DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 02/02/2026 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered.
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 02/02/2026.
Claims 1, and 3-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1, and 3-20 have been amended, claim 2 has been canceled. The objection to the claims is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments. The objection to the Specification is maintained.
Specification Objection
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the
disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a
separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the
disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the
full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in
the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that:
Liao does not disclose or teach the receipt of two candidate report configurations in a single signaling (e.g., in the first signaling)" (Page 14, Remarks).
In response to A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhou explicitly teaches at [0412] “A base station may transmit one or more RRC message comprising one or more CSI configuration parameters. The one or more CSI parameters may comprise one or more: CSI-RS resource setting; CSI reporting settings and/or CSI measurement setting. A CSI-RS resource setting may comprise one or more CSI-RS resource sets. A CSI-RS resource set may be provided for a periodic CSI-RS, (P CSI-RS) and/or a semi-persistent (SP) CSI-RS. A base station may transmit one or more P CSI-RS and/or SP CSI-RS with a configured periodicity in a time domain. “ and [0415], lines 1-13, describe the CSI reporting settings ( e.g., more than one report configuration) may include one or more than report configuration identifier, which include report type, “One or more CSI reporting settings may comprise one or more of: a report configuration identifier; a report type; reported CSI parameter(s); CSI type (e.g., a type I or a type II); codebook configuration; time-domain behavior; frequency granularity for CQI and/or PMI; and/or measurement restriction configurations”. [0415], lines 2-8, illustrates that different types of report ( periodic, aperiodic , or persistent), can be candidate in the CSI setting as stated “The report type may indicate a time domain behavior of the report (e.g., aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic) “ and “for example, if the report type in a CSI reporting setting is a periodic report or a semi-persistent report. The periodicity parameter may indicate the periodicity of a CSI report. The duration parameter may indicate a duration of CSI report transmission”. That implies the two types of the candidate report configurations can be included in the same signaling. Therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed.
The office action does not disclose or teach providing multiple candidate report configurations and determining a report type from the candidate report configurations based on absence/presence of a parameter set in a subsequent signaling. (Pages 15-16, Remarks).
In response to B), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhou explicitly teaches on a condition that the second signaling includes the first parameter set, generate a report in a first report type, wherein the report includes the one or more measurement results ([0427] states “if the bit of the activation/deactivation field is one (e.g., “1”), the SP CSI report indicated by the SP CSI report trigger index may be activated. After receiving the DCI indicating the activation of the SP CSI report, the wireless device may determine the RS resource indicated by the RS resource configuration identifier associated with the SP CSI report trigger index. The wireless device may measure CSI parameters (e.g., CQI, PMI, RI, CRI, L1-RSRP, etc.) indicated by the SP CSI report identifier associated with the SP CSI report trigger index. The wireless device may transmit SP CSI reports based on the measured CSI parameters on the uplink channel (e.g., PUSCH), indicated by the DCI.” That implies when the parameter set is activated, then, the UE generate the SP CSI report type, which may include measure CSI parameters (e.g., CQI, PMI, RI, CRI, L1-RSRP, etc.), see also Fig. 29 and [0418]), on a condition that the second signaling does not include the first parameter set, generate the report in a second report type ([0428] states “If the bit of the activation/deactivation field is zero (e.g., “0”), the SP CSI report indicated by the SP CSI report trigger index may be deactivated. After or based on receiving the DCI and deactivating the SP CSI reporting, the wireless device may stop transmitting SP CSI reports associated with the SP CSI report trigger index.” That implies the UE stop s generating and transmitting the type of SP CSI reports, claim 1 also describes that the SP CSI reports can be skipped if the skip indicator is provided, [0412] lines 13-19 also confirm that the SP CSI reports ( as the first type of reports) always required activation/deactivation indicator and the UE can skip them if allowed by skipping indicator, as stated in [0467]. While [0289], lines 2-5, states “For CSI measurement, if periodic CSI measurement outside of active BWP may be configured, a wireless device may need to perform its measurement periodically per measurement configuration” and [0420] lines 15-17 states “Periodic CSI reports may also produce undesirable results because there may not be a convenient way to stop a periodic CSI report.” That means the periodic reports are follow the fixed schedule at regular intervals that configured by the BS and cannot be skipped or stopped unless reconfigured, see [0410] lines 20-25, which means the UE can generate and transmit another type of reports such as periodic reports, different than SP CSI report, when the parameter set deactivate/stop generate and transmit the SP CSI report). Therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed.
