitting information a client inputs into the customizable survey from the client device to the device generating an audio recording. However, these limitations encompass a person creating survey questions after an event. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are computer components communicating with each other which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. (TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016)) Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 8 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include generating a post-event report. However, these limitations encompass a person creating a summary after an event. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Similar to above, no additional limitations are provided that provide a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 9 additionally recite the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a transcript annotated with one or more client interactions. However, these limitations encompass a person creating a transcript of what was said in an event. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Similar to above, no additional limitations are provided that provide a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 10 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a map view using geo-located location data from the device generating an audio recording. However, these limitations encompass a person drawing a map of where the event took place as well as a blueprint. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Similar to above, no additional limitations are provided that provide a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 11 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include editing or correcting the transcript in real-time. However, these limitations encompass a person transcribing an event and making edits to it in real time. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Similar to above, no additional limitations are provided that provide a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 12 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include streaming audio from the device generating an audio recording to one or more client devices in real-time. However, these limitations encompass , a person speaking. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that is “device” where its pre-solution by data gathering. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent US 20220115019 A1, (BRADLEY; Kiersten L).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, BRADLEY teach
1. A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored contents that cause one or more devices to perform automated operations, the automated operations including: at least one device of the one or more devices generating an audio recording using a microphone;
(Paragraph 5 “The following specification describes many aspects of automatic transcription of conversations and example embodiments that illustrate some representative combinations with optional aspects. Some examples are systems of process steps or systems of machine components for automated transcription of a conversation. These can be implemented with computers that execute software instructions stored on non-transitory computer-readable media.”
Paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, the second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript."
Paragraph 186 "FIG. 14A shows a real-time view of a meeting with automatic transcription on a mobile device. The present subject matter can be implemented by various terminal devices that have at least one microphone for receiving audio streams and at least one network interface for wireless connection. Examples of such a terminal device can be a mobile phone or a smart phone, a laptop, a desk computer, a wearable device such as smart glasses, a personal digital assistant, a tablet, or an automobile. Support for such devices can be implemented with hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) renderings using “viewport” meta tags appropriate for the screen size and orientation of the corresponding devices.")
creating a real-time transcript of the audio recording;
(Paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, the second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript."
Paragraph 198 "At step 1510, the system can generate a transcript by combining the plurality of text strings associated with the respective indicators. According to some embodiments, the transcript can comprise instant transcription of live conversations, which can be continuously updated in real-time with the ongoing conversations. In addition, various metadata can be incorporated into the transcript to improve its readability and functionality.")
causing the transcript to be displayed as text on a client device.
(Paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, the second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript."
Paragraph 80 "According to some embodiments, during a meeting in progress, the system can provide the transcript 35 for live viewing by meeting participants in real-time. In addition, the system can provide the transcript 35 to editors live during a meeting or later for editing. According to some embodiments, a collaborative editing application 36 can enable joint editing among multiple editors. For example, multiple editors can simultaneously enter changes, such as additions, deletions, and replacements of text, wherein such changes can be automatically saved in the server and immediately propagated to other editors.")
Claim 2
Regarding Claim 2, BRADLEY teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the device generating the audio recording is a speaker's mobile computing device.
(Paragraph 186 " FIG. 14A shows a real-time view of a meeting with automatic transcription on a mobile device. The present subject matter can be implemented by various terminal devices that have at least one microphone for receiving audio streams and at least one network interface for wireless connection. Examples of such a terminal device can be a mobile phone or a smart phone, a laptop, a desk computer, a wearable device such as smart glasses, a personal digital assistant, a tablet, or an automobile. Support for such devices can be implemented with hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) renderings using “viewport” meta tags appropriate for the screen size and orientation of the corresponding devices.")
Claim 3
Regarding Claim 3, BRADLEY teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the client device is a mobile computing device.
