DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Abstract contains the word “disclosed”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
circularly polarized electrochromic device
first substrate
cell disposed
first electrode
chiral electrochromic layer
the chiral electrochromic layer presents differential color changes depending upon handedness of circularly polarized light under an applied voltage
at least one of differential transmittance and differential absorbance depending upon the handedness of circularly polarized light under the applied voltage
electrolyte layer
ion storage layer
second electrode
one or more chiral electrochromic molecules
chiral additive
chiral additive, wherein the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds, chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals, and chiral nanoparticles
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 is dependent on Claim 5 and the limitations are exact duplicates of Claim 5. The limitations in Claim 6 do not further its limits from Claim 5, from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al., (Song hereafter) (KR20200049399A) in further view of Zhang et al., (Zhang hereafter) (CN115061320A).
With respect to Claim 1, Song teaches a circularly polarized electrochromic device, comprising a first substrate (151, Figure 3) and a cell disposed on the first substrate (151, Figure 3), wherein the cell comprises: a first electrode (121, Figure 4); an electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3) disposed on the first electrode (121, Figure 4), wherein the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3) presents differential color changes (¶[0124]) under an applied voltage (the color of the electrochromic film may be changed according to the application of a voltage, ¶[0124]), and the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3) presents at least one of differential transmittance (¶[0101]) and differential absorbance (¶[0084]) under the applied voltage (¶[0124]); an electrolyte layer (154, Figure 3) disposed on the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3); an ion storage layer (158, Figure 6a) disposed on the electrolyte layer (154, Figure 3); and a second electrode (122, Figure 4) disposed on the ion storage layer (158, Figure 6a).
Song fails to teach a chiral electrochromic layer presents differential color changes depending upon handedness of circularly polarized light, and presents at least one of differential transmittance and differential absorbance depending upon handedness of circularly polarized light.
Song teaches an electrochromic device and Zhang teaches an electrochromic device with an adjustable optical chiral signal.
Zhang teaches a chiral electrochromic layer (electrification of the electrochromic device with adjustable optical chirality signal, Figures 4 and 6) presents differential color changes depending upon handedness of circularly polarized light (chiral luminescence system emits different left-handed and right-handed circularly polarized light, ¶[0002], also well known in the art), and presents at least one of differential transmittance and differential absorbance (chiral luminescence system emits different left-handed and right-handed circularly polarized light is called circularly polarized luminescence (CPL), ¶[0002]-[0003]) depending upon handedness of circularly polarized light.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral electrochromic layer for the purpose of improving the sensitivity to light, ¶[0014].
With respect to Claim 2, Song teaches the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 1, the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3), and electrochromic liquid crystals (¶[0081]).
Song fails to teach wherein the chiral electrochromic layer comprises one or more chiral electrochromic molecules selected from a group including chiral organic electrochromic compounds, chiral electrochromic polymers, and chiral electrochromic liquid crystals.
Zhang teaches the chiral electrochromic layer (electrification of the electrochromic device with adjustable optical chirality signal, Figures 4 and 6) comprises one or more chiral electrochromic molecules (¶[0036]) selected from a group including chiral organic electrochromic compounds (¶[0039]), chiral electrochromic polymers, and chiral electrochromic liquid crystals (¶[0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral electrochromic layer comprises one or more chiral electrochromic molecules selected from a group including chiral organic electrochromic compounds, chiral electrochromic polymers, and chiral electrochromic liquid crystals for the purpose of improving the sensitivity to light, ¶[0014].
With respect to Claim 3, Song teaches the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 2 and the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3).
Song fails to teach wherein the chiral electrochromic layer further comprises a chiral additive.
Zhang teaches wherein the chiral electrochromic layer (electrification of the electrochromic device with adjustable optical chirality signal, Figures 4 and 6) comprises a chiral additive (chiral molecules are doped into a chiral amplifying medium containing liquid crystals, ¶[0040]; see also ¶[0048]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral electrochromic layer comprising a chiral additive for the purpose of improving the chiral signal, ¶[0041].