Applicant argues that the independent claims 1 and 15 are allowable for similar reasons (Page 16, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section.
Applicant argues that the remaining claims, dependent claims are allowable for similar reasons (Page 16, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (WO-2018089615-A1) in view of Zhou et al.(US-20190207662-A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Liao teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications (Fig. 1, [0026], the mobile device (first node) is a part of wireless communication network), comprising: a transceiver: and a processor (Fig. 5 illustrates the communication circuitry , which can be used in the UE, BS, or RAN node, as stated in [0058] and [0062], “the communication circuitry 500 may further include transmit circuitry 515, receive circuitry 520 and/or antenna array circuitry 530. The communication circuitry 500 may further include radio frequency (RF) circuitry 525.”. [0042] and [0047] also states “the mobile device 300 may include an application processor 305, baseband processor 310 (also referred to as a baseband module), radio front end module (RFEM) 315, memory 320,…”, wherein the transceiver and the processor are configured to receive a first signaling ([0025] and [0037] states “In some embodiments, the mobile device 110 may transmit signals (data, control and/or other) to the RAN node 115, and may receive signals (data, control and/or other) from the RAN node 115” that implies the UE can transmit/receive messages or control signals from RAN node) , receive a second signaling, perform one or more measurements to generate one or more measurement results ([0071], and Fig. 6 (Step 610) describes the BS or (RAN node) may transmit control signaling that indicates a request for a quality of service (QoS) measurement from the UE, [0158], “The mobile device 1810 may return one or more measurement reports as requested in Operation 1 of Option 2 to the RAN node 1815.“ where these measurements my include quality of service parameters (such as received signal quality, packet error rates, packet delays, delay jitters and/or other)), determine, based on the first parameter set at least one of: an uplink transmission time ([0082] states “the control signaling may indicate a report time parameter that indicates: a report time if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device 110 is transmit an aperiodic group service report, or a report period if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device 110 is transmit periodic group service reports. In some embodiments, the control signaling may indicate other information. “ see also [0194], that provides the report time parameter (first parameter set), as a part of control signaling, may indicate “a report time if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device is transmit an aperiodic group service report; or a report period if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device is transmit periodic group service reports.” [0142], [0172], lines 14-18, Where the report time is for scheduled one time reporting and the report period for periodic reporting, which can be applied for uplink transmission time, as described in [0144] lines 9-12), or a downlink reception time.
Liao does not explicitly teach comprising a first report configuration and a second report configuration, wherein the first report configuration includes a first report type and the second report configuration includes a second report type, determine whether the second signaling includes a first parameter set, on a condition that the second signaling includes the first parameter set, generate a report in a first report type, wherein the report includes the one or more measurement results,
on a condition that the second signaling does not include the first parameter set, generate the report in a second report type.
