Drawings
Drawings have been reviewed and accepted.
Specification
The specification filed on 04/02/2024 has been entered. Specification has been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-8, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machalica (US20200184125A1), in view of Knaapen et al. (US20150286724A1, herein Knaapen).
Regarding claim 1, Machalica teaches A method of manufacturing a … product ([0055] manufacturing the part 78) , comprising: transmitting three-dimensional (3D) computer-aided design (CAD) model files ([0055] CAD system 32 may receive a model 72 (of the part)) containing 3D CAD models of standardized functional components to a computing device ([0007] Product and Manufacturing Information (PMI) objects based upon one or more features) wherein the standardized functional components [0004] PMI may be displayed on a CAD model as PMI objects and may include information helpful in manufacturing the part or assembly in accordance with desired measurements, tolerances, etc., [0024] PMI object indicating a third set of PMI data, such as dimensions and tolerances of a beveled edge of the part; and the like.)…; receiving, from the computing device, an assembly CAD model file and a plurality of part CAD model files ([0055] CAD system 32 may receive a model 72 (of the part), [0006] a system that renders computer-aided design (CAD) models of a part, an assembly, or both), wherein the assembly CAD model file contains a 3D CAD model of the …product in an assembled form (Fig. 8, [0022] produce a model of a … assembly (e.g., an industrial machine)… assembly may be created as a model-based definition included in a 2-dimensional (2D) or a 3-dimensional (3D) computer aided design (CAD) model.), and wherein the part CAD model files contain 3D CAD models of constituent parts of the … product ([0022] produce a model of a part … (e.g., … machine part). For example, the model of the part … may be created as a model-based definition included in a 2-dimensional (2D) or a 3-dimensional (3D) computer aided design (CAD) model. ) ; verifying whether the 3D CAD models contained within the assembly CAD model file and at least one of the part CAD model files satisfy a plurality of design requirements associated with the … product; ([0027] part or assembly may be assigned incorrect attribute, which may affect the manufacturing, verification, validation, tracking of the part or assembly, and so forth, [0035] The CAx system 10 may additionally provide for verification and/or validation processes 20 that may include automated inspection of the part or product as well as automated comparison of specifications, requirements, and the like, [0060] the CAD system 32 may query the database of reference models 70 and compare the characteristics of the deficient model 71 (e.g., based on the analysis [process block 92]) to corresponding characteristics of one or more reference models, [0004] PMI may be displayed on a CAD model as PMI objects and may include information helpful in manufacturing the part or assembly in accordance with desired measurements, tolerances, etc., [0024] PMI object indicating a third set of PMI data, such as dimensions and tolerances of a beveled edge of the part; and the like.); generating a set of optimized CAD model files based on the assembly CAD model file and the plurality of part CAD model files if the 3D CAD models contained within the assembly CAD model file and the plurality of part CAD model files do not meet at least one of the design requirements ([0039] The CAD system 32 may provide for the creation and update of the 2D and/or 3D models and related information (e.g., views, drawings, annotations, notes, PMI object, etc.). Indeed, the CAD system 32 may combine a graphical representation of the part or product with other, related information. Further, the CAD system 32 may create the PMI data and/or objects displayed on various renderings or MBDs. As disclosed below, in some embodiments, the CAD system 32 may identify relevant PMI objects or attributes from a first model (e.g., a reference model) to apply to a second model (e.g., a deficient model).); and 3D printing the constituent parts of the … product using one or more 3D printers based on the set of optimized CAD model files ([0034] The CAx system 10 may additionally provide for manufacturing processes 18 that may include manufacturing automation support. For example, additive manufacturing models may be derived, such as 3D printing models for material jetting, binder jetting, vat photopolymerization, powder bed fusion, sheet lamination, directed energy deposition, material extrusion, and the like, to create the part or product, [0065] manufacturing part and assemblies, [0041] The CAM/CIM system 36 may provide for certain automation and manufacturing efficiencies, for example, by deriving certain programs or code (e.g., G-code) and then executing the programs or code to manufacture the part or product. The CAM/CIM system 36 may support certain automated manufacturing techniques, such as additive (or subtractive) manufacturing techniques, including material jetting, binder jetting, vat photopolymerization, powder bed fusion, sheet lamination, directed energy deposition, material extrusion, milling, lathing, plasma cutting, wire cutting, or a combination thereo, [0039] The CAD system 32 may provide for the creation and update of the 2D and/or 3D models and related information (e.g., views, drawings, annotations, notes, PMI object, etc.). Indeed, the CAD system 32 may combine a graphical representation of the part or product with other, related information. Further, the CAD system 32 may create the PMI data and/or objects displayed on various renderings or MBDs. As disclosed below, in some embodiments, the CAD system 32 may identify relevant PMI objects or attributes from a first model (e.g., a reference model) to apply to a second model (e.g., a deficient model))
