Detailed Action
This communication is in respond to applicant's claims filed on 12/29/2025. Claims 1-10 and 11-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/02/2024 appears to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered, but are considered moot in view of the following new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) (1-5, 9-10) and (11-15, 19-20) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIE (US 20240104698 A1), hereafter NIE, in view of BEN ARIE (US 20240256984 A1), hereafter BEN.
Regarding claim 1, NIE teaches:
A method (NIE [0070] “In at least one embodiment, a two-step adversarial purification method can be utilized with one or more using diffusion models.”) for transfer learning(NIE [0576] “In at least one embodiment, customer dataset 4006 (e.g., imaging data, genomics data, sequencing data, or other data types generated by devices at a facility) may be used to perform model training 3614 (which may include, without limitation, transfer learning) on initial model 4004 to generate refined model 4012.”), comprising: obtaining a dataset to train, by a teacher model, a pool of student models (NIE [0515] “In at least one embodiment, a training pipeline 3704 (FIG. 37) may include a scenario where facility 3602 is training their own machine learning model, or has an existing machine learning model that needs to be optimized or updated. In at least one embodiment, imaging data 3608 generated by imaging device(s), sequencing devices, and/or other device types may be received. In at least one embodiment, once imaging data 3608 is received, AI-assisted annotation 3610 may be used to aid in generating annotations corresponding to imaging data 3608 to be used as ground truth data for a machine learning model. In at least one embodiment, AI-assisted annotation 3610 may include one or more machine learning models (e.g., convolutional neural networks (CNNs)) that may be trained to generate annotations corresponding to certain types of imaging data 3608 (e.g., from certain devices) and/or certain types of anomalies in imaging data 3608…In at least one embodiment, AI-assisted annotations 3610, labeled clinic data 3612, or a combination thereof may be used as ground truth data for training a machine learning model. In at least one embodiment, a trained machine learning model may be referred to as an output model 3616, and may be used by deployment system 3606, as described herein.”); determining an initial accuracy for each of the pool of student models using the dataset(NIE [0579] “In at least one embodiment, customer dataset 4006 may be applied to initial model 4004 any number of times, and ground truth data may be used to update parameters of initial model 4004 until an acceptable level of accuracy is attained for refined model 4012.”); configuring each of the pool of student models with a defense to an attack (NIE [0059] “In at least one embodiment, this diffusion model can add small (or at least determined) amounts of noise, such as Gaussian noise, to adversarial image 202 over a number of iterations. In at least one embodiment, this can cause adversarial image 202 (or versions of that image) to have increasing amounts of noise (or more diffuse pixel data) present over this iterative noise addition sequence 208. In at least one embodiment, this can result in an intermediate image, or diffused image 204, that has an amount of noise that is sufficient to eliminate, or at least significantly reduce, a presence of perturbations in this image.”, [0067] “In at least one embodiment, diffusion models can be trained with a weighted combination of denoising score matching (DSM) across multiple time steps, as may be given by:”); determining an attack accuracy for each of the pool of student models using an attack dataset (NIE [0097] “In at least one embodiment, training framework 804 includes tools to monitor how well untrained neural network 806 is converging towards a model, such as trained neural network 808, suitable to generating correct answers, such as in result 814, based on input data such as a new dataset 812…In at least one embodiment, training framework 804 trains untrained neural network 806 until untrained neural network 806 achieves a desired accuracy.”); selecting a subset of the pool of student models to form a model based on the attack accuracies(NIE [0097] “In at least one embodiment, training framework 804 trains untrained neural network 806 until untrained neural network 806 achieves a desired accuracy. In at least one embodiment, trained neural network 808 can then be deployed to implement any number of machine learning operations.”, [0579] “In at least one embodiment, customer dataset 4006 may be applied to initial model 4004 any number of times, and ground truth data may be used to update parameters of initial model 4004 until an acceptable level of accuracy is attained for refined model 4012.”, [0523] “In at least one embodiment, a requesting entity (e.g., a user at a medical facility)—who provides an inference or image processing request—may browse a container registry and/or model registry 3624 for an application, container, dataset, machine learning model, etc., select a desired combination of elements for inclusion in data processing pipeline, and submit an imaging processing request. In at least one embodiment, a request may include… a selection of application(s) and/or machine learning models to be executed in processing a request.”); and performing an optimization loop when the aggregate accuracy is outside the threshold (NIE [0097] “In at least one embodiment, training framework 804 trains untrained neural network 806 until untrained neural network 806 achieves a desired accuracy.”, [0575] “In at least one embodiment, pre-trained model 3706 may not be optimized for generating accurate results on customer dataset 4006 of a facility of a user (e.g., based on patient diversity, demographics, types of medical imaging devices used, etc.). In at least one embodiment, prior to deploying pre-trained model 3706 into deployment pipeline 3710 for use with an application(s), pre-trained model 3706 may be updated, retrained, and/or fine-tuned for use at a respective facility.”).
