DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morriss et al. (US 2013/0310928) in view of Seguin (US 2012/0016464).
Regarding claim 1, an invention relating to prosthetic heart valve, Morriss discloses (Figs. 2A1, 2A4, 2F3-A) a prosthetic implant assembly (Abstract) comprising: a prosthetic valve (100) comprising a frame (110) and a plurality of leaflets (152) coupled to an interior portion of the frame (Par. 0205), wherein the frame comprises an atrial portion (163) and one or more arms (120), wherein the atrial portion extends radially outwardly from an inflow end portion of the frame, and wherein the one or more arms extend radially outwardly from an outflow end portion of the frame (Par. 0084-0085, 0150, 0209). However, Morriss fails to disclose an anchoring device comprising a coil configuration configured to extend around native heart valve leaflets and to define an inner space for receiving the frame of the prosthetic valve, wherein the atrial portion and the one or more arms of the prosthetic valve extend radially outwardly beyond the anchoring device.
In the same field of endeavor, which is prosthetic heart valve, Seguin teaches (Fig. 1A) an anchoring device (40) comprising a coil configuration configured to extend around native heart valve leaflets and to define an inner space for receiving a frame (30) of the prosthetic valve (10; Par. 0025 & 0028), wherein an atrial portion [i.e. upper flared end (32)] and one or more arms [i.e. woven wire making cell pattern of the end of the lower flared end (32)] of the prosthetic valve extend radially outwardly beyond the anchoring device (Figs. 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Morriss to have an anchoring device comprising a coil configuration configured to extend around native heart valve leaflets and to define an inner space for receiving the frame of the prosthetic valve, wherein the atrial portion and the one or more arms of the prosthetic valve extend radially outwardly beyond the anchoring device. Doing so would reduce the risk that the replacement cardiac valve will obstruct the outflow tract of an adjacent cardiac valve, ensure that the replacement valve body cannot overexpand during deployment, and reduce the risk of perivalvular leaks arising around the replacement cardiac valve (Par. 0028), as taught by Seguin.
Regarding claim 2, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses the prosthetic implant assembly of claim 1. Morriss further discloses (Fig. 2A1) wherein the one or more arms is a plurality of arms comprising a first arm (120A) and a second arm (120B), and wherein the entire first arm and the entire second arm are shaped differently from one another (Par. 0187 & 0189).
Regarding claim 3, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses the prosthetic implant assembly of claim 2. Morriss further discloses wherein the first arm differs from the second arm in that the first arm comprises a closed annulus that defines an opening [i.e. tube or eyelet] through which an anchoring device is guided (Par. 0189 & 0193).
Regarding claim 5, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses the prosthetic implant assembly of claim 2. Morriss further discloses wherein the first arm is of a heavier construction [i.e. a larger size and shape] than the second arm (Par. 0189).
Regarding claim 6, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses the prosthetic implant assembly of claim 2. Morriss discloses (Fig. 2A1) further comprising a third arm having a same shape as the second arm [i.e. another arm from the second plurality of arms (120B; Par. 0149)].
Regarding claim 7, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, further discloses wherein prosthetic valve and the anchoring device are configured such that the native heart valve leaflets are disposed between the prosthetic valve and the coils of the anchoring device upon deployment of the prosthetic implant assembly in a native heart valve [i.e. see Seguin Paragraphs 0028 and 0033-0035].
Regarding claim 8, Morriss discloses (Figs. 2A1, 2A4, 2F3-A) a prosthetic implant assembly (Abstract) comprising: a prosthetic valve (100) comprising a frame (110) and a plurality of leaflets (152) coupled to an interior portion of the frame (Par. 0205), wherein the frame comprises a flange portion (163) and a plurality of arms (120), wherein the flange portion extends radially outwardly from a first end portion of the frame, and wherein the arms extend radially outwardly from a second end portion of the frame (Par. 0084-0085, 0150, 0209). However, Morriss fails to disclose a helical anchoring device configured to extend around native heart valve leaflets and to define an inner space for receiving the frame of the prosthetic valve, wherein the flange portion and the arms of the prosthetic valve extend radially outwardly beyond the anchoring device.
In the same field of endeavor, which is prosthetic heart valve, Seguin teaches (Fig. 1A) a helical anchoring device (40) configured to extend around native heart valve leaflets and to define an inner space for receiving a frame (30) of a prosthetic valve (10; Par. 0025 & 0028), wherein a flange portion [i.e. upper flared end (32)] and the arms [i.e. woven wire making pattern of cells at the end of the lower flared end (32)] of the prosthetic valve extend radially outwardly beyond the anchoring device (Figs. 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Morriss to have a helical anchoring device configured to extend around native heart valve leaflets and to define an inner space for receiving the frame of the prosthetic valve, wherein the flange portion and the arms of the prosthetic valve extend radially outwardly beyond the anchoring device. Doing so would reduce the risk that the replacement cardiac valve will obstruct the outflow tract of an adjacent cardiac valve, ensure that the replacement valve body cannot overexpand during deployment, and reduce the risk of perivalvular leaks arising around the replacement cardiac valve (Par. 0028), as taught by Seguin.
Regarding claim 10, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses the prosthetic implant assembly of claim 8. Morriss further discloses (Fig. 2A1) wherein the plurality of arms comprises a first arm (120A) and a second arm (120B), and wherein the entire first arm and the entire second arm are shaped differently from one another (Par. 0187 & 0189).
