DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo et al. (US 5,955,093) in view of Maas et al. (US 2012/0048959 A1).
Regarding claims 1-5, Woo teaches a packaged product (fabric refreshening liquid inside a container); [abstract, 3: 55-67, 28: 56-67], comprising a liquid fabric freshening composition with cyclodextrin (instant claims 3,4) in the amount of 0.1-5 wt.%; [abstract, 2: 30-35, claim 9], and a trigger-type spray dispenser; [29: 1-5, 30: 25-30], wherein upon manual trigger activation the freshening composition is delivered onto surface of a substrate (i.e. a fabric material). Note that cyclodextrin is of hydroxy propyl alpha-cyclodextrin (HPACD) and hydroxy propyl beta-cyclodextrin (HPBCD) type (instant claim 2); [36: 25-26, 63-64]. The liquid composition further comprises (Instant claim 5) cyclodextrin compatible surfactant(s); [36: 47-50], and perfume; [36: 34-35].
Regarding claims 1 and 6-9, Woo does not teach its trigger spray device as being able to deliver the liquid material in spray form for a precise period of time as desired. However, the analogous art of Maas teaches a trigger spray dispenser for delivering liquid compositions on surfaces which is designed with unique and special mechanism that can spray the liquid in continuous or semi-continuous way with any desired time duration; [abstract, 6, 27, 45-46]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use (by replacing) the trigger spray device (container) of Mass for Woo’s composition for enabling to treat a substrate’s surface with any desired amount of liquid active material at any desired period of time with the motivation of saving the chemicals from waste and over use, as instantly claimed and identically taught by Maas above.
Regarding claims 10-12, Woo teaches the average droplet size (as construed DV50) of 10-120 micron; [claim 25].
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo et al. (US 5,955,093) in view of Maas et al. (US 2012/0048959 A1).
Regarding claims 13-14, Woo teaches a method refreshing variety of fabric articles’ surfaces (i.e. minimal dimension of 0.6 meters) such as carpet, bedding, upholstery, clothes; [31: 58-67], with a liquid composition comprising 0.1-5 wt.% cyclodextrin; [abstract, 2: 30-35, claim 9], with a trigger spray type dispenser; [29: 1-5, 30: 25-30].
Woo does not teach its trigger spray device as being able to deliver the liquid material in spray form for a precise period of time as desired. However, the analogous art of Maas teaches a trigger spray dispenser for delivering liquid compositions on surfaces which is designed with unique and special mechanism that can spray the liquid in continuous or semi-continuous way with any desired time duration; [abstract, 6, 27, 45-46]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use (by replacing) the trigger spray device (container) of Mass for Woo’s composition for enabling to treat a substrate’s surface with any desired amount of liquid active material at any desired period of time with the motivation of saving the chemical from waste and over use, as instantly claimed and identically taught by Maas above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026/06/01 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Because,
In response to applicant’s argument (page 6) that; “Even if, arguendo, a prima facie case of obviousness is established, it has been overcome by the showing of unexpected results in the specification. Unexpected results are demonstrated in the specification regarding the use of a liquid fabric freshening composition that comprises from 1 wt% to 5 wt% of cyclodextrin in a manually activated trigger-type spray
dispenser capable of continuously dispensing the liquid fabric freshening composition for a duration of at least 0.4 seconds and the effect on focused non-volatile delivery.”, it should be noted that the very prior art of Maas teaches this limitation identically by stating the spray time in any desired time duration; [45], thus rendering the argument moot.
B- In response to applicant’s argument (page 7) that: “Notably, the effect of changing from the non-continuous trigger-activated spray dispenser to the continuous trigger-activated spray dispenser with the high-cyclodextrin composition was much larger-Inventive Sample (I) delivered about 255% more weight of non-volatiles over Comparative Sample (B). Applicant's specification states that:..……”, it is noted that; I)- the combination of prior arts of record would indeed provide the same results according to the claimed limitations and there is no reason to assume or conclude the otherwise. II)- Furthermore the comparison and explanation of samples A, B and C and further synergistic effects as argued (see page 6 2nd paragraph: "surprisingly and unexpectedly delivers a synergistically improved odor control and malodor reduction benefit (in comparison with similar packaged products either with a lower level of cyclodextrin or with a non-continuous trigger-activated spray dispenser).") not only considered being expectedly taught by prior arts, but at the same time are not even commensurate with scope of the claims at hand.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/09/03
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767