DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
This Office action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 4/13/2026. Each argument and/or amendment directed towards a maintained rejection is addressed below. Rejections/objections not repeated herein have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 1-3, alleging that the embodiment of Fig. 3 of Sobel generally operates in an up-and-down motion have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. First, the embodiment of Fig. 3 was not used in the pending rejections, therefore Applicant’s arguments regarding that embodiment are moot and off-point. Second, Applicant admits (see page 2) that in the embodiments of Sobel “the saw strip may be rotated” thereby reading on the claim language at issue. Claim 11 only requires “said single tip being configured to act in the direction of rotation” and, as both admitted by Applicant and expressly disclosed in Sobel ([0024]; [0045]), the single distal tip is fully capable of being rotated and/or advanced to cut tissue into tissue at the single sharp distal tip (see annotated Fig. 4 below). For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “gripper” in claims 1 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitations "said pair of forceps" and “said hook” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitations "said pair of forceps" and “said hook” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitations "said pair of forceps" and “said hook” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sobel (US 2009/0048619).
Sobel discloses (see Figs. 4-5) a capsulorhexis instrument comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 11) An instrument for opening a capsular bag in an eye (see Abstract; Fig. 1; [0010]), the instrument comprising a cannula (5, Fig. 4) configured to be (i.e., capable of) inserted into the eye in an insertion direction of the cannula (5) (as shown in exemplary Fig. 1; [0010]); said cannula (5) having a cannula longitudinal end (i.e., distal end adjacent cutter 11) arranged in said insertion direction (as expressly shown in Fig. 4); said cannula (5) further having a cannula opening (i.e., the cannula lumen shown containing inner cylinder 9 therein in Fig. 4) arranged in a cannula portion extending from said cannula longitudinal end (as expressly shown in Fig. 4); a rotor (9, Fig. 4) defining a rotational axis (i.e., rotational arrows shown at both the proximal and distal ends in Fig. 4) and being arranged within said cannula (5) so as to be rotatable about said rotational axis in a direction of rotation (as shown in Fig. 4; [0024]; [0045]; rotation both expressly depicted and expressly disclosed); said rotor (9) having a rotor longitudinal end (i.e., distal end at cutter 11) arranged in the direction of said rotational axis (as shown in Fig. 4); said rotor (9) defining a deployed state wherein said rotor (9) extends through said cannula opening so as to protrude from said cannula (5) and wherein said rotor longitudinal end is arranged outside of said cannula (5) (as expressly shown in Fig. 4); a gripper (11, Fig. 4) arranged outside of said cannula (5) in said deployed state and being configured to (i.e., capable of) grip a part of the capsular bag; said gripper (11) including a single tip (i.e., a single distal end tip, as expressly shown in annotated Fig. 4 below); said single tip being configured to act in the direction of rotation so as to introduce an initial opening into the capsular bag (as shown in Fig. 4; [0024]; [0045]; the single distal tip is fully capable of being rotated and advanced to cut tissue into tissue at the single sharp distal tip); and, said rotor (9) being configured to (i.e., capable of) wind up part of said capsular bag via rotation of said rotor (9) ([0024]; [0045]; as shown in Fig. 4, cutting projections 11 are fully capable of rotating and gripping/winding part of a capsular bag during rotation);
(claim 14) wherein said at least one of said single tip, said pair of forceps, and said hook is only said single tip (as expressly shown in annotated Fig. 4 above); and
(claim 18) An instrument for opening a capsular bag in an eye (see Abstract; Fig. 1; [0010]), the instrument comprising a cannula (5, Fig. 4) configured to be (i.e., capable of) inserted into the eye in an insertion direction of the cannula (5) (as shown in exemplary Fig. 1; [0010]); said cannula (5) having a cannula longitudinal end (i.e., distal end adjacent cutter 11) arranged in said insertion direction (as expressly shown in Fig. 4); said cannula (5) further having a cannula opening (i.e., the cannula lumen shown containing inner cylinder 9 therein in Fig. 4) arranged in a cannula portion extending from said cannula longitudinal end (as expressly shown in Fig. 4); a rotor (9, Fig. 4) defining a rotational axis (i.e., rotational arrows shown at both the proximal and distal ends in Fig. 4) and being arranged within said cannula (5) so as to be rotatable about said rotational axis in a direction of rotation (as shown in Fig. 4; [0024]; [0045]; rotation both expressly depicted and expressly disclosed); said rotor (9) having a rotor longitudinal end (i.e., distal end at cutter 11) arranged in the direction of said rotational axis (as shown in Fig. 4); said rotor (9) defining a deployed state wherein said rotor (9) extends through said cannula opening so as to protrude from said cannula (5) and wherein said rotor longitudinal end is arranged outside of said cannula (5) (as expressly shown in Fig. 4); a gripper (11, Fig. 4) arranged outside of said cannula (5) in said deployed state and being configured to (i.e., capable of) grip a part of the capsular bag; said gripper (11) including a hook (i.e., a hook at the distal end tip, as expressly shown in annotated Fig. 4 below); said hook being configured to act in the direction of rotation so as to introduce an initial opening into the capsular bag (as shown in Fig. 4; [0024]; [0045]; the hook at the distal tip is fully capable of being rotated and advanced to cut into tissue at the single sharp distal tip); and, said rotor (9) being configured to (i.e., capable of) wind up part of said capsular bag via rotation of said rotor (9) ([0024]; [0045]; as shown in Fig. 4, cutting projections 11 are fully capable of rotating and gripping/winding part of a capsular bag during rotation).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Banko (US 4,368,734).
