DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garg et al. (hereinafter Garg) (US 2007/0162480 A1) in view of Bhatia (US 2017/0161719 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Garg discloses a print execution device (Fig. 1, document processing device 104 and The system 100 also includes at least one document processing device 104, illustrated in FIG. 1 as a multifunction peripheral device, advantageously coupled to the computer network 102 via a suitable communications link 108. It will be understood by those skilled in the art that the representation of the document processing device 104 as a multifunction peripheral device is to illustrate the ability of the document processing device 104 to provide a plurality of document processing services, such as, for example and without limitation, printing, facsimile, copying, scanning, and the like., par. 17); and a controller (controller, par. 17 and pars. 32-33), wherein the controller is configured to: in a case where a print execution instruction is received from a terminal device (Referring now to FIG. 2, there is shown a flowchart 200 illustrating a method for monitoring consumables in a document processing environment. The method begins at step 202, whereupon the document processing device 104 receives a document processing request. The processing request is suitably received from a client device 114, portable storage device, associated storage device 106, or the like. Upon receipt of the processing request, flow proceeds to step 204, wherein the document processing device receives authentication information. Preferably, the authentication information includes data representative of the identity of the user, such as, for example and without limitation, a user-name/password combination, or the like., par. 26), cause the print execution device to execute printing of an image according to the print execution instruction (When the user is not initially over the allotted quota, the document processing device 104 analyzes the images of the document processing request on a page by page basis, and calculates the size and number of images based on image placement and the number of copies. That is, the document processing device 104 analyzes the document processing request to determine the number of pages and size of the file being processed. The document processing device 104 then calculates the actual consumption of each controlled consumable on the basis of image parameters, size and number of images along with other job parameters, such as for example and without limitation, duplex uses single sheets of paper to output two pages, however it requires additional processing time. It will be appreciated by those skilled in the art that the consumables include the fine grain control of, for example and without limitation, black toner, color toner, normal paper (consumption dependent upon size), special paper (separate quote for each type of paper), device processing time (longer for specialized document processing requests, inserts, tabs, scanner usage, facsimile line incoming/outgoing, storage, and the like., par. 24); and in a case where the print execution instruction is received from the terminal device (Referring now to FIG. 2, there is shown a flowchart 200 illustrating a method for monitoring consumables in a document processing environment. The method begins at step 202, whereupon the document processing device 104 receives a document processing request. The processing request is suitably received from a client device 114, portable storage device, associated storage device 106, or the like. Upon receipt of the processing request, flow proceeds to step 204, wherein the document processing device receives authentication information. Preferably, the authentication information includes data representative of the identity of the user, such as, for example and without limitation, a user-name/password combination, or the like., par. 26) and the print execution instruction (processing request, par. 26)
Garg fails to specifically address is generated by a general-purpose driver not provided; to output service information related to a subscription to a service.
Bhatia discloses is generated by a general-purpose driver not provided (Fig. 2, print manager 230); to output service information related to a subscription to a service (Examples described herein provide for a system and method for enabling a user to register with a subscription service using the user's network-enabled printer. In some examples, a user can have a mobile payment account in which the user has previously configured payment information, billing information, and/or shipping information using a mobile computing device. As part of the registration process, the user can perform one or more actions with the user's mobile computing device and the user's network-enabled printer to register or enroll the printer and the user with an ink subscription service. In this manner, the user can use previously configured payment information in conjunction with the user's mobile computing device for registering with the ink subscription service without having to manually provide the user's payment, billing, and/or shipping information to the subscription service provider., par. 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include is generated by a general-purpose driver not provided; to output service information related to a subscription to a service in order to monitor printer status and functionality and to reduce the user’s logistics in continued usage access as discussed in at least pars. 50-51.
Regarding claim 2: Garg in view of Bhatia satisfy all the elements of claim 1. Garg further discloses further comprising: the like., par. 17)
Garg fails to specifically address a memory configured to store subscription information indicating that a user; has already subscribed to the service; to output the service information; generated by the general-purpose driver, and the subscription information is not stored in the memory; and the service information is not outputted; is generated by the general-purpose driver, and the subscription information is stored in the memory.
