DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 29th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 12, 14-18, and 20-27 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) and 112(d) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 28th, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cavity in claim 1, ln. 8 and the bearing surface in claim 20, ln. 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: a cavity in claim 1, ln. 5.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an internal control unit in claim 9, ln. 3.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. It will be interpreted that the internal control unit is a sensor, a printed circuit assembly, a memory, an accelerometer, or an optical indicator, as described in Paragraph 0043 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “the trigger of the trigger assembly is configured to receive a palm of a user hand and the handle of the handle assembly is configured to receive one or more fingers of the user hand” in ln. 1-3. This limitation is not supported by the written description, which only states “Specifically, trigger lock mechanism 64 may auto-engage such that the user is required to grasp fully around the handle to unlock the device” in paragraph 0035. The specification does not specifically describe the trigger of the trigger assembly is configured to receive a palm of a user hand and the handle of the handle assembly is configured to receive one or more fingers of the user hand.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 12, 14-18, and 20-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the front surface of the handle assembly" in ln. 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no “a front surface of the handle assembly” to refer back to for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the front surface of the handle assembly" in ln. 10-11. There is a lack of clarity for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the applicant is referring to the front surface of the cavity previously recited in the claim or if the applicant is introducing a new feature. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted that the applicant is referring to the front surface of the cavity previously recited in the claim.
Claims 2, 5-6, 9-10, 12, 14-18, and 20-27 are rejected by virtue of dependency under claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, 23, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Murray discloses a spray applicator (10, Fig. 1), comprising:
a manifold (interpreting as a pipe fitting with several lateral outlets for connecting one pipe with others, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, 16, Figs. 1-2B, 4) comprising a plurality of fluid chambers (45, 47, Fig. 4), the manifold (16, Figs. 1-2B, 4) defining a front end (front end of housing 16 connecting to nozzle assembly 20, shown in Figs. 1-2B, 4) associated with delivery of fluid flow from the plurality of fluid chambers (component streams enter nozzle assembly 20 before exiting outlet tip portion 32, Paragraph 0038) and a rear end (rear end of housing 16 opposite of the front end, shown in Figs. 1-2B, 4) located opposite the front end (shown in Figs. 1-2B, 4);
a handle assembly (12, Figs. 1-2B) comprising a handle (14, Figs. 1-2B) and a cavity (upper portion of gun body 12, shown in Figs. 1-2B) configured to fixedly receive the manifold (16, upper portion of the gun body 12 includes the flow control valve housing 16, Figs. 1-2B, 4, Paragraph 0029), wherein the cavity (upper portion of gun body 12, shown in Figs. 1-2B) defines an opening at a front surface of the cavity (annotated in Fig. 1) that allows at least a portion of the front end of the manifold (front end of housing 16 connecting to nozzle assembly 20, shown in Figs. 1-2B, 4) to extend outwardly beyond the front surface of the handle assembly (annotated in Fig. 1) when the manifold (16, Figs. 1-2B, 4) is fixedly received in the cavity (upper portion of gun body 12, shown in Figs. 1-2B);
a trigger assembly (24, 59, 60, 52, 26, Figs. 1-2B) configured to be attached adjacent (interpreting as nearby, Merriam-Webster Dictionary) to at least a portion of the rear end of the manifold (rear end of housing 16 opposite of the front end, shown in Figs. 1-2B, 4), wherein a trigger (24, Figs. 1-2B) of the trigger assembly (24, 59, 60, 52, 26, Figs. 1-2B) extending rearwardly from the rear end of the manifold (rear end of housing 16 opposite of the front end, shown in Figs. 1-2B, 4) is configured to be actuated in a direction towards the handle assembly (12, Figs. 1-2B) to cause delivery of fluid flow from the plurality of fluid chambers (45, 47, rotational movement of trigger 24 results in corresponding rotational movement of valves 100 and 102 which opens and closes the valves 100, 102, trigger 24 is in the open position shown in Fig. 2B, Figs. 2B, 4, Paragraphs 0037-0038).
