DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 8, 14-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the actuation assembly" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the actuation assembly" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation " the actuation assembly " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the actuation assembly " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation " the actuation assembly " in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-11,18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yun et al. (KR102186833B1).
Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses a battery pack system (energy storage system [Abstract]) comprising: a casing (Shelter (10) [Abstract]) having an interior and comprising at least one opening ((33a) [0015] fig. 4a); and at least one cover disposed in the casing interior (Blocking plate (51) [0016] fig. 4a) and movably configured at the at least one opening [0016], such that one of the cover is associated with one of the opening (fig. 4b), wherein, in an event of a hazard in the interior of the battery pack system, the one or more cover is configured to move to a closed position to close the at least one opening of the casing [0058-0061].
Regarding claim 2, Yun discloses the battery pack system comprises an actuation assembly (Breaker (50) [0059]) configured with the at least one cover (plate (51)), wherein the actuation assembly is configured to keep the at least one cover in an open position during a non-hazard condition (Bimetal (56) not bent would correspond to a non-hazard condition [0059-0061]), and move the at least one cover to the closed position in the event of the hazard [0058-0061].
Regarding claim 9, Yun discloses the hazard comprises one or more of: an occurrence of fire in the interior of the casing (Fire [0040]) an increase in temperature of the interior of the casing above a predefined temperature, and an occurrence of an explosion in the interior of the casing of the battery pack system.
Regarding claim 10, Yun discloses a hazard protection system (Breaker (50) and fire extinguisher (40)) for a battery pack (Battery rack BL [0038]), the system comprising: at least one cover (Blocking plate (51) [0016]) adapted to be movably configured at least at one opening of a casing associated with the battery pack in an interior of the casing ([0016] figs. 4a and 4b) , such that one of the cover is configured with one of the opening (fig. 4b), wherein, in an event of a hazard in the interior of the battery pack, the at least one cover is configured to move to a closed position to close the at least one opening of the casing [0016].
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Yun discloses the system comprises an actuation assembly (Breaker (50) [0059]) configured with the at least one cover (Blocking plate (51) [0016]), wherein the actuation assembly is configured to keep the at least one cover in an open position during a non-hazard condition, and move the at least one cover to the closed position in the event of the hazard (figs. 4a and 4b [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Yun discloses the hazard comprises one or more of: an occurrence of fire in the interior of the casing (Fire [0040]) an increase in temperature of the interior of the casing above a predefined temperature, and an occurrence of an explosion in the interior of the casing of the battery pack system.
Regarding claim 19, Yun discloses a hazard protection system (Breaker (50) and fire extinguisher (40)) for a device (Battery rack BL [0038]), the system comprising: at least one cover (Blocking plate (51) [0016]) adapted to be movably configured at least at one opening of a casing associated with the battery pack in an interior of the casing ([0016] figs. 4a and 4b) , such that one of the cover is configured with one of the opening (fig. 4b), wherein, in an event of a hazard in the interior of the battery pack, the at least one cover is configured to move to a closed position to close the at least one opening of the casing [0016].
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated, Yun discloses the hazard comprises one or more of: an occurrence of fire in the interior of the casing (Fire [0040]) an increase in temperature of the interior of the casing above a predefined temperature, and an occurrence of an explosion in the interior of the casing of the battery pack system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7-8, 12-14, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (KR102186833B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US2023/0052417A, with foreign priority date of April 1, 2020).
Regarding claim 3, Yun discloses an actuation assembly (Breaker (50) [0059]) but does not explicitly disclose the assembly comprises: a pressure-sensitive retainer comprising a first end coupled to the cover and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing, wherein the retainer is adapted to retain the cover at the open position during the non-hazard condition, and wherein, in the event of the hazard, the retainer is adapted to be compressed or deformed by pressure waves generated by the hazard to move the cover to the closed position.
