DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 6/7/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10-13 and 15-21 are pending.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 12, 13 and 18 have been amended.
Claims 3, 8, 9 and 14 have been canceled.
Claims 19-21 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument(s) filed on 6/7/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 10-13 and 15-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 7, 10-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blagojevic (US 20180349396 A1).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1, Blagojevic teaches a system comprising a local network device and a remote network device, wherein: the local network device is to send over a network a command that (Blagojevic, [0032] A computing node 104 can include any suitable computing hardware and/or software capable of performing computer processes, functions, and/or algorithms. Specifically, a computing node 104 may be configured to transmit RDMA operations to read, write, store, communicate, propagate, and/or transport instructions, data/data objects, computer programs, software, code, routines, etc., to/from memory in another computing node 104. [0073] Referring back to FIGS. 1 through 2C, RDMA operations (e.g., RDMA read operations) from a source computing node 104 can be used to identify and/or directly read data objects from another computing node 104 (e.g., computing node 104 n).) (i) specifies a key for accessing a hash table in a memory that is coupled with the remote network device (Blagojevic, [0073] Referring back to FIGS. 1 through 2C, RDMA operations (e.g., RDMA read operations) from a source computing node 104 can be used to identify and/or directly read data objects from another computing node 104 (e.g., computing node 104 n). In various embodiments, a RDMA operation can perform a hash function on a hash table 206 that may be located on the same or another computing node 104 to generate a hash key, which can be used to assist in identifying the storage location of the target data object. [examiner notes: a remote direct memory access (RDMA) read or write work request must include a memory key to securely access memory.]) and (ii) instructs that a value that matches the key is to be read from a location in the hash table corresponding to the key; and (Blagojevic, [0073] Referring back to FIGS. 1 through 2C, RDMA operations (e.g., RDMA read operations) from a source computing node 104 can be used to identify and/or directly read data objects from another computing node 104 (e.g., computing node 104 n). In various embodiments, a RDMA operation can perform a hash function on a hash table 206 that may be located on the same or another computing node 104 to generate a hash key, which can be used to assist in identifying the storage location of the target data object. In some embodiments, a hash key may include a filename, value, etc., or other type of identifier that is known or may be developed and is capable of identifying a data object. Further, a hash key can be used to identify a target storage bucket within a target storage segment of a target storage device 208, which target storage bucket may or may not be storing the target data object, as discussed further below. [0085] Referring now to FIG. 8, an example method 800 of reading a data object from a storage device is illustrated. As shown, method 800 can begin by a source computing node 104 issuing a RDMA operation to read a target data object from a storage device 208 (block 802). The host computing node 104 may calculate (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a first hash key on the target object (block 804) and identify (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a target storage bucket in a target storage segment based on the first hash key and a map provided by a hash table 206 (block 806). [0086] The source computing node 104 may read (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a data object key for the data object stored in the target storage bucket (block 808). A RDAM operation issued from the source computing node can compare the data object key and the first hash key (block 810) to determine (e.g., via a RDMA operation) if they match (block 812). If there is a match (e.g., a YES), the source computing node 104 can read (e.g., via a RDMA operation) the target data object from the target storage bucket (block 814). [examiner notes: the source computing node 104 is equivalent to the local network device. The computing node 104 is equivalents to the remote network device.])
the remote network device is to receive the command over the network, and to execute the command by performing the following without further communication with the local network device: (Blagojevic, [0085] Referring now to FIG. 8, an example method 800 of reading a data object from a storage device is illustrated. As shown, method 800 can begin by a source computing node 104 issuing a RDMA operation to read a target data object from a storage device 208 (block 802). The host computing node 104 may calculate (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a first hash key on the target object (block 804) and identify (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a target storage bucket in a target storage segment based on the first hash key and a map provided by a hash table 206 (block 806). [0086] The source computing node 104 may read (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a data object key for the data object stored in the target storage bucket (block 808). A RDAM operation issued from the source computing node can compare the data object key and the first hash key (block 810) to determine (e.g., via a RDMA operation) if they match (block 812). If there is a match (e.g., a YES), the source computing node 104 can read (e.g., via a RDMA operation) the target data object from the target storage bucket (block 814). [examiner notes: the source computing node 104 is equivalent to the local network device. The computing node 104 is equivalent to the remote network device. The RDMA operation is equivalent to the command.])
