DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 4/30/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 19355567 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Amendment and Arguments.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 2, filed 4/30/2026, with respect to claims 1-7,9-15 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that “Generating an audio recording is, as understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, a fundamentally electronic operation implemented through physical hardware and signal processing, as opposed to a mental process. An audio recording is not merely the conceptual content of sound, but a tangible or digital representation of acoustic information encoded as electrical signals or digital data structures. The act of generating such an audio recording necessarily requires the use of electronic components, such as microphones, analog-to-digital converters, processors, memory, etc., to capture, transform and store sound.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees the audio data is pre-solution activity where the human would receive data. From this data the human would have the data necessary to transcribe the audio. Furthermore, the human would then be able to do a report after transcribing the audio. Hence being a mental process.
Applicants further argues, that “Generating a real-time transcript of an audio recording is also, from the perspective of a person of ordinary skill in the art, a quintessential electronic operation implemented through specialized computing systems and signal processing, rather than a mental process. A real-time transcript is not merely the abstract understanding of spoken language, but a dynamically generated data structure produced through the electronic processing of an audio signal. Providing literally real-time transmission and translation of audio communication would necessarily be an operation performed by a computer with a non-transitory computer readable medium. Such improvements are indicative of eligibility under Step 2A, Prong Two of the USPTO subject matter eligibility analysis. The fastest recorded number of words per minute transcribed by pencil and paper is 113 words per minute. According to ChatGPT, normal conversation speed is around 125 to 150 words per minute and fast speech can exceed 200 words per minute. Accordingly, it would be impossible to manually generate a real-time transcript according to corresponding audio in real-time, as claimed in Applicant’s amended claims.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees a human can transcribe audio. For example, the individual that transcribes audio in a court room. Furthermore, the claims do not recite ChatGPT nor a necessary number of words transcribed per minute. Having a certain number of words per minute does not mean a human cant preform that task. Hence being a mental process.
Applicants further argues, that “Similarly, the limitation of “causing a transcript, via a web-based browser portal or downloadable software application, to be displayed as text on at least one client device is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to require the coordinated interaction of multiple technological components, including client-server architectures, communication protocols, and device-specific display subsystems. In particular, a transcript must first exist as structured digital data (e.g., a text string or formatted document) stored in memory. That data is then transmitted over a network using established electronic communication protocols (e.g., HTTP/HTTPS for browser-based portals or API-based data exchange for native applications), received by a mobile device, processed by the device’s operating system and application layer, and ultimately rendered as visible text via a display controller and graphical user interface. This sequence constitutes a series of electronic operations involving the transformation, transmission, and rendering of data within physical computing hardware. A human mind cannot perform these steps—particularly the network transmission, protocol handling, memory management, and pixel-level rendering required to display text on a mobile device. Rather, the claimed functionality is inherently tied to specific technological infrastructure, including mobile processors, memory, wireless communication modules, and display hardware.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees web-based and software app is post- solution activity where the human would see a result. From this data the human would have the data necessary to do a report after the session. Furthermore, the claims do not recite that the data is being transmitted via a certain protocol or any protocol. Hence being a mental process.
Therefore, the 101 rejection of claims 1-7,9-15 are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7,9-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The newly modified claim limitation “at least one device of the one or more devices used by an event speaker during a speech event for generating an audio recording of the event speaker’s voice using a microphone; causing the transcript via a web-based browser portal or downloadable software app to be displayed as text on a at least one client device in use by an audience member attending the speech event; and receiving and collecting data from the event speaker and the at least one audience member and generating a post-event report based upon said data received and collected from the event speaker and the at least one audience member.” necessitates the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7,9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 13, and 14, Further claim 1 recites A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored contents that cause one or more devices to perform automated operations, the automated operations including:
at least one device of the one or more devices used by an event speaker during a speech event for generating an audio recording of the event speaker’s voice using a microphone;
creating a real-time transcript of the audio recording;
causing the transcript via a web-based browser portal or downloadable software app to be displayed as text on at least one client device in use by an audience member attending the speech event; and
receiving and collecting data from the event speaker and the at least one audience member and generating a post-event report based upon said data received and collected from the event speaker and the at least one audience member.
