DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 2024/0267875 A1) hereinafter Zhou.
Regarding claim 1 – Zhou discloses one or more memories, refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0186] - a memory 1230
one or more transceivers, refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0202] - The communication module 1212 may support establishing a direct (e.g., wired) communication channel or a wireless communication channel between the electronic device 1201 and the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 1202, the electronic device 1204, or the server 1208)
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0187] - The processor 1220 may execute software (e.g., a program 1240) to control at least one other component (e.g., a hardware or a software component) of the electronic device 1201 coupled with the processor 1220 and may perform various data processing or computations.
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a sidelink communication indication (SCI) comprising an indication of a comb offset for a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) to a second UE; refer to Figures 2, 3B, 4 and paragraphs [0140] – [0143] - At operation S204, UE 1 may select a comb offset based on priorities. The comb offset uniquely specifies a diagonal in a stagger arrangement (see FIG. 4).
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, the SL-PRS in accordance with the comb offset, refer to Figure 3B and paragraph [0144] - At operation S205, the UE 1 may transmit the SL-PRS at the selected comb offset (see the transmission of PRS by UE 1 in FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 2 - Zhou discloses claim 1. Zhou discloses wherein the indication comprises an index that identifies the comb offset, refer to paragraph [0058] - receiving, by a first user equipment (UE), a first configuration parameter from a higher layer, the first configuration parameter including a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, a first subcarrier offset and a first number of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) symbols for a first SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, also, refer to Figure 7 and paragraph [0168] - the slot of FIG. 7 is formed as follows. UE 1 receives a first configuration parameter from a higher layer at a first time, the first configuration parameter comprising a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, and a first number of SL-PRS symbols for the SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool,
Claims 2 as amended above only requires “an index that identifies the comb offset” to be disclosed, which is shown above.
Regarding claim 3 - Zhou discloses claim 1. Zhou discloses wherein the SCI corresponds to a SCI-1, refer to paragraph [0048] - the UE decodes both a first stage SCI and the second stage SCI to find the resource allocation for both the data signal and the SL-PRS signal when performing the sensing-based resource selection procedure. Refer to application specification paragraph [0154] – SCI-1 is defined as First Stage SCI.
Regarding claim 4 - Zhou discloses claim 1. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS is associated with a SL-PRS resource pool, refer to the Abstract, also, refer to paragraph [0034] - For SL-PRS in a shared resource pool (includes data transmission), the SL-PRS symbols are not mapped to the PSSCH symbols carrying DMRS, also, paragraph [0035] - When selecting resources for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool (no data transmission), single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource candidates can be considered instead of the single-slot resource candidates used when performing resource selection for a data transmission.
Regarding claim 5 – Zhou discloses claim 4. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS resource pool is a dedicated SL-PRS resource pool, refer to abstract, also, paragraph [0035] - When selecting resources for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool (no data transmission), single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource candidates can be considered instead of the single-slot resource candidates used when performing resource selection for a data transmission.
Regarding claim 6 – Zhou discloses claim 4. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS resource pool is a shared SL-PRS resource pool, refer to the abstract, also, refer to paragraph [0034] - For SL-PRS in a shared resource pool (includes data transmission), the SL-PRS symbols are not mapped to the PSSCH symbols carrying DMRS.
Regarding claim 7 – Zhou discloses one or more memories; refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0186] - a memory 1230
one or more transceivers; refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0202] - The communication module 1212 may support establishing a direct (e.g., wired) communication channel or a wireless communication channel between the electronic device 1201 and the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 1202, the electronic device 1204, or the server 1208)
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0187] - The processor 1220 may execute software (e.g., a program 1240) to control at least one other component (e.g., a hardware or a software component) of the electronic device 1201 coupled with the processor 1220 and may perform various data processing or computations.