Further regarding claim 1, NIE teaches the limitations previously demonstrated, however fails to explicitly teach the following limitations demonstrated by BEN:
selecting a subset of the pool of student models to form an ensemble model (BEN “[0058] In one embodiment, the set of component models for the abridged model are selected from the component models for the ensemble model. The selection may use a component cardinality of the set of component models, a deviation threshold, an accuracy threshold, and the plurality of training scores generated for the component models of the ensemble model.” The abridged model serves as a substitution for the ensemble model, as it is merely an abridged ensemble model. Further, BEN discloses to “use the abridged model in lieu of the original model when the abridged model maintains sufficient accuracy,” as the “abridged model, being a subset of the ensemble model, uses fewer compute resources and may generate outputs more quickly than the ensemble model.”)
determining an aggregate accuracy of the ensemble model based on attack accuracies of the subset of student models using the attack dataset (BEN [0038] “The accuracy threshold (165) is a threshold value that identifies an amount of accuracy the abridged model (121) is to achieve before being used in lieu of the ensemble model (133).”);
and deploying the ensemble model when the aggregate accuracy is at least within a threshold of the initial accuracy (BEN [0060] “The abridged model that satisfies the accuracy threshold with the lowest “k” and the highest “s” is selected as the abridged model for the ensemble model.”)
Since both NIE and BEN are from the same field of endeavor as both are directed to automated classification and detection of adversarial activity, which is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and combine the teachings of NIE and BEN by incorporating the teachings of BEN into NIE for automating classification and detection of adversarial information as claimed. The motivation to combine is to improve detection and classification of adversarial activity (NIE [AB]; BEN [AB]). This motivation for combination of references is equally applicable to rejections hereafter.
Regarding claim 2, NIE-BEN teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the defense is configured to disrupt the attack (NIE [0059] “In at least one embodiment, an input image can be provided that can be an adversarial image 202, or input image to which an attacker (or other application or entity) has introduced one or more perturbations. In at least one embodiment, this diffusion model can add small (or at least determined) amounts of noise, such as Gaussian noise, to adversarial image 202 over a number of iterations. In at least one embodiment, this can cause adversarial image 202 (or versions of that image) to have increasing amounts of noise (or more diffuse pixel data) present over this iterative noise addition sequence 208. In at least one embodiment, this can result in an intermediate image, or diffused image 204, that has an amount of noise that is sufficient to eliminate, or at least significantly reduce, a presence of perturbations in this image.”).
Regarding claim 3, NIE-BEN teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the attack includes noise added to the dataset, wherein the defense is configured to prevent the attack from succeeding by altering the noise(NIE [0059] “In at least one embodiment, an input image can be provided that can be an adversarial image 202, or input image to which an attacker (or other application or entity) has introduced one or more perturbations. In at least one embodiment, this diffusion model can add small (or at least determined) amounts of noise, such as Gaussian noise, to adversarial image 202 over a number of iterations. In at least one embodiment, this can cause adversarial image 202 (or versions of that image) to have increasing amounts of noise (or more diffuse pixel data) present over this iterative noise addition sequence 208. In at least one embodiment, this can result in an intermediate image, or diffused image 204, that has an amount of noise that is sufficient to eliminate, or at least significantly reduce, a presence of perturbations in this image.”, [0062] “In at least one embodiment, new data points (e.g., pixel values) can be generated for each iteration, which can effectively remove perturbations or purify noise in samples after a sufficient number of iterations.).
Regarding claim 4, NIE-BEN teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the dataset includes images, wherein the defense is configured to alter pixels in the images(NIE [0059] “this diffusion model can add small (or at least determined) amounts of noise, such as Gaussian noise, to adversarial image 202 over a number of iterations. In at least one embodiment, this can cause adversarial image 202 (or versions of that image) to have increasing amounts of noise (or more diffuse pixel data) present over this iterative noise addition sequence 208. In at least one embodiment, this can result in an intermediate image, or diffused image 204).
Regarding claim 5, NIE-BEN teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein the defense is configured to drop out different pixels in each of an image's channels, is configured to drop a same pixels in the image's channels, or drop pixels in an image's border (NIE [0059] “this diffusion model can add small (or at least determined) amounts of noise, such as Gaussian noise, to adversarial image 202 over a number of iterations. In at least one embodiment, this can cause adversarial image 202 (or versions of that image) to have increasing amounts of noise (or more diffuse pixel data) present over this iterative noise addition sequence 208... In at least one embodiment, reconstruction can include removing an amount of noise over each of a sequence of image generation iterations, or noise removal iterations 210.”).
Regarding claim 9, NIE-BEN teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising randomly configuring the defense applied to each of the models, wherein the configuration of the defense includes a percentage of pixels, a type of drop out, and a channel selection (NIE [0080] “noise (e.g., Gaussian noise) can be added 406 to this image. In at least one embodiment, this can include modifying pixel values for random pixel locations according to a determined Gaussian distribution.”).