Further claim 13 states A real-time voice-to-text transcription system comprising: A cloud-based server accessible by one or more mobile devices wherein said server is operable to cause the real-time voice-to-text transcription system to:
transmit in real-time to the speaker's mobile device, information input into the client mobile device; and
The limitation of “creating…”, “causing…”, “transmit…”, and “receiving …”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a presenter and an audience member talking and someone transcribing what was said. Further the transcription can be shown to the people talking. After transcribing the conversation, the individual would generate a report based on the conversation.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are computer components “device” (paragraph 43), and “server ” (paragraph 61) recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Additionally, the claim recites “microphone ” and “generating an audio recording” which is pre-solution activity of data gathering. Also, the claim recites “client device ”, “web-based browser portal”, and “downloadable software app” which is post- solution activity of presenting the data. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the computer components amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2 additionally recite the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the device generating the audio recording is a speaker's mobile computing device. However, this limitation is an additional element of pre-solution activity of gathering data. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 3 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the client device is a mobile computing device. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are computer components “device” (paragraph 43) recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 4 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the client device transmits information to the speaker's mobile computing device. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are computer components communicating with each other which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. (TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016)) Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 5 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4 wherein the client device displays a plurality of buttons that permit a client user to select a particular type of information to be transmitted to the speaker's mobile computing device. However, these limitations encompass a person receiving options to pick from and selecting one. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are computer components “device” (paragraph 43) recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 6 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 5 wherein the plurality of buttons can be any one or more of a like button, a question button, a smile button or a photo button for taking photographs with the client device. However, these limitations encompass a person receiving options to pick from and selecting one. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Similar to above, no additional limitations are provided that provide a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 7 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include generating a customizable survey displayed on the client device and transmitting information a client inputs into the customizable survey from the client device to the device generating an audio recording. However, these limitations encompass a person creating survey questions after an event. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are computer components communicating with each other which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. (TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016)) Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 9 additionally recite the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a transcript annotated with one or more client interactions. However, these limitations encompass a person creating a transcript of what was said in an event. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Similar to above, no additional limitations are provided that provide a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 10 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a map view using geo-located location data from the device generating an audio recording. However, these limitations encompass a person drawing a map of where the event took place as well as a blueprint. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Similar to above, no additional limitations are provided that provide a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 11 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include editing or correcting the transcript in real-time. However, these limitations encompass a person transcribing an event and making edits to it in real time. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Similar to above, no additional limitations are provided that provide a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 12 additionally recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include streaming audio from the device generating an audio recording to one or more client devices in real-time. However, these limitations encompass , a person speaking. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that is “device” where its pre-solution by data gathering. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 15 additionally recites The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the real-time transcript is displayed in a language that is different than the language spoken by the event speaker. However, these limitations encompass a person transcribing in a specific language. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Similar to above, no additional limitations are provided that provide a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent US 20220138470 A1, (SELESKEROV; Konstantin).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, SELESKEROV teach
1. A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored contents that cause one or more devices to perform automated operations, the automated operations including:
(paragraph 5 "An example computer-readable storage medium on which are stored instructions. The instructions when executed cause a processor of a programmable device to perform functions of establishing an online presentation session for conducting an online presentation for a first computing device of a presenter and a plurality of second computing devices of a plurality of participants, receiving, via a network connection, a set of first media streams comprising presentation content from the first computing device of the presenter, receiving, via the network connection, a set of second media streams from the second computing devices of a first subset of the plurality of participants, the set of second media streams including audio content, video content, or both of a first subset of the plurality of participants captured by the respective second computing devices of the first subset of the plurality of participants, analyzing the set of first media streams using one or more first machine learning models trained to analyze audio content, video content, presentation materials, or a combination thereof to provide suggestions for improving the online presentation to generate a set of first feedback results, analyzing the set of second media streams using one or more second machine learning models to identify a set of first reactions by the first subset of the plurality of participants to obtain first reaction information, automatically analyzing the set of first feedback results and the set of first reactions to identify a first set of discrepancies between the set of first feedback results and the set of first reactions, and automatically updating one or more parameters of the one or more first machine learning models based on the first set of discrepancies to improve the suggestions for improving the online presentation.")
at least one device of the one or more devices used by an event speaker during a speech event for generating an audio recording of the event speaker’s voice using a microphone;
(paragraph 28 "The following terminology is used in the description. A “presentation” or “online presentation” as used herein refers to content that is be shared by a presenter with one or more participants. The online presentation content may include a slide show, document, video, images, and/or other content. The online presentation content may also include an audio discussion that accompanies the presentation content. The online presentation may be a standalone online presentation or may be part of an online communications session. A “presenter” as used herein refers to a user of a client device that is sharing an online presentation content with at least one participant. The presenter may be participant of an online communications session with other participants and may assume the role of presenter for at least a portion of the online communications session. A “participant” as used herein refers to a user who is part of the audience of the online presentation being shared by the presenter. An online presentation may include multiple participants, and the participants may be located remotely from the presenter. The participants may receive the online presentation content over a network connection at a client device with audiovisual capabilities for outputting the online presentation content to the participants."
Paragraph 32 "…A presenter may utilize such a communications platform to conduct a meeting, a lecture, conference, or other such event online in which participants may be able to communicate with the presenter as well as other participants via chat and audio and/or video conferencing…."
