Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretation of a ‘computer storage medium’ includes transitory, propagating signals (e.g., electrical/electromagnetic waves), which are considered non-statutory subject matter per In re Nuijten. To overcome this rejection, the claim can be amended to explicitly recite "non-transitory" computer storage media.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite the acronym “ADC”. Because the claims do not define the acronym to mean “Apparent Diffusion Coefficient”, they are rendered indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0230310 A1), hereinafter Xie.
As to claim 1, Xie discloses a system for segmenting objects within medical images as follows: A method for correcting magnetic resonance image (see [0069-0072] which describes MRI as the imaging modality), comprising: acquiring an ADC image to be corrected, which is generated by scanning a target object using an echo planar imaging sequence (see [0071] which describes echo planar imaging for Multiple Sclerosis brain lesion segmentation) from a pulse sequence of a [portable mobile] magnetic resonance apparatus (as indicated above) and converting; inputting the ADC image to be corrected into a pre-constructed image correction model to correct a grayscale value of tissue position of the ADC image to be corrected (see Figure 4, a flowchart for volumetric segmentation (prior to block 430 where the derived image is input to a three-dimensional neural network model for volumetric segmentation) the derived image may be transmitted to a deep super resolution neural network for preprocessing in order to improve image spatial resolution (e.g., an enlargement and/or a refining of image details) of the portion of the image [0122]; because spatial resolution defines the smallest object that can be discerned in an image, it follows that this preprocessing results in the ‘correction’ of grayscale values in the image that define tissue, organs, lesions, etc.); wherein the pre-constructed image correction model is generated by function fitting based on magnetic resonance image sequences of different objects (the deep super resolution neural network is by definition a learning model; further, function fitting is the process of supervised learning in neural networks and Xie teaches the use of a convolutional neural network [0122] which can be used for supervised learning); and outputting a target image corresponding to the ADC image to be corrected (met by the output of the deep super resolution neural network). While Xie discloses a convolutional neural network, it does not explicitly disclose that the model is generated by ‘function fitting’ as part of supervised learning. However, this is not considered to be a patentable distinction in that it was notoriously well-known in the art of imaging to use CNNs trained through supervised learning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to implement the CNN in Xie trained through supervised learning in order to optimize the process of refining image details. Xie further fails to explicitly disclose a ‘portable mobile’ MR apparatus. However, this is not considered to be a patentable distinction in that such apparatuses were notoriously well-known in the art at the time of the invention. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to implement Xie with imaging derived from a portable mobile MR apparatus in order to expand the applicability of the object segmentation method to patients requiring a mobile imaging system, such as those in ICUs and emergency departments.
Claim 8 is met as discussed above for claim 1.
Claim 9 is met as discussed above for claim 1. Further, note the non-transitory computer readable storage medium disclosed in [0150].
Claim 10 is met as discussed above for claim 1. Further, note the computing environment 100, Figure 1, and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium disclosed in [0150].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422