This action is in response to the original filing of 4/2/2024 and the supplemental amendment filed 4/4/2024. Claim 1 has been canceled. Claims 2-25 are new. Claims 2-25 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 2-5, 7-13, 15-21, 23-24 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gale et al. (US 6,487,495 B1) in view of Burch (US 6,868,320 B1).
Claim 1. (Canceled)
Claim 2. Gale discloses an electronic device, comprising: a display generation component; one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
… displaying, via the display generation component, a maps user interface of a maps application, a user requests navigation- or map-related services from a keyword-enabled navigation application (C 3 L 21-22) the navigation- or map-related services provided by a navigation service server may include route calculation, route guidance, and map display (C 12 L 4-8),
… display a bookmark user interface a person may register a keyword with an associated the street address or geographic coordinates and save the geographic database map location with the keyword data (C 5 L 65 – C 6 L 6) the user accesses a keyword search engine (C 19 L 41-50) a user enters a keyword of a desired destination in the keyword-enabled navigation application that accesses the keyword server with a query for the map-specific location associated with the keyword (C 22 L 54-59) a keyword can be associated with a symbol or icon rendered on a map image (C 27 L 5-9) The keyword-enabled navigation application can request navigation- or map-related services which can include a map display, a user may access a keyword search engine and execute a query on a keyword or select a symbol or icon on the map associated with a keyword or location, previously saved by a user, to request geolocation data associated with the keyword;
… displaying the bookmark user interface, wherein the bookmark user interface includes one or more location user interface objects, and wherein the one or more location user interface objects correspond to respective locations bookmarked by a user of the electronic device, a keyword is associated with a street address or geographic (C 5 L 65 – C 6 L 6) the user accesses a keyword search engine (C 19 L 41-50) the saved keywords can be displayed on the map image as symbols or icons (C 27 L 5-9);
while displaying the bookmark user interface, detecting user input requesting to edit the one or more location user interface objects; in response to detecting the user input requesting to edit the one or more location user interface objects, displaying, via the display generation component, one or more deletion user interface objects corresponding to the one or more location user interface objects; while displaying the one or more deletion user interface objects, detecting user input corresponding to a respective deletion user interface object, a keyword maintenance program provides a means for a user to modify, update or delete a keyword or any information associated with the keyword, and change the keyword relationship (C 6 L 28-36) users may use the keyword registration system to modify the map-specific locations associated with keywords, change the keywords, update the information associated with keywords (C 23 L 53-56); and
in response to detecting user input corresponding to the respective deletion user interface object: in accordance with a determination that the respective deletion user interface object corresponds to a first location user interface object, the saved keywords can be displayed on the map image as symbols or icons (C 27 L 5-9) The keywords can be represented by symbol or icons, therefore deleting information associated with a keyword includes deleting the symbol or icon representing the keyword.
Gale does not disclose while displaying, via the display generation component, a maps user interface of a maps application; detecting user input corresponding to a request to display a bookmark user interface; in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the request to display the bookmark user interface, displaying the bookmark user interface; ceasing display of the first location user interface object on the bookmark user interface while maintaining display of a second location user interface object on the bookmark user interface; and in accordance with a determination that the respective deletion user interface object corresponds to the second location user interface object, ceasing display of the second location user interface object on the bookmark user interface while maintaining display of the first location user interface object on the bookmark user interface, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Burch discloses waypoints can be user created (C 5 L 4-6) waypoints and locations are displayed on a map screen and selecting a waypoint or location displays a displays a popup window for the selected waypoint or location (C 6 L 4-13) a way point screen can be selected to display waypoints and waypoints can be selected and selected waypoints can be created, edited or deleted (C 6 L 39-40). Gale discloses that user defined keywords associated to geographic locations are displayed on a map and are selectable to be edited and deleted. Burch discloses that a popup window is displayed when a user-created waypoint is selected on a map and also that a waypoint editing page is displayed to a user to create, edit or delete waypoints. Therefore, considering the teachings of Gale and Burch, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to combine while displaying, via the display generation component, a maps user interface of a maps application; detecting user input corresponding to a request to display a bookmark user interface; in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the request to display the bookmark user interface, displaying the bookmark user interface; ceasing display of the first location user interface object on the bookmark user interface while maintaining display of a second location user interface object on the bookmark user interface; and in accordance with a determination that the respective deletion user interface object corresponds to the second location user interface object, ceasing display of the second location user interface object on the bookmark user interface while maintaining display of the first location user interface object on the bookmark user interface with the teachings of Gale with the motivation to clarify that the means for editing, creating and deleting user defined location based keywords displayed on and selected from the map image of Gale is performed through a user interface well-known in the art and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Claim 3. Gale and Burch disclose the electronic device of claim 2, and Gale discloses wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: while displaying the bookmark user interface, detecting user input corresponding to a respective location user interface object; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the respective location user interface object, displaying, via the display generation component, an area on a digital map of the maps user interface corresponding to a location of the respective location user interface object, a user can request a specific physical location navigation or map-related information, for example a location to be used as a destination for driving directions (C 12 L 10-18) including a map display or routing guidance (C 13 L 12-16).