(i) calculating the location in the hash table by applying a hash calculation to the key, wherein the location stores multiple values; and (Blagojevic, [0085] Referring now to FIG. 8, an example method 800 of reading a data object from a storage device is illustrated. As shown, method 800 can begin by a source computing node 104 issuing a RDMA operation to read a target data object from a storage device 208 (block 802). The host computing node 104 may calculate (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a first hash key on the target object (block 804) and identify (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a target storage bucket in a target storage segment based on the first hash key and a map provided by a hash table 206 (block 806). [0086] The source computing node 104 may read (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a data object key for the data object stored in the target storage bucket (block 808). A RDAM operation issued from the source computing node can compare the data object key and the first hash key (block 810) to determine (e.g., via a RDMA operation) if they match (block 812). If there is a match (e.g., a YES), the source computing node 104 can read (e.g., via a RDMA operation) the target data object from the target storage bucket (block 814). [examiner notes: the source computing node 104 is equivalent to the local network device. The computing node 104 is equivalent to the remote network device.]) (ii) reading one or more of the multiple values from the location, until finding the value that matches the key. (Blagojevic, [0085] Referring now to FIG. 8, an example method 800 of reading a data object from a storage device is illustrated. As shown, method 800 can begin by a source computing node 104 issuing a RDMA operation to read a target data object from a storage device 208 (block 802). The host computing node 104 may calculate (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a first hash key on the target object (block 804) and identify (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a target storage bucket in a target storage segment based on the first hash key and a map provided by a hash table 206 (block 806). [0086] The source computing node 104 may read (e.g., via a RDMA operation) a data object key for the data object stored in the target storage bucket (block 808). A RDAM operation issued from the source computing node can compare the data object key and the first hash key (block 810) to determine (e.g., via a RDMA operation) if they match (block 812). If there is a match (e.g., a YES), the source computing node 104 can read (e.g., via a RDMA operation) the target data object from the target storage bucket (block 814). [examiner notes: the source computing node 104 is equivalent to the local network device. The computing node 104 is equivalent to the remote network device.])
Claim(s) 7, 12 and 18 is/are substantially similar to claim 1, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, the apparatus of claim 1,
Blagojevic teaches wherein, in response to the command, the remote network device is to send to the local network device a response comprising the read value. (Blagojevic, [0037] A hash table 206 a may map keys to data object values and use a hash function to compute an index into a set or an array of storage buckets or storage slots from which a data object value for a desired data object can be calculated. The calculated data object value can be compared to a key corresponding to one or more storage buckets and the location/address of the desired data object can be determined when the calculated data object value for the desired data object and the key for a particular storage bucket match one another.[0060] For instance, the controller(s) 202 a in the computing node 104 a (see FIG. 2A) may perform RDMA operations to directly write data objects to, read data objects from, and/or perform other I/O operations related to writing/reading data objects on the storage device(s) 208 (see FIG. 2C) and may further perform RDMA operations to directly read, write/update, and/or perform other I/O operations on the hash table 206 b in the computing node 104 b (see FIG. 2B) in conjunction with the RDMA operations performed on the computing node 104 n.)
Regarding claim(s) 4, the apparatus of claim 1,
Blagojevic teaches wherein the command is embedded in a transport protocol used by the local and remote network devices. (Blagojevic, [0032] A computing node 104 can include any suitable computing hardware and/or software capable of performing computer processes, functions, and/or algorithms. Specifically, a computing node 104 may be configured to transmit RDMA operations to read, write, store, communicate, propagate, and/or transport instructions, data/data objects, computer programs, software, code, routines, etc., to/from memory in another computing node 104. Examples of a computing node 104 include, but are not limited to, a client device/system, a peer device/system, and/or a computing server, etc., among other examples of computing hardware and/or software that are possible and contemplated herein.)
Regarding claim(s) 5, the apparatus of claim 4,
Blagojevic teaches wherein the transport protocol is a Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA) protocol. (Blagojevic, [0032] A computing node 104 can include any suitable computing hardware and/or software capable of performing computer processes, functions, and/or algorithms. Specifically, a computing node 104 may be configured to transmit RDMA operations to read, write, store, communicate, propagate, and/or transport instructions, data/data objects, computer programs, software, code, routines, etc., to/from memory in another computing node 104. Examples of a computing node 104 include, but are not limited to, a client device/system, a peer device/system, and/or a computing server, etc., among other examples of computing hardware and/or software that are possible and contemplated herein.)
Claim(s) 13 is/are substantially similar to claim 2, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 10,15 and 19 is/are substantially similar to claim 4, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 11, 16 and 20 is/are substantially similar to claim 5, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 6, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blagojevic in view Shamis (US 20170103039 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 6, the system according to claim 1,
Blagojevic does not teach wherein the remote network device is to execute the command atomically.
Shamis however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the remote network device is to execute the command atomically. (Shamis, [0080] The RDMA atomic compare and swap (CAS) operation is used to atomically compare a value in the RDMA CAS message from the client to a value of a specified virtual address of the host. If the compared values are equal, a value specified by the RDMA CAS message will be stored at the virtual address of the host. In other words, in an atomic transaction, a series of database operations either all occur, or nothing occurs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the system/method of Meng to specify wherein the remote network device is to execute the command atomically as taught by Shamis. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to enabling the Key-Value Manager to scale to very large numbers of concurrent accesses by very large numbers of computing devices (Shamis, [0004]).
Claim(s) 17 and 21 is/are substantially similar to claim 6, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUJI CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449