Paragraph 63 "The content capture units 265a and 265b may be configured to capture audio content and/or video content using the microphone and camera of the client device 105a and 105b, respectively. The content capture units 265a and 265b may be configured to interface with these hardware elements to capture the audio content and video content that may be provided to the stream processing unit s260a and 265b of the respective client devices 105a and 105b. The stream processing units 260a and 265b may be configured to process the audio content and/or the video content obtained by the content capture units 265a and 265b, respectively, and process that audio content and/or video content into one or more media streams that may be transmitted to the presentation and communications platform 110.")
creating a real-time transcript of the audio recording;
(paragraph 84 " The user interface 705 may include a presentation summary 725 that may be used to present information about the online presentation and/or communication session to the presenter. A transcript 715 of the audio portion of the online presentation and/or communication session may be generated by the stream processing unit 215 by analyzing the spoken content provided by the presenter and the participants. The language in which the transcript is presented to the presenter and/or each of the participants may be configurable. In some implementations, the presenter may select the transcript language. In other implementations, the presentation and communications platform 110 may provide a user interface that enables the presenter and/or the participants to each set language preferences for the transcript. The presentation and communications platform 110 may be configured to automatically translate the transcript to the preferred language if supported or may be configured to obtain a translation of the transcript from an external translation service in substantially real time and to display the appropriate translation to the presenter and/or the participants. Thus, the presenter and/or participants may be able to participant in the online presentation and/or communication session in one language but may obtain a transcript in a second language with which the presenter and/or participants are more comfortable.")
causing the transcript via a web-based browser portal or downloadable software app to be displayed as text on a at least one client device in use by an audience member attending the speech event; and
(paragraph 89 " FIG. 8 is a diagram showing an example user interface 805 for participating in an online presentation from the client device 105 of a participant. The user interface 805 may have a layout that is similar to the user interface 705 shown on the client device 105 of the presenter. The user interface 805 may be generated by the presentation hosting unit 240 and may be rendered in the browser application 255 or the native application 250 of the client device 105 of the participant in such implementations. In other implementations, the native application 250 of the client device 105 of the participant may be a presentation application that is configured to provide a user interface for creating, modifying, conducting, and participating in online presentations and/or communication sessions. The native application 250 may communicate with the presentation and communications platform 110 in such implementations to provide the various services described in the preceding examples."
paragraph 92 "The user interface 805 may include a presentation summary 825 that is similar to the presentation summary 725 shown in the user interface 705 used by the presenter. The transcript 815 may be similar to the transcript 715 of the user interface 705. The presentation summary 825 shown to the participants may be slightly different from that shown on the user interface 705. For example, the user interface 805 may include reactions 820. The reactions 820 includes a set of reaction icons or emojis providing a graphical representation of various reactions to the presentation content. The user may click on or otherwise activate a reaction icon or emoji to cause the user interface 805 to send an identifier for the reaction icon or emoji to the presenter. The identifier for the reaction icon or emoji may be added to the reactions data 315 sent by client device 105 of the participant to the presentation and communications platform 110. As discussed in the preceding examples, the presentation and communications platform 110 may add the aggregate the reactions data 315 from each of the participants and send the aggregated data to the client device 105a of the presenter for display. In some implementations, the aggregated reactions data may be provided to the client device of each of the participants and may be displayed to the participants."
Client device of participant (element 105) is being interpreted as Audience member )
receiving and collecting data from the event speaker and the at least one audience member and generating a post-event report based upon said data received and collected from the event speaker and the at least one audience member.
(paragraph 31 "The presentation and communications platform 110 may receive live feedback from participants during an online presentation from the participants using the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d to participate in the online presentation. As will be discussed in the examples that follow, the feedback may be express reactions or implicit reactions derived from user actions or behavior. The express reactions may be provided through user interface elements provided by the applications on the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d used by the participants to receive and consume the presentation and/or communication session contents. The user interface elements may permit the participants to select reactions to be sent to the client device 105a of the presenter of the online presentation. The presentation and communications platform 110 may also be configured to recognize participant gestures and actions in audio and/or video streams captured by the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d of the participants and sent to the presentation and communications platform 110."
paragraph 93 " FIG. 9 is an example of an example presentation summary report 910 that may be provided to the presenter upon completion of the presentation or online communications session. The presentation summary report may be shown to the presenter in the user interface 905 of the application. As can been seen in FIG. 9, the summary report 910 may replace the presentation content shown in the preceding examples with the summary report 910 automatically upon completion of the presentation. The feedback and reporting unit 225 may be configured to provide a summary of participant feedback to the presenter at the end of the presentation or online communications session. The presentation summary report 910 may include audience reaction information as well as presentation critiques and highlights information. The presentation summary report 910 may include information provided by the presentation coaching unit 235 based on the analysis of the presentation media streams 305 which may capture audio and/or video content of the presenter. The analyzer unit 415 of the stream processing unit 215 may analyze audio content, video content, or both provided the presenter during the online presentation or communications session. As discussed in the preceding examples, the analyzer unit 415 may output high-level features information output by the machine learning models. The feedback and reporting unit 225 may be configured to analyze these high-level features to identify presentation critiques and presentation highlights. The presentation critiques may provide information for aspects of the presenter's presentation skills that may be subject to improvement. The feedback and reporting unit 225 may also include presentation highlights which include aspects of the presenter's presentation skills which the presenter did very well. Other types of critiques, such as those described in the other examples provided herein, may also be included in the presentation summary report 910. The presentation summary report 910 may include a summary of audience reactions received during the online presentation and/or the orientation. The presentation summary report 910 may also include a live feedback score that is based on participant feedback obtained at the end of the online presentation. The feedback may be obtained by presenting the participants with user interface similar to the live polls shown in FIGS. 12A-12C which may include a series of questions asking the participant to rate various aspects of the presentation. The feedback and reporting unit 225 may be configured to collate the responses from the participants to generate the live feedback score.")
