Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-14, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2022/0368570 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (see memory [0008]); and one or more processors (see processor [0008]), coupled to the memory, configured to:
communicate with one of a first network node (see communication with gNB, fig. 2) or a second network node to update available model information (see [0084], “destination UE may request a recent version of the pre-trained NN model”, therefore an update) in a UE context (see [0090], “UE context information message”) at one or more of the first network node or the second network node; and
receive, from one of the first network node or the second network node, a model transfer via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see RRC signaling [0090]);
Regarding claim 26, Lee discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: communicating with one of a first network node or a second network node to update available artificial intelligence or machine learning (AI/ML) model information (see updating regarding model transfer in [0074]) in a UE context (see UE context) at one or more of the first network node or the second network node (see first and second network nodes, fig. 13); and receiving, from one of the first network node or the second network node, an AI/ML model transfer via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see model transfer, fig. 13, item 1350).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit available model information to the first network node (see various model information in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with one of the first network node or the second network node, are configured to communicate with the first network node prior to a handover execution and communicate with the second network node after the handover execution (see handover procedure [0090]), the communications with the first network node and the communications with the second network node including model transfer information (see fig. 13, target and source gNB).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the model transfer from one of the first network node or the second network node, are configured to receive the model from the first network node prior to the handover execution (see model, fig. 12).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive an RRC reconfiguration signal from the first network node after completion of a model transfer procedure (see RRCconfiguration signal).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the model transfer from one of the first network node or the second network node, are configured to:
receive the model from the second network node after the handover execution (see handover [0090]); and transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete signal to the second network node to update available model information (see “SEE MODEL TRANSFER”, FIG. 13), wherein the model is received from the second network node (SEE FIG. 13, Target gNB) after transmitting the RRC reconfiguration complete signal (see RRC, [0090], fig. 13 ).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a request for available model information from the second network node after the handover execution (see [0090], “handover procedure (to perform handover of UE from source gNB 1310 to target gNB 1312), RRC (radio resource control)”); and transmit the available model information to the second network node based, at least in part, on receiving the request for model information from the second network node (see model transfer fig. 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-9, 23, 25 & 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. in view of Shen et al. (US 2022/0342713 A1).
Regarding claims 23 & 29, Lee discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, a network node for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
communicating with a user equipment (UE) (see memory and processor [0008]);
outputting, to the UE, an artificial intelligence or machine learning (AI/ML) model transfer via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see ML [0090], RRC [0090]);
Lee does not best disclose however Shen best discloses receiving an AI/ML model release request from the UE (see Terminal request indication, fig. 6); and
outputting an AI/ML model release instruction to the UE (see fig. 8, network device to distribute AI/ML to terminal),
wherein the AI/ML model release instruction configures the UE to release one or more AI/ML models (see terminal delete an AI/ML model while receiving others, Fig. 9);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Shen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Shen discloses the UE of claim 1,
Shen best discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a model release instruction from the first network node (see fig. 9 indicate the terminal to delete an AI/ML model);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Shen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Shen disclose the UE of claim 3.
Shen best discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to release one or more models indicated in the model release instruction (see model 4, model 5 in fig. 9);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Shen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Shen discloses the UE of claim 3,
Shen best discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a model release request to the first network node (see fig. 10, and [0120], “ an identity of an AI/ML model needed by the terminal to process an AI/ML service”), wherein receiving the model release instruction occurs after transmitting the model release request to the first network node (see fig. 9. distribute an AI/ML model);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Shen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses UE of claim 1,
Lee does not best disclose however Shen best discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: release one or more models without an indication from the first network node (see [0026] AI/ML deleted from the terminal); and transmit updated model information to the first network node, the updated model information indicating the one or more models are available or released (see training result reporting, fig. 10);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Shen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Shen discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the RRC signaling includes one or more of an RRC setup message, an RRC reestablishment message (see [0090], “0120] an identity of an AI/ML model needed by the terminal to process an AI/ML servic”), or an RRC resume message, and
Lee does not specifically disclose however Shen discloses wherein the one or more processors, to receive the model transfer via the RRC signaling are configured to receive the model transfer from the second network node as a result of transmitting an RRC setup request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request to the second network node (see indication request and receiving of models in fig. 9);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Shen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the UE of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive the model transfer from the second network node after completion of an RRC setup procedure, an RRC reestablishment procedure (see [0090] RRCreestablishment procedure ), or an RRC resume procedure.
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the UE of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an indication to update available model information in an RRC setup complete message, an RRC reestablishment complete message, or an RRC resume complete message prior to receiving the model transfer from the second network node (see [0090] “the UE 910 may receive from target gNB 1312 a RRCReestablishment (including NN availability flag or indication)” which is completion after the sent RRCReestablishmentRequest).
Regarding claim 25, Lee in view of Shen discloses the network node of claim 23, wherein the one or more processors, to output the AI/ML model transfer to the UE via RRC signaling (see RRC, [0090]), are configured to output at least a portion of the model transfer (see model transfer, fig. 11).
Regarding claim 27, Lee discloses the method of claim 26,
Lee does not best disclose however Shen best discloses further comprising: transmitting an AI/ML model release request to the first network node (see model release, fig. 9); and receiving an AI/ML model release instruction after transmitting the AI/ML model release request to the first network node (see AI/ML distributed fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Shen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 28, Lee discloses the method of claim 26,
Lee does not best disclose however Shen best discloses wherein receiving the AI/ML model transfer from one of the first network node or the second network node includes: receiving a configuration from the first network node (see [0007], “AI/ML task configuration information sent by the network device”); and applying the configuration from the first network node until receiving an entirety of the AI/ML model transfer (see AI/ML distributed, fig. 9);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Shen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 30, Lee in view of Shen discloses the method of claim 29,
Lee does not best disclose however Shen best discloses further comprising configuring the UE to: receive a configuration (see [0007], “AI/ML task configuration information sent by the network device”); and apply the configuration until the UE receives an entirety of the AI/ML model transfer (see AI/ML distributed, fig. 9);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Shen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Claim(s) 16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0099385 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the UE of claim 1,
Lee does not explicitly disclose however Xiao discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a first configuration and a message via a first signaling radio bearer (SRB) (see signaling radio bearer and configuration information, [0009]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Huang. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 22, Lee discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive the model before receiving the first configuration (see NM model transfer before configuration, fig. 13).
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. in view of Shen et al. (US 2022/0342713 A1) in further view of Deeno (US 2023/0389057 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Lee in view of Shen discloses the network node of claim 23,
Lee in view of Shen does not specifically disclose however Deenoo disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to output, to the UE, a first configuration (see “ preconfigured”, [0113]) and a message via a first signaling radio bearer (SRB) (see signaling radio bearer, [0113]), wherein the one or more processors, to output the AI/ML model transfer (see model transfer [0013]) to the UE via RRC signaling (see RRC signaling, [0113]), are configured to output the AI/ML model transfer to the UE via the first SRB;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee and Shen with that of Deenoo. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0099385 A1) in further view of Shen et al. (US 2022/0342713 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view fo Huang disclose the UE of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the model transfer from one of the first network node or the second network node via RRC signaling, are configured to:
receive a second configuration from the first network node (see [0007], “AI/ML task configuration information sent by the network device”); and
apply the second configuration from the first network node until receiving an
entirety of the model transfer (see AI/ML distributed, fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lee and Huang with that of Shen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15, 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643