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a sidelink communication indication (SCI) comprising an indication of a comb offset for a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) from a first UE; refer to Figures 2, 3B, 4 and paragraphs [0140] – [0143] - At operation S204, UE 1 may select a comb offset based on priorities. The comb offset uniquely specifies a diagonal in a stagger arrangement (see FIG. 4).
receive, via the one or more transceivers, the SL-PRS from the first UE in accordance with the comb offset, refer to Figure 3B and paragraph [0144] - At operation S205, the UE 1 may transmit the SL-PRS at the selected comb offset (see the transmission of PRS by UE 1 in FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 8 – Zhou discloses claim 7. Zhou discloses wherein the indication comprises an index that identifies the comb offset, refer to paragraph [0058] - receiving, by a first user equipment (UE), a first configuration parameter from a higher layer, the first configuration parameter including a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, a first subcarrier offset and a first number of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) symbols for a first SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, also, refer to Figure 7 and paragraph [0168] - the slot of FIG. 7 is formed as follows. UE 1 receives a first configuration parameter from a higher layer at a first time, the first configuration parameter comprising a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, and a first number of SL-PRS symbols for the SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool,
Claims 8 as amended above only requires “an index that identifies the comb offset” to be disclosed, which is shown above.
Regarding claim 9 – Zhou discloses claim 7. Zhou discloses wherein the SCI corresponds to a SCI-1, refer to paragraph [0048] - the UE decodes both a first stage SCI and the second stage SCI to find the resource allocation for both the data signal and the SL-PRS signal when performing the sensing-based resource selection procedure. Refer to application specification paragraph [0154] – SCI-1 is defined as First Stage SCI.
Regarding claim 10 – Zhou discloses claim 7. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS is associated with a SL-PRS resource pool, refer to the Abstract, also, refer to paragraph [0034] - For SL-PRS in a shared resource pool (includes data transmission), the SL-PRS symbols are not mapped to the PSSCH symbols carrying DMRS, also, paragraph [0035] - When selecting resources for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool (no data transmission), single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource candidates can be considered instead of the single-slot resource candidates used when performing resource selection for a data transmission.
Regarding claim 11 – Zhou discloses claim 10. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS resource pool is a dedicated SL-PRS resource pool, refer to abstract, also, paragraph [0035] - When selecting resources for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool (no data transmission), single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource candidates can be considered instead of the single-slot resource candidates used when performing resource selection for a data transmission.
Regarding claim 12 – Zhou discloses claim 10. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS resource pool is a shared SL-PRS resource pool, refer to the abstract, also, refer to paragraph [0034] - For SL-PRS in a shared resource pool (includes data transmission), the SL-PRS symbols are not mapped to the PSSCH symbols carrying DMRS.
Regarding claim 13 - Zhou discloses one or more memories; refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0186] - a memory 1230
one or more transceivers; refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0202] - The communication module 1212 may support establishing a direct (e.g., wired) communication channel or a wireless communication channel between the electronic device 1201 and the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 1202, the electronic device 1204, or the server 1208)
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0187] - The processor 1220 may execute software (e.g., a program 1240) to control at least one other component (e.g., a hardware or a software component) of the electronic device 1201 coupled with the processor 1220 and may perform various data processing or computations.
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) sidelink communication via a sub-channel to a second UE; refer to paragraph [0037] - transmitting, by the first UE, a SL-PRS signal using selected single-slot SL-PRS resources; and transmitting, by the first UE, in a same slot including the SL-PRS signal, a PSCCH signal carrying a sidelink control information (SCI).
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) in accordance with a comb offset that is based on the sub-channel, refer to paragraph [0058] - a method of resource allocation, the method including: receiving, by a first user equipment (UE), a first configuration parameter from a higher layer, the first configuration parameter including a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, a first subcarrier offset and a first number of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) symbols for a first SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, also, paragraph [0058] - transmitting, by the first UE, a first SL-PRS signal according to the first configuration parameter, also, refer to Figures 9, and paragraph [0170] - At operation S402, the UE transmits SCI indicating PSSCH transmission pattern and selected SCI pattern. At operation S404 the UE 1 multiplexes and transmits the PSCCH and the SL-PRS, also, refer to Figure 10, and paragraph [0176] - At operation S505, the UE 1 selects a comb offset in a same slot as indicated by the reservation of UE 2 for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool. At operation S506, the UE 1 transmits SL-PRS in the slot of the reservation of UE 1, using the comb offset selected by UE 2.