Claim 2
Regarding Claim 2, SELESKEROV teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the device generating the audio recording is a speaker's mobile computing device.
(paragraph 93 "…The presentation summary report 910 may include information provided by the presentation coaching unit 235 based on the analysis of the presentation media streams 305 which may capture audio and/or video content of the presenter. The analyzer unit 415 of the stream processing unit 215 may analyze audio content, video content, or both provided the presenter during the online presentation or communications session…"
Paragraph 33 "The client devices 105a, 105b, 105c, and 105d are computing devices that may be implemented as a portable electronic device, such as a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, a portable digital assistant device, a portable game console, and/or other such devices. The client devices 105a-105d may also be implemented in computing devices having other form factors, such as a vehicle onboard computing system, a video game console, a desktop computer, and/or other types of computing devices. Each of the client devices 105a-105d may have different capabilities based on the hardware and/or software configuration of the respective client device. While the example implementation illustrated in FIG. 1 includes four client devices, other implementations may include a different number of client devices.")
Claim 3
Regarding Claim 3, SELESKEROV teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the client device is a mobile computing device.
(paragraph 33 "The client devices 105a, 105b, 105c, and 105d are computing devices that may be implemented as a portable electronic device, such as a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, a portable digital assistant device, a portable game console, and/or other such devices. The client devices 105a-105d may also be implemented in computing devices having other form factors, such as a vehicle onboard computing system, a video game console, a desktop computer, and/or other types of computing devices. Each of the client devices 105a-105d may have different capabilities based on the hardware and/or software configuration of the respective client device. While the example implementation illustrated in FIG. 1 includes four client devices, other implementations may include a different number of client devices.")
Claim 4
Regarding Claim 4, SELESKEROV teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the client device transmits information to the speaker's mobile computing device.
(paragraph 31 "The presentation and communications platform 110 may receive live feedback from participants during an online presentation from the participants using the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d to participate in the online presentation. As will be discussed in the examples that follow, the feedback may be express reactions or implicit reactions derived from user actions or behavior. The express reactions may be provided through user interface elements provided by the applications on the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d used by the participants to receive and consume the presentation and/or communication session contents. The user interface elements may permit the participants to select reactions to be sent to the client device 105a of the presenter of the online presentation. The presentation and communications platform 110 may also be configured to recognize participant gestures and actions in audio and/or video streams captured by the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d of the participants and sent to the presentation and communications platform 110.")
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, SELESKEROV teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4 wherein the client device displays a plurality of buttons that permit a client user to select a particular type of information to be transmitted to the speaker's mobile computing device.
(paragraph 31 "The presentation and communications platform 110 may receive live feedback from participants during an online presentation from the participants using the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d to participate in the online presentation. As will be discussed in the examples that follow, the feedback may be express reactions or implicit reactions derived from user actions or behavior. The express reactions may be provided through user interface elements provided by the applications on the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d used by the participants to receive and consume the presentation and/or communication session contents. The user interface elements may permit the participants to select reactions to be sent to the client device 105a of the presenter of the online presentation. The presentation and communications platform 110 may also be configured to recognize participant gestures and actions in audio and/or video streams captured by the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d of the participants and sent to the presentation and communications platform 110."
paragraph 92 "The user interface 805 may include a presentation summary 825 that is similar to the presentation summary 725 shown in the user interface 705 used by the presenter. The transcript 815 may be similar to the transcript 715 of the user interface 705. The presentation summary 825 shown to the participants may be slightly different from that shown on the user interface 705. For example, the user interface 805 may include reactions 820. The reactions 820 includes a set of reaction icons or emojis providing a graphical representation of various reactions to the presentation content. The user may click on or otherwise activate a reaction icon or emoji to cause the user interface 805 to send an identifier for the reaction icon or emoji to the presenter. The identifier for the reaction icon or emoji may be added to the reactions data 315 sent by client device 105 of the participant to the presentation and communications platform 110. As discussed in the preceding examples, the presentation and communications platform 110 may add the aggregate the reactions data 315 from each of the participants and send the aggregated data to the client device 105a of the presenter for display. In some implementations, the aggregated reactions data may be provided to the client device of each of the participants and may be displayed to the participants.")
Claim 12
Regarding Claim 12, SELESKEROV teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include streaming audio from the device generating an audio recording to one or more client devices in real-time.