(Paragraph 186 " FIG. 14A shows a real-time view of a meeting with automatic transcription on a mobile device. The present subject matter can be implemented by various terminal devices that have at least one microphone for receiving audio streams and at least one network interface for wireless connection. Examples of such a terminal device can be a mobile phone or a smart phone, a laptop, a desk computer, a wearable device such as smart glasses, a personal digital assistant, a tablet, or an automobile. Support for such devices can be implemented with hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) renderings using “viewport” meta tags appropriate for the screen size and orientation of the corresponding devices.")
Claim 4
Regarding Claim 4, BRADLEY teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the client device transmits information to the speaker's mobile computing device.
(Paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, the second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript.")
Claim 8
Regarding Claim 8, BRADLEY teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include generating a post-event report.
(Paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, the second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript."
paragraph 70 "According to some embodiments, the system of FIG. 2 can comprise an editor terminal 28 that is not a participant in the video conference. The editor terminal 28 can have a keyboard and display to show stored transcripts 26. The editor terminal 28 can execute a browser such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Apple Safari. The browser can run an editing application provided by the conferencing server 25 in a format such as JavaScript or other client-side languages. The editor terminal 28 can access and edit transcripts 26 in real-time as the system creates them through Automatic Speech Recognition during a video conference. The editor terminal 28 can also access and edit stored transcripts after a video conference is concluded.")
Claim 9
Regarding Claim 9, BRADLEY teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a transcript annotated with one or more client interactions.
(Paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, the second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript."
paragraph 70 "According to some embodiments, the system of FIG. 2 can comprise an editor terminal 28 that is not a participant in the video conference. The editor terminal 28 can have a keyboard and display to show stored transcripts 26. The editor terminal 28 can execute a browser such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Apple Safari. The browser can run an editing application provided by the conferencing server 25 in a format such as JavaScript or other client-side languages. The editor terminal 28 can access and edit transcripts 26 in real-time as the system creates them through Automatic Speech Recognition during a video conference. The editor terminal 28 can also access and edit stored transcripts after a video conference is concluded.")
Claim 11
Regarding Claim 11, BRADLEY teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include editing or correcting the transcript in real-time.
(Paragraph 70 "According to some embodiments, the system of FIG. 2 can comprise an editor terminal 28 that is not a participant in the video conference. The editor terminal 28 can have a keyboard and display to show stored transcripts 26. The editor terminal 28 can execute a browser such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Apple Safari. The browser can run an editing application provided by the conferencing server 25 in a format such as JavaScript or other client-side languages. The editor terminal 28 can access and edit transcripts 26 in real-time as the system creates them through Automatic Speech Recognition during a video conference. The editor terminal 28 can also access and edit stored transcripts after a video conference is concluded.")
Claim 12
Regarding Claim 12, BRADLEY teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include streaming audio from the device generating an audio recording to one or more client devices in real-time.
(Paragraph 61 "According to some embodiments, the terminals can receive audio and video streams and send them to a cloud video conferencing system. Similar technologies are useful for audio conferencing without video. The cloud video conferencing system can receive the audio streams from the terminals or audio sources and treat each as a separate audio channel. For each of the audio channels, the cloud conferencing system can perform Automatic Speech Recognition on speech to transcribe a transcription in real-time. It can further store the transcription on a non-volatile computer-readable medium. According to some embodiment, the system can store the audio or the video data from which the speech was transcribed for playback or archive."
Paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, the second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript.")
Claim 13 and 14
Regarding Claim 13 and 14, BRADLEY teach
13. A real-time voice-to-text transcription system comprising: A cloud-based server accessible by one or more mobile devices wherein said server is operable to cause the real-time voice-to-text transcription system to:
(Paragraph 67 " According to some embodiments, the first terminal device 21, second terminal device 22, and third terminal device 23 can communicate with a conferencing server 25 via network 24. In some systems, terminals can perform Automatic Speech Recognition locally and send the transcribed text. According to some embodiments, the conferencing server 25 can perform Automatic Speech Recognition to transcribe speech. The conferencing server 25 can store the transcripts 26 on a computer-readable medium.")
access audio in the form of a speaker's spoken words into a microphone on the speaker's mobile device;
(Paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, the second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript."
