DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13, 16 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Bandhauer (US20250107038A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bandhauer teaches a heat sink apparatus (15: see Figure 5) comprising: a heating body (100: see Figure 7) configured to receive heat from an external heat source (140 and/or 145); a supplier (60) supported by the heating body (100) and configured to supply a cooling fluid (via 50); and a jet ejection part ( jet ejection part of 65) provided in the supplier (60) and configured to inject the cooling fluid supplied by the supplier toward the heating body (see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 2, Bandhauer further teaches wherein the heating body (100) comprises: a first heating body (flat portion of 100); a second heating body (30) extending from the first heating body and configured to support the supplier (60: see Figure 8); and a heat exchange channel (channel of 125) disposed adjacent to the second heating body (30) and configured to guide flow of the cooling fluid injected from the jet ejection part (see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 3, Bandhauer further teaches wherein the second heating body (30) and the heat exchange channel (channel of 125) are provided as a plurality of second heating bodies and a plurality of heat exchange channels (see Figures 7 and 8), and the second heating bodies and the heat exchange channels are arranged alternately on the first heating body (flat portion of 100: see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 4, Bandhauer further teaches wherein the supplier (60) comprises: a supply body (flat portion of 60) spaced apart from the second heating body (30: see Figure 8); a support member (portion that is above 35: see Figure 8) extending from the supply body and configured to support the supply body with respect to the second heating body (30: see Figure 8); and a supply channel (65) extending from the support body and disposed inside the heat exchange channel (channel of 125: see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 5, Bandhauer further teaches wherein a longitudinal direction of the supply channel (65) is parallel to a longitudinal direction of the heat exchange channel (channel of 125: see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 6, Bandhauer further teaches wherein a cross-sectional area of the supply channel (65) is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the heat exchange channel (channel of 125: see in Figures 7 and 8 where 65 smaller than the heat exchange channel of 125, i.e. space between the two adjacent 105).
Regarding claim 7, Bandhauer further teaches wherein the support member comprises: a pair of first support members arranged on both sides of the supply body (the two end walls on the left and the right of 60, as shown in Figure 3); and a second support member disposed between the pair of first support members (portion that is above 35: see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 8, Bandhauer further teaches wherein a length of the second support member (portion that is above 35) is smaller than a length of the supply channel (65: see in Figures 7 and 8 where length of the portion that is above 35 is smaller than a length of 65).
Regarding claim 9, Bandhauer further teaches wherein the supplier (60) further comprises a gas collector (35) disposed adjacent to the supply channel (65) and connected to the heat exchange channel (the heat exchange channel of 125: see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 10, Bandhauer further teaches wherein the gas collector (35) is connected to an upper surface of the heat exchange channel (see in Figure 8 where 35 is connected to the upper surface of the heat exchange channel of 125).
Regarding claim 11, Bandhauer further teaches wherein the jet ejection part (jet ejection part of 65) comprises a jet hole (25) formed to pass through the supply channel (65) and configured to inject the cooling fluid to the heat exchange channel (see in Figure 8 jet holes 25).
Regarding claim 12, Bandhauer further teaches wherein the jet hole comprises: a first jet hole (jet hole on 75) disposed to face the first heating body (flat portion of 100) and configured to allow the cooling fluid flowing into the supply channel to collide with the first heating body (see Figure 8); and a second jet hole (jet hole on 70) disposed to face the second heating body (30) and configured to allow the cooling fluid flowing into the supply channel to collide with the second heating body (see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 14, Bandhauer further teaches further comprising: an inlet (50: see Figure 5) through which the cooling fluid flows into the supplier; and an outlet (55) through which the cooling fluid is discharged from the heating body (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 15, Bandhauer further teaches wherein the inlet (50) comprises: an inlet body (body of 50) extending from the supply body and disposed to face one end of the heat exchange channel (see in Figure 7 where body of 50 is extending from the flat portion of 60 and face the upper end of the heat exchange channel); and an inlet hole (hole of 50) formed to pass through the inlet body and connected to one end of the supply channel (see in Figure 7 where hole of 50 pass through the body of 50 and connected to the upper end of 65), and the outlet comprises a first outlet hole (hole of 55) spaced apart from the inlet hole (hole of 50) and connected to the other end of the heat exchange channel (lower end of the heat exchange channel: see Figures 7 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandhauer (US20250107038A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Bandhauer does not teach wherein the supplier is made of a material having lower thermal conductivity than the heating body, wherein the supplier is made of an insulating material.
However, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the supplier of Bandhauer to be made out of an insulating material and arrive at the claimed invention since it has been held “[t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol. "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-Saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.)”: such provision would provide the benefit of increasing the heat dissipation efficiency by allow the cooling fluid to absorb the heat directly from the heating body.
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763