However, Zhou teaches comprising a first report configuration and a second report configuration, wherein the first report configuration includes a first report type and the second report configuration includes a second report type ([0412] “A base station may transmit one or more RRC message comprising one or more CSI configuration parameters. The one or more CSI parameters may comprise one or more: CSI-RS resource setting; CSI reporting settings and/or CSI measurement setting. A CSI-RS resource setting may comprise one or more CSI-RS resource sets. A CSI-RS resource set may be provided for a periodic CSI-RS, (P CSI-RS) and/or a semi-persistent (SP) CSI-RS. A base station may transmit one or more P CSI-RS and/or SP CSI-RS with a configured periodicity in a time domain. “ and [0415], lines 1-13, describe the CSI reporting settings ( e.g., more than one report configuration) may include one or more than report configuration identifier, which include report type, “One or more CSI reporting settings may comprise one or more of: a report configuration identifier; a report type; reported CSI parameter(s); CSI type (e.g., a type I or a type II); codebook configuration; time-domain behavior; frequency granularity for CQI and/or PMI; and/or measurement restriction configurations”. [0415], lines 2-8, illustrates that different types of report ( periodic, aperiodic, or persistent), can be candidate in the CSI setting as stated “The report type may indicate a time domain behavior of the report (e.g., aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic) “ and “for example, if the report type in a CSI reporting setting is a periodic report or a semi-persistent report. The periodicity parameter may indicate the periodicity of a CSI report. The duration parameter may indicate a duration of CSI report transmission”. That implies the two types of the candidate report configurations can be included in the same signaling), determine whether the second signaling includes a first parameter set ([0060] and [0075] indicate the DCI or MAC CE as a signaling from the BS that can be received by the UE. Fig. 33 and [0039] provides the message can include CSI request field which contains information such as activation/deactivation indicator, SP CSI report identifier and skip indicator. Fig. 22 describes how the CSI request field determines the type of report to be generated according to the value of the CSI report field), on a condition that the second signaling includes the first parameter set, generate a report in a first report type, wherein the report includes the one or more measurement results ([0427] states “if the bit of the activation/deactivation field is one (e.g., “1”), the SP CSI report indicated by the SP CSI report trigger index may be activated. After receiving the DCI indicating the activation of the SP CSI report, the wireless device may determine the RS resource indicated by the RS resource configuration identifier associated with the SP CSI report trigger index. The wireless device may measure CSI parameters (e.g., CQI, PMI, RI, CRI, L1-RSRP, etc.) indicated by the SP CSI report identifier associated with the SP CSI report trigger index. The wireless device may transmit SP CSI reports based on the measured CSI parameters on the uplink channel (e.g., PUSCH), indicated by the DCI.” That implies when the parameter set is activated, then, the UE generate the SP CSI report type, which may include measure CSI parameters (e.g., CQI, PMI, RI, CRI, L1-RSRP, etc.), see also Fig. 29 and [0418]), on a condition that the second signaling does not include the first parameter set, generate the report in a second report type ([0428] states “If the bit of the activation/deactivation field is zero (e.g., “0”), the SP CSI report indicated by the SP CSI report trigger index may be deactivated. After or based on receiving the DCI and deactivating the SP CSI reporting, the wireless device may stop transmitting SP CSI reports associated with the SP CSI report trigger index.” That implies the UE stop s generating and transmitting the type of SP CSI reports, claim 1 also describes that the SP CSI reports can be skipped if the skip indicator is provided, [0412] lines 13-19 also confirm that the SP CSI reports ( as the first type of reports) always required activation/deactivation indicator and the UE can skip them if allowed by skipping indicator, as stated in [0467]. While [0289], lines 2-5, states “For CSI measurement, if periodic CSI measurement outside of active BWP may be configured, a wireless device may need to perform its measurement periodically per measurement configuration” and [0420] lines 15-17 states “Periodic CSI reports may also produce undesirable results because there may not be a convenient way to stop a periodic CSI report.” That means the periodic reports are follow the fixed schedule at regular intervals that configured by the BS and cannot be skipped or stopped unless reconfigured, see [0410] lines 20-25, which means the UE can generate and transmit another type of reports such as periodic reports, different than SP CSI report, when the parameter set deactivate/stop generate and transmit the SP CSI report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by adding when the first parameter set is indicated, reporting measurement results according to the first report type; when the first parameter set is not indicated, reporting the measurement results according to the second report type to optimize network performance and reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (Zhou, [0432], lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 1,
Liao does not explicitly teach wherein both the first report type and the second report type are candidate report types of the first report configuration.
