DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/24/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 9/24/26 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/2/24, 7/8/24, and 8/27/26 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 includes the limitations of “a first stimulus member disposed in a position corresponding to a first region of a user” and “a second stimulus member disposed in a position corresponding to a second region of the user.” As such, the limitation requires that a first stimulus member and a second stimulus member would encompass being in contact with a patient (human organism) under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Applicant should be recommended to change the claimed limitations to -- a first stimulus member configured to be disposed in a position corresponding to a first region of a user-- and --a second stimulus member configured to be disposed in a position corresponding to a second region of the user-- in order to overcome this 101 rejection. Dependent claims 2-10 are rejected for the same deficiency in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansari (US 20210346711 filed on 5/5/21) in view of Vysokov (US 20210307684 filed on 6/17/21).
Regarding claim 1, Ansari teaches a wearable device (1800) for providing a smoking effect, the wearable device comprising: a first stimulus member (Figs. 18-18B; planar micro-coil arrays 1805b) disposed in a position corresponding to a first region of a user (¶236-one or more arrays are a) positioned between the front of the crown of the headwear 1885 b and the right and/or left frontal lobe) and configured to provide electrical stimulation (Abstract-the planar microcoil arrays are connected to a controller configured to generate an electrical current and transmit that electrical current, in accordance with a particular stimulation protocol, to each of the planar microcoil arrays); and a second stimulus member (1805b) disposed in a position corresponding to a second region of the user (¶236-one or more arrays are positioned between the top side of the crown of the headwear 1885 b and the parietal lobe) and configured to provide sound stimulation (¶258-auditory stimulation), wherein the first stimulus member or the second stimulus member is configured to provide a stimulus signal (¶69-generate an electrical current and transmit that electrical current, in accordance with a particular stimulation protocol, to each of the plurality of planar microcoil arrays).
However, Ansari does not explicitly teach to induce an alertness state capable of implementing a smoking effect.
Vysokov relates to systems for achieving desired therapeutic effect and methods of using such systems. More particularly, the present disclosure relates to a system for implementing a stimulation protocol that mimics an effect a drug has on the brain of a patient under treatment for a disease and methods for using such systems, for example by employing brain stimulation. Additionally, the present disclosure is concerned with computer program products comprising a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable instructions stored thereon, the computer-readable instructions being executable by a computerised device comprising processing hardware to execute the aforesaid methods (¶2). Vysokov further teaches the invention using the following step:
induce an alertness state capable of implementing a smoking effect (¶42-generates the brain stimulation protocol corresponding to the received electrical signals and provides at least one stimulation to the brain of the user, wherein the at least one stimulation is provided to achieve the effect similar to the at least one drug when in operation; ¶40-41; ¶43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ansari to include inducing an alertness state capable of implementing a smoking effect of Vysokov in order to mimic an effect a drug has on the brain of a patient under treatment for a disease and methods for using such systems, for example by employing brain stimulation (Vysokov, ¶2).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov teaches the wearable device of claim 1, further comprising: a controller (1870b) configured to control at least one of the first stimulus member or the second stimulus member (Ansari, ¶239-a controller 1870 b is in electrical communication with each of the plurality of planar microcoil arrays 1805 b and is programmed to direct an electrical current to each of the plurality of planar microcoil arrays 1805 b).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov teaches the wearable device of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to control at least one of the first stimulus member or the second stimulus member (Ansari, ¶253-controller is adapted to modify the generation and transmission of current in accordance with the plurality of programmatic instructions that define one or more of a current level, a pulse shape, a pulse frequency, and/or a selection of, or sequence of, which microcoil arrays actually receive the current; ¶254) so that the first stimulus member or the second stimulus member provides a brain stimulus signal (Ansari, ¶269-EEG sensors capture data indicative of the varying magnitude of electric fields originating from the brain, including, but not limited to, delta brain waves (0.5 to 3 Hz), theta brain waves (3 to 8 Hz), alpha brain waves (8 to 12 Hz), beta brain waves (12 to 38 Hz), and gamma brain waves (38 to 42 Hz)) that increases power spectral density (PSD) of electroencephalogram (EEG) of the user in a frequency region of 10 Hz or higher (Ansari, ¶254-treatment causes the user's brain to decrease or increase alpha wave generation, to increase blood circulation, decrease or increase beta wave generation, to decrease or increase delta wave generation, to decrease or increase theta wave generation; ¶269-beta brain waves (12 to 38 Hz) and gamma brain waves (38 to 42 Hz); ¶271-the data generated by the VAS or the EEG sensors is used to modulate, change, or otherwise modify one or more of the stimulation parameters described in this specification, including which arrays are activated and in what sequence, the frequency of a pulse train, the shape of each pulse in the pulse train, the number of pulses in the pulse train, the amplitude of the current used in the pulse train, the ramping (including the rate of increase or decrease) of sequential pulses in the pulse train, when to activate, how long to operate, and when to terminate).