(paragraph 63 "The content capture units 265a and 265b may be configured to capture audio content and/or video content using the microphone and camera of the client device 105a and 105b, respectively. The content capture units 265a and 265b may be configured to interface with these hardware elements to capture the audio content and video content that may be provided to the stream processing unit s260a and 265b of the respective client devices 105a and 105b. The stream processing units 260a and 265b may be configured to process the audio content and/or the video content obtained by the content capture units 265a and 265b, respectively, and process that audio content and/or video content into one or more media streams that may be transmitted to the presentation and communications platform 110."
Paragraph 64 " FIG. 3 is a diagram showing examples of data exchanged between the presentation and communications platform 110 and the client devices 105a, 105b, 105c, and 105d. As discussed in the preceding examples, the presentation and communications platform 110 may transmit one or more presentation media streams 305 to the each of the client devices 105 over the network 120. The one or more presentation media streams 305 may include one or more audio media streams, one or more video media streams, and/or other media streams. The one or more presentation media streams may include an audio component of the presentation where the presenter is discussing presentation content being shared with the participants. The presentation content may include a set of slides, a document, or other content that may be discussed during presentation. The presentation content may be provided to the client devices of the participants by the presentation and communications platform 110 before or during the online presentation. A copy of the presentation content may be provided to the computing devices 105 of the participants to permit the participants to navigate independently through the presentation content during the online presentation. The presentation media streams 305 may include navigation signals that may be used by the computing devices 105 of the participants to display a particular portion of the presentation content that the presenter is currently discussing in the online presentation. A participant may override these navigation signals and independently navigate to a different slide or portion of the presentation content during the presentation and/or zoom in or zoom out on a slide or portion of the presentation. Such navigation overrides may be reported to the presenter as navigation signals included in the reactions data 315 to permit the presenter to identify portions of the presentation that may be unclear or for which the presenter should have spent more time discussing. The reactions data 315 received from the participants may be anonymized by the presentation and communications platform 110 to remove any personalized information that may identify that a particular reaction has originated from a particular participant. The anonymized data may be presented to the presenter during the online presentation and/or included in one or more summary reports generated for the presenter at the conclusion of the online presentation.")
Claim 13 and 14
Regarding Claim 13 and 14, SELESKEROV teach
13. A real-time voice-to-text transcription system comprising: A cloud-based server accessible by one or more mobile devices wherein said server is operable to cause the real-time voice-to-text transcription system to:
(paragraph 84 " The user interface 705 may include a presentation summary 725 that may be used to present information about the online presentation and/or communication session to the presenter. A transcript 715 of the audio portion of the online presentation and/or communication session may be generated by the stream processing unit 215 by analyzing the spoken content provided by the presenter and the participants…"
paragraph 30 "The presentation and communications platform 110 may be implemented as a cloud-based service or set of services…"
Paragraph 33 "The client devices 105a, 105b, 105c, and 105d are computing devices that may be implemented as a portable electronic device, such as a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, a portable digital assistant device, a portable game console, and/or other such devices…")
access audio in the form of a speaker's spoken words into a microphone on the speaker's mobile device;
(paragraph 28 "The following terminology is used in the description. A “presentation” or “online presentation” as used herein refers to content that is be shared by a presenter with one or more participants. The online presentation content may include a slide show, document, video, images, and/or other content. The online presentation content may also include an audio discussion that accompanies the presentation content. The online presentation may be a standalone online presentation or may be part of an online communications session. A “presenter” as used herein refers to a user of a client device that is sharing an online presentation content with at least one participant. The presenter may be participant of an online communications session with other participants and may assume the role of presenter for at least a portion of the online communications session. A “participant” as used herein refers to a user who is part of the audience of the online presentation being shared by the presenter. An online presentation may include multiple participants, and the participants may be located remotely from the presenter. The participants may receive the online presentation content over a network connection at a client device with audiovisual capabilities for outputting the online presentation content to the participants."
Paragraph 63 "The content capture units 265a and 265b may be configured to capture audio content and/or video content using the microphone and camera of the client device 105a and 105b, respectively. The content capture units 265a and 265b may be configured to interface with these hardware elements to capture the audio content and video content that may be provided to the stream processing unit s260a and 265b of the respective client devices 105a and 105b. The stream processing units 260a and 265b may be configured to process the audio content and/or the video content obtained by the content capture units 265a and 265b, respectively, and process that audio content and/or video content into one or more media streams that may be transmitted to the presentation and communications platform 110.")
cause the text to be displayed in real-time on a client mobile device as the audio is spoken into the microphone on the speaker's mobile device;
(paragraph 84 "The user interface 705 may include a presentation summary 725 that may be used to present information about the online presentation and/or communication session to the presenter. A transcript 715 of the audio portion of the online presentation and/or communication session may be generated by the stream processing unit 215 by analyzing the spoken content provided by the presenter and the participants. The language in which the transcript is presented to the presenter and/or each of the participants may be configurable. In some implementations, the presenter may select the transcript language. In other implementations, the presentation and communications platform 110 may provide a user interface that enables the presenter and/or the participants to each set language preferences for the transcript. The presentation and communications platform 110 may be configured to automatically translate the transcript to the preferred language if supported or may be configured to obtain a translation of the transcript from an external translation service in substantially real time and to display the appropriate translation to the presenter and/or the participants. Thus, the presenter and/or participants may be able to participant in the online presentation and/or communication session in one language but may obtain a transcript in a second language with which the presenter and/or participants are more comfortable."