Regarding claim 14, Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 1. Murray further discloses a nozzle (20, Figs. 1-2B) configured to be attached adjacent to the front surface of the handle assembly (annotated in Fig. 1) via the portion of the front end of the manifold (front end of housing 16 connecting to nozzle assembly 20, shown in Figs. 1-2B, 4) that extends outwardly beyond the front surface of the handle assembly (annotated in Fig. 1), wherein fluid flow from the plurality of fluid chambers (45, 47, Fig. 4) of the manifold (16, Figs. 1-2B, 4) is configured to be delivered into the nozzle (20, shown in Fig. 4, Paragraph 0046).
In regards to claim 23, Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 1, wherein the trigger (24, Figs. 1-2B) of the trigger assembly (24, 59, 60, 52, 26, Figs. 1-2B) is configured to receive a palm of a user hand (trigger 24 is pulled to a fully opened or closed position by a user, Paragraphs 0028, 0044) and the handle (14, Figs. 1-2B) of the handle assembly (12, Figs. 1-2B) is configured to receive one or more fingers of the user hand (handle 14 is preferably contoured to provide a comfortable ergonomic fit in a user’s hand, Paragraph 0028).
In regards to claim 27, Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 14. Murray discloses the manifold (16, Figs. 1-2B, 4) further defines a dividing wall (annotated in Fig. 4) extending from the front end (shown in Fig. 4), the dividing wall (annotated in Fig. 4) configured to segregate the fluid flow from the plurality of fluid chambers (45, 47, Fig. 4) before the fluid flow contacts a static agitator of a static mixer (34, Fig. 4) comprised in the nozzle (20, shown in Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1) in view of Poppe et al. (US 20160199862 A1) and Tibell (US 20200070180 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 1. However, Murray does not disclose the spray applicator is snap-fit together based on at least a portion of the front end of the manifold snap-fitting into the cavity of the handle assembly and the trigger assembly snap-fitting to at least a portion of the rear end of the manifold.
Poppe teaches the spray applicator (entire structure, Fig. 1) is snap-fit together based on at least a portion of the front end of the manifold (6, Figs. 2-4, 6) snap-fitting into the cavity of the handle assembly (internal surface within handle 2, cap 6 may be attached to the handle 2 by a snap-in connection, shown in Figs. 2-5, Paragraphs 0020-0021).
Murray and Poppe are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of air pressurized applicators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the manifold and handle as taught by Poppe’s applicator, to Murray’s applicator, to have the motivation of providing a secure connection between the manifold and the handle and allows the manifold to be easily removable (Poppe, Paragraphs 0020-0021).
However, Murray and Poppe do not teach the spray applicator is snap-fit together based on the trigger assembly snap-fitting to at least a portion of the rear end of the manifold.
Tibell teaches the spray applicator (entire structure, Fig. 1) is snap-fit together based on the trigger assembly (4, Figs. 1-2) snap-fitting to at least a portion of the rear end (22, Fig. 2) of the manifold (203, snap member 44 of integral unit 4 permits snap mounting with snap member 22, Fig. 2, Paragraph 0043).
Murray, Poppe, and Tibell are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of air pressurized applicators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the trigger assembly and the manifold as taught by Tibell’s applicator, to Murray’s applicator, as modified by Poppe, to have the motivation to secure and retain the trigger assembly allowing it to deform temporarily without getting damaged or permanently deformed (Tibell, Paragraphs 0016, 0043).
Regarding claim 5, Murray, as modified by Poppe and Tibell, discloses the spray applicator of claim 2. Tibell further teaches the trigger assembly (4, Figs. 1-2) further comprises a rear hood structure (44, Fig. 2) that is configured for snap-fitting the trigger assembly (4, Figs. 1-2) to the portion of the rear end (22, Fig. 2) of the manifold (203, snap member 44 of integral unit 4 permits snap mounting with snap member 22, Fig. 2, Paragraph 0043).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1) in view of Pomeroy et al. (US 20180126527 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 1. However, Murray does not disclose the manifold is configured to be pressurized by fluid flow therethrough but the handle assembly and trigger assembly are not pressurized by fluid flow through the manifold.
Pomeroy teaches an applicator (10, Figs. 1A-2) comprising the manifold (100, 212, Fig. 11) is configured to be pressurized by fluid flow therethrough (there is pressure in the gas storage chamber 118 exceeds a second safety pressure greater than the first safety pressure that can cause rupturing of the rupturable portion 212 of safety rupture bore 100, Paragraph 0043) but the handle assembly (70, Figs. 1A-2) and trigger assembly (74, Figs. 1A-2) are not pressurized by fluid flow through the manifold (portion 212 ruptures to permit pressurized gas from the gas storage chamber 118 to be released to the atmosphere to prevent unsafe failure of the gas cylinder assembly 22, which prevents other components of the driver 10 to be pressurized, such as the handle 70 or the trigger 74, Paragraph 0043).
