DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 have been presented for examination and are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2024, and 11/12/2025 IDS Considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument, filed on December 31st, 2025 has been entered and carefully considered.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 are directed to an abstract idea has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Parambil et al. (US 20200341940). The rejection is traversed over the cited refences. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Shamis et al. (US 20170103039 hereinafter Shamis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 14 are rejected Under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Shamis et al. (US 20170103039 hereinafter Shamis).
With respect to claims 1, 6, 9 and 14, Shamis teaches a system, comprising:
a first network device, to send over a network a command that specifies a value and instructs that the value be appended to a set of values in a memory (Shamis, see paragraph [0080] The RDMA atomic compare and swap (CAS) operation is used to atomically compare a value in the RDMA CAS message(i.e., command) from the client (i.e., equivalent to first network device) to a value of a specified virtual address of the host (i.e., equivalent to second network device). If the compared values are equal, a value specified by the RDMA CAS message will be stored (i.e., the appending value needs to be written to set of value in memory) at the virtual address of the host); and
a second network device, to receive the command over the network, and to execute the command by appending the value to the set of values (Shamis, see paragraphs [0070-0071] In response to receipt of the RDMA message (i.e., command) by the NIC of the host (i.e., equivalent to second network device), applying the NIC of the host to perform the requested read, write, or CAS operation on memory of the host (i.e., perform write operation in respond to the RDMA message write the value of a specified virtual address and being stored in host) via DMA operations between that NIC and the memory on that host. In other words, each server performs local DMA operations (e.g., reads, writes, and CAS operations) in response to RDMA messages received by the NIC from other servers…an application, process, or thread executing on one of the networked clients instructs that client to perform a read or write on the key-value store…).
With respect to claims 2 and 10, Shamis teaches the system, wherein, in response to the command, the second network device is to read a pointer that points to a memory location in which the value is to be appended, and to write the value to the memory location (Shamis, see paragraphs [0026-0027] When traversing the tree for the purpose of reading a particular key-value/pointer pairs, the Key-Value Manager performs separate RDMA reads of each of the node of the key-value store to obtain a sequence of memory references, with each reference pointing to the next node to be read, until the desired node is reached…Further, when any key-value/pointer pair is written to a node, the writing client first reserves that node via an RDMA CAS operation to flip a reservation bit (e.g., hosted in a node equivalent to second network device) corresponding to that node prior to performing an RDMA write to that node).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 7-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamis et al. (US 20170103039 hereinafter Shamis) in view of Parambil et al. (US 20200341940 hereinafter Parambil).
With respect to claims 3, 7 and 11, Shamis teaches the system, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the command is embedded in a transport protocol used by the first and second network devices.
However, Parambil discloses wherein the command is embedded in a transport protocol used by the first and second network devices (Parambil, see paragraph [0011] the networks may include an Internet Protocol (IP) network, such as an IP network using Transmission Control Protocol (TCP/IP), and/or a Remote Direct Memory Access protocol network. Each of the server devices 104a-c may include or be in communication with one or more data storage devices 110a-c. Together the server devices 104a-c provide a distributed file system 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching Shamis with the teaching Parambil to provide the system for using a Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA) transport protocol to have the ability to transfer data between the main memory of two networked computers without involving either system's operating system, CPU, or cache.
With respect to claims 4, 8 and 12, Shamis teaches the system, wherein the transport protocol is a Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA) protocol (Parambil, see paragraph [0011] the networks include an Internet Protocol (IP) network, such as an IP network using Transmission Control Protocol (TCP/IP), and/or a Remote Direct Memory Access protocol network (RDMA)).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamis et al. (US 20170103039 hereinafter Shamis) in view of Kagan et al. (US 20020152327 hereinafter Kagan).
With respect to claims 5 and 13, Shamis teaches the system, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second network device is to execute the command atomically
However, Kagan discloses wherein the second network device is to execute the command atomically (Kagan, see paragraph [0005] each message consists of one or more IB packets. Typically, a given HCA will serve simultaneously both as a requester, transmitting requests and receiving responses on behalf of local clients, and as a responder, receiving requests from other channel adapters and returning responses accordingly. Request messages include, inter alia, remote direct memory access (RDMA) write and send requests and atomic (i.e., equivalent to execute the command atomically) read-modify-write operations, all of which cause the responder to write data to a memory address at its own end of the link, and RDMA read requests, which cause the responder to read data from a memory address and return it to the requester).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching Shamis with the teaching Kagan to provide the system for executing a command atomically guarantees executes. When a second network device or secondary controller executes network updates this way, it prevents corrupted configurations, race conditions with other processes, and leaves the network in a provably consistent state.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
PG. Pub. US 20210081401 Method for migrating portion of key-value store from first hash table in volatile memory to second hash table in volatile memory, involves aborting second sub-operation of particular key-value pair operation by first process.
Patent No. US 12093571 Method for transferring objects i.e. files, over network by client network device, involves receiving first portion of object data via set of remote direct memory access writes performed by server network device based on message received from server host application.
PG. Pub. US 20170286363 Method for accessing host memory through non-volatile memory over fabric bridging with direct target access, involves sending first memory access command from work queue based on pre-set index to first target storage device.
PG. Pub. US 20210103502 Method for data recovery in an in-memory database., involves accessing a transaction log that store multiple transaction blocks and accessing the log records that has the accessed transaction block in reverse chronological order.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
05/19/2026
/ELIZABETH KASSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457