Paragraph 92 "The user interface 805 may include a presentation summary 825 that is similar to the presentation summary 725 shown in the user interface 705 used by the presenter. The transcript 815 may be similar to the transcript 715 of the user interface 705. The presentation summary 825 shown to the participants may be slightly different from that shown on the user interface 705. For example, the user interface 805 may include reactions 820. The reactions 820 includes a set of reaction icons or emojis providing a graphical representation of various reactions to the presentation content. The user may click on or otherwise activate a reaction icon or emoji to cause the user interface 805 to send an identifier for the reaction icon or emoji to the presenter. The identifier for the reaction icon or emoji may be added to the reactions data 315 sent by client device 105 of the participant to the presentation and communications platform 110. As discussed in the preceding examples, the presentation and communications platform 110 may add the aggregate the reactions data 315 from each of the participants and send the aggregated data to the client device 105a of the presenter for display. In some implementations, the aggregated reactions data may be provided to the client device of each of the participants and may be displayed to the participants."
Having the transcription be translated and automatically shown to the other person would indicate real time)
transmit in real-time to the speaker's mobile device, information input into the client mobile device; and
(
paragraph 36 "The presentation hosting unit 240 may be configured to facilitate hosting of an online presentation by a presenter. The presentation hosting unit 240 may be configured to permit the presenter to share a presentation content with a plurality of participants. The presentation hosting unit 240 may be configured to engage with the audience by providing the audience with the ability to send reaction icons or emojis. Emojis are graphic symbols that represent an idea or concept that are used in a variety of messaging applications. Emojis may serve as a shortcut for conveying an idea in graphic form and are commonly used to react to a message. The presentation hosting unit 240 is configured to enable participants to an online presentation to send emoji feedback to the presenter during the online presentation and to present this feedback to the presenter in real time. The presentation hosting unit 240 may provide the presenter with configuration settings in which the presenter may control whether the feedback is visible only to the presenter or is visible to all the participants of the online presentation."
Paragraph 92 "The user interface 805 may include a presentation summary 825 that is similar to the presentation summary 725 shown in the user interface 705 used by the presenter. The transcript 815 may be similar to the transcript 715 of the user interface 705. The presentation summary 825 shown to the participants may be slightly different from that shown on the user interface 705. For example, the user interface 805 may include reactions 820. The reactions 820 includes a set of reaction icons or emojis providing a graphical representation of various reactions to the presentation content. The user may click on or otherwise activate a reaction icon or emoji to cause the user interface 805 to send an identifier for the reaction icon or emoji to the presenter. The identifier for the reaction icon or emoji may be added to the reactions data 315 sent by client device 105 of the participant to the presentation and communications platform 110. As discussed in the preceding examples, the presentation and communications platform 110 may add the aggregate the reactions data 315 from each of the participants and send the aggregated data to the client device 105a of the presenter for display. In some implementations, the aggregated reactions data may be provided to the client device of each of the participants and may be displayed to the participants.")
generate a written transcript of the words spoken by the speaker; and
(paragraph 84 "The user interface 705 may include a presentation summary 725 that may be used to present information about the online presentation and/or communication session to the presenter. A transcript 715 of the audio portion of the online presentation and/or communication session may be generated by the stream processing unit 215 by analyzing the spoken content provided by the presenter and the participants. The language in which the transcript is presented to the presenter and/or each of the participants may be configurable. In some implementations, the presenter may select the transcript language. In other implementations, the presentation and communications platform 110 may provide a user interface that enables the presenter and/or the participants to each set language preferences for the transcript. The presentation and communications platform 110 may be configured to automatically translate the transcript to the preferred language if supported or may be configured to obtain a translation of the transcript from an external translation service in substantially real time and to display the appropriate translation to the presenter and/or the participants. Thus, the presenter and/or participants may be able to participant in the online presentation and/or communication session in one language but may obtain a transcript in a second language with which the presenter and/or participants are more comfortable.")
receive and collect data from the event speaker and the at least one audience member and generate a post-event report based upon said data received and collected from the event speaker and the at least one audience member.
(paragraph 31 "The presentation and communications platform 110 may receive live feedback from participants during an online presentation from the participants using the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d to participate in the online presentation. As will be discussed in the examples that follow, the feedback may be express reactions or implicit reactions derived from user actions or behavior. The express reactions may be provided through user interface elements provided by the applications on the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d used by the participants to receive and consume the presentation and/or communication session contents. The user interface elements may permit the participants to select reactions to be sent to the client device 105a of the presenter of the online presentation. The presentation and communications platform 110 may also be configured to recognize participant gestures and actions in audio and/or video streams captured by the client devices 105b, 105c, and 105d of the participants and sent to the presentation and communications platform 110."