In the same field of endeavor Shin discloses battery module [Abstract] and teaches a gas cutoff structure (240) [00073], comprising a pressure-sensitive retainer (Cutoff membrane (242, 342) [0073] [0078] [0081]) comprising a first end coupled to the cover and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing (fig. 6b and 7), wherein the retainer is adapted to retain the cover at the open position during the non-hazard condition (Non-gas event [0081]), and wherein, in the event of the hazard (Gas passing through duct [0081], the retainer is adapted to be compressed or deformed by pressure waves generated by the hazard to move the cover to the closed position (Cutoff membrane is rapidly rotated by the pressure difference in gas that passes through the duct [0081]),
Shin further teaches it is possible to prevent spread of flames and heat generated in the battery cell module assemblies and to prevent air outside the battery module from being introduced into the battery module, whereby it is possible to prevent enlargement to large-scale fire. [0081]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yun with the gas cutoff structure as taught by Shin to achieve prevent large-scale fire damage of the battery.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, modified Yun discloses the pressure-sensitive retainer (cutoff membrane (242), comprises elastic body (248) [0073] fig. 6) and although Yun does not disclose a specific elastic member it would be obvious for the elastic member to comprise a spring as, “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Under the facts of this case, the burden shifts to Appellants to show they achieve unexpected results for their combinations of a hinge, a spring, and a shearing device. Appellants have not provided any secondary indicia, such as unexpected results, to demonstrate the nonobviousness of the hinge, a spring, and a shearing device combinations recited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Yun discloses an actuation assembly (Breaker (50) [0059]) but does not explicitly disclose the assembly comprises: at least one biasing element, each comprising a first end coupled to the cover and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing; and a temperature-sensitive element comprising a first end coupled to the cover and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing, wherein, during the non-hazard condition, the temperature-sensitive element is adapted to retain the cover at the open position against a biasing force of the at least one biasing element, and in the event of the hazard, the temperature-sensitive element is adapted to deform or break and correspondingly enable the at least one biasing element to pull the cover to the closed position.
In the same field of endeavor Shin discloses battery module [Abstract] and teaches a gas cutoff structure (240) [00073], comprising at least one biasing element (Elastic body (248) [0073]), each comprising a first end coupled to the cover (Cutoff membrane (242) [0073] fig. 6) and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing (Duct (130) fig. 2 and fig. 6); and a temperature-sensitive element comprising a first end coupled to the cover and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing (Temperature fuse (247) [0073] fig. 6), wherein, during the non-hazard condition (Heat not generated [0073]), the temperature-sensitive element is adapted to retain the cover at the open position against a biasing force of the at least one biasing element (fig. 6), and in the event of the hazard (Heat generated [0073]), the temperature-sensitive element is adapted to deform or break and correspondingly enable the at least one biasing element to pull the cover to the closed position [0073].
Shin further teaches it is possible to prevent spread of flames and heat generated in the battery cell module assemblies and to prevent air outside the battery module from being introduced into the battery module, whereby it is possible to prevent enlargement to large-scale fire. [0081]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yun with the gas cutoff structure as taught by Shin to achieve prevent large-scale fire damage of the battery.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, modified Yun discloses the temperature-sensitive element comprises a fusible link (Temperature fuse 247 [Shin, 0073]) having a predefined melting point, wherein the fusible link is adapted to deform when temperature of the fusible link exceeds the predefined melting point [Shin, 0024].
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Yun does not explicitly disclose at least one cover comprises a movable plate rotatably mounted about an axis at the at least one opening of the casing, and the actuation assembly comprises: a biasing element attached to a wall in the interior of the casing; and a retainer comprising a first end connected to the movable plate and a second end connected to the biasing element, wherein, during the non-hazard condition, the biasing element and the retainer are adapted to retain the plate at the open position, and in the event of the hazard, the retainer is adapted to deform or break which correspondingly detaches the biasing element from the plate to release the plate and allow rotation of the plate about the axis to move the cover to the closed position.
In the same field od endeavor Shin discloses battery module [Abstract] and teaches at least one cover comprises a movable plate rotatably mounted about an axis (Cutoff membrane (242) [0024] [0073] fig. 6) at the at least one opening of the casing (Duct (130) figs. 2 and 6), and the actuation assembly (Cutoff membrane (240) [0073]) comprises: a biasing element (elastic body (248) attached to a wall in the interior of the casing (fig. 6); and a retainer (Temperature fuse (247) [0073]) comprising a first end connected to the movable plate and a second end connected to the biasing element (fig. 6), wherein, during the non-hazard condition, the biasing element and the retainer are adapted to retain the plate at the open position (Heat not generated [0073] fig. 6a}, and in the event of the hazard, the retainer is adapted to deform or break which correspondingly detaches the biasing element from the plate to release the plate and allow rotation of the plate about the axis to move the cover to the closed position (Heat generated [0073] fig. 6b).