Regarding claim 14 – Zhou discloses claim 13. Zhou discloses wherein an index of the sub-channel is mapped to the comb offset, refer to paragraph [0047] - determining by the first UE whether candidate single-slot SL-PRS resources can be selected for SL-PRS transmission, wherein the determining of the candidate single-slot SL-PRS resources comprises: performing a sensing-based resource selection procedure to obtain a set of candidate single-slot SL-PRS resources to be used for transmission wherein a candidate single-slot SL-PRS resource is uniquely identified by a SL-PRS resource index within a set of SL-PRS resource IDs provided by a higher layer, a slot index, and passing the set of candidate single-slot SL-PRS resources to the higher layer for selection; and transmitting, by the first UE the SL-PRS signal using selected single-slot SL-PRS resources, wherein the SL-PRS signal is associated with a PSCCH transmission carrying a second stage SCI in the same slot, also, paragraph [0052] - the candidate single-slot SL-PRS resource is further identified by a subchannel index in a frequency domain.
Zhou discloses claim 14. Zhou discloses wherein the index of the sub-channel is K, wherein a comb pattern associated with the SL-PRS is comb-N, and wherein the comb offset is K mod N, refer to paragraph [0035] - When selecting resources for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool (no data transmission), single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource candidates can be considered instead of the single-slot resource candidates used when performing resource selection for a data transmission. A candidate single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource for transmission R.sub.x, y, z (indicated with three degrees of freedom, x: frequency, y: time, z: index) is defined as a set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels with sub-channel x+j in slot t.sub.y.sup.SL where j=0, . . . , L.sub.subCH−1 and SL-PRS index. The value of L.sub.subCH can be either obtained from: i) the resource selection assistance request or from resource pool (pre)-configuration in case of resource selection assistance for SL-PRS transmission; or ii) from higher layers that trigger the resource selection for SL-PRS transmission or from resource pool (pre)-configuration, also, paragraph [0037] - a sensing-based resource selection procedure to obtain a set of candidate single-slot sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resources to be used for transmission, wherein a candidate single-slot SL-PRS resource is uniquely identified by a SL-PRS resource index within a set of SL-PRS resource ID(s) provided by a higher layer and a slot index; passing the set of candidate single-slot SL-PRS resources to the higher layer for selection, also, refer to paragraph [0058] - receiving, by a first user equipment (UE), a first configuration parameter from a higher layer, the first configuration parameter including a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, a first subcarrier offset and a first number of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) symbols for a first SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, also, paragraph [0108] - The total number of candidate single-slot resources is denoted by M.sub.total. also, refer to paragraph [0091] - The detailed steps of the Mode 2 resource selection procedure are captured in 3GPP TS 38.214, Section 5.1.6.5 – PRS reception procedure, which describes the K and N, also, paragraph [0150] - The UE 1 may use the logic L1 of FIG. 3A or the logic L2 of FIG. 3B to select the comb offset providing the REs shown with the diagonal hatching. In FIG. 4, the relation of one diagonal to another is referred to as a stagger. The term “comb” in 5G refers to each symbol of the PRS having a comb structure in frequency such that every Nth subcarrier is used. The value N=2 is illustrated in FIG. 4. “Comb offset” refers to whether a chosen diagonal begins on the first subcarrier, up to the Nth subcarrier, also, paragraph [0168] - the slot of FIG. 7 is formed as follows. UE 1 receives a first configuration parameter from a higher layer at a first time, the first configuration parameter comprising a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, and a first number of SL-PRS symbols for the SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool. UE 2 receives a second configuration parameter from the network at a second time, the second configuration parameter comprising a second index, the second configuration parameter comprising a second index indicating the comb value, a second subcarrier offset and a second number of SL-PRS symbols for the SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, and claims 20, 21.