However, Zhou teaches wherein both the first report type and the second report type are candidate report types of the first report configuration ([0415], lines 2-8, illustrates that different types of report ( periodic, aperiodic , or persistent), can be candidate in the CSI setting as stated “The report type may indicate a time domain behavior of the report (e.g., aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic) “ and “for example, if the report type in a CSI reporting setting is a periodic report or a semi-persistent report. The periodicity parameter may indicate the periodicity of a CSI report. The duration parameter may indicate a duration of CSI report transmission. The offset parameter may indicate a value of a timing offset of a CSI report.”, [0415], lines 11-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by adding when the first parameter set is indicated, reporting measurement results according to the first report type; when the first parameter set is not indicated, reporting the measurement results according to the second report type to optimize network performance and reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (Zhou, [0432], lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 4, Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 1.
Liao further teaches and wherein the first parameter set is used to determine at least one of the downlink reception time or an uplink transmission time for the first cell ([0082] states “the control signaling may indicate a report time parameter that indicates: a report time if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device 110 is transmit an aperiodic group service report, or a report period if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device 110 is transmit periodic group service reports. In some embodiments, the control signaling may indicate other information. “ see also [0194], that provides the report time parameter (first parameter set), as a part of control signaling, may indicate “a report time if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device is transmit an aperiodic group service report; or a report period if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device is transmit periodic group service reports.” [0142], [0172], lines 14-18, Where the report time is for scheduled one time reporting and the report period for periodic reporting, which can be applied for uplink transmission time, as described in [0144] lines 9-12));
Liao does not explicitly teach wherein the first signaling indicates a first measurement object and a second measurement object; and wherein the first report type is associated with the first measurement object, and wherein the second report type is associated with the second measurement object, and wherein each of the first measurement object and the second measurement object includes a first cell, and wherein the first measurement object includes at least a first reference signal resource, and wherein the second measurement object includes at least a second reference signal resource.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the first signaling indicates a first measurement object and a second measurement object ([0416], “A CSI measurement setting may comprise one or more links comprising one or more link parameters. A link parameter may comprise one or more of: a CSI reporting setting indication, a CSI-RS resource setting indication,” where the measurement object, defined by link parameter, can be CSI resources [0412], lines 2-8,PSS and SSS (synchronize signal) blocks [0335], and reference signal (RS), [0423]), and wherein the first report type is being associated with the first measurement object; the second report type being associated with the second measurement object ([0416], lines 3-7, each link parameter may comprise “one or more of: a CSI reporting setting indication, a CSI-RS resource setting indication, and/or measurement parameters”, which implies that the measurement objects (CS-RS resource or SS block< RS) are linked to specific reporting settings which include the type report as describe in [0415], 1-8); and wherein each of the first measurement object and the second measurement object includes a first cell ([0360], recites “Multiple wireless devices in or served by a cell may measure a cell-specific CSI-RS resource.“ and [0382], confirm that the measurement object tie to one cell “the parameters may comprise at least: cell ID, antenna configuration, CSI-RS configuration, SRS configuration, PRACH configuration, etc.”); and wherein the first measurement object includes at least a first reference signal resource, and wherein the second measurement object includes at least a second reference signal resource ([0409], lines 21-25, “The one or more CSI reports may be based on: one or more reference signal resources indicated by the one or more reference signal resource parameters; and/or one or more frequency configuration parameters indicated by the one or more report frequency domain configuration parameters” which implies each measurement object includes at least one reference signal resource as stated in [0336], lines 9-20 and [[0475], lines 11-13, “The reference signals (RS) may comprise one or more CSI reference signals (RSs) and/or one or more synchronization signal blocks”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by adding when the first parameter set is indicated, reporting measurement results according to the first report type; when the first parameter set is not indicated, reporting the measurement results according to the second report type to optimize network performance and reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (Zhou, [0432], lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 3.
