DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite an AADC polynucleotide as imperative to the claimed invention but do not first identify the complete name of the acronym. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 11, 23, 26, 28, 32, 35, 38, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (Human Gene Therapy, 2005) in view of Bosch-Tubert et al (WO 12/007458), Hwu et al (U.S. 2012/0220648), and Palfi et al (U.S. 2012/0295960), all of record in the parent application 15/524,986.
Yamada et al teach an AAV vector genome for the treatment of Parkinson’s disease (dyskinesia), wherein the AAV vector was constructed from the commercially available (Stratagene) pAAV-MCS vector (pg 263, col. 2, Preparation of rAAV). Yamada et al do not provide the nucleotide sequence of the rAAV vector. Bosch-Tubert et al the (Stratagene) pAAV-MCS vector (pg 10, lines 9-11; pg 19, lines 19-22), as per Yamada et al, from which they inserted their transgene of interest, wherein the recombinant AAV vector comprises:
a) a 5' inverted terminal repeat (ITR),
b) a cytomegalovirus (CMV) sequence region comprising an enhancer region and promoter region,
c) an immediate early 1 (IEl) exon 1/intron1 sequence region (a 5’ UTR),
d) a human beta globin (HB) sequence region that is the human beta globin intron 2 and exon 3 sequences (a 3’ UTR),
e) a sequence region encoding the artisan’s gene of interest,
f) a poly(A) signal sequence region derived from the human growth hormone gene that is the hGH poly(A) signal sequence, and
g) a 3' ITR.
Yamada et al teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the recombinant AAV virus (pg 263, col. 2, Injection of rAAV), as do Bosch-Tubert et al (claims 12-16).
Neither Yamada et al nor Bosch-Tubert et al teach the gene to treat Parkinson’s disease is an AADC sequence region, or a codon optimized AADC sequence.
Hwu et al teach an AAV vector genome for treatment of Parkinson’s/sleep disorders comprising, in order:
a) a 5' inverted terminal repeat (ITR),
b) a cytomegalovirus (CMV) promoter sequence region,
d) a human beta globin (HB) sequence region derived from a HB gene,
e) an AADC sequence region,
f) a poly(A) signal sequence region, and
g) a 3' ITR, wherein said 3' ITR (Figure 1) and ¶[0003].
Palfi et al teach a viral gene therapy vector, which may be AAV, comprising a codon-optimized AADC gene for the gene therapy of Parkinson’s/sleep improvement, abstract, ¶’s [0016, 82-84, 0102, 0103, 158, 0203, 0204].
Prior to the filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a first therapeutic transgene, to wit, alpha synuclein (Yamada et al) with a second therapeutic transgene, to wit, codon optimized AADC (Hwu et al; Palfi et al) in a rAAV expression vector, to wit, the commercially available rAAV vector of Yamada et al and/or Bosch Tubert et al (pAAV-MCS) with a reasonable expectation of success because the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. M.P.E.P. §2144.07 states "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06. An artisan would be motivated to substitute an alpha synuclein transgene for an AADC transgene in an rAAV expression vector, to wit, the commercially available pAAV-MCS, because, prior to the filing date of the instantly claimed invention, those of ordinary skill in the art were previously aware of the scientific and technical concepts of expressing AADC from an rAAV expression vector (Hwu, Palfi et al), and the AADC amino acid sequence was previously known to be used for therapeutic expression vectors (Hwu and Palfi et al) for the treatment of Parkinson’s disease. Furthermore, prior to the filing date of the instantly claimed invention, those of ordinary skill in the art recognized and successfully reduced to practice the scientific design concepts of an rAAV expression vector comprising the artisan’s gene of interest operably linked to the instantly recited CMV enhancer/promoter region, the immediate early 1 exon 1/intron 1 region, the human beta globin intron 2/exon 3 region, the human growth hormone poly(A) signal region, and the 5’ and 3’ ITRs (Bosch-Tubert et al). Those of ordinary skill in the art immediately recognize that the commercially available pAAV-MCS is designed so that the artisan may clone their transgene of interest into the rAAV vector.
Further, an artisan would be motivated to substitute a first AADC-encoding nucleotide sequence for a second AADC-encoding nucleotide sequence that has been codon-optimized in an rAAV expression vector because, prior to the filing date of the instantly claimed invention, those of ordinary skill in the art were previously aware of the scientific and technical concepts of using codon optimization to improve the expression of the artisan’s gene of interest in the corresponding host cell species of interest, and Palfi et al disclosed that the codon-optimized expression vector yielded a greater therapeutic result as compared to the non-optimized vector ¶[0158].
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, absent evidence to the contrary, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 58 recites the limitation "the pharmaceutical composition" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 9, 11, 19, 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,335,466. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘466 claims anticipate the instant generic claims. The AAV genome comprising SEQ ID NO: 17 (claim 1 of ‘466), which is also known as pHAADC-1K in Table 7; inherently comprises the recited AAV vector elements: such elements are listed in Table 4.
Claims 1, 4, 9, 11, 19, 21, 23, 26, 28, 32, 35, 38, 40, 44, 58, 60, 61 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13, 19, 20, 23-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,027,000. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘000 claims anticipate the instant generic product claims, or anticipates or renders obvious the instant method claims. The AAV genome comprising SEQ ID NO: 17 (claim 1 of ‘000), which is also known as pHAADC-1K in Table 7; inherently comprises the recited AAV vector elements: such elements are listed in Table 4.
Claims 1, 4, 9, 11, 19, 21, 23, 26, 28, 32, 35, 38, 40, 44, 58, 60, 61 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 16,17, 20, 22-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,975,056. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘056 claims anticipate the instant generic product claims, or anticipates or renders obvious the instant method claims. The AAV genome comprising SEQ ID NO: 17 (claim 1 of ‘056), which is also known as pHAADC-1K in Table 7; inherently comprises the recited AAV vector elements: such elements are listed in Table 4.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MICHAEL D BURKHART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638