DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Regarding claim 8, the phrase "such that /such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2014/210212 A1), in view of Pedersen et al., (Advancements in 5G New Radio TDD Cross Link Interference Mitigation, IEEE Wireless Communications, August 2021).
Regarding Claim 1, He discloses a device, comprising: (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device)
a processing system including a processor; (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is a processing system) and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: (He, Fig. 12, lines 26-27 memory/non-volatile memory, lines 32-34, program code (i.e. instructions)
receiving a registration from a user equipment (UE) accessing a radio communication network; (He, Fig. 12, lines 8-10, UE/MS. line 22, wireless device)
selecting an initial time division duplex (TDD) configuration for the UE; (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
communicating information about the initial TDD configuration to the UE; (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
communicating with the UE according to the initial TDD configuration; (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10, Figs. 1, 2A-2C, and 10, and 11 illustrate and describe UE operable implementation of TDD uplink-downlink (UL-DL) reconfiguration, and TDD UL-DL reconfiguration method)
He does not explicitly disclose following:
detecting, by an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model, a changed condition for the UE;
selecting, by the AI/ML model, a new TDD configuration for the UE, wherein the new TDD configuration is based on the changed condition for the UE;
communicating the new TDD configuration to the UE for further communication with the radio communication network.
However, He in view of Pedersen disclose following:
detecting, by an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model, a changed condition for the UE; (Pedersen, Introduction, page 2, the article demonstrates the use of Machine Learning (ML) solutions in the form of low complexity Reinforcement Learning (RL) offer attractive benefits. This is demonstrated by means of advanced NR system-level simulations)
selecting, by the AI/ML model (Pedersen, Introduction, page 2, the article demonstrates the use of Machine Learning (ML) solutions in the form of low complexity Reinforcement Learning (RL) offer attractive benefits. This is demonstrated by means of advanced NR system-level simulations), a new TDD configuration for the UE, wherein the new TDD configuration is based on the changed condition for the UE; (Pederson, Abstract, Introduction, Network Coordination sections disclose TDD operation/TDD configuration, dynamic TDD/TDD configuration/5G NR TDD, and TDD DL-UL Configuration NR/TDD UL-DL Configuration respectively)and
communicating the new TDD configuration to the UE for further communication with the radio communication network. (Pederson, Abstract, Introduction, Network Coordination sections disclose TDD operation/TDD configuration, dynamic TDD/TDD configuration/5G NR TDD, and TDD DL-UL Configuration NR/TDD UL-DL Configuration respectively)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine/modify the teachings of He before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Pedersen so that detecting, by an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model, a changed condition for the UE; selecting, by the AI/ML model, a new TDD configuration for the UE, wherein the new TDD configuration is based on the changed condition for the UE; communicating the new TDD configuration to the UE for further communication with the radio communication network be included in a device (i.e. UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Pedersen would enable URLLC service through Machine Learning (ML solutions) / learning algorithms. It would improve the performance of 5G New Radio (NR) time division duplex operation and performance. It would enable the mechanisms to mitigate co-channel cross link interference (CLI) between neighboring cells. (Pedersen, whole document, Emphasis, Abstract, Introduction, Concluding Remarks and Outlook)
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the device of claim 1 (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device), wherein the detecting a changed condition for the UE comprises: (He, page 5 / 7 of 45, line 31, adapt to traffic conditions; page 6 / page 8 of 45, line 4 traffic conditions)
detecting an uplink buffer size and a downlink buffer size associated with the UE; and (He (WO 2014/210212), page 4, line 15 discloses buffer sizes in UL, and DL, page 6 of 45, line 15, buffer sizes in UL and DL)
identifying a changed condition for the UE based on a change to the uplink buffer size, a change to the downlink buffer size, or both. (He, page 4, line 15 / page 6 of 45, line 15 discloses buffer sizes in UL and DL)
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the device of claim 2 (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device), wherein the selecting a new TDD configuration for the UE comprises: (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
