oDETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/2/2024 has been considered by the examiner
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: "a rib" is already recited in claim 1, therefore amending to "the rib" for proper antecedent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8, 13, 14, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US Pub 2020/0319672 in view of Han et al US Pub 20150043174 (provided in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches,
A foldable electronic device (figs 1-4) comprising:
a foldable housing (100 including two housing 110, 120) comprising multiple housings and at least one hinge (hinge corresponding to 165) configured to rotatably couple the multiple housings, the folding housing being folded around the hinge (as seen in figures 1-2 open and closed configuration; and
a flexible display (figure 3-4, element 130, element 400) disposed on the foldable housing so as to be folded according to a folding operation of the foldable housing,
wherein the flexible display comprises:
a panel layer (element 430, figure 4b) configured to display image information,
a glass layer (element 410) positioned above the panel layer with reference to a direction in which the image information is displayed, the glass layer being folded when the flexible display is folded (as seen in figures 1-2 display 400 is foldable therefore glass layer is folded when the flexible display is folded) and ,
a folding region(region indicated by H3 in figure 3b) positioned on a folding part of the glass layer.
Kim does not teach the folding region comprising multiple through-holes formed to penetrate the glass layer in a thickness direction and arranged regularly on a surface of the glass layer, and a rib which is a region between the multiple through-holes adjacent to each other,
a flexible polymer region comprising a transparent and elastic flexible polymer material positioned in the through-holes, and
a hard coating layer positioned on upper surfaces of the glass layer and the flexible polymer region, the hard coating layer having a higher elastic modulus than the transparent and elastic flexible polymer material. However, providing a folding region including features of through holes and flexible polymer position in the through holes and hard coating layer on the upper surface of glass layer is not new in the art.
Han in similar field of foldable electronic device (display apparatus) teaches, a glass layer (figure 3&7, 300a) including a folding region (figures 3&5-7, folding region 350) positioned on a folding part of the glass layer,
the folding region comprising multiple through-holes (for citation purpose figure 3, element 371 is indicating the hole, same structure in figure 7) formed to penetrate the glass layer in a thickness direction and arranged regularly on a surface of the glass layer, and a rib (rig being the region corresponding to element 360 between multiple through -holes adjacent to each other) which is a region between the multiple through-holes adjacent to each other,
a flexible polymer region (element 380, soft material paragraphs 60, 76-77) comprising a transparent (paragraph 60) and elastic flexible polymer material (paragraph 77) positioned in the through-holes (as seen in figure 7), and
a hard coating layer (element 390, figure 7) positioned on upper surfaces of the glass layer and the flexible polymer region, the hard coating layer having a higher elastic modulus than the transparent and elastic flexible polymer material (paragraphs 26 and 77, hard coating layer 390 comprises greater strength and flexibility than soft 380).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the configuration of the glass layer as taught by Han such that the glass layer includes
the folding region comprising multiple through-holes formed to penetrate the glass layer in a thickness direction and arranged regularly on a surface of the glass layer, and a rib which is a region between the multiple through-holes adjacent to each other, a flexible polymer region comprising a transparent and elastic flexible polymer material positioned in the through-holes, and a hard coating layer positioned on upper surfaces of the glass layer and the flexible polymer region, the hard coating layer having a higher elastic modulus than the transparent and elastic flexible polymer material as the configuration of the glass layer of Kim, such configuration will ensure the desired flexibility and furthermore improve the durability (paragraph 78 Han) of the foldable electronic device.
Regarding claim 2,
Kim as modified by Han teaches the hard coating layer has a greater elastic modulus than of the transparent and elastic flexible polymer material (as described in claim 1).
Kim as modified by Han does not teach the specific range of the elastic modulus, specifically the following is not taught, wherein the transparent and elastic flexible polymer material has an elastic modulus of 1 to 1000kPa, and
wherein the hard coating layer has an elastic modulus of 1 to 10Gpa.
However, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to pick the elastic modulus for the transparent and elastic flexible polymer material to be in range of 1 to 1000kPa and the hard coating layer has an elastic modulus of 1 to 10Gpa, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Furthermore, providing the specific workable range as claimed will ensure the desired level of rigidness and flexibility is achieved and thereby the durability of the device is improved.
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Han teaches,
Wherein the through-holes comprises at least one of slit shapes extending in a direction parallel to a folding axis of the foldable electronic device (figure 3 &7 shows the slits shape of the through hole in region indicated by 371) or rhombus shapes having diagonal lines arranged parallel to the folding axis on a surface of the glass layer.
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified by Han teaches
wherein the folding region (Figure 10 of Kim) comprises:
a first folding region (region B4 in figure 10) which is a region adjacent to a folding axis of the foldable electronic device, and a second folding region (region B5 in figure 10) positioned on a peripheral portion of the first folding region around the folding axis of the foldable electronic device, wherein,
when the foldable electronic device is folded, a radius of curvature of the first folding region is larger than a radius of curvature of the second folding region (as seen in figure 10, radius of curvature of B4 region is larger than the radius of curvature of the region of B5), and wherein a width of at least one of the through-holes or the rib in the first folding region is small compared with the second folding region (as seen in the zoomed view of B4 and B5 in figure 10, the first folding region has smaller rib compared to the ribs in second folding region).
Regarding claim 13,
Kim as modified by Han teaches the glass layer therefore, at least some value of fracture strength and surface compressive strength is provided.
Kim as modified by Han does not teach the glass layer has a fracture strength of 3 kgf or above 3 kgf and a surface compressive strength of 100 MPa or above 100 MPa, based on ASTM F1306-16 standards. However, providing specific glass characteristic including fracture strength and surface compressive strength is not new in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to select the workable range for the glass layer such that a fracture strength of 3 kgf or above 3 kgf and a surface compressive strength of 100 MPa or above 100 MPa, based on ASTM F1306-16 standards, such modification will provide the desired level of strength to the glass layer, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Regarding claim 14,
Kim as modified by Han teaches the glass layer as described in claim 1. Furthermore, the office notes this is a usable claim and not a structural limiting claim to limit the glass layer or the electronic device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to select the workable range for the glass layer such that the glass layer has a strength determined such that, when a pen input device comprising a pen tip of a 0.3mm diameter and having a weight of 5.6g fall vertically to the surface of the glass layer, wherein the glass layer is not damaged in case that a fall height of the pen input device is 6cm or above 6cm, and wherein, when the pen input device is pressurized against the surface of the glass layer, the glass layer is not damaged in case that a pressurization load of the pen input device is 0.3kgf or above 0.3kgf, such modification will provide the desired level of strength to the glass layer, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Furthermore, the office notes the pen input device is not positively recited.
Regarding claim 16, Kim as modified by Han teaches,
a display protection member positioned on an upper portion of the glass layer (as taught in claim 1, the protection member is element 390); and a plurality of ribs between neighboring through-holes of the multiple through-holes (as described in claim 1 the ribs between neighboring through holes).
Regarding claim 17, Kim as modified by Han teaches,
wherein a width of the multiple through holes decreases as the plurality of ribs are deformed by a compressive stress in an inner area when the display protection member is folded (as taught in figure 6 of Han the deformation by a compressive stress such that the holes shape changes, Wi vs Wo).
Regarding claim 18, Kim as modified by Han teaches,
wherein a width of the multiple through holes increases as the plurality of ribs are deformed by a tensile stress in an outer area (as taught in figure 6 of Han the deformation by a compressive stress such that the holes shape changes , Wi vs Wo).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US Pub 2020/0319672 in view of Han et al US Pub 2015/0043174 in view of Park et al. US Pub 2021/0118337.