Machalica does not teach lighting product… comprise at least a light emitting component and a light socket
Knaapen teaches lighting product ([0093] The lighting device design can comprise parts that are manufactured, for example, using an additive manufacturing process (e.g. 3D printed) comprise at least a light emitting component and a light socket (Fig. 1 light source 208, [0041] These light sources have static features such as wattage, maximum light intensity, color temperature, etc. An example of such a light source is a 60 W, frosted, incandescent light bulb (e.g. ‘Philips 60 Watt Incandescent Director’ light bulb), Fig. 1 206 fixture).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Machalica’s teaching of manufacturing an assembly or part using CAD models with Knaapen’s teaching of manufacturing lighting products. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a manufacturing a lighting assembly or part using CAD models. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to diversify products to be produced by a 3D printer.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The method of claim 1, wherein the design requirements comprise whether the 3D CAD models of the lighting product accommodate the standardized functional components (Machalica, [0004] PMI may be displayed on a CAD model as PMI objects and may include information helpful in manufacturing the part or assembly in accordance with desired measurements, tolerances, etc., [0024] PMI object indicating a third set of PMI data, such as dimensions and tolerances of a beveled edge of the part; and the like.)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The method of claim 1, wherein the design requirements further comprise whether the 3D CAD models of the lighting product include a locating feature (Machalica, ([0036] For example, data from services and tracking processes 22, for example, may be used to redevelop the part or product via the development processes. Indeed, data from any one of the processes 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 may be used by any other of the processes 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 to improve the part or product or to create a new part or a new product)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The method of claim 1, wherein the design requirements further relate to a mating feature (Machalica, ([0032] the conception processes 12 may produce a set of specifications such as requirements specifications documenting a set of requirements to be satisfied by a system, a part, a product, or a combination thereof. The conception processes 12 may also produce a concept or prototype for the part or product (e.g., machine), [0039] entry of requirements and/or specifications, such as dimensions for the part or product, operational conditions that the part or product is expected to encounter (e.g., temperatures, pressures), certifications to be adhered to, quality control requirements, performance requirements, and so on. The CAD system 32 may provide for a graphical user interface suitable to create and manipulate graphical representations of 2D and/or 3D models as described above with respect to the development processes 14, [0004] PMI may be displayed on a CAD model as PMI objects and may include information helpful in manufacturing the part or assembly in accordance with desired measurements, tolerances, etc, [0024] the PMI objects may include a visual indication providing PMI data associated with a specific feature assigned the PMI object. Drawings and/or the models of the parts or assemblies (i.e., a plurality of assembled parts) may contain PMI objects used to describe a feature of the part. For example, a model may include a first PMI object indicating a first type of PMI data, such as a length of the part; a second PMI object indicating a second type of PMI data, such as a length of an indention of the part; a third PMI object indicating a third set of PMI data, such as dimensions and tolerances of a beveled edge of the part)
Regarding claim 5 , the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The method of claim 2, further comprising transmitting, to the computing device, an additional 3D CAD model file containing 3D CAD model (Machalica, [0022] the model of the part or assembly may be created as a model-based definition included in a 2-dimensional (2D) or a 3-dimensional (3D) computer aided design (CAD) model), [0030] CAD system may receive or identify a model) and verifying whether the 3D CAD models contained within the assembly CAD model file and the at least one of the part CAD model files accommodate…([0035] The CAx system 10 may additionally provide for verification and/or validation processes 20 that may include automated inspection of the part or product as well as automated comparison of specifications, requirements, and the like, [0041] The CMM system 38 may include machinery to automate inspections. For example, probe-based, camera-based, and/or sensor-based machinery may automatically inspect the part or product to ensure compliance with certain geometries, tolerances, shapes, and so on, [0073] the CAD system 32 may determine a shape of external faces of the model, a size of edges on the model, a thread count of threaded surfaces, the number of openings in the part, a volume of the model, total surface area of the model, the number of faces, the crinkliness, volumetric error, weighted point sets, deformations, and so forth, and compare one or more of these geometric characteristics to reference models 70. substantially similar to the deficient model 71.)
