Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 10/24/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-7 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the §112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action. Claims no longer invoke interpretation under 35 USC 112(f).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US20140172192A1 Kato ("Kato").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20240255952A1 Shimamoto et al ("Shimamoto", previously cited) in view of US20140172192A1 Kato ("Kato").
As per claims 1, 6, and 7, Shimamoto teaches the limitations of the system, method, and product:
An information processing system comprising: a search system mounted on a vehicle and configured to search for a mobile information terminal owned by a user of the vehicle before the user of the vehicle gets on the vehicle, the search system performing the search in response to an authentication system of the vehicle authenticating an electronic key of the vehicle that is carried by the user of the vehicle; and a computer mounted on the vehicle and including a processor and a memory, the processor executing instructions stored in the memory and configured to control a component of the vehicle according to a setting for the component set in advance by the user, the processor controlling the component of the vehicle before the user of the vehicle gets on the vehicle when specific terminal information included in the mobile information terminal that was searched for matches terminal information previously registered in the memory of the computer (Shimamoto at least the abstract, [0008], [0029], [0042-0043], [0052-0053]).
Shimamoto does not disclose:
the component of the vehicle that is controlled by the computer is one or more of (i) a driver's seat of the vehicle, (ii) a steering wheel of the vehicle, (iii) a display of the vehicle, and (iv) an instrument cluster of the vehicle.
Kato teaches the aforementioned limitations (Kato at least [0028]: “FIG. 2 is a block diagram depicting coupling between the control module 32 and adjustable devices including the seat 12, the mirror 28, the steering wheel 14, the brake pedal 16, the acceleration pedal 18, the HVAC 36, and the infotainment controller 38.”, [0022]: “The control module 32 is adapted to adjust or personalize the one or more of the adjustable vehicle devices in accordance with personalization data 22 received by the control module 32.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shimamoto with the aforementioned limitations taught by Kato with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve the comfort and convenience of the driver (Kato [0003]).
As per claim 2, Shimamoto in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Shimamoto further teaches:
the terminal information is shared with another system of the vehicle different from the computer. (Shimamoto at least [0054])
As per claim 3, Shimamoto in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Shimamoto further teaches:
the other system is a remote parking system of the vehicle that is operated by using the mobile information terminal. (Shimamoto at least [0018-0021])
As per claim 4, Shimamoto in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Shimamoto further teaches:
the search system preferentially searches for the mobile information terminal that includes the terminal information registered in the memory of the computer. (Shimamoto at least [0038-0047])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669