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified teaches,
wherein the folding region comprises a rib which is a region between the multiple through-holes adjacent to each other (figure 3 and 7 of Kim and as described in claim 1),
Kim as modified by Han does not teach the rib comprises a wave shape bent in a direction perpendicular to a folding axis on a surface of the glass layer. However, modifying the shapes of the pattern in the folding region in a foldable electronic device is not new.
Park in similar field of foldable electronic device teaches a substrate having various shapes including a wave shape bent (paragraph 58).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the ribs of Kim as modified by Han with the teaching of having various shapes including wave shape bent, specifically, the rib comprises a wave shape bent in a direction perpendicular to a folding axis on a surface of the glass layer, such modification will provide the desired bending radius and flexibility.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US Pub 2020/0319672 in view of Han et al US Pub 2015/0043174 in view of Choi et al. US Pub 2022/0199922
Regarding claim 7,
Kim as modified Han teaches the through-holes as described in claim 1.
Kim as modified by Han does not teach wherein the through-holes comprise taper shapes such that a width of the through-holes changes gradually along the thickness direction of the glass layer.
Choi teaches foldable electronic device teaches a substrate having various shapes (figure 6b) including the through-holes comprise taper shapes (figure 9, taper gradually changes along the thickness direction of the substrate) such that a width of the through-holes changes gradually along the thickness direction of the substrate.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to modify the shape of the through-hole of Kim as modified by Han with the teaching of through hole comprising a taper shapes such that the width of the through holes changes gradually along the thickness direction of the glass layer, such modification will provide the desired bendability and improve impact resistance.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US Pub 2020/0319672 in view of Han et al US Pub 2015/0043174 in view of Ko et al. US Pub 2014/0226275.
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified teaches,
wherein the folding region (Figure 10 of Kim) comprises:
a first folding region (region B4 in figure 10) which is a region adjacent to a folding axis of the foldable electronic device, and a second folding region (region B5 in figure 10) positioned on a peripheral portion of the first folding region around the folding axis of the foldable electronic device, wherein the first folding region is folded in, when the foldable electronic device is folded, such that an upper end portion of the glass layer is positioned inside a curved shape formed by folding of the first folding region (at least figure 10 shows in-fold configuration),
wherein a width of at least one of the through-holes or the rib in the first folding region is small compared with the second folding region (as seen in the zoomed view of B4 and B5 in figure 10, the first folding region has smaller rib compared to the ribs in second folding region).
Kim as modified by Han does not teach wherein the second folding region is folded out such that upper end portion of the glass is positioned outside a curved shape formed in the second folding region. However, providing a foldable electronic device that is capable of being in-fold and out-fold is not new in the art.
Ko in similar field (figures 13a, 14a) of foldable electronic device teaches the second folding region (as seen in figure 14a) is folded out such that upper end portion of the glass (element 300 is position outside) is positioned outside a curved shape formed in the second folding region. Furthermore, Ko in figure 13a shows in-fold configuration.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Ko of having a hinge structure/foldable electronic device that is capable of folding in and out such that Kim's as modified structure of second folding region is folded out such that upper end portion of the glass is positioned outside a curved shape formed in the second folding region, such modification will provide user multiple viewing angles and thereby increasing the functionality of the electronic device.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US Pub 2020/0319672 in view of Han et al US Pub 2015/0043174 in view of Ko et al. US Pub 2014/0226275 and further in view of Choi et al. US Pub 2022/0199922.
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified teaches,
The through holes provided in the first folding region and the second folding region as described in claim 1 and 9.
Kim as modified does not teach wherein the through-holes comprise a taper such that the width of the through-holes changes gradually along the thickness direction of the glass layer, and wherein the through-holes in the first folding region and the second folding region have tapers in opposite directions.
