DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-12 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 04/27/26, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petralia in view of Stringer have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, applicant argues, see page 6, that Stringer fails to teach whether or not the valve 36 is configured to prevent fluid from passing therethrough as claimed. However, the valve 36 of Stringer is configured to permit gas to pass therethrough and prevent fluid from passing therethrough by virtue of its position in the circuit downstream from a gas removal filter.
Applicant further argues, see page 7, that the rejection fails to offer any details as to where and/or how the valve 36 would be added to the system of Stringer. However, as discussed below, Stringer teaches that the valve 36 is on a gas removal port 44, and Petralia discloses a corresponding gas release duct (Petralia: Fig. 2, feat. 7, 7a; ¶0031-0034).
Applicant further argues, see page 7, that there is no teaching or suggestion that the valve of Stringer should be added to the bag of Petralia and that there is no motivation for increasing the complexity of the system of Petralia by incorporating the teachings of Stringer. However, as discussed below, Stringer teaches that incorporating an active gas removal system incorporating a gas release valve facilitates the priming of the medical fluid system with significantly less operating fluid and reduces the time required for priming.
With respect to claim 7, see pages 7-8, and claim 11, see page 9, applicant argues, see pages 7-8, that the valve of Stringer is not configured to vent gas to the atmosphere and direct fluid into the fluid reservoir because evacuating the gas and directing fluid is a positional consequence of a hypothetically rearranged system and not an actual teaching that the valve is configured for the claimed function. However, Stringer teaches that the blood filter for gas removal including the valve may either be placed upstream from the blood processing unit, including the oxygenator, pump, and pump motor, or downstream from the blood processing unit (¶0045). Stringer teaches that if it is placed upstream from the blood processing unit, the valve vents gas to a suction source, while if it is placed downstream from the blood processing unit, the valve vents gas to atmosphere (¶0045). Furthermore, because the valve is included in the filter apparatus of Stringer (¶0033-0034), and the filter including the valve removes the gas and directs the fluid, then the valve is configured for those functions as well. Applicant further argues that Stringer fails to teach fluid is present at the valve. However, the claims as written only require that the valve be configured to permit gas to pass therethrough, prevent fluid from passing therethrough, vent gas to atmosphere, and direct fluid, but do not require that fluid is present at the valve or that the fluid contacts the valve. Therefore, a configuration in which the positional relationship of the valve to other structures results in the valve achieving the claimed functions, like the one taught by Stringer, falls within the scope of the claims.
With respect to claim 11, applicant argues, see page 8, that even though Petralia discloses that the first zone 14 of the reservoir is placed at the top of the system, Petralia fails to teach or suggest the claimed method step of “elevating the sterile fluid source” and that Petralia does not discuss a sterile fluid source. However, as discussed below, Petralia discloses that the operating liquid, which corresponds to the claimed sterile fluid source, is introduced through the first fluid connector (4, 4a; ¶0018-0022 and 0044), which is in the first zone (14) and is placed at the top of the system in use (¶0038). Because the first fluid connector through which the sterile operating liquid is introduced is at the top of the system during use, the source of the sterile operating liquid is elevated relative to the reset of the system.
With respect to claim 13, applicant argues, see page 9, that Petralia discloses first and second ports and ducts and not first and second adapter assemblies comprising fluid connectors as claimed. However, the claim does not include any structural limitations which would distinguish the claimed adapter assemblies from the ports and ducts of Petralia.
Applicant further argues, see pages 9-10, that Stringer fails to teach whether or not the valve 36 is configured to prevent fluid from passing therethrough as claimed. However, the valve 36 of Stringer is configured to permit gas to pass therethrough and prevent fluid from passing therethrough by virtue of its position in the circuit downstream from a gas removal filter.
Applicant further argues, see page 10, that there is no teaching or suggestion that the valve of Stringer should be added to the second adapter assembly. However, as discussed below, Stringer teaches that the filter including the vent should be downstream of a blood processing unit, and in the system of Petralia, the blood processing unit is upstream from the second connector corresponding to the claimed second adapter assembly. Modifying the second connector of Petralia corresponding to the claimed second adapter assembly to include the filter including the valve of Stringer would place it downstream of the blood processing unit as taught by Stringer.
Applicant further argues, see page 10, that there is no teaching or suggestion that the valve of Stringer should be added to the bag of Petralia and that there is no motivation for increasing the complexity of the system of Petralia by incorporating the teachings of Stringer. However, as discussed below, Stringer teaches that incorporating an active gas removal system incorporating a gas release valve facilitates the priming of the medical fluid system with significantly less operating fluid and reduces the time required for priming.