Regarding claim 16 – Zhou discloses claim 14. Zhou discloses wherein comb offset corresponds to a resource element (RE) offset associated with a comb pattern, refer to the Abstract, also, refer to Figures 4 and 7 – the comb pattern is stagger and the comb offset is 2 in Figure 4 and 4 in Figure 7, which shows the RE offset which corresponds to the comb offset, and paragraph [0148] - In the example of FIG. 4, 12 subcarriers are shown. One symbol period of one subcarrier is referred to as a resource element (RE), and also, paragraph [0058] - receiving, by a first user equipment (UE), a first configuration parameter from a higher layer, the first configuration parameter including a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, a first subcarrier offset and a first number of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) symbols for a first SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, also, paragraph [0058] - transmitting, by the first UE, a first SL-PRS signal according to the first configuration parameter and transmitting by the second UE a second SL-PRS signal according to the first configuration parameter, wherein the first SL-PRS signal and the second SL-PRS signal are allocated in two sets of non-overlapping symbols in a slot, also, Figure 7 and paragraph [0168] - the slot of FIG. 7 is formed as follows. UE 1 receives a first configuration parameter from a higher layer at a first time, the first configuration parameter comprising a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, and a first number of SL-PRS symbols for the SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, also, Figure 4 and paragraph [0150] - In the example of FIG. 4, the UE 2 may be transmitting PRS on the REs marked with solid black. This transmission is within one or more subchannels (one subchannel is illustrated in FIG. 4). The UE 1 may use the logic L1 of FIG. 3A or the logic L2 of FIG. 3B to select the comb offset providing the REs shown with the diagonal hatching. In FIG. 4, the relation of one diagonal to another is referred to as a stagger. The term “comb” in 5G refers to each symbol of the PRS having a comb structure in frequency such that every Nth subcarrier is used. The value N=2 is illustrated in FIG. 4. “Comb offset” refers to whether a chosen diagonal begins on the first subcarrier, up to the Nth subcarrier. also, Figure 9 and paragraph [0176] - At operation S505, the UE 1 selects a comb offset in a same slot as indicated by the reservation of UE 2 for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool. At operation S506, the UE 1 transmits SL-PRS in the slot of the reservation of UE 1, using the comb offset selected by UE 2.
Regarding claim 17 – Zhou discloses claim 13. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted via frequency resources comprising the sub-channel, refer to paragraph [0035] - A candidate single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource for transmission R.sub.x, y, z (indicated with three degrees of freedom, x: frequency, y: time, z: index) is defined as a set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels with sub-channel x+j in slot t.sub.y.sup.SL where j=0, . . . , L.sub.subCH−1 and SL-PRS index, also, paragraph [0056] - the SL-PRS signal is associated with a number of sub-channels to be used in the slot, also, refer to Figure 4 and paragraph [0148] - In FIG. 4, the x-axis is a time axis and the y-axis is a frequency axis……. The y-axis is marked off in subcarriers (sub-channels), also, paragraph [0149] - The SL-PRS transmitted by UE 1 may be associated with a number of sub-channels to be used in a slot,
Regarding claim 18 – Zhou discloses claim 13. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS is associated with a SL-PRS resource pool, refer to the Abstract, also, refer to paragraph [0034] - For SL-PRS in a shared resource pool (includes data transmission), the SL-PRS symbols are not mapped to the PSSCH symbols carrying DMRS, also, paragraph [0035] - When selecting resources for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool (no data transmission), single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource candidates can be considered instead of the single-slot resource candidates used when performing resource selection for a data transmission.
Regarding claim 19 – Zhou discloses claim 18. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS resource pool is a dedicated SL-PRS resource pool, refer to abstract, also, paragraph [0035] - When selecting resources for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool (no data transmission), single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource candidates can be considered instead of the single-slot resource candidates used when performing resource selection for a data transmission.
Regarding claim 20 – Zhou discloses claim 18. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS resource pool is a shared SL-PRS resource pool, refer to paragraph [0034] - For SL-PRS in a shared resource pool (includes data transmission), the SL-PRS symbols are not mapped to the PSSCH symbols carrying DMRS.
Regarding claim 21 – Zhou discloses one or more memories; refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0186] - a memory 1230
one or more transceivers; refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0202] - The communication module 1212 may support establishing a direct (e.g., wired) communication channel or a wireless communication channel between the electronic device 1201 and the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 1202, the electronic device 1204, or the server 1208)
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0187] - The processor 1220 may execute software (e.g., a program 1240) to control at least one other component (e.g., a hardware or a software component) of the electronic device 1201 coupled with the processor 1220 and may perform various data processing or computations.