Knappen further teaches the component housing ([0085] a connector 1834 that allows for the lamp to be attached to a ceiling, [0087] connector 1934 in the wall mounted lamp design, ) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Machalica’s teaching of manufacturing an assembly or part using CAD models with Knaapen’s teaching of manufacturing lighting products, and connectors supporting the lamp. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a manufacturing a lighting assembly or part and connector using CAD models. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow the assembled device to be supported.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The method of claim 1, further comprising:
Knappen further teaches receiving, at a server ([0064] cloud based storage unit 504 such as a web enabled server, [0096] providing a lighting device design can be performed by a server, such as the server running the database that functions as data source 2650. The computer device 2600 can then access a website hosted by the server, where the website comprises an advertisement for a lighting device design ), a category selection concerning a lighting product category from the computing device ([0062] The lighting device designs from which the user can make a selection 406 comprise any number of options and features, for example, the images are complemented with other information comprising a name, description, category or rating (e.g. check mark for compatibility, star rating for popularity, eco symbol for environmental friendliness) where applicable. Selections made by the user are used to make further suggestions, create favorites, track history, etc., for example, by storing user made selections in a user profile.), wherein the lighting product category comprises at least a table light ([0079] the lighting device design type, such as a desk lamp), a wall light ([0079] type of lighting device design (e.g. ceiling lamp)), a floor light ([0092] the type (e.g. standing lamp, ceiling lamp) of the lighting device design) , a pendant light ([0047] the fixture 206 shown is a hanging lamp and the light source 208 shown is an incandescent light bulb) , and a portable light ([0092] the type (e.g. standing lamp, ceiling lamp) of the lighting device design) receiving, at the server ([0079] he method 1400 comprises a first step 1410 of receiving, through a graphical user interface, any one of: a model of a lighting device design, an image of a lighting device design, or an image of a scene comprising a lighting device design) , a size selection concerning a lighting product size from the computing device ([0079] lighting device design can determine, for example, the size, shape and potentially also color and materials of the lighting device design, [0003] comprise selecting a lighting device design (e.g. from an electronic catalogue of lighting device designs) or generating a lighting device design (e.g. based on modifying a base model)) ; automatically setting one or more dimension requirements based on the category selection and the size selection, wherein the dimension requirements comprise at least one of a maximum height ([0083] lighting device design 1770 generated comprises a lamp hood 1776 that matches the maximum height 1515 for the lamp hood.), a maximum width or depth, and a minimum base footprint width or depth and verifying whether the 3D CAD models contained within the assembly CAD model file and the at least one of the part CAD model files satisfy the dimension requirements ([0027] part or assembly may be assigned incorrect attribute, which may affect the manufacturing, verification, validation, tracking of the part or assembly, and so forth, [0035] The CAx system 10 may additionally provide for verification and/or validation processes 20 that may include automated inspection of the part or product as well as automated comparison of specifications, requirements, and the like, [0060] the CAD system 32 may query the database of reference models 70 and compare the characteristics of the deficient model 71 (e.g., based on the analysis [process block 92]) to corresponding characteristics of one or more reference models).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The method of claim 1, further comprising:…; and 3D printing the part of the … product using a 3D printing filament of the desired material (Machalica, [0045] FIG. 3 illustrates an example of a power production system 100 that may be entirely (or partially) conceived, developed, engineered, manufactured, serviced, and tracked by the CAx system 10, [0053] PMI data 76 may include any description of the feature that may be manufactured into a part, [0034] 3D printing models for material jetting, binder jetting, vat photopolymerization, powder bed fusion, sheet lamination, directed energy deposition, material extrusion, and the like, to create the part or product.).