Paragraph 92 "The user interface 805 may include a presentation summary 825 that is similar to the presentation summary 725 shown in the user interface 705 used by the presenter. The transcript 815 may be similar to the transcript 715 of the user interface 705. The presentation summary 825 shown to the participants may be slightly different from that shown on the user interface 705. For example, the user interface 805 may include reactions 820. The reactions 820 includes a set of reaction icons or emojis providing a graphical representation of various reactions to the presentation content. The user may click on or otherwise activate a reaction icon or emoji to cause the user interface 805 to send an identifier for the reaction icon or emoji to the presenter. The identifier for the reaction icon or emoji may be added to the reactions data 315 sent by client device 105 of the participant to the presentation and communications platform 110. As discussed in the preceding examples, the presentation and communications platform 110 may add the aggregate the reactions data 315 from each of the participants and send the aggregated data to the client device 105a of the presenter for display. In some implementations, the aggregated reactions data may be provided to the client device of each of the participants and may be displayed to the participants."
Paragraph 94 " FIG. 10 is an example of another presentation summary report 1005 that may be provided to the presenter upon completion of the presentation or online communications session. The presentation summary report 1005 may include similar content as the presentation summary report 910. The presentation summary report 1005 may be sent to the presenter via email upon completion of the online presentation or communications session. The feedback and reporting unit 225 may be configured to generate the presentation summary report 1005 and to email the presentation summary report to an email address associated with the presenter. In some implementations, the feedback and reporting unit 225 may be configured to generate both the presentation summary report 910 and the presentation summary report 1005. The presentation summary report 910 may be rendered on a display of the client device 105 of the presenter upon completion of the online presentation and the presentation summary report 1005 may be emailed to the presenter.")
Claim 15
Regarding Claim 15, SELESKEROV teach
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the real-time transcript is displayed in a language that is different than the language spoken by the event speaker.
(paragraph 84 "The user interface 705 may include a presentation summary 725 that may be used to present information about the online presentation and/or communication session to the presenter. A transcript 715 of the audio portion of the online presentation and/or communication session may be generated by the stream processing unit 215 by analyzing the spoken content provided by the presenter and the participants. The language in which the transcript is presented to the presenter and/or each of the participants may be configurable. In some implementations, the presenter may select the transcript language. In other implementations, the presentation and communications platform 110 may provide a user interface that enables the presenter and/or the participants to each set language preferences for the transcript. The presentation and communications platform 110 may be configured to automatically translate the transcript to the preferred language if supported or may be configured to obtain a translation of the transcript from an external translation service in substantially real time and to display the appropriate translation to the presenter and/or the participants. Thus, the presenter and/or participants may be able to participant in the online presentation and/or communication session in one language but may obtain a transcript in a second language with which the presenter and/or participants are more comfortable.")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent US 20220138470 A1, (SELESKEROV; Konstantin.) in view of US Patent US 20140136626 A1, (Teevan; Jaime.).
Claim 6
Regarding Claim 6, SELESKEROV do not explicitly teach all of the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 5 wherein the plurality of buttons can be any one or more of a like button, a question button, a smile button or a photo button for taking photographs with the client device.
However, Teevan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 5 wherein the plurality of buttons can be any one or more of a like button, a question button, a smile button or a photo button for taking photographs with the client device.
(Paragraph 9 "The inventive concepts can provide a real-time interactive participation system designed for use during presentations. For instance, during a meeting, audience members can submit feedback on what has been (or is being) presented using their smart phones. As an example, the users may use a "like" or "dislike" button to rate the presented content. This feedback can then be aggregated and displayed for the audience members and the presenter (e.g., a shared visualization of the feedback). The visualization can be integrated with the presented content or displayed independent of the presented content. The visualization may be presented in multiple ways. For instance, the visualization may be presented to both the presenter and the audience and/or a customized visualization may be generated for individual audience members and/or the presenter.")
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SELESKEROV to incorporate the teachings of Teevan to provide a “The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4 wherein the client device displays a plurality of buttons that permit a client user to select a particular type of information to be transmitted to the speaker's mobile computing device.” Doing so would To provide a more specific interactive presentation, as recognized by Teevan . (Paragraph 9).
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, SELESKEROV do not explicitly teach all of the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include generating a customizable survey displayed on the client device and transmitting information a client inputs into the customizable survey from the client device to the device generating an audio recording.
However, Teevan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include generating a customizable survey displayed on the client device and transmitting information a client inputs into the customizable survey from the client device to the device generating an audio recording.
(Paragraph 59 "Meeting attendees provide feedback by visiting a webpage or by installing a feedback mobile phone application. For the webpage, the attendee is uniquely identified with a cookie. For the application, the attendee is uniquely identified with a user ID. (The application may also gather additional information about the participant such as gender, job role, or other recorded signals including geographic location, mobile operator, IP address, etc.). The webpage can exist to encourage early adoption, while the application provides a richer user experience. All experiences can be optimized for the mobile phone, pad-type device, etc. Audience members can provide positive feedback using a green thumbs up button, and negative feedback using a red thumbs down button. Other types of feedback could be provided, including, go faster, go slower, "identify me in the shared visualization," or specific speaker-identified responses intended to elicit specific audience responses (e.g., polling, voting, or survey questions). In addition to button presses, gestures could be used to provide feedback.")