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) sidelink communication from a first UE via a sub-channel; refer to paragraph [0037] - transmitting, by the first UE, a SL-PRS signal using selected single-slot SL-PRS resources; and transmitting, by the first UE, in a same slot including the SL-PRS signal, a PSCCH signal carrying a sidelink control information (SCI).
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) in accordance with a comb offset that is based on the sub-channel, refer to paragraph [0058] - a method of resource allocation, the method including: receiving, by a first user equipment (UE), a first configuration parameter from a higher layer, the first configuration parameter including a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, a first subcarrier offset and a first number of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) symbols for a first SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, also, paragraph [0058] - transmitting, by the first UE, a first SL-PRS signal according to the first configuration parameter, also, refer to Figures 9, and paragraph [0170] - At operation S402, the UE transmits SCI indicating PSSCH transmission pattern and selected SCI pattern. At operation S404 the UE 1 multiplexes and transmits the PSCCH and the SL-PRS, also, refer to Figure 10, and paragraph [0176] - At operation S505, the UE 1 selects a comb offset in a same slot as indicated by the reservation of UE 2 for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool. At operation S506, the UE 1 transmits SL-PRS in the slot of the reservation of UE 1, using the comb offset selected by UE 2.
Regarding claim 22 – Zhou discloses claim 21. Zhou discloses wherein an index of the sub-channel is 22. mapped to the comb offset, refer to paragraph [0047] - determining by the first UE whether candidate single-slot SL-PRS resources can be selected for SL-PRS transmission, wherein the determining of the candidate single-slot SL-PRS resources comprises: performing a sensing-based resource selection procedure to obtain a set of candidate single-slot SL-PRS resources to be used for transmission wherein a candidate single-slot SL-PRS resource is uniquely identified by a SL-PRS resource index within a set of SL-PRS resource IDs provided by a higher layer, a slot index, and passing the set of candidate single-slot SL-PRS resources to the higher layer for selection; and transmitting, by the first UE the SL-PRS signal using selected single-slot SL-PRS resources, wherein the SL-PRS signal is associated with a PSCCH transmission carrying a second stage SCI in the same slot, also, paragraph [0052] - the candidate single-slot SL-PRS resource is further identified by a subchannel index in a frequency domain.
Regarding claim 23 – Zhou discloses claim 21. Zhou discloses wherein the index of the sub-channel is K, wherein a comb pattern associated with the SL-PRS is comb-N, and wherein the comb offset is K mod N, refer to paragraph [0035] - When selecting resources for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool (no data transmission), single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource candidates can be considered instead of the single-slot resource candidates used when performing resource selection for a data transmission. A candidate single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource for transmission R.sub.x, y, z (indicated with three degrees of freedom, x: frequency, y: time, z: index) is defined as a set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels with sub-channel x+j in slot t.sub.y.sup.SL where j=0, . . . , L.sub.subCH−1 and SL-PRS index. The value of L.sub.subCH can be either obtained from: i) the resource selection assistance request or from resource pool (pre)-configuration in case of resource selection assistance for SL-PRS transmission; or ii) from higher layers that trigger the resource selection for SL-PRS transmission or from resource pool (pre)-configuration, also, paragraph [0037] - a sensing-based resource selection procedure to obtain a set of candidate single-slot sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resources to be used for transmission, wherein a candidate single-slot SL-PRS resource is uniquely identified by a SL-PRS resource index within a set of SL-PRS resource ID(s) provided by a higher layer and a slot index; passing the set of candidate single-slot SL-PRS resources to the higher layer for selection, also, refer to paragraph [0058] - receiving, by a first user equipment (UE), a first configuration parameter from a higher layer, the first configuration parameter including a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, a first subcarrier offset and a first number of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) symbols for a first SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, also, paragraph [0108] - The total number of candidate single-slot resources is denoted by M.sub.total. also, refer to paragraph [0091] - The detailed steps of the Mode 2 resource selection procedure are captured in 3GPP TS 38.214, Section 5.1.6.5 – PRS reception procedure, which describes the K and N, also, paragraph [0150] - The UE 1 may use the logic L1 of FIG. 3A or the logic L2 of FIG. 3B to select the comb offset providing the REs shown with the diagonal hatching. In FIG. 4, the relation of one diagonal to another is referred to as a stagger. The term “comb” in 5G refers to each symbol of the PRS having a comb structure in frequency such that every Nth subcarrier is used. The value N=2 is illustrated in FIG. 4. “Comb offset” refers to whether a chosen diagonal begins on the first subcarrier, up to the Nth subcarrier, also, paragraph [0168] - the slot of FIG. 7 is formed as follows. UE 1 receives a first configuration parameter from a higher layer at a first time, the first configuration parameter comprising a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, and a first number of SL-PRS symbols for the SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool. UE 2 receives a second configuration parameter from the network at a second time, the second configuration parameter comprising a second index, the second configuration parameter comprising a second index indicating the comb value, a second subcarrier offset and a second number of SL-PRS symbols for the SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, and claims 20, 21.
