DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second recess for receiving and securing a second alignment device (claim 11) and the handle (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, line 10, ‘of’ should be ‘on’. Claim 5, the golf club cannot include a device that is not physically attached to it. Claims 1 and 12, should handle be shaft? If not, provide location in the specification. For examining purposes, the term handle will be considered a shaft.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-13, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parsons et al. (20210402267). Claim 1, Parsons discloses a golf club, comprising a shaft having a grip (paragraph 96) at a first end and a head at a second end, the head having attached thereto an alignment device (visual guide 122, 124, 126, fig 4) [0084] [0074]; the head comprising: a contact surface (150); a top surface extending away from the contact surface (170); and a bottom surface extending away from the contact surface and located beneath the top surface (180); wherein the bottom surface faces opposite to the top surface (fig 1); and wherein the alignment device is positioned in a visible region of the top surface and configured to be adjusted (removable) to provide a visual aid for properly aligning the head along a target path (visual guide 122, 124, 126, fig 4) [0084]. Claim 2, the top surface includes one or more upper facing surfaces configured to receive and secure the alignment device, and wherein the one or more upper facing surfaces form the visible region of the top surface (fig 4). Claim 6, the alignment device is permanently locked and fixed into place on the top surface [0087]. Claim 7, the alignment device is a medallion and is a circular shape allowing a player to focus on the alignment device (fig 4). Claim 8, the head houses the alignment device. Claim 9, the alignment device mechanically secures to the head or the top surface using screws [0087]. Claim 10, the head includes a recess for receiving and securing the alignment device (figs 1, 11-12). Claim 11, the head includes a second recess for receiving and securing a second alignment device (122, 124, 126). Claim 12, Parsons discloses a method of forming a golf club, comprising: forming a shaft having a grip at a first end and a head at a second end; forming a head having: a contact surface, a top surface extending away from the contact surface; and a bottom surface extending away from the contact surface and located beneath the top surface; wherein the bottom surface faces opposite to the top surface [0074]; and configuring a visible region of the top surface for receiving and securing an adjustable alignment device (visual guide 122, 124, 126, fig 4) [0084] [0074]; the alignment device providing a visual aid for properly aligning the head along a target path. Claim 13, forming, in the top surface, one or more upper facing surfaces configured for receiving and securing the alignment device, the one or more upper facing surfaces forming the visible region of the top surface (fig 4). Claim 17, the alignment device is a medallion and is a circular shape allowing a player to focus on the alignment device (fig 4). Claim 18, the alignment device mechanically secures to the head or the top surface using screws [0087]. Claim 19, the head includes a recess for receiving and securing the alignment device (figs 1, 11-12). Claim 20, the head includes a second recess for receiving and securing a second alignment device (122, 124, 126).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parsons et al. (20210402267) in view of Primiano et al. (6,450,893). Claims 3-4 and 14-15, Parsons does not disclose a training device attached to the handle. Primiano teaches a detachable laser training device attached to the shaft of a golf club. One of ordinary skill in the art would have included a laser training device to assist a user. Claim 16, Parsons discloses the alignment device is permanently locked and fixed into place on the top surface [0087]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have included a laser training device to assist a user.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
February 13, 2026