Murray and Pomeroy are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention
because they are in the same field of air pressurized applicators. Therefore, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the manifold, the handle assembly, and the trigger assembly as taught in Pomeroy’s applicator, to Murray’s applicator, to have the motivation of providing a pressure relief failsafe in the applicator (Pomeroy, Paragraph 0043).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1) in view of Hasselschwert (US 20150238986 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 1. However, Murray does not claim an accelerometer and an internal control unit as claimed.
Hasselschwert teaches a spray applicator (10, Fig. 1) comprising:
an accelerometer (36, not explicitly shown, but monitor system 36 can have an accelerometer, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0020) configured to detect movement of the spray applicator (10, accelerometer detects an orientation of the electrostatic spray device, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0020), and
an internal control unit (38, Fig. 1) in communication with the accelerometer (36, shown in Fig. 1), wherein the internal control unit (38, Fig. 1) is configured to power down the spray applicator (10, Fig. 1) after a predetermined passage of time with no detected movement (monitor system 36 can indicate when a user is not using the electrostatic spray system and the power module 24 can shut off the power supply 25 based on a time of inactivity, Paragraph 0020).
Murray and Hasselschwert are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spray applicators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the accelerometer and the internal control unit as taught in Hasselschwert’s applicator, to Murray’s applicator, to have motivation of preventing compressed air from flowing through the device, which results in increased costs and/or wear to the spray device (Hasselschwert, Paragraph 0003).
In regards to claim 10, Murray, as modified by Hasselschwert, discloses the spray applicator of claim 9. Hasselschwert further teaches the internal control unit (38, Fig. 1) logs any one of movement data, product temperature data, or pressure data of the spray applicator over time (control system 38 is provided with pressure data, Paragraph 0020), and wherein the data can be downloaded from the internal control unit (control system 38 may be coupled to a monitor system 36, Paragraph 0020).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1) in view of Brown (US Patent 6,021,961).
With respect to claim 12, Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 1. Murray further discloses the plurality of fluid chambers (45, 47, Fig. 4) comprises:
a first fluid chamber (45, Fig. 4) associated with delivery of a first fluid component (“A” component, there is a first component inlet 28 that connects to fitting 31, supplying the component to outlet passage 45, shown in Figs. 1, 4, Paragraphs 0007, 0026, 0041), and
a second fluid chamber (47, Fig. 4) associated with delivery of a second fluid component (“B” component, there is a second component inlet 30 that connects to fitting 33, supplying the component to outlet passage 47, shown in Figs. 1, 4, Paragraphs 0007, 0026, 0041).
However, Murray does not explicitly disclose a third fluid chamber associated with delivery of a third fluid, wherein the third fluid is air, and the third fluid chamber is configured to increase bubbling, splattering, or a combination thereof during application of the first fluid component and second fluid component.
Brown teaches a third fluid chamber (322, Fig. 7) associated with delivery of a third fluid, wherein the third fluid is air (passage 322 provides an inlet for gas or the like, Col. 7, Ln. 19-25), and the third fluid chamber (322, Fig. 7) is configured to increase bubbling, splattering, or a combination thereof during application of the first fluid component and second fluid component (fluid within passage 322 is mixed with the reacting ingredients, and can be frothed or foamed, Col. 7, Ln. 19-31).
Murray and Brown are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spray applicators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the third fluid chamber and the third valve as taught in Brown’s applicator, to Murray’s applicator, to have the motivation of providing a desired pressure in the applicator (Brown, Col. 1, Ln. 50-61).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1) in view of Burkart et al. (US 20200094269 A1).
In regards to claim 15, Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 14. Murray discloses a spray tube (32, Fig. 4) connected to the nozzle (20, shown in Fig. 4). However, Murray does not disclose the spray tube terminates in a fan-shaped outlet.
Burkart teaches a spray applicator (14, Fig. 4) comprising the spray tube (26, Fig. 4) terminates in a fan-shaped outlet (17b, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0051).