With respect to claim 19, applicant argues, see page 11, that Petralia does not disclose active coupling the ports with a sterile fluid source. However, Petralia discloses that the ducts, and therefore the corresponding ports, are connected with the extracorporeal circuit and the relevant devices which make it up, including the operating fluid source, corresponding to the claimed sterile fluid source (¶0044).
Applicant further argues, see pages 11-12, that even though Petralia discloses that the first zone 14 of the reservoir is placed at the top of the system, Petralia fails to teach or suggest the claimed method step of “elevating the sterile fluid source” and that Petralia does not discuss a sterile fluid source. However, as discussed below, Petralia discloses that the operating liquid, which corresponds to the claimed sterile fluid source, is introduced through the first fluid connector (4, 4a; ¶0018-0022 and 0044), which is in the first zone (14) and is placed at the top of the system in use (¶0038). Because the first fluid connector through which the sterile operating liquid is introduced is at the top of the system during use, the source of the sterile operating liquid is elevated relative to the reset of the system.
Applicant further argues, see page 12, that the valve of Stringer is not configured to vent gas to the atmosphere and direct fluid into the fluid reservoir because evacuating the gas and directing fluid is a positional consequence of a hypothetically rearranged system and not an actual teaching that the valve is configured for the claimed function. However, as discussed above with respect to the arguments regarding claims 7 and 11, Stringer teaches that the blood filter for gas removal including the valve may either be placed upstream from the blood processing unit, including the oxygenator, pump, and pump motor, or downstream from the blood processing unit (¶0045). Stringer teaches that if it is placed upstream from the blood processing unit, the valve vents gas to a suction source, while if it is placed downstream from the blood processing unit, the valve vents gas to atmosphere (¶0045). Furthermore, because the valve is included in the filter apparatus of Stringer (¶0033-0034), and the filter including the valve removes the gas and directs the fluid, then the valve is configured for those functions as well. Applicant further argues that Stringer fails to teach fluid is present at the valve. However, the claims as written only require that the valve be configured to permit gas to pass therethrough, prevent fluid from passing therethrough, vent gas to atmosphere, and direct fluid, but do not require that fluid is present at the valve or that the fluid contacts the valve. Therefore, a configuration in which the positional relationship of the valve to other structures results in the valve achieving the claimed functions, like the one taught by Stringer, falls within the scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petralia et al. (US 2023/0055777 A1) in view of Stringer et al. (US 2002/0114731 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Petralia discloses a system for priming a medical fluid system (Figs. 1-2, feat. 1; ¶0017-0018), comprising: a fluid connector configured to interface with a sterile fluid source (4, 4a; ¶0018-0022: duct 4 communicates with a source of operating fluid via port 4a); and a fluid reservoir downstream of an in fluid communication with the fluid connector (3; ¶0019), the fluid reservoir comprising: a first connector (5a) configured to fluidly couple with an inflow line of the medial fluid system (5; ¶0018-0019 and 0023); a second connector (6a) configured to fluidly couple with an outflow line of the medical fluid system (6; ¶0018-0019 and 0023).
Petralia does not disclose a gas release valve configured to permit gas to pass therethrough and prevent fluid from passing therethrough.
Stringer teaches a blood filter for gas removal in an extracorporeal blood circuit (Figs. 1-2B, feat. 40) comprising a fluid inlet (42), a fluid outlet (43), a sensor (45), and a gas removal port (44) coupled to a valve (36; ¶0033-0036 and 0043-0045). The valve is operated in response to the detection of a the presence of a predetermined volume of gas by the sensor, and allows the collected gas to be vented, either be a suction source or to the atmosphere (¶0044-0045). Stringer teaches that such an active gas removal system employing a gas release valve advantageously facilitates the priming of the extracorporeal blood circuit with significantly less saline or donor blood, thereby reducing the time required for priming (¶0046). Modifying the system of Petralia so that it includes a gas release valve like the one taught by Stringer would therefore facilitate the priming of the medical fluid system with significantly less operating fluid and reduce the time required for priming as taught by Stringer. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Petralia so that it includes a gas release valve configured to permit gas to pass therethrough and prevent fluid from passing therethrough in order to enable priming the system with less operating fluid and reduce the time required for priming as taught by Stringer.