Claim 4. Gale and Burch disclose the electronic device of claim 2, and Gale discloses wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: while displaying the bookmark user interface detecting user input corresponding to a respective location user interface object; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the respective location user interface object, displaying, via the display generation component, an address corresponding to a location of the respective location user interface object in a starting location region of the maps user interface, a user can request a specific physical location navigation or map-related information, for example a location to be used as a destination for driving directions (C 12 L 10-18) including a street address (C 12 L 37-42) including a map display or routing guidance (C 13 L 12-16) the navigation or map related information may include a destination, a starting point, or a map location (C 15 L 15-17).
Claim 5. Gale and Burch disclose the electronic device of claim 2, but Gale does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: while displaying the bookmark user interface, detecting user input corresponding to a respective location user interface object; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the respective location user interface object, displaying, via the display generation component, an address corresponding to a location of the respective location user interface object in a destination location region of the maps user interface, as disclosed in the claims. However, Gale discloses the requested navigation or map related data includes route calculation, route guidance and map display (C 12 L 4-9) a user can request a specific physical location navigation or map-related information, for example a location to be used as a destination for driving directions (C 12 L 10-18) including a street address (C 12 L 37-42) including a map display or routing guidance (C 13 L 12-16) the navigation or map related information may include a destination, a starting point, or a map location (C 15 L 15-17). While Gale does not explicitly disclose that the provided navigation and map related data includes both a map display and an address for a given keyword, but the examiner believes it would have been obvious to display the keyword address information along with the location of the keyword on the map display, especially when providing navigation information, with the same motivation used in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 7. Gale and Burch disclose the electronic device of claim 2, and Gale discloses wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: while displaying the maps user interface, detecting user input corresponding to an add bookmark user interface object; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the add bookmark use interface object, bookmarking a new location, a user locates a location on a map image and associates a keyword with the selected location (C 5 L 20-30).