Banko discloses (see Figs. 1-2 and 10A-10B) a surgical instrument comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 17) An instrument (10, Fig. 1) for opening a capsular bag in an eye (see Fig. 1; col. 1, lines 4-33; col. 2, lines 41-42 and 52-59), the instrument (10) comprising a cannula (18, Figs. 1-2 and 10A-10B) configured to be (i.e., capable of) inserted into the eye in an insertion direction of the cannula (18) (as expressly shown in Fig. 1); said cannula (18) having a cannula longitudinal end (i.e., distal end adjacent jaws 130/140 in Figs. 10A-10B) arranged in said insertion direction (as expressly shown in Figs. 1-2 and 10A-10B); said cannula (18) further having a cannula opening (i.e., the cannula lumen shown containing inner membe16 therein in Figs. 1-2 and 10A-10B) arranged in a cannula portion extending from said cannula longitudinal end (as expressly shown in Figs. 1-2 and 10A-10B); a rotor (16, Figs. 1-2 and 10A-10B) defining a rotational axis (col. 4, lines 34-40; col. 5, line 67-col. 6, line 24; rotation of rotor 16 expressly disclosed) and being arranged within said cannula (18) so as to be rotatable about said rotational axis in a direction of rotation (col. 4, lines 34-40; col. 5, line 67-col. 6, line 24; rotation of rotor 16 expressly disclosed); said rotor (16) having a rotor longitudinal end (i.e., distal end at jaws 130/140) arranged in the direction of said rotational axis (as shown in Figs. 10A-10B); said rotor (16) defining a deployed state wherein said rotor (16) extends through said cannula opening so as to protrude from said cannula (18) and wherein said rotor longitudinal end is arranged outside of said cannula (18) (as expressly shown in Figs. 10A-10B; rotor jaw 140 expressly depicted extending outside cannula 18); a gripper (130/140, Figs. 10A-10B) arranged outside of said cannula (8) in said deployed state and being configured to (i.e., capable of) grip a part of the capsular bag (see exemplary Fig. 1 and Figs. 10A-10B; col. 5, line 67-col. 6, line 24); said gripper (130/140) including a pair of forceps (as shown in Figs. 10A-10B; col. 6, lines 14-24; gripper 130/140 may expressly be used for gripping tissue and/or cutting tissue, as so desired); said pair of forceps (130/140) being configured to (i.e., capable of) act in the direction of rotation so as to introduce an initial opening into the capsular bag (as shown in exemplary Fig. 1 and Figs. 10A-10B; col. 5, line 67-col. 6, line 24; gripper 130/140 at the distal tip is fully capable of being rotated and advanced to cut into tissue); and, said rotor (16) being configured to (i.e., capable of) wind up part of said capsular bag via rotation of said rotor (16) (Figs. 10A-10B; col. 5, line 67-col. 6, line 24, rotor 16 fully capable of rotating and gripping/winding part of a capsular bag during rotation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobel as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kahook et al. (US 2015/0230981).
Sobel, as applied above, discloses a capsulorhexis instrument comprising all the limitations of the claim except for the gripper including a plurality of hooks (i.e., one or more hooks) arranged on said rotor forming a structured surface for a hook-and-loop fastening arrangement and/or gripper including only a pair of forceps.
However, Kahook teaches a similar eye tissue manipulation tool comprising a gripper including a plurality of hooks (246, Fig. 23H) (i.e., one or more hooks) arranged on said rotor forming a structured surface for a hook-and-loop fastening arrangement (as shown at 246 in Fig. 23H; [0105]-[0108]) and/or a gripper including only a pair of forceps (237, Figs. 23A-23G) ([0099]-[0103]). Accordingly, Kahook teaches that it is known that one or more hooks, a pair of forceps, and/or a single tip are elements that are functional equivalents for providing a surface specifically configured for facilitating the grasping of eye tissue and/or other structures during a surgical eye procedure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have substituted the one or more hooks or a pair of forceps taught by Kahook for the single tip of Sobel because these elements were known equivalents for providing a surface specifically configured for facilitating the grasping of eye tissue and/or other structures during a surgical eye procedure within the ocular surgery arts. The substitution would have resulted in the predictable results of providing a surface specifically configured for facilitating the grasping of eye tissue and/or other structures during a surgical eye procedure to the device of Sobel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the art of record does not teach or render obvious an instrument for opening a capsular bag in an eye as claimed that includes, in combination with the claim(s) as a whole, including a rotor interior arranged within the rotor and/or the specific control over the position of the rotor. The closest prior art appears to be Sobel (US 2009/0048619) disclosing a similar capsulorhexis cutter, but failing to disclose a capsulorhexis device as claimed having a rotor interior arranged within the rotor and/or the specific control over the position of the rotor.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771