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov teaches the wearable device of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to control the first stimulus member (Ansari, ¶253- the controller is adapted to modify the generation and transmission of current in accordance with the plurality of programmatic instructions that define one or more of a current level, a pulse shape, a pulse frequency, and/or a selection of, or sequence of, which microcoil arrays actually receive the current; ¶254) so that the first stimulus member provides electrical stimulation that causes PSD of EEG of the user (Ansari, ¶269-EEG sensors capture data indicative of the varying magnitude of electric fields originating from the brain, including, but not limited to, delta brain waves (0.5 to 3 Hz), theta brain waves (3 to 8 Hz), alpha brain waves (8 to 12 Hz), beta brain waves (12 to 38 Hz), and gamma brain waves (38 to 42 Hz)) to increase in a frequency range of 12 Hz to 25 Hz (Ansari, ¶254-treatment causes the user's brain to decrease or increase alpha wave generation, to increase blood circulation, decrease or increase beta wave generation, to decrease or increase delta wave generation, to decrease or increase theta wave generation; ¶269-beta brain waves (12 to 38 Hz) and gamma brain waves (38 to 42 Hz); ¶271-the data generated by the VAS or the EEG sensors is used to modulate, change, or otherwise modify one or more of the stimulation parameters described in this specification, including which arrays are activated and in what sequence, the frequency of a pulse train, the shape of each pulse in the pulse train, the number of pulses in the pulse train, the amplitude of the current used in the pulse train, the ramping (including the rate of increase or decrease) of sequential pulses in the pulse train, when to activate, how long to operate, and when to terminate).
Ansari is silent regarding increasing by 0.1 to 1.1 dB. However, Ansari does teach the application of electrical stimulation to vary brain waves in a desired frequency range and measuring said changes in brain waves via an EEG (Ansari, ¶271). It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Therefore, it can be appreciated that it would have been within the ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum amount by which to increase the dB in order to achieve the desired effects. See MPEP 2144.05(II), In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov teaches the wearable device of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to determine, based on a surrounding environment of the user or state information of the user (Ansari, ¶78-based on said determination, direct current to at least one of the plurality of planar microcoil arrays), whether to perform one of: brain stimulation by the first stimulus member; brain stimulation by the second stimulus member; or brain stimulation by both of the first stimulus member and the second stimulus member (Ansari, ¶21-direct pulsed electromagnetic fields toward a user's brain; ¶69-generate an electrical current and transmit that electrical current, in accordance with a particular stimulation protocol, to each of the plurality of planar microcoil arrays).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansari in view of Vysokov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Black (WO 2017040739 filed on 9/1/16 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov teaches the wearable device of claim 1. However, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov does not teach a link that connects the first stimulus member to the second stimulus member, wherein the link is configured to be hooked to an auricle of the user.
Black teaches a link that connects the first stimulus member to the second stimulus member, wherein the link is configured to be hooked to an auricle of the user (¶130-support or headband 230; Fig. 2-230 connects between the first and second stimulus members and is configured to be hooked to an auricle of the user).
Black relates to neurostimulation, and in particular, to neurostimulation systems, devices, and methods (¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ansari to include a link that connects the first stimulus member to the second stimulus member, wherein the link is configured to be hooked to an auricle of the user of Black in order to provide neurostimulation to first and second earpieces (Black, ¶33).
Claims 3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansari in view of Vysokov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Covalin (US 20200197707 filed on 7/14/19).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov teaches the wearable device of claim 1. However, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov does not teach wherein the first region is a rear of an auricle, and the second region is an auricle or a surface of an external auditory canal.
Covalin teaches wherein the first region is a rear of an auricle, and the second region is an auricle or a surface of an external auditory canal (¶80-to apply the earpiece around the auricle of the patient, press against the patient's skin such that exposed skin adhesives and adhesives/hydrogels adhere to the skin. Next, place the concha apparatus in the ear such that a first portion of the concha apparatus sits outside the external ear canal in the cavum).
Covalin relates to a wearable treatment system for providing transcutaneous stimulation for inducing endogenous release of peptides (¶6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ansari to include wherein the first region is a rear of an auricle, and the second region is an auricle or a surface of an external auditory canal of Covalin in order for providing transcutaneous stimulation for inducing endogenous release of peptides (Covalin, ¶6).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov teaches the wearable device of claim 4. However, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov does not teach a verification member configured to verify a smoking effect, wherein the controller is further configured to determine a degree of activation of at least one of the first stimulus member or the second stimulus member based on a smoking indicator signal transmitted from the verification member.