Knappen further teaches receiving, from the computing device, a material selection concerning a desired material to print a part of the lighting product ([0074] The user can be guided through selecting a lighting device design by making multiple choices in multiple steps, such as first choosing a material (e.g. copper, aluminum), [0079] receiving, through a graphical user interface, any one of: a model of a lighting device design, an image of a lighting device design)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Machalica’s teaching of manufacturing an assembly or part using CAD models with Knaapen’s teaching of manufacturing lighting products, and selecting a material to produce the part. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a manufacturing a lighting assembly or part using CAD models. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow the user to customize their product.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The method of claim 6,
Knappen further teaches wherein the desired material is an opaque 3D printing material or a translucent 3D printing material ([0074] The user can be guided through selecting a lighting device design by making multiple choices in multiple steps, such as first choosing a material (e.g. copper, aluminum), [0079] receiving, through a graphical user interface, any one of: a model of a lighting device design, an image of a lighting device design).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Machalica’s teaching of manufacturing an assembly or part using CAD models with Knaapen’s teaching of manufacturing lighting products using an opaque material. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a manufacturing a lighting assembly or part using CAD models, and using an opaque material. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow the user to optimize their design aesthetic in producing the part.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more 3D printers are programmed to execute machine-readable instructions converted from the set of 34 optimized CAD model files to 3D print the constituent parts (Machalica, [0041] The CAM/CIM system 36 may provide for certain automation and manufacturing efficiencies, for example, by deriving certain programs or code (e.g., G-code) and then executing the programs or code to manufacture the part or product. The CAM/CIM system 36 may support certain automated manufacturing techniques, such as additive (or subtractive) manufacturing techniques, including material jetting, binder jetting, vat photopolymerization, powder bed fusion, sheet lamination, directed energy deposition, material extrusion, milling, lathing, plasma cutting, wire cutting, or a combination thereo, [0039] The CAD system 32 may provide for the creation and update of the 2D and/or 3D models and related information (e.g., views, drawings, annotations, notes, PMI object, etc.). Indeed, the CAD system 32 may combine a graphical representation of the part or product with other, related information. Further, the CAD system 32 may create the PMI data and/or objects displayed on various renderings or MBDs. As disclosed below, in some embodiments, the CAD system 32 may identify relevant PMI objects or attributes from a first model (e.g., a reference model) to apply to a second model (e.g., a deficient model)).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The method of claim 10, wherein the machine-readable instructions are G-Code instructions (Machalica, [0041] The CAM/CIM system 36 may provide for certain automation and manufacturing efficiencies, for example, by deriving certain programs or code (e.g., G-code) and then executing the programs or code to manufacture the part or product.) , and wherein the method further comprises changing the G-Code instructions pertaining to at least one of a printhead temperature, a print speed, and an extrusion amount after the G-Code instructions are converted from the set of optimized CAD model files ([0041] The CAM/CIM system 36 may provide for certain automation and manufacturing efficiencies, for example, by deriving certain programs or code (e.g., G-code) and then executing the programs or code to manufacture the part or product… may support certain automated manufacturing techniques, such as additive manufacturing techniques, including… material extrusion… For example, probe-based, camera-based, and/or sensor-based machinery may automatically inspect the part or product to ensure compliance with certain geometries, tolerances, shapes, and so on)
Regarding claim 12, , the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The method of claim 1, wherein the step of generating the set of optimized CAD model files (Machalica, [0039] The CAD system 32 may provide for the creation and update of the 2D and/or 3D models and related information (e.g., views, drawings, annotations, notes, PMI object, etc, [0033] Development models may then be further refined)) further comprises at least one of: adding an accommodation for a standardized functional component in one of the 3D CAD models; changing a design of an overhang in one of the 3D CAD models; adding a locating feature to one of the 3D CAD models ([0036] For example, data from services and tracking processes 22, for example, may be used to redevelop the part or product via the development processes. Indeed, data from any one of the processes 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 may be used by any other of the processes 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 to improve the part or product or to create a new part or a new product) ; and changing a mating feature in one of the 3D CAD models into a different mating feature.