Shin further teaches it is possible to prevent spread of flames and heat generated in the battery cell module assemblies and to prevent air outside the battery module from being introduced into the battery module, whereby it is possible to prevent enlargement to large-scale fire. [0081]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yun with the gas cutoff structure as taught by Shin to achieve prevent large-scale fire damage of the battery.
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Yun discloses an actuation assembly (Breaker (50) [0059]) but does not explicitly disclose the assembly comprises: a pressure-sensitive retainer comprising a first end coupled to the cover and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing, wherein the retainer is adapted to retain the cover at the open position during the non-hazard condition, and wherein, in the event of the hazard, the retainer is adapted to be compressed or deformed by pressure waves generated by the hazard to move the cover to the closed position.
In the same field of endeavor Shin discloses battery module [Abstract] and teaches a gas cutoff structure (240) [00073], comprising a pressure-sensitive retainer (Cutoff membrane (242, 342) [0073] [0078] [0081]) comprising a first end coupled to the cover and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing (fig. 6b and 7), wherein the retainer is adapted to retain the cover at the open position during the non-hazard condition (Non-gas event [0081]), and wherein, in the event of the hazard (Gas passing through duct [0081], the retainer is adapted to be compressed or deformed by pressure waves generated by the hazard to move the cover to the closed position (Cutoff membrane is rapidly rotated by the pressure difference in gas that passes through the duct [0081]),
Shin further teaches it is possible to prevent spread of flames and heat generated in the battery cell module assemblies and to prevent air outside the battery module from being introduced into the battery module, whereby it is possible to prevent enlargement to large-scale fire. [0081]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yun with the gas cutoff structure as taught by Shin to achieve prevent large-scale fire damage of the battery.
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, modified Yun discloses the pressure-sensitive retainer (cutoff membrane (242), comprises elastic body (248) [0073] fig. 6) and although Yun does not disclose a specific elastic member it would be obvious for the elastic member to comprise a spring as, “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Under the facts of this case, the burden shifts to Appellants to show they achieve unexpected results for their combinations of a hinge, a spring, and a shearing device. Appellants have not provided any secondary indicia, such as unexpected results, to demonstrate the nonobviousness of the hinge, a spring, and a shearing device combinations recited in claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Yun discloses an actuation assembly (Breaker (50) [0059]) but does not explicitly disclose the assembly comprises: at least one biasing element, each comprising a first end coupled to the cover and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing; and a temperature-sensitive element comprising a first end coupled to the cover and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing, wherein, during the non-hazard condition, the temperature-sensitive element is adapted to retain the cover at the open position against a biasing force of the at least one biasing element, and in the event of the hazard, the temperature-sensitive element is adapted to deform or break and correspondingly enable the at least one biasing element to pull the cover to the closed position.
In the same field of endeavor Shin discloses battery module [Abstract] and teaches a gas cutoff structure (240) [00073], comprising at least one biasing element (Elastic body (248) [0073]), each comprising a first end coupled to the cover (Cutoff membrane (242) [0073] fig. 6) and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing (Duct (130) fig. 2 and fig. 6); and a temperature-sensitive element comprising a first end coupled to the cover and a second end configured at the corresponding opening in the interior of the casing (Temperature fuse (247) [0073] fig. 6), wherein, during the non-hazard condition (Heat not generated [0073]), the temperature-sensitive element is adapted to retain the cover at the open position against a biasing force of the at least one biasing element (fig. 6), and in the event of the hazard (Heat generated [0073]), the temperature-sensitive element is adapted to deform or break and correspondingly enable the at least one biasing element to pull the cover to the closed position [0073].