Covalin teaches a verification member configured to verify a smoking effect, wherein the controller is further configured to determine a degree of activation of at least one of the first stimulus member or the second stimulus member based on a smoking indicator signal transmitted from the verification member (¶126- the system can record overall therapeutic delivery so the caregiver/clinician can measure compliance; ¶127-the system can utilize feedback to monitor and/or modify the therapy, the feedback can include one of electrodermal activity, movement activity, glucose monitoring, neuro-monitoring, EKG, EEG, blood pressure (systolic, diastolic and mean) imaging and any other type of sensing related to the symptoms and therapy, monitor and detect a speed or timing of a symptom and/or therapeutic outcome; ¶128-129).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ansari to include a verification member configured to verify a smoking effect, wherein the controller is further configured to determine a degree of activation of at least one of the first stimulus member or the second stimulus member based on a smoking indicator signal transmitted from the verification member of Covalin in order to utilize feedback to monitor and/or modify the therapy (Covalin, ¶127).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov teaches the wearable device of claim 1. However, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov does not teach a verification member configured to verify a smoking effect, wherein the verification member is capable of measuring a heart rate variability (HRV).
Covalin teaches a verification member configured to verify a smoking effect, wherein the verification member is capable of measuring a heart rate variability (HRV) (¶129-EKG can be used to assess heart rate and heart rate variability, to determine the activity of the autonomic nervous system in general and/or the relative activity of the sympathetic and parasympathetic branches of the autonomic nervous system, and to modulate the therapy).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ansari to include a verification member configured to verify a smoking effect, wherein the verification member is capable of measuring a heart rate variability (HRV) of Covalin in order to determine the activity of the autonomic nervous system in general and/or the relative activity of the sympathetic and parasympathetic branches of the autonomic nervous system, and to modulate the therapy, because the autonomic nervous activity can be indicative of symptoms associated with substance withdrawal (Covalin, ¶129).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansari in view of Vysokov as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of PALUDAN-MÜLLER (US 20220337961 filed on 9/28/20).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov teaches the wearable device of claim 4. However, the combination of Ansari and Vysokov does not teach wherein the controller is further configured to cause the second stimulus member to form a binaural beat that provides beta waves.
PALUDAN-MÜLLER teaches wherein the controller is further configured to cause the second stimulus member to form a binaural beat that provides beta waves (¶13-“β” is a binaural beam forming parameter, that in the present context also is frequency dependent; ¶21; ¶78).
PALUDAN-MÜLLER relates to a method of operating a binaural ear level audio system in order to optimize at least one of a directivity index in a selected direction and the presence of binaural cues. It also relates to a binaural ear level audio system adapted to carry out such a method (¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ansari to include wherein the controller is further configured to cause the second stimulus member to form a binaural beat that provides beta waves of PALUDAN-MÜLLER in order to provide an improved binaural ear level audio system (PALUDAN-MÜLLER, ¶21).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 5-20 of copending Application No. 18/671513 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other based on the table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims of the Present Application (18/624625)
Claims of US Application 18/671513
1
1
4
1
5
10
6
10
8
1, 16, 17
9
19, 20
10
19
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 5-20 of copending Application No. 18/671513 in view of Black (WO 2017040739).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims of the Present Application (18/624625)
Claims of US Application 18/671513
Secondary Reference Black (WO 2017040739)
2
Black teaches a link that connects the first stimulus member to the second stimulus member, wherein the link is configured to be hooked to an auricle of the user (¶130-support or headband 230; Fig. 2-230 connects between the first and second stimulus members and is configured to be hooked to an auricle of the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include a link that connects the first stimulus member to the second stimulus member, wherein the link is configured to be hooked to an auricle of the user of Black in order to provide neurostimulation to first and second earpieces (Black, ¶33).
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 5-20 of copending Application No. 18/671513 in view of Covalin (US 20200197707).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims of the Present Application (18/624625)
Claims of US Application 18/671513
Secondary Reference Covalin (US 20200197707)
3
Covalin teaches wherein the first region is a rear of an auricle, and the second region is an auricle or a surface of an external auditory canal (¶80-to apply the earpiece around the auricle of the patient, press against the patient's skin such that exposed skin adhesives and adhesives/hydrogels adhere to the skin. Next, place the concha apparatus in the ear such that a first portion of the concha apparatus sits outside the external ear canal in the cavum). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include wherein the first region is a rear of an auricle, and the second region is an auricle or a surface of an external auditory canal of Covalin in order for providing transcutaneous stimulation for inducing endogenous release of peptides (Covalin, ¶6).
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 5-20 of copending Application No. 18/671513 in view of PALUDAN-MÜLLER (US 20220337961).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims of the Present Application (18/624625)
Claims of US Application 18/671513
Secondary Reference PALUDAN-MÜLLER (US 20220337961)
7
PALUDAN-MÜLLER teaches wherein the controller is further configured to cause the second stimulus member to form a binaural beat that provides beta waves (¶13-“β” is a binaural beam forming parameter, that in the present context also is frequency dependent; ¶21; ¶78). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include wherein the controller is further configured to cause the second stimulus member to form a binaural beat that provides beta waves of PALUDAN-MÜLLER in order to provide an improved binaural ear level audio system (PALUDAN-MÜLLER, ¶21).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9648907: relates generally to systems which imitate the physical and/or sensorial pleasures of smoking (col. 1 and lines 14-15).
/LAURA HODGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3792