Regarding claim 10, NIE-BEN teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the attack is an adversarial attack, wherein each of the models is configured with a different defense (NIE [0060] “In at least one embodiment, this diffusion process can take advantage of a stochastic differential equation (SDE)-based approach. In at least one embodiment, a different diffusion process can be utilized that can add noise or otherwise modify pixel data in an image in a diffuse manner.”) and wherein the ensemble model is configured to defend against one or more attacks (NIE [0083] “In at least one embodiment, such functionality can be performed by a purifier 630 to remove unauthorized modifications, such as adversarial perturbations, from one or more images,”).
Regarding claims 11-15 & 19-20, claims 11-15 & 19-20 recite substantially similar limitations as claims 1-5 & 9-10, but for recitation in the form of a non-transitory storage medium. NIE-BEN further teaches:
A non-transitory storage medium (BEN [0076] “Software instructions in the form of computer readable program code to perform embodiments may be stored, in whole or in part, temporarily or permanently, on a computer program product that includes a non-transitory computer readable medium such as a CD”)
Claim(s) (6-8) and (16-18) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIE-BEN, in further view of JAN (US 20240232335 A1), hereafter JAN.
Regarding claim 6, NIE-BEN in view of JAN teaches:
The method of claim 5, further comprising initializing the ensemble model with a target dataset, a set of attacks (NIE[0080] “In at least one embodiment, an image can be received 402 (or otherwise obtained) that may contain one or more adversarial perturbations, or other such unauthorized modifications…In at least one embodiment, this image can be provided 404 as input to a diffusion network.”), a set of defenses (NIE [0080] “In at least one embodiment, over each of a number of forward iterations through layers of this diffusion network, noise (e.g., Gaussian noise) can be added 406 to this image…In at least one embodiment, a number of iterations can be determined ahead of time that can be sufficient to wash out these perturbations while retaining sufficient semantic structure for this image.”, [0579] “In at least one embodiment, customer dataset 4006 may be applied to initial model 4004 any number of times, and ground truth data may be used to update parameters of initial model 4004 until an acceptable level of accuracy is attained for refined model 4012.”), a list of student models (JAN [0022] The model determination apparatus 1 is configured to generate a plurality of candidate models CM based on the training data TD.), a maximum number of models in a pool of models (JAN [0039] “the processor 12 of the model determination apparatus 1 can sort the candidate models CM based on the first accuracy and the second accuracy of each of the candidate models CM and select at least one of the candidate models CM with the highest first accuracy and/or the highest second accuracy as the output model.”, [0054] “In some embodiments, the step of selecting the at least one output model further comprising: selecting a first candidate model having a highest first accuracy and a second candidate model having a highest second accuracy as the at least one output model from the candidate models.”), and a threshold accepted accuracy(BEN [0061] “In one embodiment, the component cardinality and the deviation threshold are tuned meet the accuracy threshold. After the ensemble model is trained, multiple abridged models are identified using different “k” values and tested using different “s” values for each of the multiple abridged models. The abridged model that satisfies the accuracy threshold with the lowest “k” and the highest “s” is selected as the abridged model to be used in lieu of the ensemble model”).
Regarding claim 7, NIE-BEN in view of JAN teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the optimization loop includes adding models to the pool(JAN [0022] “The model determination apparatus 1 is configured to generate a plurality of candidate models CM based on the training data TD.”), determining an attack accuracy for the models in the pool (JAN [0030] “After generating multiple the candidate models CM, the model determination apparatus 1 further evaluates the recognition accuracy of the candidate models”) and generating a new ensemble model (BEN [0010] “The abridged model, being a subset of the ensemble model, uses fewer compute resources and may generate outputs more quickly than the ensemble model.”, [0027] “The training application (141) trains the ensemble model (133) using the update controller (151) and generates the abridged model (121) using the abridged model controller.”).
Regarding claim 8, NIE-BEN in view of JAN teaches:
The method of claim 7, further comprising generating the attacking attack dataset(JAN [0018] “In some embodiments, the training data TD and the validation data AD can be labeled images when the model determination apparatus 1 is configured to train an image recognition model.”, [0024] “In some embodiments, the first adversarial attack adjustment comprises the processor 12 generating a first noise based on the initial model IM by using an adversarial attack function; and the processor 12 generating the adversarial training data TD′ based on the training data TD and the first noise.”).
Regarding claims 16-18, claims 16-18 recite substantially similar limitations as claims 6-8, but for recitation in the form of a non-transitory storage medium. NIE-BEN in view of JAN further teaches:
A non-transitory storage medium (BEN [0076] “Software instructions in the form of computer readable program code to perform embodiments may be stored, in whole or in part, temporarily or permanently, on a computer program product that includes a non-transitory computer readable medium such as a CD”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Linglan Edwards can be reached on (571) 270-5440. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/K.J.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408