Regarding claim 24 – Zhou discloses claim 23. Zhou discloses wherein the comb offset corresponds to a resource element (RE) offset associated with the comb pattern, refer to the Abstract, refer to Figures 4 and 7 – the comb pattern is stagger and the comb offset is “2” in Figure 4 and “4” in Figure 7, which shows the RE offset which corresponds to the comb offset, and paragraph [0148] - In the example of FIG. 4, 12 subcarriers are shown. One symbol period of one subcarrier is referred to as a resource element (RE),also, paragraph [0058] - receiving, by a first user equipment (UE), a first configuration parameter from a higher layer, the first configuration parameter including a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, a first subcarrier offset and a first number of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) symbols for a first SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, also, paragraph [0058] - transmitting, by the first UE, a first SL-PRS signal according to the first configuration parameter and transmitting by the second UE a second SL-PRS signal according to the first configuration parameter, wherein the first SL-PRS signal and the second SL-PRS signal are allocated in two sets of non-overlapping symbols in a slot, also, Figure 7 and paragraph [0168] - the slot of FIG. 7 is formed as follows. UE 1 receives a first configuration parameter from a higher layer at a first time, the first configuration parameter comprising a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, and a first number of SL-PRS symbols for the SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool, also, Figure 9 and paragraph [0176] - At operation S505, the UE 1 selects a comb offset in a same slot as indicated by the reservation of UE 2 for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool. At operation S506, the UE 1 transmits SL-PRS in the slot of the reservation of UE 1, using the comb offset selected by UE 2.
Regarding claim 25 – Zhou discloses claim 21. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS is received via frequency channels comprising the sub-channel, refer to paragraph [0035] - A candidate single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource for transmission R.sub.x, y, z (indicated with three degrees of freedom, x: frequency, y: time, z: index) is defined as a set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels with sub-channel x+j in slot t.sub.y.sup.SL where j=0, . . . , L.sub.subCH−1 and SL-PRS index, also, paragraph [0056] - the SL-PRS signal is associated with a number of sub-channels to be used in the slot, also, refer to Figure 4 and paragraph [0148] - In FIG. 4, the x-axis is a time axis and the y-axis is a frequency axis……. The y-axis is marked off in subcarriers (sub-channels), also, paragraph [0149] - The SL-PRS transmitted by UE 1 may be associated with a number of sub-channels to be used in a slot,
Regrading claim 26 – Zhou discloses claim 21. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS is associated with a SL-PRS resource pool, refer to the Abstract, also, refer to paragraph [0034] - For SL-PRS in a shared resource pool (includes data transmission), the SL-PRS symbols are not mapped to the PSSCH symbols carrying DMRS, also, paragraph [0035] - When selecting resources for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool (no data transmission), single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource candidates can be considered instead of the single-slot resource candidates used when performing resource selection for a data transmission.
Regarding claim 27 – Zhou discloses claim 26. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS resource pool is a dedicated SL-PRS resource pool, refer to abstract, also, paragraph [0035] - When selecting resources for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool (no data transmission), single-slot-Single-SL-PRS-index resource candidates can be considered instead of the single-slot resource candidates used when performing resource selection for a data transmission.