Murray and Burkart are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spray applicators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the outlet as taught in Burkart’s applicator, to Murray’s applicator, to have the motivation of providing a desired spray pattern (Burkart, Paragraph 0024).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1) in view of Jerdee et al. (US 20190151871 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 14. Murray discloses a spray tube (32, Fig. 4) connected to the nozzle (20, shown in Fig. 4). However, Murray does not disclose the spray tube terminates in a dual stream outlet.
Jerdee teaches a spray applicator (100, Fig. 1A) comprising the spray tube (112, Fig. 1A) terminates in a dual stream outlet (102, 104, Fig. 1A).
Murray and Jerdee are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spray applicators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the dual stream outlet as taught in Jerdee’s applicator, to Murray’s applicator, to have the motivation of allowing the user to use multiple nozzles per spraying operation (Jerdee, Paragraph 0017).
In regards to claim 17, Murray, as modified by Burkart, discloses the spray applicator of claim 16. Jerdee teaches the dual stream outlet (102, 104, Fig. 1A) comprises first and second spray outlets (102, 104, Fig. 1A) positioned a fixed distance apart (shown in Fig. 1A).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1) in view of Jerdee et al. (US 20190151871 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Burkart et al. (US 20200094269 A1).
In regards to claim 18, Murray, as modified by Jerdee, discloses the spray applicator of claim 17. However, Murray and Jerdee do not teach the first and second spray outlets each terminate in a fan-shaped outlet.
Burkart teaches a fan-shaped outlet (17b, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0051).
Murray, Jerdee, and Burkart are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spray applicators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the outlet as taught in Burkart’s applicator, to Murray’s applicator, as modified by Jerdee, to have the motivation of providing a desired spray pattern (Burkart, Paragraph 0024).
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1) in view of Hurray et al. (US Patent 6,345,776).
With respect to claim 20, Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 1. However, Murray does not disclose the trigger of the trigger assembly comprises a cam and at least a portion of the rear end of the manifold defines a bearing surface, and wherein the cam of the trigger rotates against the bearing surface of the manifold when the trigger is actuated.
Hurray teaches the trigger of the trigger assembly (20, Figs. 1-3) comprises a cam (115, annular collar surface 115 is chamfered to produce a cam pivot and camming surface for crossbar line contact 112, Figs. 14A-B, Col. 5, Ln. 13-42, Col. 18, Ln. 50-58) and at least a portion of the rear end of the manifold (16, Figs. 14A-B) defines a bearing surface (surface of body portion 16 contacting trigger 20, shown in Figs. 14A-B), and wherein the cam of the trigger (115, Figs. 14A-B) rotates against the bearing surface (surface of body portion 16 contacting trigger 20, shown in Figs. 14A-B) of the manifold (16, Figs. 14A-B) when the trigger is actuated (shown in Figs. 14A-B, Col. 5, Ln. 13-42, Col. 18, Ln. 50-58).
Murray and Hurray are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spray applicators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the cam and the bearing surface as taught in Hurray’s applicator, to Murray’s applicator, to have the motivation of providing better operator control in fine metering applications while the crossbar positively assures equal movement of both metering rods (Hurray, Col. 5, Ln. 13-42).
Regarding claim 21, Murray, as modified by Hurray, discloses the spray applicator of claim 20. Hurray teaches the cam of the trigger (115, Figs. 14A-B) rotating against the bearing surface (surface of body portion 16 contacting trigger 20, Figs. 14A-B) of the manifold (16, Figs. 14A-B) is configured to counteract an increasing force of spring compression as the trigger is actuated in the direction towards the handle (manually operable trigger moves the metering rod against the bias of the spring, Col. 5, Ln. 2-11, Claim 1).
In regards to claim 22, Murray, as modified by Hurray, discloses the spray applicator of claim 20. Hurray further teaches the rear end of the manifold (16, Figs. 14A-B) comprises a notch portion (47, Figs. 14A-B) and the cam (115, Figs. 14A-B) comprises a perpendicular end portion (45, Figs. 14A-B) configured to fit within the notch portion (47, shown in Figs. 14A-B).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1), embodiment of Figs. 1-6, in view of Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1), embodiment of Figs. 7-10.
Regarding claim 24, Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 1. Murray discloses the manifold (16, Figs. 1-2B, 4) comprises a plurality of valves (100, 102, Fig. 4).