Claim 8. Gale and Burch disclose the electronic device of claim 7, but Gale does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: after bookmarking the new location and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the request to display the bookmark user interface, displaying, via the display generation component, the bookmark user interface, including: the one or more location user interface objects; and a new location user interface object corresponding to the new location, as disclosed in the claims. However, Gale discloses a user locates a location on a map image and associates a keyword with the selected location, and the keyword maintenance program provides interfaces for a user to enter an address of the location, or geographic coordinates (C 5 L 20-54). Burch discloses waypoints can be user created (C 5 L 4-6) waypoints and locations are displayed on a map screen and selecting a waypoint or location displays a displays a popup window for the selected waypoint or location (C 6 L 4-13) a way point screen can be selected to display waypoints and waypoints can be selected and selected waypoints can be created, edited or deleted (C 6 L 39-40). Gale discloses that user defined keywords associated to geographic locations are displayed on a map and are selectable to be edited and deleted. Burch discloses that a popup window is displayed when a user-created waypoint is selected on a map and also that a waypoint editing page is displayed to a user to create, edit or delete waypoints. While Gale does not explicitly disclose that the provided bookmark interface is in the form of a list of bookmarks, as in Burch, the examiner believes it would have been obvious to display the bookmark interface of Burch in Gale, with the same motivation used in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 9. Gale and Burch disclose the electronic device of claim 2, but Gale does not disclose wherein the one or more location user interface objects correspond to respective locations selected from the group consisting of: an address, a landmark, and a name of business, as disclosed in the claims. However, Gale discloses a user locates a location on a map image and associates a keyword with the selected location, and the keyword maintenance program provides interfaces for a user to enter an address of the location, or geographic coordinates (C 5 L 20-54). Burch discloses waypoints can be user created (C 5 L 4-6) waypoints and locations are displayed on a map screen and selecting a waypoint or location displays a displays a popup window for the selected waypoint or location (C 6 L 4-13) a way point screen can be selected to display waypoints and waypoints can be selected and selected waypoints can be created, edited or deleted (C 6 L 39-40). Gale discloses that user defined keywords associated to geographic locations are displayed on a map and are selectable to be edited and deleted. Burch discloses that a popup window is displayed when a user-created waypoint is selected on a map and also that a waypoint editing page is displayed to a user to create, edit or delete waypoints. While Gale does not explicitly disclose that the provided bookmark interface is in the form of a list of bookmarks, as in Burch, the examiner believes it would have been obvious to display the bookmark interface of Burch in Gale, with the same motivation used in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claims 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17 are directed to method claims similar to the electronic device claims of Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9 and are rejected with the same rationale.
Claims 18, 19, 20, 21, 23, 24, 25 are directed to method claims similar to the electronic device claims of Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9 and are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim(s) 6, 14, 22 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gale et al. (US 6,487,495 B1) in view of Burch (US 6,868,320 B1) and further in view of Kakihara et al. (US 5,274,387).
Claim 6. Gale and Burch disclose the electronic device of claim 2, but Gale does not disclose wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: in response to detecting the user input requesting to edit the one or more location user interface objects, displaying, via the display generation component, one or more moving user interface objects; while displaying the one or more moving user interface objects, detecting user input corresponding to a respective moving user interface object of the one or more moving user interface objects; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the respective moving user interface object of the one or more moving user interface objects, re-arranging respective positions of the one or more location user interface objects with respect to one another on the bookmark user interface, as disclosed in the claims. However, Gale discloses the interface on the user's system allows the user to "drag" the icon to another icon that represents a route calculation application causing the route calculation application to calculate a route to the location represented by the icon (using the keyword associated with the icon) (C 27 L 16-21) and Burch discloses a split-screen moving map (C 2 L 25-28) a map screen displaying a speed, distance to next waypoint, bearing and track (C 7 L 65 – C 8 L 3). In the same field of invention, Kakihara discloses a vehicle symbol moves on a non-scrolled map to coincide with the actual movement of the vehicle (C 9 L 565-58) displaying a route and map information including a moving marker symbol of a vehicle as the vehicle drives on the route (Claim 1). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gale, Burch and Kakihara, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: in response to detecting the user input requesting to edit the one or more location user interface objects, displaying, via the display generation component, one or more moving user interface objects; while displaying the one or more moving user interface objects, detecting user input corresponding to a respective moving user interface object of the one or more moving user interface objects; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the respective moving user interface object of the one or more moving user interface objects, re-arranging respective positions of the one or more location user interface objects with respect to one another on the bookmark user interface with the teachings of Gale and Burch with the motivation to provide the user with dynamic information as a vehicle follows a route to allow the user to have a more informed perspective when determining and understanding a route.
Claims 14 are directed to method claims similar to the electronic device claims of Claims 6 and are rejected with the same rationale.
Claims 22 are directed to method claims similar to the electronic device claims of Claims 6 and are rejected with the same rationale.
Conclusion
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145 9/27/2026
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145