DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 is objected to because the unlabeled rectangular boxes (boxes labeled 11, 15, 21, 27, 31c, 37 and 39) should be provided with descriptive text (e.g. unlabeled rectangular box 11 should be provided with “patient interface” inside the box or adjacent to the reference number). See 37 CFR 1.83(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim is directed to a method but the preamble recites “a ventilation system which comprises” and the some of the components recited are not found within the body of the claims. Therefore, it is not clear whether applicant is intending to claim the components in the preamble or whether the components of the massage system are intended use limitations.
For the purpose of examination, examiner has interpreted the claims to require the components recited in the preamble.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “the estimated gas concentration is determined” in line 1 is unclear what the meaning of “determined” is in this context. It appears applicant is implying there has been a method step of determination recited in a preceding claim however claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, only recites that a second signal is generating which “indicates” an estimated gas concentration”.
For the purpose of examination, examiner has interpreted the claim to mean that the method includes a step of determining the estimated gas concentration which is determined depending on a time derivative of the measured gas concentration.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claims 3, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Specifically, claims 3, 6 and 9 recite a scientific relationship, and thus does not further limit the subject matter of the claims upon which they depend (i.e. relationship is not tied to a method step or other function of the invention).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peyton (US 2011/0004108).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Peyton discloses (Fig. 4) a method for determining a gas concentration in a ventilation system which comprises
a ventilator (ventilator 802) having a fitting (line extending from ventilator to breathing circuit 813, see Fig. 4) for providing a respiratory gas (paragraph [0162]);
a main line (vertical portion of breathing circuit 813 having rebreathing valve 1202) for connecting the fitting to a patient interface (connected to mouthpiece, see paragraph [0162] and Fig. 4);
a secondary line (gas sampling line 808), which branches off from the main line (branches off from main line 813 as shown in Fig. 4), so that the respiratory gas can flow at least partially through the secondary line (paragraph [0165]);
a gas sensor (gas analyzer 804) for measuring a gas concentration at at least one first point in the secondary line (in the form of a Datex Ohmeda Capnomac Ultima which measures gas concentrations, see paragraph [0162], measuring gas concentration at end point of secondary line, shown in Fig. 4); and
a signal processing device (cardiac monitor 810);
wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first signal, which indicates the gas concentration measured by the gas sensor, in the signal processing device (“Gas concentration is measured by sidestream sampling or inline measurement by a rapid gas analyser 804”, paragraph [0126]);
generating a second signal, which indicates an estimated gas concentration at at least one second point (point of connection between gas sampling line and main line, see Fig. 4), differing from the first point, in the main line, from the first signal by the signal processing device (“Accuracy is improved by compensating for transport delay (with sidestream sampling) and response time of the gas analyser”, paragraph [0127], “Improved accuracy of measurement of total gas flow rates, and therefore of flow rate of gas G can be obtained if flow and gas concentration are measured at other locations in the breathing system, where tidal variations in gas concentration have been removed by thorough mixing of expired gas prior to sampling”, paragraph [0131]).
Regarding claim 3, Peyton discloses wherein a relationship between the measured gas concentration and the estimated gas concentration is defined by the following equation: ddtConcSensor=1τConcAirway-ConcSensor, wherein “ConcSensor” represents a measured gas concentration, “ConcAirway” represents an estimated gas concentration, and τ is a constant (claim recites a natural/scientific relationship and thus is inherent to Peyton).
Regarding claim 4, Peyton discloses the at least one second point comprises a branching point at which the secondary line branches off from the main line (see Fig. 4 and paragraphs [0127] and [0131]).
Regarding claim 5, Peyton discloses the second signal is generated using a mathematical model of the gas sensor (see paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Peyton discloses the known volume flow of the respiratory gas in the secondary line, independent of a pressure of the respiratory gas in the main line, has a constant absolute value and/or a constant direction (claim recites a natural/scientific relationship and thus is inherent to Peyton).
Regarding claim 9, Peyton discloses a relationship between the measured gas concentration and the estimated gas concentration is defined by the following equation: ddtConcSensor=1τConcAirway-ConcSensor, wherein “ConcSensor” represents a measured gas concentration, “ConcAirway” represents an estimated gas concentration, and τ=VolumeSensor/Flow, wherein “VolumeSensor” represents a known measurement volume of the gas sensor and “Flow” represents a known volume flow of the respiratory gas in the secondary line (claim recites a natural/scientific relationship and thus is inherent to Peyton).
Regarding claim 10, Peyton discloses a third signal, which indicates a pressure difference measured by a pressure sensor (differential pressure transducer, paragraph [0126]) between various points of the main line is received in the signal processing device and wherein the second signal is generated using the third signal (paragraph [0226]).