However, Murray does not disclose a plurality of springs, wherein each valve of the plurality of valves has a corresponding spring of the plurality of springs, and wherein each valve and the corresponding spring is configured to control fluid flow associated with a corresponding fluid chamber of the plurality of fluid chambers comprised in the manifold in one embodiment.
In the embodiment of Figs. 7-10, Murray discloses a plurality of springs (311, Figs. 7-10), wherein each valve of the plurality of valves (300, 302, Figs. 7-8B, 10) has a corresponding spring of the plurality of springs (311, shown in Fig. 10, Paragraphs 0054, 0056), and wherein each valve and the corresponding spring is configured to control fluid flow associated with a corresponding fluid chamber of the plurality of fluid chambers (245, 247, Figs. 7-9) comprised in the manifold (216, springs 311 apply a force against valves 300 and 302 to close them, and prevent fluid flow from outlet passages 245 and 247, Figs. 7-9, Paragraphs 0056-0057).
Murray is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spray applicators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the plurality of springs as taught in Murray’s applicator in the embodiment of Figs. 7-10, to Murray’s applicator, in the embodiment of Figs. 1-6, to have the motivation of providing individual control over the operation of the valves (Murray, Paragraphs 0056-0057).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1), embodiment of Figs. 1-6, in view of Murray et al. (US 20060208000 A1), embodiment of Figs. 7-10, as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Grigg et al. (US Patent 6,158,624).
With respect to claim 25, both embodiments of Murray discloses the spray applicator of claim 24. However, both embodiments of Murray do not disclose at least one of the plurality of valves is a needle valve configured to project through an opening of the front end of the manifold when the trigger is in a rest position associated with blocking the delivery of fluid flow.
Grigg teaches at least one of the plurality of valves (81, Figs. 2A-2B) is a needle valve (needles 81 are valve elements, Col. 8, Ln. 9-35) configured to project through an opening of the front end of the manifold (front end of housing 7, shown in Figs. 2A-2B) when the trigger (191, Fig. 1A) is in a rest position associated with blocking the delivery of fluid flow (shown in Fig. 2A).
Murray and Grigg are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spray applicators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the needle valves in Grigg’s applicator to Murray’s applicator, to have the motivation of providing easier control of fluid to pass through flow paths (Grigg, Col. 8, Ln. 9-35).
With respect to claim 26, both embodiments of Murray, as modified by Grigg, disclose the spray applicator of claim 25. In the embodiment of Figs. 1-6, Murray discloses actuating the trigger (24, Figs. 1-2B) from the rest position towards the handle assembly compresses the spring (60, shown in Fig. 2B, Paragraph 0044) to allow each of the valves to retract from the opening of the front end of the manifold (front end of housing 16 connecting to nozzle assembly 20, shown in Figs. 1-2B, 4, Paragraphs 0043-0044), and as modified by the embodiment of Fig. 7-10 and Grigg above, would result in actuating the trigger from the rest position towards the handle assembly compresses each of the plurality of springs to allow each of the needle valves to retract from the opening of the front end of the manifold.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 29th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Murray does not disclose the amended features of claim 1, see Remarks, pg. 8-11, Murray does disclose these features as noted above in the 102(a)(1) rejection for claim 1. Murray states upper portion of the gun body 12 includes the flow control valve housing 16 in Paragraph 0029, and it is annotated in Fig. 1 above that the upper portion of gun body 12 defines an opening at a front surface of the upper portion of gun body 12 that allows at least a portion of the front end of the manifold to extend outwardly beyond the front surface of the handle assembly when the manifold is fixedly received in the cavity.
It is also being interpreted that adjacent is nearby as defined by Merriam-Webster Dictionary. Trigger assembly (24, 59, 60, 52, 26, Figs. 1-2B) of Murray is shown to be attached nearby at least a portion of the rear end of housing 16 opposite of the front end in Figs. 1-2B, 4. Trigger 24 in Murray is also shown to be extending rearwardly from the rear end of housing 16 opposite of the front end in Figs. 1-2B, 4.
Additionally, it appears the cavity in claim 1, ln. 8 is new matter as explained above in the specification objection and the 112(a) rejection for claim 1. The original disclosure does not describe or explain the structure of a cavity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752