DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siebers EP 0873675 B1 in view of Memory CA 2073237 A.
Independent Claim 21: Siebers discloses a seed dispersion unit comprising:
A J-tube (9) having a hollow tube (also 9) configured to convey a plurality of seeds from an inlet (at the end of the horizontal portion of 9) of the J-tube to a central dispersion point (33) at an outlet (at the top of the vertical portion of 9) of the J-tube;
a base (18) extending outward from the central dispersion point to a plurality of couplings (16, 17); and
a plurality of secondary conduits (12, 13) coupled to and extending from the plurality of couplings and configured to convey the plurality of seeds from the J-tube;
wherein the J-tube includes a first portion (the horizontal portion of 9) extending from the inlet of the J-tube to an elbow (15) and a second portion (the vertical portion of 9) extending in a first direction (a vertical direction) from the elbow to the outlet of the J-tube;
wherein the plurality of couplings extend from the central dispersion point at an angle relative to the first direction (seen best in Fig. 3);
wherein the central dispersion point includes a conical wall (31) configured to direct impinging seeds of the plurality of seeds towards the plurality of secondary conduits, as per claim 21.
However, Siebers fails to explicitly disclosed wherein the plurality of couplings extend from the central dispersion point at an angle of less than 15 degrees relative to the first direction, as per claim 21.
Memory discloses a similar seed dispersion unit (1) wherein the plurality of couplings (10) extend from the central dispersion point (14) at an angle of less than 15 degrees relative to the first direction (the vertical direction, see page 11, lines 17-18), as per claim 21.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a relative angle of less than 15 degrees, as taught by Memory, between Siebers’ couplings and the first direction in order to provide a low angle of incidence at the seed diversion point to reduce variance in delivery rates among the plurality of couplings.
Dependent Claims 22-24: Siebers further discloses wherein the plurality of secondary conduits (12, 13) are spaced apart about a periphery of the central dispersion point (33) at substantially even intervals (as seen by 16, 17 in Fig. 2), as per claim 22;
wherein the inlet of the J-tube (the left end of 9, as seen in Figs. 1 and 3) is located below the outlet of the J-tube (generally at 33, as seen in Fig. 3) such that the seed dispersion unit is configured to convey the plurality of seeds upwards from the inlet of the J-tube to the outlet of the J-tube (as seen in Figs. 1 and 3), as per claim 23;
wherein a diameter of the J-tube (9) is greater than a diameter of a conduit (12, 13) of the plurality of secondary conduits (12, 13, as seen in Fig. 3), as per claim 24.
Claim(s) 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siebers in view of Memory as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Henry US 2016/0157418.
Dependent Claims 25-26: The seed dispersion unit is disclosed as applied above. However, while Siebers discloses seed tumblers at 24 in Fig. 3, the combination fails to specifically disclose wherein the hollow tube of the J-tube includes a plurality of dimples impressed therein, wherein the dimples are configured to tumble the plurality of seeds conveyed through the J-tube, as per claim 25;
wherein the plurality of dimples are impressed into the second portion of the J-tube, as per claim 26.
Henry discloses a similar dispersion unit wherein the hollow tube (110) of the J-tube (also 110) includes a plurality of dimples (116) impressed therein, wherein the dimples are configured to tumble the plurality of seeds conveyed through the J-tube, as per claim 25;
wherein the plurality of dimples (116) are impressed into the second portion (the vertical portion of 110) of the J-tube (Figs. 2-4), as per claim 26.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Henry’s dimples for the seed tumbling features of Siebers and Memory since both seed tumbling features are meant to provide a controlled degree of turbulence in the upwardly moving air flow in order to deliver an even distribution of air and entrained seeds gently to the distribution head and such a predictable result would be achieved.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siebers in view of Memory as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hubalek et al. WO 2012/170690 A2.
Dependent Claim 27: The seed dispersion unit is disclosed as applied above. However, the combination fails to disclose an annular ring configured to support the plurality of secondary conduits such that the plurality of secondary conduits drape over the annular ring, as per claim 27.
Hubalek discloses a similar seed dispersion unit comprising an annular ring (118, Fig. 5) configured to support the plurality of secondary conduits (56, 35) such that the plurality of secondary conduits drape over the annular ring, as per claim 27.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the annular ring of Hubalek on the seed dispersion unit of Siebers and Memory in order to retain the couplings and secondary conduits at fixed angular distances from each other.
Claim(s) 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siebers in view of Memory as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Henry and Johnson et al. CA 2980423 A1.
