DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Burghart US 20250138164 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Burghart teaches a method, comprising:
identifying a peak-time interval for a set of photons where a peak photon position is located (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]);
determining a time range centered around a center of the peak-time interval (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]);
dividing the peak-time interval into a first subdivision, a second subdivision, a third subdivision, and a fourth subdivision (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]);
emitting the set of photons from a series of optical pulses, each optical pulse of the series of optical pulses having a first duration that is less than a duration of the time range (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]); and
calculating a location of the peak photon position within the peak-time interval based on a first photon count of photons of the set of photons having a time-of-flight falling within the first subdivision, a second photon count of photons of the set of photons having a time-of-flight falling within the second subdivision, a third photon count of photons of the set of photons having a time-of-flight falling within the third subdivision, and a fourth photon count of photons of the set of photons having a time-of-flight within the fourth subdivision (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]).
Regarding claim 2, Burghart teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first subdivision comprises a first half of the time range, the second subdivision comprises a second half of the time range, the third subdivision comprises a first quadrant of the time range and a last quadrant of the time range, and the fourth subdivision comprises a second quadrant of the time range and a third quadrant of the time range (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]; Examiner notes that Applicant’s first, second, third, and fourth subdivisions correspond respectively to Burghart’s Q0, Q180, Q270, and Q90).
Regarding claim 7, Burghart teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first duration is between 25% of the duration of the time range and 75% of the duration of the time range (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura teaches a device, comprising:
a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions ([0132]); and
a processor in communication with the non-transitory memory storage ([0132]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the device to:
identify a peak-time interval for a set of photons where a peak photon position is located (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]),
determine a time range centered around a center of the peak-time interval (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]),
divide the peak-time interval into a first subdivision, a second subdivision, a third subdivision, and a fourth subdivision (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]),
emit the set of photons from a series of optical pulses, each optical pulse of the series of optical pulses having a first duration that is less than a duration of the time range (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]), and
calculate a location of the peak photon position within the peak-time interval based on a first photon count of photons of the set of photons having a time-of-flight falling within the first subdivision, a second photon count of photons of the set of photons having times-of-flight falling within the second subdivision, a third photon count of photons of the set of photons having a time-of-flight falling within the third subdivision, and a fourth photon count of photons of the set of photons having a time-of-flight within the fourth subdivision (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]).
Regarding claim 9, see rejection to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 14, see rejection to claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 15, Nakamura teaches a time-of-flight system, comprising:
an optical emitter configured to emit photons (11 in Fig. 1, [0023-24]);
an optical receiver comprising a radiation-sensitive pixel (3 in Fig. 1, [0039-44]);
a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions; and
a processor in communication with the non-transitory memory storage, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the time-of-flight system to:
identify a peak-time interval for a set of photons where a peak photon position is located, the set of photons received by the optical receiver (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]),
determine a time range centered around a center of the peak-time interval (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]),
divide the peak-time interval into a first subdivision, a second subdivision, a third subdivision, and a fourth subdivision (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]),
emit, by the optical emitter, the set of photons from a series of optical pulses, each optical pulse of the series of optical pulses having a first duration that is less than a duration of the time range (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]), and
calculate a location of the peak photon position within the peak-time interval based on a first photon count of photons of the set of photons having a time-of-flight falling within the first subdivision, a second photon count of photons of the set of photons having a time-of-flight falling within the second subdivision, a third photon count of photons of the set of photons having a time-of-flight falling within the third subdivision, and a fourth photon count of photons of the set of photons having a time-of-flight within the fourth subdivision (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]).
Regarding claim 17, see rejection to claim 2 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 12-13, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burghart US 20250138164 A1 in view of Mautner US 20210199802 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Burghart teaches the method of claim 1,
Burghart does not explicitly teach wherein the peak-time interval is received from a radiation-sensitive pixel comprising a device for detecting peak-time intervals (Fig. 13B, [0123-128]).
Mautner teaches determining a narrow range for distance detection from a coarse range using control circuitry for analyzing histograms from pixels (Fig. 3, [0004, 29-30, 33-35])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burghart such that the peak-time interval is received from a radiation-sensitive pixel comprising a device for detecting peak-time intervals similar to Mautner with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping determine a specific location of an object (Mautner: [0034])
Regarding claim 6, Burghart teaches the method of claim 1,
Burghart does not explicitly teach wherein the peak-time interval is identified by a processor that receives a time-of-flight histogram from a radiation-sensitive pixel.
Mautner teaches determining a narrow range for distance detection from a coarse range using control circuitry for analyzing histograms from pixels (Fig. 3, [0004, 29-30, 33-35])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burghart such that the peak-time interval is identified by a processor that receives a time-of-flight histogram from a radiation-sensitive pixel similar to Mautner with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping determine a specific location of an object (Mautner: [0034])
Regarding claim 12, see rejection to claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 13, see rejection to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 16, Burghart teaches time-of-flight system of claim 15,
Burghart does not explicitly teach wherein the radiation-sensitive pixel comprises a Single Photon Avalanche Diode.
Mautner teaches use of SPADs (Fig. 3, [0035])
Additionally, SPADs are well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burghart such that the radiation-sensitive pixel comprises a Single Photon Avalanche Diode similar to Mautner with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of reliably detecting incoming radiation.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection to claim 5 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 10-11, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious: The method of claims 3 or 4, device of claims 10 or 11, or system of claims 18 or 19, specifically including:
Subtracting a result of the inverse tangent from the center of the peak-time interval
Burghart teaches taking an inverse tangent, but not subtracting the result from the center of a peak-time interval (Fig. 13, [0123-128]).
Nakamura US 20190383906 A1 teaches taking an inverse tangent, but not subtracting the result from the center of a peak-time interval (Figs. 3 and 5, [0026-27, 39]).
Shi US 20210325519 A1 teaches narrowing a detection histogram range (Figs. 3-4, [0044-45]) but does not teach inverse tangents.
Barry US 20220171037 A1 teaches narrowing a detection histogram range (Fig. 4, [0028-36]) but does not teach inverse tangents.
Buckley US 10895848 B1 teaches narrowing a detection histogram range (Fig. 3) but does not teach inverse tangents.
Conclusion
/J.C.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645