With respect to Claim 4, Song teaches the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 1 and the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3).
Song fails to teach wherein the chiral electrochromic layer comprises one or more blended systems comprising one or more molecules mixed with a chiral additive, wherein the one or more molecules are selected from organic compounds, conjugated polymers, and liquid crystals, wherein at least one of the one or more molecules and the chiral additive is electrochromic, and the one or more molecules are chiral.
Zhang teaches wherein the chiral electrochromic layer (electrification of the electrochromic device with adjustable optical chirality signal, Figures 4 and 6) comprises one or more blended systems (¶[0040]-[0041]) comprising one or more molecules (¶[0040]) mixed with a chiral additive (¶[0040]), wherein the one or more molecules are selected from organic compounds (¶[0044]), conjugated polymers, and liquid crystals, wherein at least one of the one or more molecules (¶[0040]) and the chiral additive is electrochromic (chiral molecules are doped into a chiral amplifying medium containing liquid crystals, ¶[0040]), and the one or more molecules are chiral (chiral molecules are doped into a chiral amplifying medium containing liquid crystals, ¶[0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral electrochromic layer comprises one or more blended systems comprising one or more molecules mixed with a chiral additive, wherein the one or more molecules are selected from organic compounds, conjugated polymers, and liquid crystals, wherein at least one of the one or more molecules and the chiral additive is electrochromic, and the one or more molecules are chiral for the purpose of improving the chiral signal, ¶[0041].
With respect to Claim 5, Song teaches the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 4.
Song fails to teach wherein the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds, chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals, and chiral nanoparticles.
Zhang teaches wherein the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds (¶[0048]), chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals (¶[0034]), and chiral nanoparticles.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds, chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals, and chiral nanoparticles for the purpose of improved compatibility between electroacid molecules and the system can further reduce the driving voltage and improve the device efficiency, ¶[0048]).
With respect to Claim 6, Song teaches, as best understood, the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 5.
Song fails to teach wherein the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds, chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals, and chiral nanoparticles.
Zhang teaches wherein the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds (¶[0048]), chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals (¶[0034]), and chiral nanoparticles.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds, chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals, and chiral nanoparticles for the purpose of improved compatibility between electroacid molecules and the system can further reduce the driving voltage and improve the device efficiency, ¶[0048]).
With respect to Claim 7, Song further teaches a second substrate (110, Figure 3).
With respect to Claim 8, Song further teaches wherein the electrolyte layer (154, Figure 3) comprises a solid electrolyte, a liquid electrolyte (¶[0154]-[0155]), or a gel electrolyte.
With respect to Claim 9, Song further teaches wherein at least one of the first substrate (151, Figure 3) and the second substrate (110, Figure 3) is flexible (first substrate may be made a material having flexibility, ¶[0114]; second substrate may be made a material having flexibility, ¶[0149]).
With respect to Claim 14, Song teaches a circularly polarized electrochromic device, comprising two substrates and a plurality of areas disposed between the two substrates, wherein each of the areas comprises: a first electrode (121, Figure 4); an electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3) disposed on the first electrode (121, Figure 4), wherein the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3) presents differential color changes (the color of the electrochromic film may be changed according to the application of a voltage, ¶[0124]) of circularly polarized light (¶[0158]) under an applied voltage (¶[0124]), and the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3) presents at least one of differential transmittance (¶[0101]) and differential absorbance (¶[0084]) of circularly polarized light (¶[0158]) under the applied voltage (¶[0124]); an electrolyte layer (154, Figure 3) disposed on the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3); an ion storage layer (158, Figure 6a) disposed on the electrolyte layer (154, Figure 3); and a second electrode (122, Figure 4) disposed on the ion storage layer (158, Figure 6a).
Song fails to teach a chiral electrochromic layer presents differential color changes depending upon handedness of circularly polarized light, and presents at least one of differential transmittance and differential absorbance depending upon handedness of circularly polarized light.
Song teaches an electrochromic device and Zhang teaches an electrochromic device with an adjustable optical chiral signal.
