DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “scanning code” , “reinforced sealing bars” “servo or solenoid” “GPS, RFID or a combination thereof” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kuo (US 20020134121) in view of Debrody et al. (US 9,472,125).
Regarding claim 1, Kuo discloses a reusable lock and seal device comprising:
b. a rotary combination mechanism (20) for code selection;
c. reinforced(122, 33) sealing bars, including a top seal part 121 and a bottom seal part (311);
d. a latch (411) for securing the lock to a container; and
e. a lock release mechanism (stepped hole), wherein the lock release mechanism is triggered when a correct combination code is entered using the rotary combination mechanism.
Kuo does not disclose: an oval top comprising a scanning code.
Debrody et al. teaches a unique bar code for the purpose of marking and potentially being the source data for transmitting information.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuo with a scanning code as taught by Debrody et al. for the expected benefit of marking and potentially being the source data for transmitting information.
Kuo discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims except for an oval top.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the different portions of the lock seal device an oval top of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the reusable lock and seal device of claim 1, wherein the scanning code is a barcode (c.9, l.62; Debrody) or a QR code.
Regarding claim 3, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the reusable lock and seal device of claim 1, wherein the rotary combination mechanism comprises a plurality of rotatable dials (21, Fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the reusable lock and seal device of claim 1, wherein the reinforced sealing bars are constructed from heavy-duty metal or tamper-evident materials (finished materials marked, scratched or otherwise damaged are tamper evident).
Regarding claim 5, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the reusable lock and seal device of claim 1, wherein the latch is selected from the group consisting of a cam lock (221; Fig. 2), a hook bolt, and a spring-loaded pin.
Regarding claim 7, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the reusable lock and seal device of claim 1, wherein the device is constructed from durable materials suitable for repeated use (10 wire).
Note: Any a material; is suitable and durable for repeated use.
Regarding claim 8, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the reusable lock and seal device of claim 1, wherein the device is configured to provide tamper-evidence (damaged finish) when unauthorized access is attempted.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kuo (US 20020134121)in view of Debrody et al. (US 9,472,125) further inview of Loughlin et al.
Regarding claim 6, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the reusable lock and seal device of claim 1, wherein the lock release mechanism.
Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. does not disclose: servo or solenoid.
Loughlin et al. teaches a servo for the purpose of electrically operating a lock.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. with servo as taught by Loughlin for the expected benefit of electrically operating a lock.
Claim 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kuo (US 20020134121) in view of Debrody et al. (US 9,472,125)
Regarding claim 9, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses a secure locking system comprising:
a. a reusable lock and seal device (abstract combination lock) according to claim 1;
Kuo does not disclose:
Debrody et al. teaches b. a container (c.1, l. 15) having a latch interface for engaging with the latch of the reusable lock and seal device (c.1, l. 16);
c. a scanning device (4, module) for reading the scanning code on the oval top of the reusable lock and seal device; and
d. a tracking system (c.2,l.5-6 tracking module) for monitoring the location and status of the container sealed with the reusable lock and seal device.
for the purpose of providing Reusable Bolt Electronic Seal Module With GPS/cellular Phone Communications And Tracking System.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuo with teaches b. a container having a latch interface for engaging with the latch of the reusable lock and seal device;
c. a scanning device for reading the scanning code on the oval top of the reusable lock and seal device; and
d. a tracking system for monitoring the location and status of the container sealed with the reusable lock and seal device.
as taught by Debrody et al. for the expected benefit of providing Reusable Bolt Electronic Seal Module With GPS/cellular Phone Communications And Tracking System.
.
Regarding claim 10, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the secure locking system of claim 9, wherein the scanning device is a handheld (c.15, l.65-66; Debrody et al) scanner or a smartphone with a scanning application.
Regarding claim 11, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the secure locking system of claim 9, wherein the tracking system utilizes GPS (c.16, l.10; Debrody et al),RFID, or a combination thereof for monitoring the location of the container.
Regarding claim 12, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the secure locking system of claim 9, wherein the tracking system provides real-time (c.19, l.26-27 real time information; Debrody et al) alerts when unauthorized access to the container is detected.
Regarding claim 13, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the secure locking system of claim 9, wherein the tracking system maintains a log (c.19, l.26-27 real time information stored memory; Debrody et al) of access attempts and user interactions with the reusable lock and seal device.
Regarding claim 14, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses a method for securing a container using a reusable lock and seat device, the method comprising:
a. providing a reusable lock (abstract combination lock; Kuo) and seal device according to claim 1;
b. setting a unique combination code (20; Kuo) using the rotary combination mechanism of the reusable lock and seal device;
c. engaging the latch of the reusable lock and seal device with a latch interface on the container (c.1, l. 15; Debrody et al.);
d. scanning (4, module) the scanning code on the oval top of the reusable lock and seal device to initiate tracking (c.2,l.5-6 tracking module);
e. monitoring (abstract, Monitoring) the location and status of the container using a tracking system; and
f. disengaging the latch of the reusable lock and seal device from the latch interface on the container by entering the unique combination code using the rotary combination mechanism ([0008] combination needed to open lock; Kuo).
Regarding claim 15, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising the step of generating an alert (alarm c.16, l.4-8; Debrody et al.)when unauthorized access to the container is detected.
Regarding claim 16, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising the step of updating the tracking system with the location and status of the container at predetermined intervals report (c.18, l.38-43; Debrody).
Regarding claim 17, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the step of monitoring the location and status of the container is performed using GPS(c.16, l.10; Debrody et al.), RFID, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 18, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising the step of maintaining a log(c.19, l.26-27 real time information stored memory; Debrody et al.) of access attempts and user interactions with the reusable lock and seal device.
Regarding claim 19, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising the step of replacing (replace.18, l.56; Debrody et al.) the reusable lock and seal device with a new device after a predetermined number of uses.
Regarding claim 20, Kuo as modified by Debrody et al. discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising the step of inspecting the reusable lock and seat device for signs of tampering or damage before each use (tamper status claim 1; Debrody ).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675