Dependent Claims 29-31: The dispersion unit is disclosed as applied above. However, the combination fails to disclose a pressure sensor positioned within a chamber in fluid communication with the J-tube and the plurality of secondary conduits, wherein the plurality of secondary conduits are configured to convey the plurality of seeds from the J-tube to respective metering units downstream of each conduit of the plurality of secondary conduits, wherein the pressure sensor is programmed to provide an output, and wherein the output is indicative of how many of the plurality of metering units are configured to receive more seeds from the plurality of seeds, as per claim 29;
wherein a lower surface of the chamber defines the central dispersion point, as per claim 30;
wherein the chamber is located centrally between the plurality of secondary conduits, as per claim 31.
Henry discloses a similar dispersion unit comprising a pressure sensor (160) positioned within a chamber (interior of 112) in fluid communication with the J-tube (110) and the plurality of secondary conduits (118, 40), wherein the plurality of secondary conduits are configured to convey the plurality of seeds from the J-tube to respective units downstream of each conduit of the plurality of secondary conduits, wherein the pressure sensor is programmed to provide an output (170), and wherein the output is indicative of how many of the plurality of units are configured to receive more seeds from the plurality of seeds (see the final six lines of para. [0052]), as per claim 29;
wherein a lower surface (142) of the chamber (interior of 112) defines the central dispersion point (112), as per claim 30;
wherein the chamber (interior of 112) is located centrally between the plurality of secondary conduits (118, 40, as seen in Figs. 3-4), as per claim 31.
Johnson discloses a similar seed dispersion unit (26) wherein the units (20) downstream of the dispersion unit (26) comprise metering units (para. [0003], lns. 6-10), as per claim 29.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Henry’s pressure sensor to the seed dispersion unit of Siebers and Memory in order to provide a controlled pressure feedback loop that equalizes air flow pressure and optimizes flow consistency to each of the row unit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the metering units of Johnson in the row units of Siebers and Memory in order to provide metered seed at a desired seed spacing.
Claim(s) 32-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry in view of Memory.
Independent Claim 32: Henry discloses a seed dispersion unit (12) comprising:
A J-tube (110) having a hollow tube (also 110) configured to convey a plurality of seeds from an inlet of the J-tube to a central dispersion point (112) at an outlet of the J-tube;
a base (130) extending outward from the central dispersion point to a plurality of couplings (118);
a plurality of secondary conduits (40) coupled to and extending from the plurality of couplings and configured to convey the plurality of seeds from the J-tube; and
a pressure sensor (160) located centrally between the plurality of secondary conduits above the central dispersion point (see Figs. 3-4) and configured to measure a pressure within the J-tube;
wherein the J-tube includes a first portion (110b) extending from the inlet of the J-tube to an elbow (the unnumbered curved bend at reference numeral 32 as seen in Figs. 3-4) and a second portion (110a) extending in a first direction (the vertical direction) from the elbow to the outlet of the J-tube, as per claim 32.
However, Henry fails to disclose wherein the plurality of couplings extend from the central dispersion point at an angle of less than 15 degrees relative to the first direction, as per claim 32.
Memory discloses a similar seed dispersion unit (1) wherein the plurality of couplings (10) extend from the central dispersion point (14) at an angle of less than 15 degrees relative to the first direction (the vertical direction, see page 11, lines 17-18), as per claim 32.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a relative angle of less than 15 degrees, as taught by Memory, between Henry’s couplings and the first direction in order to provide a low angle of incidence at the seed diversion point to reduce variance in delivery rates among the plurality of couplings.
Dependent Claims 33-37: Henry further discloses wherein the pressure sensor (160) is configured to measure the pressure within the J-tube (110) adjacent the central dispersion point (112, given the location of sensor 160 it can be seen that the pressure of the primary line 32/conveyor line 110 will be measured at the part of 110 nearest 112), as per claim 33;
wherein the pressure sensor (160) is located within a chamber (interior of 112) separate from the hollow tube (110) of the J-tube (110), wherein a lower surface (142) of the chamber defines the central dispersion point (112), as per claim 34;
wherein the inlet (110b) of the J-tube (110) is located below the outlet (110) of the J-tube such that the seed dispersion unit is configured to convey the plurality of seeds upwards from the inlet of the J-tube to the outlet of the J-tube (as seen by the “air flow” direction in Figs. 3-4), as per claim 35;
wherein a diameter (D2, Fig. 4) of the J-tube (110) is greater than a diameter (about d, Fig. 4) of a conduit (40) of the plurality of secondary conduits (40), as per claim 36;
wherein the hollow tube (110) of the J-tube (110) includes a plurality of dimples (116) impressed therein, wherein the dimples are configured to tumble the plurality of seeds conveyed through the J-tube, and wherein the plurality of dimples are impressed into the second portion (the vertical portion) of the J-tube, as per claim 37.
Response to Arguments
Please see the updated rejections above in response to applicant’s IDS filed 5/13/2026
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the group receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-3600. The fax number for this Group is 571-273-8300.
/Alicia Torres/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 July 28, 2026