Liao further teaches and wherein the first parameter set is used to determine at least one of the downlink reception time or an uplink transmission time for the first cell ([0082] states “the control signaling may indicate a report time parameter that indicates: a report time if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device 110 is transmit an aperiodic group service report, or a report period if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device 110 is transmit periodic group service reports. In some embodiments, the control signaling may indicate other information. “ see also [0194], that provides the report time parameter (first parameter set), as a part of control signaling, may indicate “a report time if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device is transmit an aperiodic group service report; or a report period if the report type parameter indicates that the mobile device is transmit periodic group service reports.” [0142], [0172], lines 14-18, Where the report time is for scheduled one time reporting and the report period for periodic reporting, which can be applied for uplink transmission time, as described in [0144] lines 9-12);
Liao does not explicitly teach wherein the first signaling indicates a first measurement object and a second measurement object; and wherein the first report type is associated with the first measurement object, and wherein the second report type is associated with the second measurement object, and wherein each of the first measurement object and the second measurement object includes a first cell, and wherein the first measurement object includes at least a first reference signal resource, and wherein the second measurement object includes at least a second reference signal resource.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the first signaling indicates a first measurement object and a second measurement object ([0416], “A CSI measurement setting may comprise one or more links comprising one or more link parameters. A link parameter may comprise one or more of: a CSI reporting setting indication, a CSI-RS resource setting indication,” where the measurement object, defined by link parameter, can be CSI resources [0412], lines 2-8,PSS and SSS (synchronize signal) blocks [0335], and reference signal (RS), [0423]), and wherein the first report type is being associated with the first measurement object; and wherein the second report type being associated with the second measurement object ([0416], lines 3-7, each link parameter may comprise “one or more of: a CSI reporting setting indication, a CSI-RS resource setting indication, and/or measurement parameters”, which implies that the measurement objects (CS-RS resource or SS block< RS) are linked to specific reporting settings which include the type report as describe in [0415], 1-8); and wherein each of the first measurement object and the second measurement object includes a first cell ([0360], recites “Multiple wireless devices in or served by a cell may measure a cell-specific CSI-RS resource.“ and [0382], confirm that the measurement object tie to one cell “the parameters may comprise at least: cell ID, antenna configuration, CSI-RS configuration, SRS configuration, PRACH configuration, etc.”); and wherein the first measurement object includes at least a first reference signal resource, and wherein the second measurement object includes at least a second reference signal resource ([0409], lines 21-25, “The one or more CSI reports may be based on: one or more reference signal resources indicated by the one or more reference signal resource parameters; and/or one or more frequency configuration parameters indicated by the one or more report frequency domain configuration parameters” which implies each measurement object includes at least one reference signal resource as stated in [0336], lines 9-20 and [[0475], lines 11-13, “The reference signals (RS) may comprise one or more CSI reference signals (RSs) and/or one or more synchronization signal blocks”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by adding when the first parameter set is indicated, reporting measurement results according to the first report type; when the first parameter set is not indicated, reporting the measurement results according to the second report type to optimize network performance and reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (Zhou, [0432], lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 4, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to:
Liao does not explicitly teach on a condition that the second signaling includes the first parameter set, perform the one or more measurements according to the first measurement object, and on a condition that the second signaling does not include the first parameter set, perform the one or more measurements according to the second measurement object.
However, Zhou teaches on a condition that the second signaling includes the first parameter set, perform the one or more measurements according to the first measurement object ([0423], lines 4-11, “the configuration parameters may comprise, for example, one or more of a reference signal (RS) resource setting, and/or SP CSI reporting settings. The RS resource setting may comprise a set of RS resources. An RS resource may be associated with radio resource configuration (e.g., number of ports, time and frequency resource allocation, frequency density, etc.) of an RS. The RS may be associated with a RS resource configuration identifier.”, and as stated in [0409], lines 21-25, which implies the configuration setting determine which measurement object (e.g., reference signal resources should be used for measurements and the configuration may prescribe the parameters for a desired CSI reporting to guide the UE in the selection of appropriate measurement object, [0421], lines 25-26). [0421], lines 25-26, the configuration may prescribe the parameters for a desired CSI reporting to guide the UE in the selection of appropriate measurement object. [0427] states “if the bit of the activation/deactivation field is one (e.g., “1”), the SP CSI report indicated by the SP CSI report trigger index may be activated. After receiving the DCI indicating the activation of the SP CSI report, the wireless device may determine the RS resource indicated by the RS resource