DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The specification uses the terms “flow map” and “optical flow map” interchangeably, so “flow map” is interpreted to mean “optical flow map”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification does not demonstrate that Applicant had possession of the full scope of the broad genus “map”. The claimed term “map” is a broad genus comprising many varied species including rigid transformations, affine transformations, perspective/projective transformations, deformation transformations, homographic transformations, motion disparity maps, depth change maps, optical flow maps, etc. The specification only discloses a single species of optical flow map. Thus, it does not disclose a representative number of species spanning the full scope of the genus “map”. Note that the varied species have substantial differences in how they are configured and implemented. Note that the specification uses the terms “flow map” and “optical flow map” interchangeably, so “flow map” is interpreted to mean “optical flow map”.
The specification does not demonstrate that Applicant had possession of the full scope of the broad genus “machine learning”. The claimed term “machine learning” is a broad genus comprising many varied species including support vector machines (SVM), random forests, decision trees, linear regression, K nearest neighbors, clustering, vanilla neural networks, transformers, generative adversarial networks, LSTM, RNN, convolutional neural network (CNN), etc. The specification only discloses a single species of CNNs. Thus, it does not disclose a representative number of species spanning the full scope of the genus “machine learning”. Note that the varied species have substantial differences in how they are trained, configured, and implemented.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 11, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,989,938, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations of the Application claims are present in the corresponding patent claims.
Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 18, and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 8, 13, 14, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,676,381, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations of the Application claims are present in the corresponding patent claims.
Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 3, 15, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,929,673, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations of the Application claims are present in the corresponding patent claims.
Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 18, and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 1, 12, 12, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,474,900, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations of the Application claims are present in the corresponding patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10, 11, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20130187952 A1 (Berkovich).
As per claim 1, Berkovich teaches a method comprising:
generating, using one or more processors of a device, a video sequence comprising a previous frame and a current frame (Berkovich:
para 38: “mobile device 10 includes a camera 16, a display 18 and at least one position sensor 20, all connected in data communication to a processing system 22 (including at least one processor 24 and data storage 26)”;
para 60: “Referring now to the client-side process of FIG. 2, a first image is obtained from the camera at step 42, and is uploaded to remote server 14”;
para 66: “the tracking process results in a transformation or mapping which allows pixel locations in a current image to be associated with corresponding locations in the first image and/or in an intermediate image. It should be noted in this context that the term "current image" is used to refer to an image sampled recently by the camera to form the basis for substantially real-time display of AR supplementary information.”;
para 71: “display the AR supplementary information in a continuously updating manner based on continuous video imagery sampled by the camera.”;
produce or capture a video that has at least two frames.
);
detecting that the current frame does not have a corresponding modified current frame (Berkovich:
para 60: “The uploaded image will be processed by the server (to be described separately below) so as to achieve registration to a geographic database and provide data for correct alignment of AR information. However, the combined time of uploading the image and processing it at the server would introduce possibly large errors due to movement of the camera during the time lag.”;
para 61: “the processing system of the mobile unit performs image processing to track image motion between the first image and subsequent images obtained from the camera, and hence determines a mapping (step 46) which can be used to compensate for the delay in obtaining the results of the registration processing from the server”;
recognize that the current frame has not yet had modified. The client-side recognizes that the server-side has not yet supplied the modified current frame due to lag.
Para 72: “the mobile device preferably evaluates a tracking reliability indicator to assess when the reliability of the tracking has dropped (step 58), and then initiates a new upload-and-registration process (steps 42-54) as needed. The tracking reliability indicator may be based upon one or more parameters such as: elapsed time since sampling of the first image”: that is, the lag is too great since server-side has provided a modified current frame);
generating a map between the previous frame and the current frame (Berkovich:
abstract: “Image processing is then performed to track image motion between that image and subsequent images obtained from the camera, determining a mapping between the uploaded image and a current image.”;
para 8: “performing image processing to track image motion between the first image and subsequent images obtained from the camera, and hence determining a mapping between features of a reference image and features of a current image obtained from the camera, the reference image being selected from the group consisting of: the first image; and a second image for which transformation parameters were uploaded to the server corresponding to a mapping between the first image and the second image”;
“[0061] It is a particularly preferred feature of an aspect of the present invention that the processing system of the mobile unit performs image processing to track image motion between the first image and subsequent images obtained from the camera, and hence determines a mapping (step 46) which can be used to compensate for the delay in obtaining the results of the registration processing from the server.”;
“[0062] The phrase "tracking image motion" is used in this context to refer generically to a range of algorithms which allow association of pixels to pixels between spaced apart images in an image sequence. By way of specific non-limiting examples, the image motion tracking performed by mobile device 10 may be implemented according to any of at least three techniques”;
“[0064] A second implementation option employs optical flow.”;
Para 71 (shown below);
Fig. 2 (shown below): mainly 46:
create a transformation map (e.g. optical flow) indicating how pixels or features are moved from the previous frame to the current frame); and
generating the corresponding modified current frame by applying the map to a modified previous frame corresponding to the previous frame (Berkovich:
para 8: “employing the mapping to determine a corresponding pixel location for display of the supplementary information within the current image; and (f) displaying the supplementary information on the display correctly aligned with the view of the scene.”;
Fig. 2 (shown above): mainly 50-56;
warping the modified previous frame using the transformation map to generate a modified current frame).
