DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office action in response to communications received on 12/8/2025. Claim 1 has been amended. Therefore claims 1-11 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–3, 5–7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Porat et al., US 11,592,262 B2 (“Porat ’262”).
Porat ’262 discloses a pistol brace assembly including:
Forward fastening flanges that extend in front of the trigger guard of a handgun, thereby increasing the effective length of the trigger guard in the firing direction (col. 4, lines 30–40; Figs. 3–5). (Claim 1)
The flanges are shaped to complement the forward surface of the trigger guard (claim 2) and are outwardly curved (claim 3).
The flanges are spaced to capture the thickness of the trigger guard (col. 5, lines 10–20) (claim 5).
The brace is constructed of left and right halves (col. 3, lines 55–65) (claim 6).
A receiver support shelf and associated upward receiver portion are disclosed (col. 5, lines 35–45) (claim 7).
A handgun mounting structure comprising a receiver support shelf and a trigger guard abutment member against which the trigger guard rests (Figs. 2A–2B) (claim 10).
Accordingly, Porat ’262 expressly discloses each limitation of claims 1–3, 5–7, and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
In the alternative, rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as obvious over Porat, US 11,592,262 B2 (“Porat ’262”) in view of Glock, US 8,156,677 B2 (“Glock”).
Alternatively (see response to arguments below), even if Porat ’262 were interpreted as including portions extending rearward of the trigger, it would have been obvious to modify the forward fastening structure to exclude rearward extension as a matter of design choice to reduce interference and improve compatibility, resulting in the claimed configuration.
Rejection of Claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as obvious over Porat, US 11,592,262 B2 (“Porat ’262”) in view of Glock, US 8,156,677 B2 (“Glock”).
Porat ’262 discloses forward flanges extending beyond the trigger guard but does not expressly show a rearwardly facing tab that snaps over the guard. Glock discloses a firearm backstrap assembly employing snap-fit coupling tabs to secure an adaptor to the receiver (col. 4, lines 15–25).
It would have been obvious to incorporate a rearwardly facing snap tab into the forward flange of Porat ’262 to improve securement of the adaptor to the trigger guard, a predictable modification using known snap-fit fastening means.
Rejection of Claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as obvious over Porat, US 11,592,262 B2 (“Porat ’262”) in view of Hogue, US 10,180,301 B2 (“Hogue”) and Glock backstraps (NPL).
Porat ’262 discloses the brace assembly but not a separate rear adaptor. Hogue discloses a beavertail grip sleeve configured to attach at the rear of the receiver, providing sidewalls, a rear wall, and a rearward projection (Figs. 1–2). Glock OEM backstraps, in widespread public use prior to 2014, disclose interchangeable rear beavertail adaptors pin-mounted to the rear of the handgun frame.
It would have been obvious to combine a known rear beavertail adaptor (Hogue/Glock backstraps) with the Porat ’262 brace system to adapt small handguns for secure mounting, a predictable combination yielding improved stability.
Rejection of Claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as obvious over Hogue, US 10,180,301 B2 (“Hogue”).
Hogue discloses a grip sleeve comprising sidewalls (30, 32), a rear wall (34), and an upper guard element that extends rearward as a beavertail. This meets the limitations of claim 9. At minimum, claim 9 is obvious in view of Hogue alone; anticipation may also apply.
Rejection of Claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as obvious over Porat, US 11,592,262 B2 (“Porat ’262”) in view of Faifer, US 8,448,366 B2 (“Faifer”) and Hogue, US 10,180,301 B2 (“Hogue”).
Porat ’262 discloses a brace assembly with receiver support shelf and trigger guard abutment. Faifer discloses a pistol chassis/brace including a rear engagement member with a groove for receiving the handgun’s rear protrusion/beavertail (col. 7, lines 10–25). Hogue discloses a rear beavertail adaptor.
It would have been obvious to modify Porat ’262 by providing a groove as taught by Faifer, sized to receive the beavertail adaptor of Hogue, thereby securing different handguns in the brace. This is a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions (KSR).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 reciting “wherein no part integral with said trigger guard adaptor extends rearward of a trigger of the handgun” has been considered but is not persuasive.
In Porat ’262, the structure corresponding to the claimed “trigger guard adaptor” is the forward fastening flanges positioned in front of the trigger guard. These flanges do not extend rearward of the trigger, and therefore meet the amended limitation. The fact that other portions of the brace assembly extend rearward is not relevant to the claimed trigger guard adaptor. Accordingly, Porat ’262 continues to anticipate claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
*Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant. Applicant is welcome to file an electronic communication authorization (sb439) form at any time if he/she would like to communicate via e-mail:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdfWithout a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. A paper copy of such correspondence will be placed in the appropriate patent application.
/MICHAEL D DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641