DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Clms 4 and 8: On the outset, the claims are drawn to a “non-uniform thickness bushing”. However, these claims are claiming structures (telescopic assembly with first and second telescopic members) that do not appear to be part of the bushing. It is unclear and indefinite as to how the telescopic members are part of the bushing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 210083444, hereafter ‘444.
Re Clm 1: ‘444 discloses a non-uniform thickness bushing (600) for a telescopic assembly used in a vehicle, the non-uniform thickness bushing comprising: a first portion (towards distance D5, see fig 3) on one side of the non-uniform thickness bushing, the first portion having a first thickness; and a second portion (opposing portion) on a side of the non-uniform thickness bushing opposite the side of the first portion, the second portion having a second thickness (as shown at distance D4), wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness (as shown in fig 3).
Re Clm 2: ‘444 discloses a gap (area between the first portion and second portion) located on opposing sides of the non-uniform thickness bushing and between the first portion and the second portion.
Re Clm 3: ‘444 discloses a bushing body (inner surface of bushing) forming a ring with an aperture extending therethrough, wherein the first portion and the second portion extend from the bushing body (portions extend radially outward from inner surface).
Re Clm 4 (as best understood): ‘444 discloses a telescopic assembly (fig 1) having a first telescopic member (200) and a second telescopic member (400) slidably coupled within the first telescopic member, wherein the non-uniform thickness bushing is coupled to an end (bottom end) of the second telescopic member and located between an outer surface of the second telescopic member and an inner surface of the first telescopic member (see fig 1).
Re Clm 7: ‘444 discloses a gap (area between the first portion and second portion) located on opposing sides of the non-uniform thickness bushing and between the first portion and the second portion.
Re Clm 8 (as best understood): ‘444 discloses a telescopic assembly (fig 1) having a first telescopic member (200) and a second telescopic member (400) slidably coupled within the first telescopic member, wherein the non-uniform thickness bushing is coupled to an end (bottom end) of the second telescopic member and located between an outer surface of the second telescopic member and an inner surface of the first telescopic member (see fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
Claims 5-6, 9, and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance / allowable subject matter:
Re Clm 5, 10, 12, and 16: wherein the non-uniform thickness bushing places an axis of the second telescopic member (post) in a position out of coaxial alignment with an axis of the first telescopic member (post) when there is no load on the second telescopic member (post)
Re Clm 9: wherein the first portion and second portion are axially offset from one another along an axis of the second telescopic member.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678