Paragraph 186 "FIG. 14A shows a real-time view of a meeting with automatic transcription on a mobile device. The present subject matter can be implemented by various terminal devices that have at least one microphone for receiving audio streams and at least one network interface for wireless connection. Examples of such a terminal device can be a mobile phone or a smart phone, a laptop, a desk computer, a wearable device such as smart glasses, a personal digital assistant, a tablet, or an automobile. Support for such devices can be implemented with hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) renderings using “viewport” meta tags appropriate for the screen size and orientation of the corresponding devices.")
cause the text to be displayed in real-time on a client mobile device as the audio is spoken into the microphone on the speaker's mobile device;
(Paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, the second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript."
Paragraph 80 "According to some embodiments, during a meeting in progress, the system can provide the transcript 35 for live viewing by meeting participants in real-time. In addition, the system can provide the transcript 35 to editors live during a meeting or later for editing. According to some embodiments, a collaborative editing application 36 can enable joint editing among multiple editors. For example, multiple editors can simultaneously enter changes, such as additions, deletions, and replacements of text, wherein such changes can be automatically saved in the server and immediately propagated to other editors.")
transmit in real-time to the speaker's mobile device, information input into the client mobile device; and
(Paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, the second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript."
Paragraph 80 "According to some embodiments, during a meeting in progress, the system can provide the transcript 35 for live viewing by meeting participants in real-time. In addition, the system can provide the transcript 35 to editors live during a meeting or later for editing. According to some embodiments, a collaborative editing application 36 can enable joint editing among multiple editors. For example, multiple editors can simultaneously enter changes, such as additions, deletions, and replacements of text, wherein such changes can be automatically saved in the server and immediately propagated to other editors.")
generate a written transcript of the words spoken by the speaker.
(Paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, the second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript."
Paragraph 198 "At step 1510, the system can generate a transcript by combining the plurality of text strings associated with the respective indicators. According to some embodiments, the transcript can comprise instant transcription of live conversations, which can be continuously updated in real-time with the ongoing conversations. In addition, various metadata can be incorporated into the transcript to improve its readability and functionality.")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent US 20220115019 A1, (BRADLEY; Kiersten L.) in view of US Patent US 20140136626 A1, (Teevan; Jaime.).
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, BRADLEY do not explicitly teach all of the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4 wherein the client device displays a plurality of buttons that permit a client user to select a particular type of information to be transmitted to the speaker's mobile computing device.
However, Teevan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4 wherein the client device displays a plurality of buttons that permit a client user to select a particular type of information to be transmitted to the speaker's mobile computing device.
(Paragraph 9 "The inventive concepts can provide a real-time interactive participation system designed for use during presentations. For instance, during a meeting, audience members can submit feedback on what has been (or is being) presented using their smart phones. As an example, the users may use a "like" or "dislike" button to rate the presented content. This feedback can then be aggregated and displayed for the audience members and the presenter (e.g., a shared visualization of the feedback). The visualization can be integrated with the presented content or displayed independent of the presented content. The visualization may be presented in multiple ways. For instance, the visualization may be presented to both the presenter and the audience and/or a customized visualization may be generated for individual audience members and/or the presenter.")
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BRADLEY to incorporate the teachings of Teevan to provide a “The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4 wherein the client device displays a plurality of buttons that permit a client user to select a particular type of information to be transmitted to the speaker's mobile computing device.” Doing so would provide an interactive presentation, as recognized by Teevan . (Paragraph 9).
Claim 6
Regarding Claim 6, BRADLEY do not explicitly teach all of the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 5 wherein the plurality of buttons can be any one or more of a like button, a question button, a smile button or a photo button for taking photographs with the client device.