As per claim 8, Berkovich teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the previous frame and the current frame are separated by a plurality of other frames in the video sequence (Berkovich: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above: especially paras 71 and 72 (both referenced above).
Para 66: “It should be noted in this context that the term "current image" is used to refer to an image sampled recently by the camera to form the basis for substantially real-time display of AR supplementary information. It should be noted that the "current image" may also be subject to processing delays of several frames, but is preferably still within the realm of what is considered acceptable as real time display, typically with a delay of significantly less than a second”;
The previous frame and current frame are not adjacent in frame sequence).
As per claim 10, Berkovich teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a modified video sequence on the device, the modified video sequence comprising the modified previous frame and the modified current frame,
wherein the modified video sequence collates the modified previous frame and the modified current frame (Berkovich: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above.
Figure 2 (shown above): mainly 70-74 – 50-56;
“[0069] At step 50, the mobile device 10 receives via the network data indicative of a pixel location for display of supplementary information within the first image, or an intermediate reference image. The mapping derived from the tracking process is then employed to determine a corresponding pixel location for display of the supplementary information within the current image (step 52). The term "pixel location" is used herein to refer to a location within an image defined relative to a grid of pixels. The location may be represented as a specific pixel address, as a group or region of pixels, or as some other geometrical relationship to one or more pixel location. The supplementary information is then displayed on the display correctly aligned with the view of the scene (step 54), either by displaying the supplementary information overlying an image of the view of the scene on a non-transparent display, or by displaying the supplementary information on a transparent display aligned with a direct view of the scene.”;
“[0071] Although the aforementioned process can optionally be performed with a number of still images, preferred functionality is to display the AR supplementary information in a continuously updating manner based on continuous video imagery sampled by the camera. In this case, the local tracking processing is preferably continued while the AR display is operating to generate updated mappings for new current images as they become available, and the pixel location for display of the supplementary information within the current image is updated according to the updated mapping (step 56). This effectively keeps the AR content correctly positioned within the moving video image or changing field of view of a direct-viewing device.”
stitch the machine learning modified frames together with the flow map warped frames to generate a final video that is displayed).
As per claim(s) 11 and 18, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1 and 8 are analogous, respectively. Berkovich also teaches A device comprising: one or more processors; a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform operations comprising (Berkovich: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above;
Figs. 1, 3, 5; para 56: “software loaded into involatile memory and executed by the processing system”;
para 73, 88, 108: processor).
As per claim(s) 20, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1 are analogous. Berkovich also teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising (Berkovich: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above; Figs. 1, 3, 5; para 56: software).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 9, 12-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkovich as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of ZHU, XIZHOU, et al., "Deep Feature Flow for Video Recognition", ARXIV.ORG, CORNELL UNIVERSITY LIBRARY, 201 OLIN LIBRARY CORNELL UNIVERSITY ITHACA, NY 14853, (23 November 2016), 13 pgs (submitted in IDS) (Zhu).