adjusting a ratio of downlink time slots to uplink time slots or a ratio of downlink slot format to uplink slot format, or both, wherein the adjust is responsive to the changed condition for the UE. (Pederson, Network Coordination, page 4 discloses TDD DL-UL slot configuration of an NR, the actual TDD radio frame configuration is expressed as a list of slot formats)
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device, UE implements operations)
detecting a latency-sensitive service requested by the UE; (Pederson, Abstract discloses URLLC, Introduction, page 2 discloses advanced NR system-level simulations for the challenging use cases with ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) and
selecting the new TDD configuration for the UE based on the latency-sensitive service requested by the UE. (Pederson, Abstract discloses URLLC, Introduction, page 2 discloses advanced NR system-level simulations for the challenging use cases with ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC)
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the device of claim 4 (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device), wherein the detecting a latency-sensitive service requested by the UE comprises: (Pederson, Abstract discloses URLLC, Introduction, page 2 discloses advanced NR system-level simulations for the challenging use cases with ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC), URLLC is a latency-sensitive service)
detecting a request to access an Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication (URLLC) service. (Pederson, Abstract discloses URLLC, Introduction, page 2 discloses advanced NR system-level simulations for the challenging use cases with ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC).
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the device of claim 5 (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device), wherein the selecting the new TDD configuration for the UE based on the latency-sensitive service requested by the UE comprises: (Pederson, Abstract discloses URLLC, Introduction, page 2 discloses advanced NR system-level simulations for the challenging use cases with ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC), new TDD configuration is selected by Machine Learning algorithm/algorithm)
selecting, as the new TDD configuration, a TDD configuration having a greater number of special slots than a number of special slots in the initial TDD configuration (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10, TDD UL-DL reconfiguration, page 8/page 10 of 45, Table 1, line 19 to line 28 disclose special slots (subframes) represented by S, U suggests uplink slots, and D suggests downlink slots), the special slots designated as either uplink slots or downlink slots according to the request to access the URLCC service. (Pederson, Abstract discloses URLLC, Introduction, page 2 discloses advanced NR system-level simulations for the challenging use cases with ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC)
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the device of claim 1 (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device), wherein the detecting a changed condition for the UE comprises: (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device, UE implements operations)
identifying an interference condition on an uplink or a downlink associated with the UE; (He, page 7 of 45, line 10 to line 34, and page 8 of 45 enhanced inter-cell interference coordination (eICIC)/interference/mitigation of interference, Fig. 3, page 10, line 15 to page 12, line 22; page 10 lines 15-16 disclose, and Fig. 3 illustrates uplink downlink (UL-DL) interference due to non-aligned UL-DL reconfiguration switching points, Fig. 3, page 10, line 17-19, techniques for DL-UL interference mitigation, UL-DL reconfigurations be performed synchronously in order to avoid DL-UL interference) and
muting communication on one of the uplink or the downlink associated with the UE to limit the interference condition. (He, page 7 of 45, line 10 to line 34, and page 8 of 45 enhanced inter-cell interference coordination (eICIC)/interference/mitigation of interference, Fig. 3, page 10, line 15 to page 12, line 22; page 10 lines 15-16 disclose, and Fig. 3 illustrates uplink downlink (UL-DL) interference due to non-aligned UL-DL reconfiguration switching points, Fig. 3, page 10, line 17-19, techniques for DL-UL interference mitigation, UL-DL reconfigurations be performed synchronously in order to avoid DL-UL interference, page 6/8 of 45, line 15 to line 24, DL-UL interference mitigation issue be resolved by prohibiting traffic adaptation, page 8, line 10 to line 18, allowing adaptive UL-DL configurations depending on traffic conditions in different cells can significantly improve the system performance)
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the device of claim 1 (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device), wherein the selecting an initial TDD configuration for the UE comprises: (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