configuration identifier associated with the SP CSI report trigger index.” That implies when the parameter set is activated, then, the UE generate the SP CSI report type by using the determined RS resource that indicated in the RS resource configuration identifier), and on a condition that the second signaling does not include the first parameter set, perform the one or more measurements according to the second measurement object ([0360], states “A base station may configure different CSI-RS resources in different terms for different purposes. Different terms may include, for example, cell-specific, device-specific, periodic, aperiodic, multi-shot, or other terms. Different purposes may include, for example, beam management, CQI reporting, or other purposes.”, [0409] and [0416], describe the indicator can be define different report types, where the indicator can specify different measurement objects for different report types, from above explanation in claim 1 and 4, measurement objects (CS-RS resource or SS block< RS) are associated to specific report type as describe in [0415], 1-8. And as describe in [0428], [0415], if the SP CSI reporting stops when the trigger index is deactivated, [0410], lines 26-28, describe the UE can still report CSI measurements using different types of reports, which can be activated using configuration type indicator, “The wireless device may transmit the one or more CSI reports with periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic transmission indicated by the report configuration type indicator.” see also [0410] lines 20-25, which means the UE can generate and transmit another type of reports such as periodic reports, different than SP CSI report, when the parameter set deactivate/stop generate and transmit the SP CSI report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by adding when the first parameter set is indicated, reporting measurement results according to the first report type; when the first parameter set is not indicated, reporting the measurement results according to the second report type to optimize network performance and reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (Zhou, [0432], lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 5, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to:
Liao does not explicitly teach on a condition that the second signaling includes the first parameter set, perform the one or more measurements according to the first measurement object, and on a condition that the second signaling does not include the first parameter set, perform the one or more measurements according to the second measurement object.
However, Zhou teaches on a condition that the second signaling includes the first parameter set, perform the one or more measurements according to the first measurement object ([0423], lines 4-11, “the configuration parameters may comprise, for example, one or more of a reference signal (RS) resource setting, and/or SP CSI reporting settings. The RS resource setting may comprise a set of RS resources. An RS resource may be associated with radio resource configuration (e.g., number of ports, time and frequency resource allocation, frequency density, etc.) of an RS. The RS may be associated with a RS resource configuration identifier.”, and as stated in [0409], lines 21-25, which implies the configuration setting determine which measurement object (e.g., reference signal resources should be used for measurements and the configuration may prescribe the parameters for a desired CSI reporting to guide the UE in the selection of appropriate measurement object, [0421], lines 25-26). [0421], lines 25-26, the configuration may prescribe the parameters for a desired CSI reporting to guide the UE in the selection of appropriate measurement object. [0427] states “if the bit of the activation/deactivation field is one (e.g., “1”), the SP CSI report indicated by the SP CSI report trigger index may be activated. After receiving the DCI indicating the activation of the SP CSI report, the wireless device may determine the RS resource indicated by the RS resource configuration identifier associated with the SP CSI report trigger index.” That implies when the parameter set is activated, then, the UE generate the SP CSI report type by using the determined RS resource that indicated in the RS resource configuration identifier), and on a condition that the second signaling does not include the first parameter set, perform the one or more measurements according to the second measurement object ([0360], states “A base station may configure different CSI-RS resources in different terms for different purposes. Different terms may include, for example, cell-specific, device-specific, periodic, aperiodic, multi-shot, or other terms. Different purposes may include, for example, beam management, CQI reporting, or other purposes.”, [0409] and [0416], describe the indicator can be define different report types, where the indicator can specify different measurement objects for different report types, from above explanation in claim 1 and 4, measurement objects (CS-RS resource or SS block< RS) are associated to specific report type as describe in [0415], 1-8. And as describe in [0428], [0415], if the SP CSI reporting stops when the trigger index is deactivated, [0410], lines 26-28, describe the UE can still report CSI measurements using different types of reports, which can be activated using configuration type indicator, “The wireless device may transmit the one or more CSI reports with periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic transmission indicated by the report configuration type indicator.” see also [0410] lines 20-25, which means the UE can generate and transmit another type of reports such as periodic reports, different than SP CSI report, when the parameter set deactivate/stop generate and transmit the SP CSI report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by adding when the first parameter set is indicated, reporting measurement results according to the first report type; when the first parameter set is not indicated, reporting the measurement results according to the second report type to optimize network performance and reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (Zhou, [0432], lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 1.