Regarding claim 13, Machalica teaches A system for manufacturing a… product ([0055] manufacturing the part 78), comprising: a server comprising one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are programmed to execute instructions to: ([0042] cloud-based systems 69 that may provide for decentralized computing services and file storage, [0050] The controller 130 may include a processor(s) 140 (e.g., a microprocessor(s)) that may execute software programs to perform the disclosed techniques.) : transmit, to a computing device, one or more of the 3D CAD model files containing 3D CAD models([0055] CAD system 32 may receive a model 72 (of the part)) of the standardized functional components ([0007] Product and Manufacturing Information (PMI) objects based upon one or more features) in response to a user input applied at the computing device ([0039] The CAD system 32 may provide for a graphical user interface suitable to create and manipulate graphical representations of 2D and/or 3D models), receive, from the computing device, an assembly CAD model file and a plurality of part CAD model files ([0055] CAD system 32 may receive a model 72 (of the part), [0006] a system that renders computer-aided design (CAD) models of a part, an assembly, or both), wherein the assembly CAD model file contains a 3D CAD model of the …product in an assembled form (Fig. 8, [0022] produce a model of a … assembly (e.g., an industrial machine)… assembly may be created as a model-based definition included in a 2-dimensional (2D) or a 3-dimensional (3D) computer aided design (CAD) model.), and wherein the part CAD model files contain 3D CAD models of constituent parts of the … product ([0022] produce a model of a part … (e.g., … machine part). For example, the model of the part … may be created as a model-based definition included in a 2-dimensional (2D) or a 3-dimensional (3D) computer aided design (CAD) model. ), verify whether the 3D CAD models contained within the assembly CAD model file and the plurality of part CAD model files satisfy a plurality of design requirements associated with the …product ([0027] part or assembly may be assigned incorrect attribute, which may affect the manufacturing, verification, validation, tracking of the part or assembly, and so forth, [0035] The CAx system 10 may additionally provide for verification and/or validation processes 20 that may include automated inspection of the part or product as well as automated comparison of specifications, requirements, and the like, [0060] the CAD system 32 may query the database of reference models 70 and compare the characteristics of the deficient model 71 (e.g., based on the analysis [process block 92]) to corresponding characteristics of one or more reference models), and generate a set of optimized CAD model files based on the assembly CAD model file and the plurality of part CAD model files if the 3D CAD models contained within the assembly CAD model file and the plurality of part CAD model files do not meet at least one of the design requirements ([0039] The CAD system 32 may provide for the creation and update of the 2D and/or 3D models and related information (e.g., views, drawings, annotations, notes, PMI object, etc.). Indeed, the CAD system 32 may combine a graphical representation of the part or product with other, related information. Further, the CAD system 32 may create the PMI data and/or objects displayed on various renderings or MBDs. As disclosed below, in some embodiments, the CAD system 32 may identify relevant PMI objects or attributes from a first model (e.g., a reference model) to apply to a second model (e.g., a deficient model) and one or more 3D printers configured to 3D print the constituent parts of the… product, wherein the one or more 3D printers are programmed to execute machine-readable instructions converted from the set of optimized CAD model files to 3D print the constituent parts (Machalica, [0041] The CAM/CIM system 36 may provide for certain automation and manufacturing efficiencies, for example, by deriving certain programs or code (e.g., G-code) and then executing the programs or code to manufacture the part or product. The CAM/CIM system 36 may support certain automated manufacturing techniques, such as additive (or subtractive) manufacturing techniques, including material jetting, binder jetting, vat photopolymerization, powder bed fusion, sheet lamination, directed energy deposition, material extrusion, milling, lathing, plasma cutting, wire cutting, or a combination thereo, [0039] The CAD system 32 may provide for the creation and update of the 2D and/or 3D models and related information (e.g., views, drawings, annotations, notes, PMI object, etc.). Indeed, the CAD system 32 may combine a graphical representation of the part or product with other, related information. Further, the CAD system 32 may create the PMI data and/or objects displayed on various renderings or MBDs. As disclosed below, in some embodiments, the CAD system 32 may identify relevant PMI objects or attributes from a first model (e.g., a reference model) to apply to a second model (e.g., a deficient model)).