Bhatia discloses a memory configured to store subscription information indicating that a user (The remote service provider 140 can receive the user credential 155 and store it in a database for use with registration and future payments with respect to the subscription service., par. 34); has already subscribed to the service (The remote service provider 140 can receive the user credential 155 and store it in a database for use with registration and future payments with respect to the subscription service., par. 34); to output the service information (System 300 includes a subscription manager 310 that manages the different subscription plans for different users that have registered or enrolled with the subscription service. The subscription manager 310 can provide a registration or enrollment process in which a user can register with an ink or toner subscription service with use with his or her printer. In one example, the enrollment component of the subscription manager 310 can communicate with the subscription portal 330 to provide a portal for a user to register with the subscription service. Using one of a plurality of computing devices 38, a user can access the portal via a webpage that is displayed on a computing device, such as a personal computer or laptop, or via a service application that is operated on a mobile computing device, such as a smartphone., par. 57); generated by the general-purpose driver (Fig. 2, print manager 230), and the subscription information is not stored in the memory (Fig. 3, mobile payment resources 350) and the service information is not outputted (System 300 can communicate, over one or more networks via a network interface (e.g., wirelessly or using a wireline), with printers 385 and mobile payment resources 390 using a printer interface 340 and a mobile payment interface 350, respectively. The printer interface 340 and the mobile payment interface 350 can each enable and manage communications between system 300 and each of the respective devices. In addition, system 300 can also communicate with user devices 380 using a subscription portal 330 or an application interface., par. 56); is generated by the general-purpose driver (Fig. 2, print manager 230), and the subscription information is stored in the memory (The remote service provider 140 can receive the user credential 155 and store it in a database for use with registration and future payments with respect to the subscription service., par. 34).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a memory configured to store subscription information indicating that a user; has already subscribed to the service; to output the service information; generated by the general-purpose driver, and the subscription information is not stored in the memory; and the service information is not outputted; is generated by the general-purpose driver, and the subscription information is stored in the memory in order to allow the user to save time by storing subscription services and payment services either via the system or utilizing a mobile payment interface and providing access to display the services and payment methods as taught by Bhatia in at least Figs. 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 3: Garg in view of Bhatia satisfy all the elements of claim 1. Garg further discloses wherein in a case where the print execution instruction is received from the terminal device and the print execution instruction (Referring now to FIG. 2, there is shown a flowchart 200 illustrating a method for monitoring consumables in a document processing environment. The method begins at step 202, whereupon the document processing device 104 receives a document processing request. The processing request is suitably received from a client device 114, portable storage device, associated storage device 106, or the like. Upon receipt of the processing request, flow proceeds to step 204, wherein the document processing device receives authentication information. Preferably, the authentication information includes data representative of the identity of the user, such as, for example and without limitation, a user-name/password combination, or the like., par. 26) is generated by a dedicated driver (software, par. 32) provided by the vendor of the printer (Toshiba e-Studio Series Controller, par. 17),
Garg fails to specifically address the service information is not outputted.
Bhatia discloses the service information is not outputted (By providing status information 245 to the remote service provider 260, the remote service provider 260 can determine when a replacement ink cartridge is necessary for the user in operating the printer and ship the cartridge according to the user's subscription service to the user., par. 50).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the service information is not outputted in order to send a status to the remote service provider without outputting anything locally as taught by Bhatia (par. 50).
Regarding claim 7: Garg in view of Bhatia satisfy all the elements of claim 1. Garg further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to (controller, par. 17 and pars. 32-33):
Garg fails to specifically address in a case where the service information is outputted, send, to a server, printer related information; and needed for the subscription to the service.
Bhatia discloses in a case where the service information is outputted, send, to a server, printer related information (Fig. 1, printer status 115 and Once the printer 110 determines that the ink or toner level is less than a threshold level (or that the ink level will allow only a certain number of pages for printing before running out), the printer 110 can communicate the ink level (via printer status information 115) to the remote service provider 140. The remote service provider 140 can then physically deliver (e.g., through shipping service) a replacement ink cartridge for the printer 110. By using the ink subscription service, the user can conveniently receive ink or toner for printing and always have the capability to print from his or her printer 110., par. 21); and needed for the subscription to the service (Once the printer 110 determines that the ink or toner level is less than a threshold level (or that the ink level will allow only a certain number of pages for printing before running out), the printer 110 can communicate the ink level (via printer status information 115) to the remote service provider 140. The remote service provider 140 can then physically deliver (e.g., through shipping service) a replacement ink cartridge for the printer 110. By using the ink subscription service, the user can conveniently receive ink or toner for printing and always have the capability to print from his or her printer 110., par. 21).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in a case where the service information is outputted, send, to a server, printer related information; and needed for the subscription to the service in order to determine that ink or toner is low and always having the ability to print form their printer since the ink subscription service is in place as taught by Bhatia (par. 21).
Regarding claim 8: Garg in view of Bhatia satisfy all the elements of claim 7. Garg further discloses
Garg fails to specifically address wherein the printer related information includes unique identification information for identifying.
Bhatia discloses wherein the printer related information includes unique identification information for identifying (When the user registers the printer 110 with the remote service provider 140, the remote service provider 140 can assign the printer 110 an identifier (e.g., an email address for the printer and/or a printer identification (ID)) and store information about the printer 110 in a database., par. 20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the printer related information includes unique identification information for identifying in order to store information about the printer in a database in order to easily provide printing services as well as an ink or toner subscription service as taught by Bhatia (par. 20).
Regarding claim 9: Garg in view of Bhatia satisfy all the elements of claim 7.
Garg fails to specifically address wherein the printer related information includes a model name of the printer.
Bhatia discloses wherein the printer related information includes a model name of the printer (The printer information 250 data store can also include information about the printer, such as manufacturer and model information, software or firmware version information, configuration and setting information for the printer, network address (e.g., IP address), protocol information, etc., par. 47).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the printer related information includes a model name of the printer in order to properly provide subscription services tailored to that model of printer.
Regarding claim 11: Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 1 are applicable. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is inherently taught as evidenced by system 100 (Fig. 1) and various memories stored therein.
Regarding claim 12: The structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 12. Thus, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
22 January 2026