Liao further teaches wherein one of the first report type and the second report type is periodical and the other is not periodical ([0082], describes the two report types can be different “the control signaling may indicate a report type parameter that indicates whether the mobile device 110 is to transmit an aperiodic group service report or periodic group service reports”), or neither of the first report type and the second report type is periodical.
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 3.
Liao further teaches wherein one of the first report type and the second report type is periodical and the other is not periodical ([0082], describes the two report types can be different “the control signaling may indicate a report type parameter that indicates whether the mobile device 110 is to transmit an aperiodic group service report or periodic group service reports”), or neither of the first report type and the second report type is periodical.
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended),, Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 1.
Liao does not explicitly teach wherein both the first report type and the second report type are periodical, and wherein the period of the first report type is different from the period of the second report type.
However, Zhou teaches wherein both the first report type and the second report type are periodical; and wherein the period of the first report type is different from the period of the second report type ([0476], describe the both periodic report types have different time period “The subsequent time period may be a based on an SP CSI reporting periodicity 3608, which may indicate SP CSI reporting at each of a multiple of a predetermined time periods starting with the first time period.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by adding when the first parameter set is indicated, reporting measurement results according to the first report type; when the first parameter set is not indicated, reporting the measurement results according to the second report type to optimize network performance and reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (Zhou, [0432], lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 3.
Liao does not explicitly teach wherein both the first report type and the second report type are periodical, and wherein the period of the first report type is different from the period of the second report type.
However, Zhou teaches wherein both the first report type and the second report type are periodical; and wherein the period of the first report type is different from the period of the second report type ([0476], lines 14-17, describe the both periodic report types have different time period “The subsequent time period may be a based on an SP CSI reporting periodicity 3608, which may indicate SP CSI reporting at each of a multiple of a predetermined time periods starting with the first time period”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by adding when the first parameter set is indicated, reporting measurement results according to the first report type; when the first parameter set is not indicated, reporting the measurement results according to the second report type to optimize network performance and reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (Zhou, [0432], lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 1.
Liao does not explicitly teach wherein both the first report type and the second report type are event-triggered, and wherein triggering events of the first report type are different from triggering events of the second report type.
However, Zhou teaches wherein that both the first report type and the second report type are event-triggered; and wherein triggering events of the first report type are different from triggering events of the second report type (Fig. 36, [0422], lines 5-7, [0475], “An SP CSI report trigger state may comprise at least one of: an SP CSI report trigger index; an RS resource configuration identifier; and/or an SP CSI report identifier. At step 3604, the base station may transmit (and the wireless device may receive) (e.g., via a PDCCH) an activation message comprising an activation of SP CSI reporting” to make sure every report is associated with specific resources and events as shown in Fig. 36)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by adding when the first parameter set is indicated, reporting measurement results according to the first report type; when the first parameter set is not indicated, reporting the measurement results according to the second report type to optimize network performance and reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (Zhou, [0432], lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 3.
Liao does not explicitly teach wherein both the first report type and the second report type are event-triggered, and wherein triggering events of the first report type are different from triggering events of the second report type.
However, Zhou teaches wherein both the first report type and the second report type are event-triggered; and wherein triggering events of the first report type are different from triggering events of the second report type (Fig. 36, [0422], lines 5-7, [0475], “An SP CSI report trigger state may comprise at least one of: an SP CSI report trigger index; an RS resource configuration identifier; and/or an SP CSI report identifier. At step 3604, the base station may transmit (and the wireless device may receive) (e.g., via a PDCCH) an activation message comprising an activation of SP CSI reporting” to make sure every report is associated with specific resources and events as shown in Fig. 36)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by adding when the first parameter set is indicated, reporting measurement results according to the first report type; when the first parameter set is not indicated, reporting the measurement results according to the second report type to optimize network performance and reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (Zhou, [0432], lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Liao and Zhou teach the UE according to claim 1, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to:
Liao further teaches wherein the second signaling and the third signaling are both transmitted by means of broadcasting ([0198], lines 3-4, [0194], lines 1-5, and [0206], lines 5-6, “ the control signaling may indicate one or more of: a group based service identifier (GBS-ID) of the GBS; a report type parameter that indicates whether the mobile device is to transmit an aperiodic group service report or periodic group service reports; and a report time parameter.” And “for broadcast transmission, a broadcast control message that indicates that the mobile devices of the plurality are to switch to the group-cast mode for the GBS” that implies the control signals can be broadcasted to multiple wireless devices).