As per claim 2, Berkovich teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
applying, using an editing engine, a
detecting a lag of the editing engine, wherein generating the map is in response to detecting the lag of the editing engine (Berkovich: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above:
“[0061] It is a particularly preferred feature of an aspect of the present invention that the processing system of the mobile unit performs image processing to track image motion between the first image and subsequent images obtained from the camera, and hence determines a mapping (step 46) which can be used to compensate for the delay in obtaining the results of the registration processing from the server.”;
Para 66: “It should be noted that the "current image" may also be subject to processing delays of several frames”;
Para 72: “mobile device preferably evaluates a tracking reliability indicator to assess when the reliability of the tracking has dropped (step 58), and then initiates a new upload-and-registration process (steps 42-54) as needed. The tracking reliability indicator may be based upon one or more parameters such as: elapsed time since sampling of the first image”;
generate the motion map when the scheme is lagging (e.g. relative to real-time)).
Berkovich does not teach machine learning.
Zhu teaches applying, using an editing engine, a machine learning scheme to the video sequence (Zhu:
Introduction: page 1, column 2, para 2:
Section 3: Page 4, col 2, paras 2-3:
Note that the segmentation map and segmentation bounding boxes are modifications: See Figures 2 (shown above), 4, 5 (shown below):
).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing, to implement the teachings of Zhu into Berkovich since both Berkovich and Zhu suggest a practical solution and field of endeavor of using flow to efficiently propagate modifications pertaining to some frames to other frames in general and Zhu additionally provides teachings that can be incorporated into Berkovich in that the initial modifications are achieved via machine learning since “Deep convolutional neutral networks have achieved great success on image recognition tasks” (Zhu: abstract). The teachings of Zhu can be incorporated into Berkovich in that the initial modifications are achieved via machine learning. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and, in combination, each component functions the same as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable.
As per claim 3, Berkovich in view of Zhu teaches the method of claim 2, wherein detecting the lag of the editing engine is based on detecting that the current frame does not have the corresponding modified current frame (Berkovich: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 2 above: especially para 72;
Lagging means that the editing engine has not yet modified the current frame).
As per claim 4, Berkovich in view of Zhu teaches the method of claim 2, wherein detecting the lag of the editing engine comprises:
determining that the editing engine is still processing images preceding the current frame, where the current frame is a next image to be processed (Berkovich: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 2 above: especially para 72;
lagging means that the editing engine is still processing earlier frames).
As per claim 5, Berkovich in view of Zhu teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising:
generating modified images in a first pipeline by applying the machine learning scheme to the video sequence, the first pipeline comprising the previous frame having the corresponding modified previous frame and the current frame that does not have the corresponding modified current frame in the first pipeline; and
in response to detecting the lag, generating, in a second pipeline, the map between the previous frame and the current frame (Berkovich in view of Zhu: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 2 above;
Also see paras 61 and 72 (both referenced above).
there are two pipelines. One pipeline pertains to the server-side editing engine. The other pipeline pertains to generating the client-side mapping).
As per claim 6, Berkovich in view of Zhu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the second pipeline is asynchronous to the first pipeline (Berkovich: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 5 above.
Note that para [0074] of the instant Application’s filed specification states that “editing engine 610 and the tracking engine 615 operate in different pipelines asynchronously (e.g., concurrently, in parallel).”: Thus, “asynchronously” can be interpreted as meaning “concurrently” or “in parallel”.
More broadly, “asynchronously” can be taken to mean: tasks occur independently).
As per claim 7, Berkovich in view of Zhu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the first pipeline and the second pipeline are implemented on different threads of the one or more processors of the device (Berkovich: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 5 above.
Each pipeline runs on its own thread).
As per claim 9, Berkovich in view of Zhu teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the machine learning scheme is trained to apply an image manipulation, and wherein the modified previous frame exhibits the image manipulation, wherein the map is a flow map that describes changes of image features in the video sequence (Berkovich in view of Zhu: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 2 above.
Paras 10, 64: optical flow;
“[0062] The phrase "tracking image motion" is used in this context to refer generically to a range of algorithms which allow association of pixels to pixels between spaced apart images in an image sequence.”;
Fig. 2 (shown above): mainly 70-74 – 50-56;
the machine learning scheme alters an image. The map is an (e.g. optical) flow map that indicates how features move).
As per claim(s) 12-17 and 19, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 2-7 and 9 are analogous, respectively. Berkovich also teaches A device comprising: one or more processors; a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform operations comprising (Berkovich: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above;
Figs. 1, 3, 5; para 56: “software loaded into involatile memory and executed by the processing system”;
para 73, 88, 108: processor).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhu, as cited above in rejecting claim 2, also teaches all of the limitations of the claim 1.
Atiba Fitzpatrick
/ATIBA O FITZPATRICK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677