Regarding claims 2-3, Petralia in view of Stringer suggests the system of claim 1, and Petralia further discloses that the fluid reservoir (Figs. 1-2, feat. 3) further comprises a one-way baffle (Fig. 2, feat. 10; ¶0031-0034: de-bubbler 10 allows operating fluid to pass from the second connector 6a to the first connector 5a without allowing gasses to pass, and is therefore a one-way baffle as discussed on Page 10, line 25 – Page 11, line 31 of the present specification) disposed between the second connector (6a) and the first connector (5a), with respect to claim 2, that the one-way baffle (10) permits fluid to flow therethrough from a second connector side (6a) toward a first connector side of the one-way baffle (5a; ¶0031-0034), with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Petralia in view of Stringer suggests the system of claim 3. Petralia discloses that the gas release duct (Fig. 2, feat. 7, 7a) is on the upstream side of the one-way baffle (10; ¶0031-0034). Therefore, because the system suggested by Petralia in view of Stringer has the gas-release valve on the gas release duct, Petralia in view of Stringer further suggests that the gas release valve is upstream of the one-way baffle.
Regarding claim 5, Petralia in view of Stringer suggests the system of claim 3. Petralia further discloses that the one-way baffle (Fig. 2, feat. 10; ¶0031-0034) has a one-way valve (8; ¶0024-0029) within it and around the port of the second connector (6a) that causes the operating liquid to only flow from the second connector to the reservoir downstream of it (3), and therefore to the first connector (5a), but not vice-versa (¶0024). Therefore, Petralia further discloses that the one-way baffle permits fluid to flow therethrough only from the second connector side of the one-way baffle toward the first connector side of the one-way baffle.
Regarding claim 6, Petralia in view of Stringer discloses the system of claim 1, and Petralia further discloses that the fluid reservoir (Fig. 2, feat. 3) is configured to recirculate fluid from the sterile fluid source through the medical fluid system fluidly coupled thereto (¶0043-0051).
Regarding claim 7, Petralia in view of Stringer discloses the system of claim 1. As discussed above, the blood filter for gas removal of Stringer (Figs. 1-2B, feat. 40) comprises a fluid inlet (42), a fluid outlet (43), a sensor (45), and a gas removal port (44) coupled to a valve (36; ¶0033-0036 and 0043-0045). Stringer teaches that the filter vents gasses to the atmosphere if placed downstream of a blood processing unit (31; ¶0045), which includes an oxygenator, pump, and pump motor (¶0029). In the system of Petralia, an oxygenator and pump are upstream of the second connector and outflow line (Petralia: Fig. 2, feat. 6, 6a; ¶0023), which is upstream and outputs fluid to the reservoir (Petralia: 3), and placing the filter for gas removal of Stringer downstream of the oxygenator and pump would cause it to be upstream from the reservoir. Therefore, Petralia in view of Stringer further suggests that the gas release valve is configured to vent gas to atmosphere and direct fluid into the fluid reservoir.
Regarding claims 8-9, Petralia in view of Stringer discloses the system of claim 1, and Petralia further discloses that the system further comprises a fluid supply line (Fig. 2, feat. 4a; ¶0018-0022) extending from the first fluid connector (4) to the fluid reservoir (Fig. 2, feat. 3), with respect to claim 8, and that the medical fluid system comprises a fluid pump and an oxygenator (¶0023), with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Petralia in view of Stringer discloses the system of claim 1. Stringer further teaches that saline may be used to prime the system and remove gas from it (¶0046). Therefore, Petralia in view of Stringer further discloses that the sterile fluid source is a saline bag.
Regarding claim 11, Petralia discloses a method of priming a medical fluid system (¶0043-0051), comprising: coupling a first connector (Fig. 2, feat. 5a; ¶0018-0022) of a fluid reservoir (3; ¶0019) with an inflow line (5) of the medical fluid system (¶0044); coupling a second connector (6a) of the fluid reservoir with an outflow line (6) of the medical fluid system (¶0044); coupling a first fluid connector with a sterile fluid source, wherein the first fluid connector is in fluid communication with the fluid reservoir (4, 4a; ¶0018-0022 and 0044); and elevating the sterile fluid source above the medical fluid system (¶0038: in use, the first zone 14 of the reservoir, which is connected with the sterile fluid source via the first fluid connector 4, is placed at the top of the system), thereby causing fluid from the sterile fluid source to flow through the fluid reservoir into the inflow line of the medical fluid system, and through the medical fluid system thereby pushing gas disposed therein downstream through the outflow line (¶0044-0051).
Petralia does not disclose that gas is pushed to a gas release valve configured to vent gas to atmosphere and direct fluid into the fluid reservoir.