Liao does not explicitly teach: report the one or more measurement results according to the first report type as a response to receiving the second signaling, receive a third signaling after the second signaling is received, wherein the third signaling indicates a stop of application of the first parameter, and report the one or more measurement results according to the second report type as a response to receiving the third signaling,
However, Zhou teaches reports the one or more measurement results according to the first report type as a response to receiving the second signaling ([0427] states “if the bit of the activation/deactivation field is one (e.g., “1”), the SP CSI report indicated by the SP CSI report trigger index may be activated. After receiving the DCI indicating the activation of the SP CSI report, the wireless device may determine the RS resource indicated by the RS resource configuration identifier associated with the SP CSI report trigger index. The wireless device may measure CSI parameters (e.g., CQI, PMI, RI, CRI, L1-RSRP, etc.) indicated by the SP CSI report identifier associated with the SP CSI report trigger index. The wireless device may transmit SP CSI reports based on the measured CSI parameters on the uplink channel (e.g., PUSCH), indicated by the DCI.” That implies when the parameter set is activated, the second signaling, then, the UE generate the SP CSI report type, which may include measure CSI parameters (e.g., CQI, PMI, RI, CRI, L1-RSRP, etc.), see also Fig. 29 and [0418]); receives a third signaling after the second signaling is received, wherein the third signaling indicates a stop of application of the first parameter ([0428] states “If the bit of the activation/deactivation field is zero (e.g., “0”), (i.e., the third signaling deactivate the second signaling), the SP CSI report indicated by the SP CSI report trigger index may be deactivated. After or based on receiving the DCI and deactivating the SP CSI reporting, the wireless device may stop transmitting SP CSI reports associated with the SP CSI report trigger index.” That implies the UE stop s generating and transmitting the type of SP CSI reports, claim 1 also describes that the SP CSI reports can be skipped if the skip indicator is provided); report the one or more measurement results according to the second report type as a response to receiving the third signaling ([0412] lines 13-19 confirms that the SP CSI reports (the first type of reports) always required activation/deactivation indicator (i.e., the third signaling deactivate the second signaling), and the UE can skip them if allowed by skipping indicator, as stated in [0467]. While [0289], lines 2-5, states “For CSI measurement, if periodic CSI measurement outside of active BWP may be configured, a wireless device may need to perform its measurement periodically per measurement configuration” and [0420] lines 15-17 states “Periodic CSI reports may also produce undesirable results because there may not be a convenient way to stop a periodic CSI report.” That means the periodic reports are follow the fixed schedule at regular intervals that configured by the BS and cannot be skipped or stopped unless reconfigured, see [0410] lines 20-25, which means the UE can generate and transmit another type of reports such as periodic reports, different than SP CSI report, when the parameter set deactivate/stop generate and transmit the SP CSI report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by adding when the first parameter set is indicated, reporting measurement results according to the first report type; when the first parameter set is not indicated, reporting the measurement results according to the second report type to optimize network performance and reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (Zhou, [0432], lines 3-9).
As to claims 15, 16-17, 18, 19, 20 see similar rejections to claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 12, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Relevant Prior Art
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Zheng et al. (US-20210219164-A1) , Wang et al (US-20200068422-A1), Yang et al. (US-20230180081-A1), Tsai et al. (US-20210105641-A1), Hong et al. (US-20220338291-A1), WU et al. (WO-2017128704-A1) and LIU et al. (WO-2021203363-A1) teach different methods for optimizing measurement reporting in wireless network systems.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463 /OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463