detecting a type of radio access network (RAN) of the radio communication network, wherein a first type of RAN has a remote radio head (RRH) proximate a baseband unit (BBU) and a second type of RAN has a remote radio head (RRH) distal a baseband unit (BBU) such that the second type of RAN includes an increased delay time relative to the first type of RAN; (He, page 9 of 45, line 17 to line 23, line 20-21 discloses independent UL/DL reconfigurations for different RRHs, Fig. 1, page 9 of 45, line 28 discloses RRH, page 21 of 45, line 5-7 disclose a baseband unit (BBU, a remote radio head (RRH), Fig. 12, line 12-13 disclose BBU, and RRH, page 28 of 45, Claim 24, line 25-26 disclose BBU, and RRH) and
responsive to the first type of RAN, selecting as the initial TDD configuration for the UE a TDD configuration having relatively fewer uplink-downlink switches and relatively fewer guard symbols; (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10) and
responsive to the second type of RAN, selecting as the initial TDD configuration for the UE a TDD configuration having relatively more uplink-downlink switches and relatively more guard symbols to accommodate the increased delay time. (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device)
identifying an initial operating condition of the UE; (He, page 5 / 7 of 45, line 31, adapt to traffic conditions; page 6 / page 8 of 45, line 4 traffic conditions) and
preselecting one or more candidate TDD configurations for the UE based on the initial operating condition of the UE. (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
Regarding Claim 11, He discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that (He, Fig. 12, page 19, line 32 to page 20, line 17 disclose a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, program codes (i.e. instructions)), when executed by a processing system including a processor (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
selecting a time division duplex (TDD) configuration for a user equipment (UE) in a radio access network; (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
providing information about the TDD configuration to the UE; (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
communicating with the UE according to the TDD configuration; (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
He does not explicitly disclose following:
selecting, by an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model, a new TDD configuration for the UE, wherein the AI/ML model selects the new TDD configuration based on a changed condition for the UE in the radio access network, the new TDD configuration to provide improved throughput or reduced delay for the UE, or both;
providing, to the UE, information about the new TDD configuration.
However, He in view of Pedersen disclose following:
selecting, by an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model, a new TDD configuration for the UE, wherein the AI/ML model selects the new TDD configuration based on a changed condition for the UE in the radio access network, the new TDD configuration to provide improved throughput or reduced delay for the UE, or both; (Pedersen, Introduction, page 2, the article demonstrates the use of Machine Learning (ML) solutions in the form of low complexity Reinforcement Learning (RL) offer attractive benefits. This is demonstrated by means of advanced NR system-level simulations) and
providing, to the UE, information about the new TDD configuration. (Pedersen, Abstract, Introduction, Network Coordination sections disclose TDD operation/TDD configuration, dynamic TDD/TDD configuration/5G NR TDD, and TDD DL-UL Configuration NR/TDD UL-DL Configuration respectively)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of He before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Pedersen so that selecting, by an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model, a new TDD configuration for the UE, wherein the AI/ML model selects the new TDD configuration based on a changed condition for the UE in the radio access network, the new TDD configuration to provide improved throughput or reduced delay for the UE, or both; providing, to the UE, information about the new TDD configuration be included in a non-transitory machine-readable medium. The motivation to combine the teachings of Pedersen would enable URLLC service through Machine Learning (ML solutions) / learning algorithms. It would improve the performance of 5G New Radio (NR) time division duplex operation and performance. It would enable the mechanisms to mitigate co-channel cross link interference (CLI) between neighboring cells. (Pedersen, whole document, Emphasis, Abstract, Introduction, Concluding Remarks and Outlook)
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 11 (He, Fig. 12, page 19, line 32 to page 20, line 17; page 19, line 34 disclose a non-transitory computer readable storage medium), wherein the operations further comprise identifying an input condition, wherein the identifying an input condition comprises: (He, page 5 / 7 of 45, line 31, adapt to traffic conditions; page 6 / page 8 of 45, line 4 traffic conditions)
identifying a buffer-based communication limitation for the UE, wherein the buffer-based communication is based on a status of an uplink buffer, a downlink buffer, or both; (He, page 6 of 45, line 15, buffer sizes in UL and DL)