As discussed above, Stringer teaches a blood filter for gas removal in an extracorporeal blood circuit (Figs. 1-2B, feat. 40) comprising a fluid inlet (42), a fluid outlet (43), a sensor (45), and a gas removal port (44) coupled to a valve (36; ¶0033-0036 and 0043-0045). The valve is operated in response to the detection of a the presence of a predetermined volume of gas by the sensor, and allows the collected gas to be vented, either be a suction source or to the atmosphere (¶0044-0045). Stringer teaches that such an active gas removal system employing a gas release valve advantageously facilitates the priming of the extracorporeal blood circuit with significantly less saline or donor blood, thereby reducing the time required for priming (¶0046). Modifying the method of using the system of Petralia so that it includes a gas release valve like the one taught by Stringer would therefore facilitate the priming of the medical fluid system with significantly less operating fluid and reduce the time required for priming as taught by Stringer. Stringer teaches that the filter vents gasses to the atmosphere if placed downstream of a blood processing unit (31; ¶0045), which includes an oxygenator, pump, and pump motor (¶0029). In the system of Petralia, an oxygenator and pump are upstream of the second connector and outflow line (Petralia: Fig. 2, feat. 6, 6a; ¶0023), which is upstream and outputs fluid to the reservoir (Petralia: 3), and placing the filter for gas removal of Stringer downstream of the oxygenator and pump would cause it to be upstream from the reservoir. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Petralia so that the gas is pushed to a gas release valve configured to vent gas to atmosphere and direct fluid into the fluid reservoir in order to enable priming the medical fluid system with less operating fluid and reduce the time required for priming as taught by Stringer.
Regarding claim 12, Petralia in view of Stringer discloses the method of claim 11, and Petralia further discloses recirculating the fluid in the fluid reservoir through the medical fluid system (¶0043-0051).
Regarding claim 13, Petralia discloses a system for priming a medical fluid system (Figs. 1-2, feat. 1; ¶0017-0022) comprising: a first adapter assembly comprising a first fluid connector (5a) configured to interface with a sterile fluid source (3; reservoir 3 may hold operating fluid, and is therefore a sterile fluid source) and a first connector configured to fluidly coupled with an inflow line of the medical fluid system (5; ¶0018-0023 and 0043-0051); and a second adapter assembly comprising a second fluid connector (6a) configured to interface with the sterile fluid source (3), a second connector configured to fluidly couple with an outflow line of the medical fluid system (6; ¶0018-0023 and 0043-0051).
Petralia does not disclose that the second adapter assembly comprises a gas release valve configured to permit gas to pass therethrough and prevent fluid from passing therethrough.
As discussed above, Stringer teaches a blood filter for gas removal in an extracorporeal blood circuit (Figs. 1-2B, feat. 40) comprising a fluid inlet (42), a fluid outlet (43), a sensor (45), and a gas removal port (44) coupled to a valve (36; ¶0033-0036 and 0043-0045). The valve is operated in response to the detection of a the presence of a predetermined volume of gas by the sensor, and allows the collected gas to be vented, either be a suction source or to the atmosphere (¶0044-0045). Stringer teaches that such an active gas removal system employing a gas release valve advantageously facilitates the priming of the extracorporeal blood circuit with significantly less saline or donor blood, thereby reducing the time required for priming (¶0046). Modifying the method of using the system of Petralia so that it includes a gas release valve like the one taught by Stringer would therefore facilitate the priming of the medical fluid system with significantly less operating fluid and reduce the time required for priming as taught by Stringer. Stringer teaches that the filter vents gasses to the atmosphere if placed downstream of a blood processing unit (31; ¶0045), which includes an oxygenator, pump, and pump motor (¶0029). In the system of Petralia, an oxygenator and pump are upstream of the second connector and outflow line (Petralia: Fig. 2, feat. 6, 6a; ¶0023), which is upstream and outputs fluid to the reservoir (Petralia: 3), and modifying the second adapter assembly to include the filter for venting gasses of Stringer would place it downstream of the oxygenator and pump as taught by Stringer. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Petralia so that the second adapter assembly includes a gas release valve configured to permit gas to pass therethrough and prevent fluid from passing therethrough in order to enable priming the system with less operating fluid and reduce the time required for priming as taught by Stringer.
Regarding claims 14-15, Petralia in view of Stringer suggests the system of claim 13. As discussed above, in the system suggested by Petralia in view of Stringer, the gas removal filter is downstream of the oxygenator and the pump and upstream of the reservoir. Because the second fluid connector interfaces with the sterile fluid source comprising the reservoir and the second connector interfaces with the outflow line of the medical fluid system comprising the oxygenator and pump, the gas removal filter of the modified system would be upstream of the second fluid connector and downstream of the second connector. Therefore, Petralia in view of Stringer further suggests that the gas release valve is disposed upstream of the second fluid connector, with respect to claim 14, and that the gas release valve is disposed between the second fluid connector and the second connector.