Zhang teaches a chiral electrochromic layer (electrification of the electrochromic device with adjustable optical chirality signal, Figures 4 and 6) presents differential color changes depending upon handedness of circularly polarized light (chiral luminescence system emits different left-handed and right-handed circularly polarized light, ¶[0002], also well known in the art), and presents at least one of differential transmittance and differential absorbance (chiral luminescence system emits different left-handed and right-handed circularly polarized light is called circularly polarized luminescence (CPL), ¶[0002]-[0003]) depending upon handedness of circularly polarized light.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral electrochromic layer for the purpose of improving the sensitivity to light, ¶[0014].
With respect to Claim 15, Song teaches the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 14, the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3), and electrochromic liquid crystals (¶[0081]).
Song fails to teach wherein the chiral electrochromic layer comprises one or more chiral electrochromic molecules selected from a group including chiral organic electrochromic compounds, chiral electrochromic polymers, and chiral electrochromic liquid crystals.
Zhang teaches the chiral electrochromic layer (electrification of the electrochromic device with adjustable optical chirality signal, Figures 4 and 6) comprises one or more chiral electrochromic molecules (¶[0036]) selected from a group including chiral organic electrochromic compounds (¶[0039]), chiral electrochromic polymers, and chiral electrochromic liquid crystals (¶[0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral electrochromic layer comprises one or more chiral electrochromic molecules selected from a group including chiral organic electrochromic compounds, chiral electrochromic polymers, and chiral electrochromic liquid crystals for the purpose of improving the sensitivity to light, ¶[0014].
With respect to Claim 16, Song teaches the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 15 and the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3).
Song fails to teach wherein the chiral electrochromic layer further comprises a chiral additive.
Zhang teaches wherein the chiral electrochromic layer (electrification of the electrochromic device with adjustable optical chirality signal, Figures 4 and 6) comprises a chiral additive (chiral molecules are doped into a chiral amplifying medium containing liquid crystals, ¶[0040]; see also ¶[0048]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral electrochromic layer comprising a chiral additive for the purpose of improving the chiral signal, ¶[0041].
With respect to Claim 17, Song teaches the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 14 and the electrochromic layer (150, Figure 3).
Song fails to teach wherein the chiral electrochromic layer comprises one or more blended systems comprising one or more molecules mixed with a chiral additive, wherein the one or more molecules are selected from organic compounds, conjugated polymers, and liquid crystals, wherein at least one of the one or more molecules and the chiral additive is electrochromic, and the one or more molecules are chiral.
Zhang teaches wherein the chiral electrochromic layer (electrification of the electrochromic device with adjustable optical chirality signal, Figures 4 and 6) comprises one or more blended systems (¶[0040]-[0041]) comprising one or more molecules (¶[0040]) mixed with a chiral additive (¶[0040]), wherein the one or more molecules are selected from organic compounds (¶[0044]), conjugated polymers, and liquid crystals, wherein at least one of the one or more molecules (¶[0040]) and the chiral additive is electrochromic (chiral molecules are doped into a chiral amplifying medium containing liquid crystals, ¶[0040]), and the one or more molecules are chiral (chiral molecules are doped into a chiral amplifying medium containing liquid crystals, ¶[0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral electrochromic layer comprises one or more blended systems comprising one or more molecules mixed with a chiral additive, wherein the one or more molecules are selected from organic compounds, conjugated polymers, and liquid crystals, wherein at least one of the one or more molecules and the chiral additive is electrochromic, and the one or more molecules are chiral for the purpose of improving the chiral signal, ¶[0041].
With respect to Claim 18, Song teaches the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 16.
Song fails to teach wherein the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds, chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals, and chiral nanoparticles.
Zhang teaches wherein the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds (¶[0048]), chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals (¶[0034]), and chiral nanoparticles.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds, chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals, and chiral nanoparticles for the purpose of improved compatibility between electroacid molecules and the system can further reduce the driving voltage and improve the device efficiency, ¶[0048]).
With respect to Claim 19, Song teaches the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 17.
Song fails to teach wherein the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds, chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals, and chiral nanoparticles.