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SELESKEROV to incorporate the teachings of Teevan to provide a “the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include generating a customizable survey displayed on the client device and transmitting information a client inputs into the customizable survey from the client device to the device generating an audio recording.” Doing so would Elicit a more specific audience response, as recognized by Teevan. (Paragraph 59).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent US 20220138470 A1, (SELESKEROV; Konstantin.) in view of US Patent US 20220115019 A1, (BRADLEY; Kiersten L.).
Claim 9
Regarding Claim 9, SELESKEROV do not explicitly teach all of 9. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a transcript annotated with one or more client interactions.
However, BRADLEY teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a transcript annotated with one or more client interactions.
(paragraph 65 "FIG. 2 shows a system that is configured to implement a method and system for automatic conversation transcription with non-exhaustive exemplary terminals and connected components. According to some embodiments, a first terminal device 21 can capture and play audio and/or video, both of which can be transmitted to a conferencing server 25 in the network 24. According to some embodiments, in addition to capturing and transmitting audio/video, a second terminal device 22 can receive, via network 24, a text transcript of speech from other terminals connected to a video conference. Furthermore, the second device 22 can have an editing application or interface that allows its user to edit the text. According to some embodiments, The second device 22 can send transcript edits to network 24 in real-time so that another user on a separate terminal can view the changes simultaneously and jointly edit the transcript."
paragraph 70 "According to some embodiments, the system of FIG. 2 can comprise an editor terminal 28 that is not a participant in the video conference. The editor terminal 28 can have a keyboard and display to show stored transcripts 26. The editor terminal 28 can execute a browser such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Apple Safari. The browser can run an editing application provided by the conferencing server 25 in a format such as JavaScript or other client-side languages. The editor terminal 28 can access and edit transcripts 26 in real-time as the system creates them through Automatic Speech Recognition during a video conference. The editor terminal 28 can also access and edit stored transcripts after a video conference is concluded.")
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SELESKEROV to incorporate the teachings of BRADLEY to provide a “9. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a transcript annotated with one or more client interactions.” Doing so would Improve transcript accuracy , as recognized by BRADLEY. (Paragraph 7).
Claim 11
Regarding Claim 11, SELESKEROV in view of BRADLEY, further BRADLEY teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the automated operations further include editing or correcting the transcript in real-time.
(paragraph 70 "According to some embodiments, the system of FIG. 2 can comprise an editor terminal 28 that is not a participant in the video conference. The editor terminal 28 can have a keyboard and display to show stored transcripts 26. The editor terminal 28 can execute a browser such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Apple Safari. The browser can run an editing application provided by the conferencing server 25 in a format such as JavaScript or other client-side languages. The editor terminal 28 can access and edit transcripts 26 in real-time as the system creates them through Automatic Speech Recognition during a video conference. The editor terminal 28 can also access and edit stored transcripts after a video conference is concluded.")
See claim 9 for rationale.
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent US 20220138470 A1, (SELESKEROV; Konstantin.) in view of US 20120196571 A1, (Grkov; Vance.).
Claim 10
Regarding Claim 10, SELESKEROV do not explicitly teach all of the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a map view using geo-located location data from the device generating an audio recording.
However, Grkov teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a map view using geo-located location data from the device generating an audio recording.
(Paragraph 146 " When the device is lost or stolen, it may be desirable for the device to hide the presence and prevent removal of software such as the local software component. In an embodiment, the server can issue a command which puts the device into a lost/stolen mode. When the device is in lost/stolen mode, it may hide any user interface components related to the local software component, prevent removal of the local software component, and report the location of the device and actions performed on the device such as phone calls, text messages, web pages visited, and SIM card changes. The remote access web page may display that the device is lost/stolen. In a further embodiment, the remote access web page displays the location corresponding to the device's location reports on a map and displays a list of the actions performed on the device since it has been in lost/stolen mode. The map may show the location of the device over multiple points in time to convey information regarding movement of the device. In an embodiment, entering lost/stolen mode automatically triggers the local software component on the mobile device to perform certain actions. For example, when in lost/stolen mode, the local software component on the device automatically takes a picture using the device's camera periodically. Alternatively, when in lost/stolen mode, the local software component on the device automatically records audio and/or video from the device. In each case, the device sends data resulting from the automatically performed action(s) to the server. The data is displayed on the remote access web page for view by the user. The remote access web page allows the user to configure what actions, if any, should be performed by the device when it enters lost/stolen mode. ")
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SELESKEROV to incorporate the teachings of Grkov to provide a “The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the post-event report includes a map view using geo-located location data from the device generating an audio recording.” Doing so would convey movement of the device, as recognized by Grkov . (Paragraph 146).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALI M HASSAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2653
/Paras D Shah/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2653
07/08/2026