Choi teaches foldable electronic device teaches a substrate having various shapes (figure 6b) including the through-holes comprise a taper (figure 9) such that the width of the through-holes changes gradually along the thickness direction of the glass layer, and wherein the through-holes in the first folding region and the second folding region have tapers in opposite directions (figure 9, provides taper shape in both direction based on the desired bending radius and orientation).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the shape of the through-hole of Kim as modified by Han with the teaching of through hole comprising a taper such that the width of the through-holes changes gradually along the thickness direction of the glass layer, and wherein the through-holes in the first folding region and the second folding region have tapers in opposite directions, such modification will provide the desired bendability, bending radius/orientation and improve impact resistance.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US Pub 2020/0319672 in view of Han et al US Pub 2015/0043174 in view of Jeong et al. US Pub 2020/0159287.
Regarding claim 11,
Kim as modified by Han teaches the foldable housing comprising at least two housing and a hinge portion (figure 1-2 and as described in claim 1).
Kim as modified by Han does not teach wherein the foldable housing comprises a first housing, a second housing, a third housing, a first hinge portion configured to foldably connect the first housing and the second housing, and a second hinge portion configured to foldably connect the second housing and the third housing, wherein the folding region comprises a first folding region positioned in a region of the glass layer corresponding to the first hinge portion, and a second folding region positioned in a region of the glass layer corresponding to the second hinge portion, wherein the first folding region is folded in, when the foldable electronic device is folded, such that an upper end portion of the glass layer is positioned inside a curved shape formed by folding of the first folding region, and wherein the second folding region is folded out such that the upper end portion of the glass layer is positioned outside a curved shape formed in the second folding region.
Jeong in similar field of foldable electronic device (figures 1& 2e) teaches a foldable housing (HS) comprises a first housing (figure 2e, the top housing closest to R1), a second housing (Fig. 2e, the middle section between R1 and R2), a third housing (figure 2e, housing HS closest to R2), a first hinge portion(region of R1) configured to foldably connect the first housing and the second housing, and a second hinge portion (R2) configured to foldably connect the second housing and the third housing, wherein the folding region comprises a first folding region positioned in a region of the glass layer corresponding to the first hinge portion (figure 2e and figure 3 teaches layers of the display panel including Window FC3), and a second folding region (region of R3) positioned in a region of the glass layer corresponding to the second hinge portion, wherein the first folding region is folded in (figure 2e, similar to figure 8b of present application), when the foldable electronic device is folded, such that an upper end portion of the glass layer is positioned inside a curved shape formed by folding of the first folding region (as seen in figure 2e corresponding to Bx1/R1), and wherein the second folding region is folded out such that the upper end portion of the glass layer is positioned outside a curved shape formed in the second folding region (figure 2e, similar to figure 8b of present application; out fold R2/Bx2 region).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Jeong of multiple housing being three housing and respectively hinge portions being connecting each of the housings as the multiple housing of Kim as modified sch that a first housing, a second housing, a third housing, a first hinge portion configured to foldably connect the first housing and the second housing, and a second hinge portion configured to foldably connect the second housing and the third housing, wherein the folding region comprises a first folding region positioned in a region of the glass layer corresponding to the first hinge portion, and a second folding region positioned in a region of the glass layer corresponding to the second hinge portion, wherein the first folding region is folded in, when the foldable electronic device is folded, such that an upper end portion of the glass layer is positioned inside a curved shape formed by folding of the first folding region, and wherein the second folding region is folded out such that the upper end portion of the glass layer is positioned outside a curved shape formed in the second folding region, such modification will provide a more optimal electronic device that can be folded into tri-fold and thus providing smaller device to be portable.
Regarding claim 12,
Kim as modified by Han teaches the foldable housing comprising at least two housing and a hinge portion (figure 1-2 and as described in claim 1).
Kim as modified by Han does not teach wherein the foldable housing comprises a first housing, a second housing, a third housing, a first hinge portion configured to foldably connect the first housing and the second housing, and a second hinge portion configured to foldably connect the second housing and the third housing, wherein the folding region comprises a first folding region positioned in a region of the glass layer corresponding to the first hinge portion, and a second folding region positioned in a region of the glass layer corresponding to the second hinge portion, and wherein, when the foldable electronic device is folded, a radius of curvature of the second folding region is larger than a radius of curvature of the first folding region, and the first housing is folded to be positioned between the second housing and the third housing.