Regarding claim 16, Petralia in view of Stringer discloses the system of claim 1. As discussed above, the blood filter for gas removal of Stringer (Figs. 1-2B, feat. 40) comprises a fluid inlet (42), a fluid outlet (43), a sensor (45), and a gas removal port (44) coupled to a valve (36; ¶0033-0036 and 0043-0045). Stringer teaches that the filter vents gasses to the atmosphere if placed downstream of a blood processing unit (31; ¶0045), which includes an oxygenator, pump, and pump motor (¶0029). In the system of Petralia, an oxygenator and pump are upstream of the second connector and outflow line (Petralia: Fig. 2, feat. 6, 6a; ¶0023), which is upstream and outputs fluid to the reservoir (Petralia: 3), and placing the filter for gas removal of Stringer downstream of the oxygenator and pump would cause it to be upstream from the reservoir. Therefore, Petralia in view of Stringer further suggests that the gas release valve is configured to vent gas to atmosphere and direct fluid into the fluid reservoir.
Regarding claim 17, Petralia in view of Stringer discloses the system of claim 1,3 and Petralia further disclose that the medical fluid system comprises a fluid pump and an oxygenator (¶0023).
Regarding claim 18, Petralia in view of Stringer discloses the system of claim 13. Stringer further teaches that saline may be used to prime the system and remove gas from it (¶0046). Therefore, Petralia in view of Stringer further discloses that the sterile fluid source is a saline bag.
Regarding claim 19, Petralia discloses a method of priming a medical fluid system (¶0043-0051), comprising: coupling a first connector (Fig. 2, feat. 5; ¶0018-0022) of a first adapter assembly (Fig. 2, feat. 5, 5a) with an inflow line of the medical fluid system (¶0044); coupling a second connector (6) of a second adapter assembly (6,6a) with an outflow line of the medical fluid system (¶0044); coupling a first fluid connector (5a) of the first adapter assembly with a sterile fluid source (3; ¶0019); coupling a second fluid connector (6a) of the second adapter assembly with the sterile fluid source (3); and elevating the sterile fluid source above the medical fluid system (¶0038: in use, the first zone 14 of the reservoir, which is connected with the sterile fluid source via the first fluid connector 4, is placed at the top of the system), thereby causing fluid from the sterile fluid source to flow through the fluid reservoir into the inflow line of the medical fluid system, and through the medical fluid system thereby pushing gas disposed therein downstream through the outflow line (¶0044-0051).
Petralia does not disclose that gas is pushed to a gas release valve configured to vent gas to atmosphere and direct fluid into the sterile fluid source.
As discussed above, Stringer teaches a blood filter for gas removal in an extracorporeal blood circuit (Figs. 1-2B, feat. 40) comprising a fluid inlet (42), a fluid outlet (43), a sensor (45), and a gas removal port (44) coupled to a valve (36; ¶0033-0036 and 0043-0045). The valve is operated in response to the detection of a the presence of a predetermined volume of gas by the sensor, and allows the collected gas to be vented, either be a suction source or to the atmosphere (¶0044-0045). Stringer teaches that such an active gas removal system employing a gas release valve advantageously facilitates the priming of the extracorporeal blood circuit with significantly less saline or donor blood, thereby reducing the time required for priming (¶0046). Modifying the method of using the system of Petralia so that it includes a gas release valve like the one taught by Stringer would therefore facilitate the priming of the medical fluid system with significantly less operating fluid and reduce the time required for priming as taught by Stringer. Stringer teaches that the filter vents gasses to the atmosphere if placed downstream of a blood processing unit (31; ¶0045), which includes an oxygenator, pump, and pump motor (¶0029). In the system of Petralia, an oxygenator and pump are upstream of the second connector and outflow line (Petralia: Fig. 2, feat. 6, 6a; ¶0023), which is upstream and outputs fluid to the reservoir (Petralia: 3), and placing the filter for gas removal of Stringer downstream of the oxygenator and pump would cause it to be upstream from the reservoir. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Petralia so that the gas is pushed to a gas release valve configured to vent gas to atmosphere and direct fluid into the fluid reservoir in order to enable priming the medical fluid system with less operating fluid and reduce the time required for priming as taught by Stringer.
Regarding claim 20, Petralia in view of Stringer discloses the method of claim 19, and Petralia further discloses recirculating the fluid in the fluid reservoir through the medical fluid system (¶0043-0051).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARJUNA P CHATRATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JESSICA ARBLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781