Zhang teaches wherein the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds (¶[0048]), chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals (¶[0034]), and chiral nanoparticles.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Zhang having the chiral additive comprises one or more selected from a group including chiral organic compounds, chiral polymers, chiral liquid crystals, and chiral nanoparticles for the purpose of improved compatibility between electroacid molecules and the system can further reduce the driving voltage and improve the device efficiency, ¶[0048]).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (KR20200049399A) in view of Zhang (CN115061320A), and in further view of Nishikitani et al., (Nishikitani hereafter) (US 2002/0015214 A1).
With respect to Claim 10, Song in view of Zhang teach the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 1, the first electrode (121, Figure 4, of Song) and the second electrode (122, Figure 4, of Song).
Song in view of Zhang fail to teach wherein at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode is transparent or semi-transparent.
Song in view of Zhang teach the circularly polarized electrochromic device and Nishikitani teaches an electrochromic device.
Nishikitani teaches wherein at least one of the first electrode (2, Figure 5) and the second electrode (4, Figure 5) is transparent (2 is transparent, ¶[0183], and 4 is transparent, opaque or reflective, ¶[0185], Figure 5) or semi-transparent.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song in view of Zhang having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Nishikitani having wherein at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode is transparent or semi-transparent for the purpose of light to transmit.
With respect to Claim 11, Song in view of Zhang teach the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 1, the first electrode (121, Figure 4, of Song) and the second electrode (122, Figure 4, of Song).
Song in view of Zhang fail to teach wherein both of the first electrode and the second electrode are transparent or semi-transparent.
Nishikitani teaches wherein at least one of the first electrode (2, Figure 5) and the second electrode (4, Figure 5) is transparent (2 is transparent, ¶[0183], and 4 is transparent, opaque or reflective, ¶[0185], Figure 5) or semi-transparent.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song in view of Zhang having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Nishikitani having wherein at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode is transparent or semi-transparent for the purpose of light to transmit.
With respect to Claim 12, Song in view of Zhang teach the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 1, the first electrode (121, Figure 4, of Song) and the second electrode (122, Figure 4, of Song).
Song in view of Zhang fail to teach wherein the first electrode or the second electrode comprises a reflective conducting layer.
Nishikitani teaches wherein the first electrode (2, Figure 5) or the second electrode (4, Figure 5) comprises a reflective conducting layer (4 is transparent, opaque or reflective, ¶[0185], Figure 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song in view of Zhang having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Nishikitani having the first electrode or the second electrode comprises a reflective conducting layer for the purpose of electrochemically stability in performance as an electrode, ¶[0018].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (KR20200049399A) in view of Zhang (CN115061320A), and in further view of Glik et al., (Glik hereafter) (US 2020/0237214 A1).
With respect to Claim 13, Song in view of Zhang teach the circularly polarized electrochromic device of claim 1 and the ion storage layer (158, Figure 6a, of Song).
Song in view of Zhang fail to teach wherein the ion storage layer includes one or more oxides of metal elements in Group 4-12, or a mixture of the oxides, or one of the oxides doped by another metal oxide or a redox-active conjugated polymer or a redox-active organic compound.
Song in view of Zhang teach the circularly polarized electrochromic device and Glik teaches a retinal camera which the circularly polarized electrochromic device could be used in.
Glik teaches wherein the ion storage layer (ion storage layer, ¶[0063]) includes one or more oxides of metal elements in Group 4-12 (lithium cobalt oxide, ¶[0063]; cobalt is in group 9), or a mixture of the oxides, or one of the oxides doped by another metal oxide or a redox-active conjugated polymer or a redox-active organic compound.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Song in view of Zhang having the circularly polarized electrochromic device with the teachings of Glik having the ion storage layer includes one or more oxides of metal elements in Group 4-12, or a mixture of the oxides, or one of the oxides doped by another metal oxide or a redox-active conjugated polymer or a redox-active organic compound for the purpose of reflecting light and enabling the electrochromic layer to appear at least partially opaque, ¶[0063]).
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872