Shin further teaches it is possible to prevent spread of flames and heat generated in the battery cell module assemblies and to prevent air outside the battery module from being introduced into the battery module, whereby it is possible to prevent enlargement to large-scale fire. [0081]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yun with the gas cutoff structure as taught by Shin to achieve prevent large-scale fire damage of the battery.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, modified Yun discloses the temperature-sensitive element comprises a fusible link (Temperature fuse 247 [Shin, 0073]) having a predefined melting point, wherein the fusible link is adapted to deform when temperature of the fusible link exceeds the predefined melting point [Shin, 0024].
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Yun does not explicitly disclose at least one cover comprises a movable plate rotatably mounted about an axis at the at least one opening of the casing, and the actuation assembly comprises: a biasing element attached to a wall in the interior of the casing; and a retainer comprising a first end connected to the movable plate and a second end connected to the biasing element, wherein, during the non-hazard condition, the biasing element and the retainer are adapted to retain the plate at the open position, and in the event of the hazard, the retainer is adapted to deform or break which correspondingly detaches the biasing element from the plate to release the plate and allow rotation of the plate about the axis to move the cover to the closed position.
In the same field of endeavor Shin discloses battery module [Abstract] and teaches at least one cover comprises a movable plate rotatably mounted about an axis (Cutoff membrane (242) [0024] [0073] fig. 6) at the at least one opening of the casing (Duct (130) figs. 2 and 6), and the actuation assembly (Cutoff membrane (240) [0073]) comprises: a biasing element (elastic body (248) attached to a wall in the interior of the casing (fig. 6); and a retainer (Temperature fuse (247) [0073]) comprising a first end connected to the movable plate and a second end connected to the biasing element (fig. 6), wherein, during the non-hazard condition, the biasing element and the retainer are adapted to retain the plate at the open position (Heat not generated [0073] fig. 6a}, and in the event of the hazard, the retainer is adapted to deform or break which correspondingly detaches the biasing element from the plate to release the plate and allow rotation of the plate about the axis to move the cover to the closed position (Heat generated [0073] fig. 6b).
Shin further teaches it is possible to prevent spread of flames and heat generated in the battery cell module assemblies and to prevent air outside the battery module from being introduced into the battery module, whereby it is possible to prevent enlargement to large-scale fire. [0081]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yun with the gas cutoff structure as taught by Shin to achieve prevent large-scale fire damage of the battery.
Claim(s) 6, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (KR102186833B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US2023/0052417A, with foreign priority date of April 1, 2020), in further view of Lee et al. (US2024/0024714A1 with foreign priority date of January 30, 2020)
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, modified Yun discloses the temperature-sensitive element (Temperature fuse 247) but does not explicitly disclose the temperature-sensitive element is a bulb filled with a fluid that is adapted to explode and break the bulb when temperature of the fluid exceeds a predefined temperature.
In the same field of endeavor Lee discloses a battery pack [Abstract] and teaches a fire extinguishing agent may be distributed by a pipe valve to at least one battery module [Abstract], and a distribution valve may include a glass bulb configured to close the output hole and configured to open the output hole by being at least partially broken when the battery module is exposed to an internal gas over the first predetermined temperature [0030] and the glass bulb 312 may have a predetermined liquid (not shown) contained therein. For example, the liquid may have a property that the volume increases as the temperature rises.[0126].
Therefore it would be obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the bulb of Lee because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved and at the time of the invention bulbs were known to be used as a temperature sensitive element. (see MPEP § 2143, B.)
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, modified Yun discloses the temperature-sensitive element (Temperature fuse 247) but does not explicitly disclose the temperature-sensitive element is a bulb filled with a fluid that is adapted to explode and break the bulb when temperature of the fluid exceeds a predefined temperature.
In the same field of endeavor Lee discloses a battery pack [Abstract] and teaches a fire extinguishing agent may be distributed by a pipe valve to at least one battery module [Abstract], and a distribution valve may include a glass bulb configured to close the output hole and configured to open the output hole by being at least partially broken when the battery module is exposed to an internal gas over the first predetermined temperature [0030] and the glass bulb 312 may have a predetermined liquid (not shown) contained therein. For example, the liquid may have a property that the volume increases as the temperature rises.[0126].
Therefore it would be obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the bulb of Lee because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved and at the time of the invention bulbs were known to be used as a temperature sensitive element. (see MPEP § 2143, B.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Hirokawa et al. (US2010/0047673A1) Battery pack with oxygen reduction.
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728