Jeong in similar field of foldable electronic device (figures 1& 2e) teaches a foldable housing (HS) comprises a first housing (figure 2e, the middle housing between R1 and R2), a second housing (Fig. 2e, Top housing closest to R1), a third housing (figure 2e, housing HS closest to R2), a first hinge portion configured to foldable connect the first housing and the second housing (R1), and a second hinge portion configured to foldably connect the second housing and the third housing (R2), wherein the folding region comprises a first folding region (region corresponding to R1) positioned in a region of the glass layer (figure 2e and figure 3 teaches layers of the display panel including Window FC3) corresponding to the first hinge portion (R1), and a second folding region (region corresponding to R2) positioned in a region of the glass layer corresponding to the second hinge portion (r2), and wherein, when the foldable electronic device is folded, a radius of curvature of the second folding region is larger than a radius of curvature of the first folding region (as seen in figure 2e, R2 larger than R1), and the first housing is folded to be positioned between the second housing and the third housing (figure 2e, first housing as described above between the second and third housings).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Jeong of multiple housing being three housing and respectively hinge portions being connecting each of the housings as the multiple housing of Kim as modified such that a first housing, a second housing, a third housing, a first hinge portion configured to foldably connect the first housing and the second housing, and a second hinge portion configured to foldably connect the second housing and the third housing, wherein the folding region comprises a first folding region positioned in a region of the glass layer corresponding to the first hinge portion, and a second folding region positioned in a region of the glass layer corresponding to the second hinge portion, and wherein, when the foldable electronic device is folded, a radius of curvature of the second folding region is larger than a radius of curvature of the first folding region, and the first housing is folded to be positioned between the second housing and the third housing, such modification will provide a more optimal electronic device that can be folded into tri-fold and thus providing smaller device to be portable.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US Pub 2020/0319672 in view of Han et al US Pub 2015/0043174 further in view of Hwang et al. US Pub 2018/0081088.
Regarding claim 15,
Kim as modified by Han teaches the glass layer and the radius of curvature as described in claim 1 and figures 1-4.
Kim as modified by Han does not teach the specific value of the radius of curvature, specifically, wherein the glass layer is configured to bend without fracture at a radius of curvature of 5mm or a radius of curvature larger than 0mm and smaller than 5mm. However, modifying the value of radius of curvature is not new in the art.
Hwang in similar field of foldable electronic device (title) teaches glass layer (110, figure 1-2) is configured to bend without fracture at a radius of curvature larger than 0mm and smaller than 5mm (paragraph 13, radius of curvature of 4.5mm or less).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the radius of curvature of 4.5mm or less as taught by Hwang as the radius of curvature for glass layer of Kim as modified by Han, such radius curvature would protect the glass layer without breaking or peeling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Primary reasons for allowance for claim 3 is that the pertinent prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed inventions as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as claimed by the applicant, specifically the following limitation in combination with the independent claim limitation:
a hardness transition layer positioned below the hard coating layer and above the glass layer, the hardness transition layer comprising a medium-hardness polymer material having an elastic modulus higher than the transparent and elastic flexible polymer material and lower than the hard coating layer, wherein the hardness transition layer comprises: a first hardness transition layer comprising a material having a same elastic modulus as the transparent and elastic flexible polymer material, and a second hardness transition layer comprising the medium-hardness polymer material.
Primary reasons for allowance for claim 4 is that the pertinent prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed inventions as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as claimed by the applicant, specifically the following limitation in combination with the independent claim limitation:
a repulsive force absorption layer positioned below the glass layer, wherein the repulsive force absorption layer comprises: a first repulsive force absorption layer, and a second repulsive force absorption layer having a higher elastic modulus than the first repulsive force absorption layer.
In examiners opinion the pertinent prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed inventions as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as claimed by the applicant.
Conclusion
ABHISHEK M. RATHOD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841