Regarding claim 11, Peyton discloses a signal processing device (cardiac monitor 810), wherein the device is configured to be suitable for carrying out the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Peyton discloses a ventilation system, wherein the system comprises:
a ventilator (ventilator 802) having a fitting (line extending from ventilator to breathing circuit 813, see Fig. 4) for providing a respiratory gas (paragraph [0162]);
a main line (vertical portion of breathing circuit 813 having rebreathing valve 1202) for connecting the fitting to a patient interface (connected to mouthpiece, see paragraph [0162] and Fig. 4);
a secondary line (gas sampling line 808), which branches off from the main line (branches off from main line 813 as shown in Fig. 4), so that the respiratory gas can flow at least partially through the secondary line (paragraph [0165]);
a gas sensor (gas analyzer 804) for measuring a gas concentration at at least one first point in the secondary line (in the form of a Datex Ohmeda Capnomac Ultima which measures gas concentrations, see paragraph [0162], measuring gas concentration at end point of secondary line, shown in Fig. 4); and
the signal processing device of claim 11 (cardiac monitor 810, see rejection of claim 11 above).
Regarding claim 13, Peyton discloses the ventilation system is configured so that a volume flow of the respiratory gas in the secondary line, independent of a pressure of the respiratory gas in the main line, has a constant direction (a volume flow of gas has a constant direction due to moving from the second point to the gas analyzer, see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Peyton discloses a computer program (“program instructions”, paragraph [0037]), wherein the program comprises commands which cause a processor upon execution of the computer program by the processor to carry out the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 and paragraph (0168]).
Regarding claim 20, Peyton discloses a computer-readable medium (“computer readable storage medium”, paragraph [0037]) on which the computer program of claim 19 is stored (paragraph [0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peyton (US 2011/0004108) in view of Blunsden (US 2020/0384238).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Peyton discloses an estimated gas concentration, but does not disclose this is determined depending on a time derivative of the measured gas concentration.
However, Blunsden teaches (Fig. 1-4A) a method of determine an estimated gas concentration that comprises a time derivative of the measured gas concentration (paragraphs [0140]-[0141]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peyton such that estimated gas concentration is determined depending on a time derivative of the measured gas concentration, as taught by Blunsden, for the purpose of allowing for determination of an instantaneous estimated gas concentration without having to take measurements based at two time points (paragraph [0141] Blunsden).
Claims 7-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peyton (US 2011/0004108) in view of Enk (US 20230248929).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 14-15, Peyton discloses the known volume flow of respiratory gas has a constant direction but does not disclose volume flow of the respiratory gas has a constant absolute value.
However, Enk teaches (Fig. 1) a volume flow of the respiratory gas that has a constant absolute value (ventilator produces fluid flow that has a constant absolute value, paragraph [0089] and [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the volume flow of patient such that volume flow of the respiratory gas has a constant absolute value, as taught by Enk, for the purpose of ensuring accurate measurement and regulation of gas flow (paragraph [0080] and [0082] Enk).
Modified Peyton does not disclose the constant absolute value is 2 mL/s or less or 1 mL/s or less. However, outside evidence of criticality, it has been held that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to try to a constant absolute value of 2 mL/s or less or 1 mL/s or less for the purpose of ensuring sufficient air flow so that sensor measurements can be accurate, since discovering the optimum value only involves routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peyton (US 2011/0004108) in view of Baecke (US 2017/0074695).
Regarding claim 16, Peyton discloses the secondary line (gas sampling line) comprises a first line section wherein the gas sensor being arranged in the first line section (gas analyzer 804 arranged in sampling line section as shown in Fig. 4), but does not disclose the secondary line comprises a second line section wherein the second line section bypassing the gas sensor.
However, Baecke teaches (Fig. 10) a secondary line (connector 81) and a main line (flow tube 72) wherein the secondary line includes a first line section (section of connector 81 having pressure sensor 84 and opening 99) and a second line section (portion of connector connected to hose 82, see Fig. 10 and paragraph [0056]) wherein the second line section bypassing the gas sensor (paragraph [0056] and Fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary line of Peyton to include a second line bypassing the gas sensor, as taught by Baeke, for the purpose of allowing for gas to be continuously sampled and not be blocked by the sensor.
Regarding claim 17, modified Peyton discloses the second line section comprises a second aperture (aperture 109 Baeke) for setting a volume flow of the respiratory gas in the second line section (a volume of flow through a tube is mathematically defined, and thus “set”, at least in part by diameter of aperture of a tube, and thus this limitation is comprehended by the Baeke reference of the combined invention).
Regarding claim 18, modified Peyton discloses the first line section comprises a first aperture (aperture 99 of Baeke) for setting a volume flow of the respiratory gas in the first line section (a volume of flow through a tube is mathematically defined, and thus “set”, at least in part by diameter of aperture of a tube, and thus this limitation is comprehended by the Baeke reference of the combined invention); and the second line section comprises second aperture (aperture 109 Baeke) for setting a volume flow of the respiratory gas in the second line section (a volume of flow through a tube is mathematically defined, and thus “set”, at least in part by diameter of aperture of a tube, and thus this limitation is comprehended by the Baeke reference of the combined invention).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wan (US 2020/0238033) discloses a method where gas concentration is determined via a derivative calculation.
Haveri (US 2015/0241359) discloses a method of determining gas concentration that utilizes a first and second signal.
/MATTHEW R MOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785