Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
2. Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 5 does not end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1 and 7, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed rotating device in that applicant has not claimed any associated functional language with respect to the claimed rotating device. Further, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed cutting assembly in that applicant claims specific structural components related to the claimed cutting assembly being the claimed the first cutting bar(s) and the second cutting bar(s). Further, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed blowing device and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the blowing device is detailed as, included within the rotating drum 10 is a first conduit 12, which is in the form of a blow tube manifold 12, that connects each row of blow tubes 30 to a blowing device such as an air compressor, and a second conduit 14 that is connected to a both a vacuum pump and a blowing device such as an air compressor. In the embodiment shown, additional components are provided to complete the connection between the air compressor and vacuum pump and the respective blow tubes, including six air heads 17 that are fed into the rotating device 10 through a six-port rotary union 18, as seen in paragraph [0042] of applicant’s originally filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed blowing device as detailed earlier in paragraph 3 of this office action and the phrase “such as” in paragraph [0042] of applicant’s originally filed specification renders the claim indefinite in that it is unclear to whether other blowing devices than those disclosed are being contemplated by the claim.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed blowing device as detailed earlier in paragraph 3 of this office action and the phrase “such as” in paragraph [0042] of applicant’s originally filed specification renders the claim indefinite in that it is unclear to whether other blowing devices than those disclosed are being contemplated by the claim. Further, claim 6 lacks antecedent basis for “the first cutting bars and second cutting bars” in line 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,102,970 to Cowsar et al.
Referring to claim 1, Cowsar et al. discloses a shellfish meat extraction device that is configured to extract meat from a shellfish part, the shellfish meat extraction device comprising, one or more blow tubes – at 250, and one or more first conduits – at 256,258, 356,358, each of the one or more blow tubes – at 250, connected to one of the one or more first conduits – at 256,258, 356,358 – see figures 8-9 and 11, the one or more first conduits – at 256,258, 356,358, connected to a blowing device – at 104 – see figures 8-9 and 11 and column 10 lines 1-15, the one or more blow tubes – at 250, adapted to secure the shellfish part in the blow tube – see figures 8-9, and the blowing device – at 104, adapted to deliver a burst of pressure to the blow tube – at 250 – see figures 8-9 and 11 and column 10 lines 1-15, a cutting assembly – at 32 and 402,404, that is positioned at or near an end of at least one of the one or more blow tubes – at 250 – see figures 8-9 and 12a-12b, and configured to weaken or break any portion of the shellfish part that extends out of the blow tube – at 250 – see figures 8-9 and 12a-12b and column 9 line 63 to column 10 line 23 and column 11 lines 4-50, and wherein the burst of pressure forces meat out of the shellfish part – see figures 8-9 and 12a-12b and column 9 line 63 to column 10 line 23 and column 11 lines 4-50. Cowsar et al. further discloses the cutting assembly including a first cutting bar and a second cutting bar – see at 322,350,353,356, and – two bars at the end of 404, the first cutting bar and the second cutting bar positioned on opposite sides of the open end of a blow tube – at 250 – see figures 8-9 and 12a-12b, and configured to open and close over the blow tube – via movement of items 350 and 353 and movement of items 402,404 as seen in figures 8-9 and 12a-12b, the first cutting bar and second cutting bar – at 322,353 and – two bars at the end of 404, further configured to break or weaken a portion of the shellfish part when in a closed position – see figures 8-9 and 12a-12b and column 9 line 63 to column 10 line 23 and column 11 lines 4-50. Cowsar et al. further discloses a rotating device – at 200,300, the one or more blow tubes – at 250, have a first end and a second end – see figures 8-9, the first end coupled to the rotating device – see figure 8-9, such that the blow tubes are arranged in rows around the rotating device – see figures 8-9, the second end being an open – see at 250 in figures 8-9, end adapted to receive the shellfish part – see figures 8-9, the blow tubes – at 250, further adapted to secure the shellfish part within the blow tube – see via 254,256 in figures 8-9, the cutting assembly – at 402,404, coupled to the rotating device – at 200 – see figures 12a-12b, the first and second cutting bars – at end of 404, positioned on opposite sides of the second end of the blow tubes – at 250 – see figures 12a,12b, and configured to open and close over the second end of the blow tubes – at 250 – see at 404 in figures 12a,12b, and the closing of the first and second cutting bars – at the end of 404, is configured to weaken or break any portion of the shellfish – see shellfish split into head and tail portions in figures 12a,12b, and the blow device – at 104, is adapted to deliver a burst of pressure through the first conduits – at 256,258, and through the blow tubes – at 250, as the blow tubes secure the shellfish part – see figures 8-9 and column 10 line 1 to column 11 line 50, and the burst of pressure forces meat out of the shellfish part from the second end of the blow tube – at 250 – see figures 8-9 and column 11 lines 4-50.
Referring to claim 3, Cowsar et al. further discloses a pair of first cutting bars and second cutting bars – see at 322,350 and – at 353,356, for each of the one or more blow tubes – at 250, one of each of the pairs configured to weaken or break the shellfish part that extends out of the blow tubes when in a closed position – see figures 8-9 and column 9 line 63 to column 10 line 23 and column 11 lines 4-50.
Referring to claim 4, Cowsar et al. further discloses ach of the pairs of first cutting bars and second cutting bars are configured to be moved between an open position and closed position by parallel grippers – at 352 and structure for rotating item 300, which would have components that are parallel to each other as seen in figure 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-9 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Response to Arguments
6. Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 1 and 3-4, the Cowsar et al. reference US 6102970 discloses the newly added claim limitations of applicant’s claim amendments dated 1-22-26 in that Cowsar et al. discloses a rotating device – at 200,300, the one or more blow tubes – at 250, have a first end and a second end – see figures 8-9, the first end coupled to the rotating device – see figure 8-9, such that the blow tubes are arranged in rows around the rotating device – see figures 8-9, the second end being an open – see at 250 in figures 8-9, end adapted to receive the shellfish part – see figures 8-9, the blow tubes – at 250, further adapted to secure the shellfish part within the blow tube – see via 254,256 in figures 8-9, the cutting assembly – at 402,404, coupled to the rotating device – at 200 – see figures 12a-12b, the first and second cutting bars – at end of 404, positioned on opposite sides of the second end of the blow tubes – at 250 – see figures 12a,12b, and configured to open and close over the second end of the blow tubes – at 250 – see at 404 in figures 12a,12b, and the closing of the first and second cutting bars – at the end of 404, is configured to weaken or break any portion of the shellfish – see shellfish split into head and tail portions in figures 12a,12b, and the blow device – at 104, is adapted to deliver a burst of pressure through the first conduits – at 256,258, and through the blow tubes – at 250, as the blow tubes secure the shellfish part – see figures 8-9 and column 10 line 1 to column 11 line 50, and the burst of pressure forces meat out of the shellfish part from the second end of the blow tube – at 250 – see figures 8-9 and column 11 lines 4-50.
Conclusion
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643