identifying a latency-based communication limitation for the UE, wherein the latency-based communication limitation is based on a selected service or a selected application of the UE; (Pederson, Abstract discloses URLLC, Introduction, page 2 discloses advanced NR system-level simulations for the challenging use cases with ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC), URLLC is latency-based service)
identifying an interference-based communication limitation for the UE, wherein the interference-based communication limitation is based on radio interference on an uplink or a downlink associated with the UE; (He, page 7 of 45, line 10 to line 34, and page 8 of 45 enhanced inter-cell interference coordination (eICIC)/interference/mitigation of interference, Fig. 3, page 10, line 15 to page 12, line 22; page 10 lines 15-16 disclose, and Fig. 3 illustrates uplink downlink (UL-DL) interference due to non-aligned UL-DL reconfiguration switching points, Fig. 3, page 10, line 17-19, techniques for DL-UL interference mitigation, UL-DL reconfigurations be performed synchronously in order to avoid DL-UL interference) and
selecting, by the AI/ML model, the TDD configuration based on the input condition. (Pedersen, Introduction, page 2, the article demonstrates the use of Machine Learning (ML) solutions in the form of low complexity Reinforcement Learning (RL) offer attractive benefits. This is demonstrated by means of advanced NR system-level simulations)
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise: (He, Fig. 12, page 19, line 32 to page 20, line 17; page 19, line 34 disclose a non-transitory computer readable storage medium)
selecting, based on the input condition, one or more candidate TDD configurations for the UE; (He, page 5 / 7 of 45, line 31, adapt to traffic conditions; page 6 / page 8 of 45, line 4 traffic conditions) and
selecting, by the AI/ML model, the TDD configuration based on the one or more candidate TDD configurations, wherein the one or more candidate TDD configurations facilitate convergence by the AI/ML model to a solution for the TDD configuration. (Pedersen, Introduction, page 2, the article demonstrates the use of Machine Learning (ML) solutions in the form of low complexity Reinforcement Learning (RL) offer attractive benefits. This is demonstrated by means of advanced NR system-level simulations)
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 11 (He, Fig. 12, page 19, line 32 to page 20, line 17; page 19, line 34 disclose a non-transitory computer readable storage medium), wherein the selecting a new TDD configuration for the UE comprises: (Pederson, Network Coordination, page 4 discloses TDD DL-UL slot configuration of an NR, the actual TDD radio frame configuration)
selecting a TDD slot configuration; and selecting a symbol format for the UE. (Pederson, Network Coordination, page 4 discloses TDD DL-UL slot configuration of an NR, the actual TDD radio frame configuration is expressed as a list of slot formats)
Regarding Claim 15, The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 11 (He, Fig. 12, page 19, line 32 to page 20, line 17; page 19, line 34 disclose a non-transitory computer readable storage medium), wherein the selecting a TDD slot configuration comprises: (Pederson, Network Coordination, page 4 discloses TDD DL-UL slot configuration of an NR, the actual TDD radio frame configuration is expressed as a list of slot formats)
selecting a ratio of downlink timeslots to uplink timeslots for the UE. (He, page 4/page 6 of 45 line 31 discloses UL/DL ratio, page 5/7 of 45, line 18 discloses UL/DL ratio)
Regarding Claim 16, He discloses a method, comprising:
assigning, by a processing system including a processor (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), an initial time division duplex (TDD) configuration to a user equipment (UE) for communication with a radio access network (RAN); (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
communicating, by the processing system (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), with the UE according to the initial TDD configuration (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10);
detecting, by the processing system (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), a change in the communicating with the UE; (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device, UE implements operations)
assigning, by the processing system (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), a new TDD configuration to the UE, wherein the assigning comprises selecting the new TDD configuration based on changes in communication patterns of the UE with the radio access network, the new TDD configuration selected to improve data throughput between the UE and the radio access network (Pederson, Abstract, Introduction, Network Coordination sections disclose TDD operation/TDD configuration, dynamic TDD/TDD configuration/5G NR TDD, and TDD DL-UL Configuration NR/TDD UL-DL Configuration respectively); and
communicating, by the processing system (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), with the UE according to the new TDD configuration (Pederson, Abstract, Introduction, Network Coordination sections disclose TDD operation/TDD configuration, dynamic TDD/TDD configuration/5G NR TDD, and TDD DL-UL Configuration NR/TDD UL-DL Configuration respectively).