Machalica does not teach lighting product… assembling the 3D-printed parts
Knaapen teaches lighting product ([0093] The lighting device design can comprise parts that are manufactured, for example, using an additive manufacturing process (e.g. 3D printed))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Machalica’s teaching of manufacturing an assembly or part using CAD models with Knaapen’s teaching of manufacturing lighting products. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a manufacturing a lighting assembly or part using CAD models. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to diversify products to be produced by a 3D printer.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The system of claim 13, wherein the design requirements comprise whether the 3D CAD models of the lighting product accommodate the standardized functional components (Machalica, [0004] PMI may be displayed on a CAD model as PMI objects and may include information helpful in manufacturing the part or assembly in accordance with desired measurements, tolerances, etc., [0024] PMI object indicating a third set of PMI data, such as dimensions and tolerances of a beveled edge of the part; and the like.)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The system of claim 13, wherein the design requirements further comprise whether the 3D CAD models of the lighting product include a locating feature (Machalica, ([0036] For example, data from services and tracking processes 22, for example, may be used to redevelop the part or product via the development processes. Indeed, data from any one of the processes 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 may be used by any other of the processes 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 to improve the part or product or to create a new part or a new product)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The system of claim 13, wherein the design requirements further relate to a mating feature (Machalica, ([0032] the conception processes 12 may produce a set of specifications such as requirements specifications documenting a set of requirements to be satisfied by a system, a part, a product, or a combination thereof. The conception processes 12 may also produce a concept or prototype for the part or product (e.g., machine), [0039] entry of requirements and/or specifications, such as dimensions for the part or product, operational conditions that the part or product is expected to encounter (e.g., temperatures, pressures), certifications to be adhered to, quality control requirements, performance requirements, and so on. The CAD system 32 may provide for a graphical user interface suitable to create and manipulate graphical representations of 2D and/or 3D models as described above with respect to the development processes 14, [0004] PMI may be displayed on a CAD model as PMI objects and may include information helpful in manufacturing the part or assembly in accordance with desired measurements, tolerances, etc, [0024] the PMI objects may include a visual indication providing PMI data associated with a specific feature assigned the PMI object. Drawings and/or the models of the parts or assemblies (i.e., a plurality of assembled parts) may contain PMI objects used to describe a feature of the part. For example, a model may include a first PMI object indicating a first type of PMI data, such as a length of the part; a second PMI object indicating a second type of PMI data, such as a length of an indention of the part; a third PMI object indicating a third set of PMI data, such as dimensions and tolerances of a beveled edge of the part)
Regarding claim 17 , the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The system of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors of the server are further programmed to ([0042] cloud-based systems 69 that may provide for decentralized computing services and file storage, [0050] The controller 130 may include a processor(s) 140 (e.g., a microprocessor(s)) that may execute software programs to perform the disclosed techniques.): transmit to the computing device, an additional 3D CAD model file containing 3D CAD model of a component (Machalica, [0022] the model of the part or assembly may be created as a model-based definition included in a 2-dimensional (2D) or a 3-dimensional (3D) computer aided design (CAD) model), [0030] CAD system may receive or identify a model) and verify whether the 3D CAD models contained within the assembly CAD model file and the at least one of the part CAD model files accommodate…([0035] The CAx system 10 may additionally provide for verification and/or validation processes 20 that may include automated inspection of the part or product as well as automated comparison of specifications, requirements, and the like, [0041] The CMM system 38 may include machinery to automate inspections. For example, probe-based, camera-based, and/or sensor-based machinery may automatically inspect the part or product to ensure compliance with certain geometries, tolerances, shapes, and so on, [0073] the CAD system 32 may determine a shape of external faces of the model, a size of edges on the model, a thread count of threaded surfaces, the number of openings in the part, a volume of the model, total surface area of the model, the number of faces, the crinkliness, volumetric error, weighted point sets, deformations, and so forth, and compare one or more of these geometric characteristics to reference models 70. substantially similar to the deficient model 71.)
Knappen further teaches the component housing configured to house or support one of the standardized functional components ([0085] a connector 1834 that allows for the lamp to be attached to a ceiling, [0087] connector 1934 in the wall mounted lamp design) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Machalica’s teaching of manufacturing an assembly or part using CAD models with Knaapen’s teaching of manufacturing lighting products, and connectors supporting the lamp. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a manufacturing a lighting assembly or part and connector using CAD models. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow the assembled device to be supported.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors of the server are further programmed to ([0042] cloud-based systems 69 that may provide for decentralized computing services and file storage, [0050] The controller 130 may include a processor(s) 140 (e.g., a microprocessor(s)) that may execute software programs to perform the disclosed techniques.):