Regarding claim 28 – Zhou discloses claim 26. Zhou discloses wherein the SL-PRS resource pool is a shared SL-PRS resource pool, refer to paragraph [0034] - For SL-PRS in a shared resource pool (includes data transmission), the SL-PRS symbols are not mapped to the PSSCH symbols carrying DMRS.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7, the attorney states “but Zhou does not disclose any signaling of the selected comb offset from UE 1 to UE 2”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner uses Figures 3B and 4 in rejecting claim1. Figure 3B discloses UE1 transmitting to UE2 in S205 - Transmit, by UE1, SL-PRS at selected comb offset, also, refer to Figure 4 and paragraphs [0150] and [0151] which help to explain Figure 4, paragraph [0150] - In the example of FIG. 4, the UE 2 may be transmitting PRS on the REs marked with solid black. This transmission is within one or more subchannels (one subchannel is illustrated in FIG. 4). The UE 1 may use the logic L1 of FIG. 3A or the logic L2 of FIG. 3B to select the comb offset providing the REs shown with the diagonal hatching. In FIG. 4, the relation of one diagonal to another is referred to as a stagger. The term “comb” in 5G refers to each symbol of the PRS having a comb structure in frequency such that every Nth subcarrier is used. The value N=2 is illustrated in FIG. 4. “Comb offset” refers to whether a chosen diagonal begins on the first subcarrier, up to the Nth subcarrier, also, paragraph [0151] - In some embodiments of FIG. 4, a value of a priority is included in an SCI carried by PSCCH associated with an SL-PRS transmission.
The applicant’s Specification in paragraphs [0008] and [0009] do the same signal processing as Zhou, Specification paragraph [0008] - In an aspect, a method of operating a first user equipment (UE) includes transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) sidelink communication via a sub-channel to a second UE; and transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) in accordance with a comb offset that is based on the sub-channel, also, Specification [0009] - In an aspect, a method of operating a second user equipment (UE) includes receiving physical a sidelink control channel (PSCCH) sidelink communication from a first UE via a sub-channel; and receiving a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) in accordance with a comb offset that is based on the sub-channel.
On page 8, the attorney states “In particular, the sub-channel used to signal the SCI does not appear to be used by Zhou to indicate the comb offset”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claims 2 and 8 have been amended – SCI doesn’t appear in claim 2 or claim 8. However, Zhou does disclose “the sub-channel used to signal the SCI does appear to be used by Zhou to indicate the comb offset”.
As pointed out in the arguments bottom of page 7 and continuing to page 8 – “also, refer to Figure 10, and paragraph [0176] - At operation S505, the UE I selects a comb offset in a same slot as indicated by the reservation of UE 2 for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool. At operation S506, the UE I transmits SL-PRS in the slot of the reservation of UE 1, using the comb offset selected by UE 2.”
The examiner referred to Figure 10 and paragraph [0176], which can be used to disclose that Zhou teaches - “the sub-channel used to signal the SCI does appear to be used by Zhou to indicate the comb offset”.
Shown in Figure 10 S503 and paragraph [0174] – “At operation S503, the UE 1 performs sensing in a slot (detect SCI in a slot), similar to FIG. 8.” (Figure 8 – shows a subchannel and a slot), shown in Figure 10 S505 and paragraph [0176] - At operation S505, the UE 1 selects a comb offset in a same slot as indicated by the reservation of UE 2 for SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool. At operation S506, the UE 1 transmits SL-PRS in the slot of the reservation of UE 1, using the comb offset selected by UE 2. In S503, UE2 uses an SCI in a slot (subchannel) to select the comb offset, and “At operation S506, the UE 1 transmits SL-PRS in the slot (using SCI) of the reservation of UE 1, using the comb offset selected by UE 2”.
The examiner believes this rejection to be reasonable, therefore this action is made final. If the attorney wants a telephone interview to advance prosecution please call the examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiong et al. (US 2025/0279864 A1) discloses resource pool configuration for Sidelink positioning.
Farag et al. (US 2024/0323898 A1) discloses SL positioning on a SL interface.
Huang et al. (US 2024/0250786 A1) discloses method and apparatus for transmitting Sidelink positioning reference signal in a wireless communication system.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to John Pezzlo whose telephone number is (571) 272-3090. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday from 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A. Abaza, can be reached at telephone number (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
John Pezzlo
30 June 2026
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465B