He does not explicitly disclose following:
a new TDD configuration to the UE, wherein the assigning comprises selecting the new TDD configuration based on changes in communication patterns of the UE with the radio access network, the new TDD configuration selected to improve data throughput between the UE and the radio access network; and
with the UE according to the new TDD configuration.
However, He in view of Pedersen disclose following:
a new TDD configuration to the UE, wherein the assigning comprises selecting the new TDD configuration based on changes in communication patterns of the UE with the radio access network, the new TDD configuration selected to improve data throughput between the UE and the radio access network; (Pederson, Abstract, Introduction, Network Coordination sections disclose TDD operation/TDD configuration, dynamic TDD/TDD configuration/5G NR TDD, and TDD DL-UL Configuration NR/TDD UL-DL Configuration respectively)and
with the UE according to the new TDD configuration. (Pederson, Abstract, Introduction, Network Coordination sections disclose TDD operation/TDD configuration, dynamic TDD/TDD configuration/5G NR TDD, and TDD DL-UL Configuration NR/TDD UL-DL Configuration respectively)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of He before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Pedersen so that a new TDD configuration to the UE, wherein the assigning comprises selecting the new TDD configuration based on changes in communication patterns of the UE with the radio access network, the new TDD configuration selected to improve data throughput between the UE and the radio access network; and with the UE according to the new TDD configuration be included in a method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Pedersen would enable URLLC service through Machine Learning (ML solutions) / learning algorithms. It would improve the performance of 5G New Radio (NR) time division duplex operation and performance. It would enable the mechanisms to mitigate co-channel cross link interference (CLI) between neighboring cells. (Pedersen, whole document, Emphasis, Abstract, Introduction, Concluding Remarks and Outlook)
Regarding Claim 17, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the assigning a new TDD configuration to the UE comprises: (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
selecting, by the processing system (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), a ratio of downlink time slots to uplink time slots based on changes in communication patterns of the UE with the radio access network. (Pederson, Network Coordination, page 4 discloses TDD DL-UL slot configuration of an NR, the actual TDD radio frame configuration is expressed as a list of slot formats)
Regarding Claim 18, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the method of claim 17, comprising:
receiving, by the processing system (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), information about a buffer size for an uplink and a buffer size for a downlink; (He, page 6 of 45, line 15, buffer sizes in UL and DL)
and
selecting, by the processing system (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), the ratio of downlink time slots to uplink time slots to balance the buffer size for the uplink and the buffer size for the downlink. (He, page 6 of 45, line 15, buffer sizes in UL and DL)
Regarding Claim 19, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the method of claim 16, comprising:
receiving, by the processing system (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), a request from the UE to use a low-latency service of the radio access network (Pederson, Abstract discloses URLLC, Introduction, page 2 discloses advanced NR system-level simulations for the challenging use cases with ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC), URLLC is low latency service); and
assigning, by the processing system (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), more special time slots to the UE to provide the low-latency service to the UE. (Pederson, Abstract discloses URLLC, Introduction, page 2 discloses advanced NR system-level simulations for the challenging use cases with ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC), URLLC is low-latency service)
Regarding Claim 20, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the method of claim 16, comprising:
receiving, by the processing system (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), information about interference on one of a downlink and an uplink; (He, page 7 of 45, line 10 to line 34, and page 8 of 45 enhanced inter-cell interference coordination (eICIC)/interference/mitigation of interference, Fig. 3, page 10, line 15 to page 12, line 22; page 10 lines 15-16 disclose, and Fig. 3 illustrates uplink downlink (UL-DL) interference due to non-aligned UL-DL reconfiguration switching points, Fig. 3, page 10, line 17-19, techniques for DL-UL interference mitigation, UL-DL reconfigurations be performed synchronously in order to avoid DL-UL interference)and
muting, by the processing system (He, Fig. 12, line 25-26, application processor and a graphics processor is processing system), transmission on one or more selected downlinks or one or more uplinks to limit the interference. (He, page 7 of 45, line 10 to line 34, and page 8 of 45 enhanced inter-cell interference coordination (eICIC)/interference/mitigation of interference, Fig. 3, page 10, line 15 to page 12, line 22; page 10 lines 15-16 disclose, and Fig. 3 illustrates uplink downlink (UL-DL) interference due to non-aligned UL-DL reconfiguration switching points, Fig. 3, page 10, line 17-19, techniques for DL-UL interference mitigation, UL-DL reconfigurations be performed synchronously in order to avoid DL-UL interference)
8. Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2014/210212 A1), and Pedersen et al., (Advancements in 5G New Radio TDD Cross Link Interference Mitigation, IEEE Wireless Communications, August 2021), in view of Wifvesson et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2020/178159 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of He and Pederson disclose the device of claim 9 (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device), wherein the operations further comprise: (He, Fig. 12, page 19, lines 8-10, UE/MS, line 22, wireless device, UE implements operations)
selecting the initial TDD configuration for the UE based on the service to be accessed by the UE. (He, (57) Abstract, Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink (DL-UL) reconfiguration, page 2, line 10 to line 18 TDD for DL or UL, Fig. 1, line 17 to page 9, line 22, Figs. 2A-2C, page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 14, Fig. 10, page 17 line 8 to page 18 line 10)
He and Pedersen do not explicitly disclose following:
receiving a packet data unit (PDU) establishment communication from the UE;
determining, based on the PDU establishment communication, a service to be accessed by the UE;
However, He and Pedersen in view of Wifvesson disclose following:
receiving a packet data unit (PDU) establishment communication from the UE; (Wifvesson, (WO 2020/178159 A1), (57) Abstract discloses protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment, paragraphs [0001], [0031]-[0037], [0041]-[0054], Figs. 7-10, paragraphs [0083]-[0125] illustrate PDU session establishment/ PDU session establishment procedure and describe in details, paragraph [0031] discloses receiving a first request to establish a first protocol data unit (PDU) session between a user equipment (UE) and a user plane function in the core network)
determining, based on the PDU establishment communication, a service to be accessed by the UE; (Wifvesson, (WO 2020/178159 A1), (57) Abstract discloses protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment, paragraphs [0001], [0031]-[0037], [0041]-[0054], Figs. 7-10, paragraphs [0083]-[0125] illustrate PDU session establishment/ PDU session establishment procedure and describe in details)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of He and Pedersen before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Wifvesson so that receiving a packet data unit (PDU) establishment communication from the UE; determining, based on the PDU establishment communication, a service to be accessed by the UE be included in the device (i.e. UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Wifvesson would be able to achieve maximum supported data rate for integrity protection provided by the UE. Further, it would ensure high reliability requirements. (Wifvesson, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0054])
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a) Jiang et al., (WO 2014/047775 A1). Fig. 5, paragraph [0070] DL-UL buffer size, traffic condition.
(b) Sirotkin et al., (Pub. No.: US 2013/0301489 A1), The reference discloses: estimating DL-UL buffer size.
(c) Stern-Berkowitz et al., (Pub. No.: US 2014/0086112 A1)
(d) Li et al., EP 4 346 143 A1
(e) Wei et al., ( WO 2014/110981 A1), and (WO 2014/117709 A1)
(f) Kim et al., (Pub. No.: US 2018/0367289 A1)
(g) Cheng et al., (WO 2015/042870 A1)
(h) He et al., (Pub. No.: US 2014/0198675 A1)
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472