Knappen further teaches receive ([0064] cloud based storage unit 504 such as a web enabled server, [0096] providing a lighting device design can be performed by a server, such as the server running the database that functions as data source 2650. The computer device 2600 can then access a website hosted by the server, where the website comprises an advertisement for a lighting device design ) a category selection concerning a lighting product category from the computing device ([0062] The lighting device designs from which the user can make a selection 406 comprise any number of options and features, for example, the images are complemented with other information comprising a name, description, category or rating (e.g. check mark for compatibility, star rating for popularity, eco symbol for environmental friendliness) where applicable. Selections made by the user are used to make further suggestions, create favorites, track history, etc., for example, by storing user made selections in a user profile.), wherein the lighting product category comprises at least a table light ([0079] the lighting device design type, such as a desk lamp), a wall light ([0079] type of lighting device design (e.g. ceiling lamp)), a floor light ([0092] the type (e.g. standing lamp, ceiling lamp) of the lighting device design) , a pendant light ([0047] the fixture 206 shown is a hanging lamp and the light source 208 shown is an incandescent light bulb) , and a portable light ([0092] the type (e.g. standing lamp, ceiling lamp) of the lighting device design) receive ([0079] he method 1400 comprises a first step 1410 of receiving, through a graphical user interface, any one of: a model of a lighting device design, an image of a lighting device design, or an image of a scene comprising a lighting device design) , a size selection concerning a lighting product size from the computing device ([0079] lighting device design can determine, for example, the size, shape and potentially also color and materials of the lighting device design, [0003] comprise selecting a lighting device design (e.g. from an electronic catalogue of lighting device designs) or generating a lighting device design (e.g. based on modifying a base model)) ; automatically set one or more dimension requirements based on the category selection and the size selection, wherein the dimension requirements comprise at least one of a maximum height ([0083] lighting device design 1770 generated comprises a lamp hood 1776 that matches the maximum height 1515 for the lamp hood.), a maximum width or depth, and a minimum base footprint width or depth and verify whether the 3D CAD models contained within the assembly CAD model file and the at least one of the part CAD model files satisfy the dimension requirements ([0027] part or assembly may be assigned incorrect attribute, which may affect the manufacturing, verification, validation, tracking of the part or assembly, and so forth, [0035] The CAx system 10 may additionally provide for verification and/or validation processes 20 that may include automated inspection of the part or product as well as automated comparison of specifications, requirements, and the like, [0060] the CAD system 32 may query the database of reference models 70 and compare the characteristics of the deficient model 71 (e.g., based on the analysis [process block 92]) to corresponding characteristics of one or more reference models).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The system of claim 13, wherein the machine-readable instructions are G-Code instructions (Machalica, [0041] The CAM/CIM system 36 may provide for certain automation and manufacturing efficiencies, for example, by deriving certain programs or code (e.g., G-code) and then executing the programs or code to manufacture the part or product.) , and wherein the one or more processors of the server are further programmed to change the G-Code instructions pertaining to at least one of a printhead temperature, a print speed, and an extrusion amount after the G-Code instructions are converted from the set of optimized CAD model files ([0041] The CAM/CIM system 36 may provide for certain automation and manufacturing efficiencies, for example, by deriving certain programs or code (e.g., G-code) and then executing the programs or code to manufacture the part or product… may support certain automated manufacturing techniques, such as additive manufacturing techniques, including… material extrusion… For example, probe-based, camera-based, and/or sensor-based machinery may automatically inspect the part or product to ensure compliance with certain geometries, tolerances, shapes, and so on)
Regarding claim 20, , the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors of the server are further programmed to generate the set of optimized CAD model files (Machalica, [0039] The CAD system 32 may provide for the creation and update of the 2D and/or 3D models and related information (e.g., views, drawings, annotations, notes, PMI object, etc, [0033] Development models may then be further refined)) by performing at least one of: adding an accommodation for a standardized functional component in one of the 3D CAD models; changing a design of an overhang in one of the 3D CAD models; adding a locating feature to one of the 3D CAD models ([0036] For example, data from services and tracking processes 22, for example, may be used to redevelop the part or product via the development processes. Indeed, data from any one of the processes 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 may be used by any other of the processes 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 to improve the part or product or to create a new part or a new product) ; and changing a mating feature in one of the 3D CAD models into a different mating feature.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machalica (US20200184125A1), in view of Knaapen et al. (US20150286724A1, herein Knaapen), in further view of Guimbretiere et al. (US20170248937A1, herein Guimbretiere).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Machalica and Knaapen teach The method of claim 7,
The combination of Machalica and Knaapen do not teach wherein the 3D printing filament is a plant-based polylactic acid (PLA) filament.
Guimbretiere teaches wherein the 3D printing filament is a plant-based polylactic acid (PLA) filament. [0021] objects may be constructed using any type of filament material, including for example, Acrylonitrile Butadiene Styrene (ABS), Polylactic Acid or Polylactide (PLA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Machalica’s and Knaapen’s teaching of manufacturing a lighting assembly or part using CAD models with teaching of constructing with any type of filament material including polylactic acid (PLA). The combined teaching provides an expected result of a manufacturing a lighting assembly or part using CAD models using polylactic acid (PLA) as the filament. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated since PLA is easy to print, inexpensive, and environmentally friendly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lunz (US20170038015) discloses a manufacturing control program for a lighting assembly.
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117