Regarding claim 11, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses the prosthetic implant assembly of claim 10. Morriss further discloses wherein the first arm differs from the second arm in that the first arm comprises a closed annulus that defines an opening [i.e. tube or eyelet] through which an anchoring device is guided (Par. 0189 & 0193).
Regarding claim 13, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses the prosthetic implant assembly of claim 10. Morriss further discloses wherein the first arm is of a heavier construction [i.e. a larger size and shape] than the second arm (Par. 0189).
Regarding claim 14, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses the prosthetic implant assembly of claim 10. Morriss discloses further comprising a third arm having a same shape as the second arm [i.e. another arm from the second plurality of arms (120B; Par. 0149)].
Regarding claim 15, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses further wherein prosthetic valve and the anchoring device are configured such that the native heart valve leaflets are disposed between the prosthetic valve and the coils of the anchoring device upon deployment of the prosthetic implant assembly in a native heart valve [i.e. see Seguin Paragraphs 0028 and 0033-0035].
Regarding claim 16, Morriss discloses (Figs. 2A1, 2A4, 2F3-A) a prosthetic implant assembly for implantation at a native mitral valve (Abstract), comprising: a prosthetic mitral valve (100) comprising a frame (110) and a plurality of leaflets (152) coupled to an interior portion of the frame (Par. 0205), wherein the frame comprises an atrial portion (163) and one or more arms (120), wherein the atrial portion extends radially outwardly from an inflow end portion of the frame and is configured to engage native tissue in a patient’s left atrium, and wherein the one or more arms extend radially outwardly from an outflow end portion of the frame and are configured to engage native mitral valve leaflets (Par. 0084-0086, 0150, 0209). However, Morriss fails to disclose an anchoring device comprising a coil configuration configured to extend around the native mitral valve leaflets on a ventricular side of the native mitral valve leaflets, wherein the anchor device defines an inner space for receiving the frame of the prosthetic mitral valve, wherein the atrial portion and the one or more arms of the prosthetic mitral valve extend radially outwardly beyond an outer diameter of the anchoring device.
In the same field of endeavor, which is prosthetic heart valve, Seguin teaches (Fig. 1A) an anchoring device (40) comprising a coil configuration configured to extend around the native mitral valve leaflets on a ventricular side of the native mitral valve leaflets, wherein the anchor device defines an inner space for receiving a frame (30) of a prosthetic mitral valve (10; Par. 0025 & 0028), wherein an atrial portion [i.e. upper flared end (32)] and one or more arms [i.e. woven wire making cell pattern of the end of the lower flared end (32)] of the prosthetic mitral valve extend radially outwardly beyond an outer diameter of the anchoring device (Figs. 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Morriss to have an anchoring device comprising a coil configuration configured to extend around the native mitral valve leaflets on a ventricular side of the native mitral valve leaflets, wherein the anchor device defines an inner space for receiving the frame of the prosthetic mitral valve, wherein the atrial portion and the one or more arms of the prosthetic mitral valve extend radially outwardly beyond an outer diameter of the anchoring device. Doing so would reduce the risk that the replacement cardiac valve will obstruct the outflow tract of an adjacent cardiac valve, ensure that the replacement valve body cannot overexpand during deployment, and reduce the risk of perivalvular leaks arising around the replacement cardiac valve (Par. 0028), as taught by Seguin.
Regarding claim 17, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses the prosthetic implant assembly of claim 16. Morriss discloses (Fig. 2A1) wherein the one or more arms is a plurality of arms comprising a first arm (120A) and a second arm (120B), and wherein the entire first arm and the entire second arm are shaped differently from one another (Par. 0187 & 0189).
Regarding claim 18, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses the prosthetic implant assembly of claim 17. Morriss further discloses wherein the first arm differs from the second arm in that the first arm comprises a closed annulus that defines an opening [i.e. tube or eyelet] through which an anchoring device is guided (Par. 0189 & 0193).
Regarding claim 20, Morriss, as modified by Seguin, discloses the prosthetic implant assembly of claim 17. Morriss further discloses wherein the first arm is of a heavier construction [i.e. a larger size and shape] than the second arm (Par. 0189).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-13, and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7, 9, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,052,199. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are fully contained within the claim of the patent application.
Claims 18/624,452
1
2
3
4
5
7
8
10
Claims US Patent No.
10,052,199
1 & 9
1 & 9
1 & 9
4 & 11
7
1 & 9
1 & 9
1 & 9
Claims 18/624,452
11
12
13
15
16
17
18
19
20
Claims US Patent No.
10,052,199
1 & 9
4 & 11
7
1 & 9
1 & 9
1 & 9
1 & 9
4 & 11
7
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7, 9, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,898,320. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are fully contained within the claim of the patent application.
Claims 18/624,452
1
2
4
5
7
8
10
Claims US Patent No.
10,898,320
1, 9, 10
2
1 & 10
7
1 & 10
1, 9, 10
2
Claims 18/624,452
12
13
15
16
17
19
20
Claims US Patent No.
10,898,320
1 & 10
7
1 & 10
1, 9, 10
2
1 & 10
7
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-13, and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7, 9, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,974, 914. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are fully contained within the claim of the patent application.
Claims 18/624,452
1
2
3
4
5
6
8
9
10
Claims US Patent No.
11,974, 914
1 & 7
1
2 & 9
3
4 & 11
5
1 & 7
1 & 7
1
Claims 18/624,452
11
12
13
14
16
17
18
19
20
Claims US Patent No.
11,974, 914
2 & 9
3
4 & 11
5
1 & 7
1
2 & 9
3
4 & 11
Conclusion
/C.U.I/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/ROBERT A LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771