However, Teevan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 5 wherein the plurality of buttons can be any one or more of a like button, a question button, a smile button or a photo button for taking photographs with the client device.
(Paragraph 9 "The inventive concepts can provide a real-time interactive participation system designed for use during presentations. For instance, during a meeting, audience members can submit feedback on what has been (or is being) presented using their smart phones. As an example, the users may use a "like" or "dislike" button to rate the presented content. This feedback can then be aggregated and displayed for the audience members and the presenter (e.g., a shared visualization of the feedback). The visualization can be integrated with the presented content or displayed independent of the presented content. The visualization may be presented in multiple ways. For instance, the visualization may be presented to both the presenter and the audience and/or a customized visualization may be generated for individual audience members and/or the presenter.")
See claim 5 for rationale.
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, BRADLEY do not explicitly teach all of the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include generating a customizable survey displayed on the client device and transmitting information a client inputs into the customizable survey from the client device to the device generating an audio recording.
However, Teevan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include generating a customizable survey displayed on the client device and transmitting information a client inputs into the customizable survey from the client device to the device generating an audio recording.
(Paragraph 59 "Meeting attendees provide feedback by visiting a webpage or by installing a feedback mobile phone application. For the webpage, the attendee is uniquely identified with a cookie. For the application, the attendee is uniquely identified with a user ID. (The application may also gather additional information about the participant such as gender, job role, or other recorded signals including geographic location, mobile operator, IP address, etc.). The webpage can exist to encourage early adoption, while the application provides a richer user experience. All experiences can be optimized for the mobile phone, pad-type device, etc. Audience members can provide positive feedback using a green thumbs up button, and negative feedback using a red thumbs down button. Other types of feedback could be provided, including, go faster, go slower, "identify me in the shared visualization," or specific speaker-identified responses intended to elicit specific audience responses (e.g., polling, voting, or survey questions). In addition to button presses, gestures could be used to provide feedback.")
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BRADLEY to incorporate the teachings of Teevan to provide a “the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include generating a customizable survey displayed on the client device and transmitting information a client inputs into the customizable survey from the client device to the device generating an audio recording.” Doing so would Elicit specific audience responses, as recognized by Teevan. (Paragraph 59).
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent US 20220115019 A1, (BRADLEY; Kiersten L.) in view of US 20120196571 A1, (Grkov; Vance.).
Claim 10
Regarding Claim 10, BRADLEY do not explicitly teach all of the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a map view using geo-located location data from the device generating an audio recording. However, Grkov teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a map view using geo-located location data from the device generating an audio recording.
(Paragraph 146 " When the device is lost or stolen, it may be desirable for the device to hide the presence and prevent removal of software such as the local software component. In an embodiment, the server can issue a command which puts the device into a lost/stolen mode. When the device is in lost/stolen mode, it may hide any user interface components related to the local software component, prevent removal of the local software component, and report the location of the device and actions performed on the device such as phone calls, text messages, web pages visited, and SIM card changes. The remote access web page may display that the device is lost/stolen. In a further embodiment, the remote access web page displays the location corresponding to the device's location reports on a map and displays a list of the actions performed on the device since it has been in lost/stolen mode. The map may show the location of the device over multiple points in time to convey information regarding movement of the device. In an embodiment, entering lost/stolen mode automatically triggers the local software component on the mobile device to perform certain actions. For example, when in lost/stolen mode, the local software component on the device automatically takes a picture using the device's camera periodically. Alternatively, when in lost/stolen mode, the local software component on the device automatically records audio and/or video from the device. In each case, the device sends data resulting from the automatically performed action(s) to the server. The data is displayed on the remote access web page for view by the user. The remote access web page allows the user to configure what actions, if any, should be performed by the device when it enters lost/stolen mode. ")
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BRADLEY to incorporate the teachings of Grkov to provide a “The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a map view using geo-located location data from the device generating an audio recording.” Doing so would convey movement of the device, as recognized by Grkov . (Paragraph 146).
Conclusion